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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and the last index of the year is cumulative. The 
Virginia Register has several functions. The new and amended sections 
of regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by 
law to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 
2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
18:23 VA.R. 2997-3011 July 29, 2002, refers to Volume 18, Issue 23, 
pages 2997 through 3011 of the Virginia Register issued on July 29, 
2002. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; S. Bernard 
Goodwyn. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2006 through September 2007 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

FINAL INDEX - Volume 22  October 2006 

23:5 October 25, 2006 November 13, 2006 

23:6 November 8, 2006 November 27, 2006 

23:7 November 21, 2006 (Tuesday) December 11, 2006 

INDEX 1 Volume 23  January 2007 

23:8 December 6, 2006 December 25, 2006 

23:9 December 19, 2006 (Tuesday) January 8, 2007 

23:10 January 3, 2007 January 22, 2007 

23:11 January 17, 2007 February 5, 2007 

23:12 January 31, 2007 February 19, 2007 

23:13 February 14, 2007 March 5, 2007 

23:14 February 28, 2007 March 19, 2007 

INDEX 2 Volume 23  April 2007 

23:15 March 14, 2007 April 2, 2007 

23:16 March 28, 2007 April 16, 2007 

23:17 April 11, 2007 April 30, 2007 

23:18 April 25, 2007 May 14, 2007 

23:19 May 9, 2007 May 28, 2007 

23:20 May 23, 2007 June 11, 2007 

INDEX 3 Volume 23  July 2007 

23:21 June 6, 2007 June 25, 2007 

23:22 June 20, 2007 July 9, 2007 

23:23 July 3, 2007 (Tuesday) July 23, 2007 

23:24 July 18, 2007 August 6, 2007 

23:25 August 1, 2007 August 20, 2007 

23:26 August 15, 2007 September 3, 2007 

FINAL INDEX - Volume 23  October 2007 

24:1 August 29, 2007 September 17, 2007 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2006 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 22, dated July 
10, 2006). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 50-10-10 through 1 VAC 50-10-50 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4083 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-10-60 through 1 VAC 50-10-150 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4084-4085 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-1 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4085 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-5 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4085 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-20 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-30 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-40 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-50 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-60 through 1 VAC 50-20-90 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4086-4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-100 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-110 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-120 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-130 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-140 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-142 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-150 through 1 VAC 50-20-180 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4088 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-190 through 1 VAC 50-20-220 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4088 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-230 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-240 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-250 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-260 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-270 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-280 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-290 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-300 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-310 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-320 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-330 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-340 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-350 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-360 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-370 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-380 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-382 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-384 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-390 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-400 through 1 VAC 50-20-530 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4091-4093 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-540 through 1 VAC 50-20-600 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4093-4098 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-601 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4098 10/4/06 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
1 VAC 50-20-605 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4099 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-610 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4100 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-612 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4101 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-614 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4101 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-616 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4102 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-620 through 1 VAC 50-20-670 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4102-4105 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-680 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4105 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-690 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4105 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-700 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4105 10/4/06 
1 VAC 55-30-10 through 1 VAC 55-30-90 Added 23:3 VA.R. 334-337  
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-195-10 through 2 VAC 5-195-180 Added 22:25 VA.R 3872-3876 8/21/06 
2 VAC 5-210-10 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3579 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-20 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3579 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-30 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3579 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-40 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3580 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-41 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3580 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-50 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3580 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-60 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3581 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3587 9/7/06 
2 VAC 20-40-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4105 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-20 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4106 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-40 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4107 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-60 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4107 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-65 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4107 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-70 through 2 VAC 20-40-110 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4107-4109 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-120 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4109 10/5/06 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-20-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 574 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 574 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-150-70 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3277 6/28/06 
4 VAC 20-252-30 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3277 7/1/06 
4 VAC 20-252-50 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3278 7/1/06 
4 VAC 20-252-115 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3278 7/1/06 
4 VAC 20-566-30 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3877 8/1/06 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 575 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-610-40 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 576 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 576 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 578 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 579 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 579 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 580 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-70 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 580 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-75 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 580 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 580 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-100 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 581 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-900-10 through 4 VAC 20-900-30 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3279-3280 7/1/06 
4 VAC 20-1090-20 Repealed 23:4 VA.R. 581 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 582 10/1/06 
4 VAC 25-130-816.11 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3587 9/6/06 
4 VAC 25-130-816.64 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3588 9/6/06 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 25-170 (Form) Amended 22:26 VA.R. 3588 -- 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 20-120-80 Amended 22:20 VA.R 2704 7/12/06 
6 VAC 20-190-10 through 6 VAC 20-190-200 Repealed 22:10 VA.R. 1556-1559 2/22/06 
6 VAC 20-210-10 through 6 VAC 20-210-110 Repealed 22:10 VA.R. 1561-1562 2/22/06 
6 VAC 20-220-20 through 6 VAC 20-220-80 Repealed 22:10 VA.R. 1559-1560 2/22/06 
6 VAC 20-240-10 through 6 VAC 20-240-120 Added 22:11 VA.R. 1764-1768 3/8/06 
6 VAC 20-260-10 through 6 VAC 20-260-360 emer Added 22:12 VA.R. 2044-2053 2/20/06-2/19/07 
6 VAC 35-10-10 through 6 VAC 35-10-50 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 25-26 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-60 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 26 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-70 through 100 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 26-27 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-105 Added 23:1 VA.R. 27 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-110 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 28 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-120 through 6 VAC 35-10-150 Added 23:1 VA.R. 28 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-120 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 28 10/18/06 
6 VAC 40-10-10 through 6 VAC 40-10-90 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3746-3747 10/25/06 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6 VAC 40-50-80 emer Added 22:23 VA.R. 3406-3407 7/1/06-6/30/07 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-21-10 through 8 VAC 20-21-730 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 337 11/28/06 
8 VAC 20-22-10 through 8 VAC 20-22-760 Added 23:3 VA.R. 344-376 11/28/06 
8 VAC 20-131-5 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3589 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-10 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3590 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-20 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3591 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-30 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3591 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-40 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3592 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-50 through 8 VAC 20-131-110 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3592-3598 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-140 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3598 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-150 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3598 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-160 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3599 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-170 through 8 VAC 20-131-210 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3599-3600 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-240 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3600 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-260 through 8 VAC 20-131-310 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3601-3607 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-315 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3607 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-320 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3608 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-325 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3608 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-330 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3608 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-340 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3608 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-350 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3609 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-360 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3609 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131, Appendix I Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3609 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-521-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4110 10/4/06 
8 VAC 20-541-10 through 8 VAC 20-541-60 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 376 11/29/06 
8 VAC 20-542-10 through 8 VAC 20-542-600 Added 23:3 VA.R. 376-434 11/29/06 
8 VAC 40-30 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3281 8/24/06 
8 VAC 40-31-10 through 8 VAC 40-31-320 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3281-3298 8/24/06 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4111 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-20-203 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3299 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-20-204 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3299 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-20-206 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4114 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-300 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4115 10/4/06 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
9 VAC 5-40-5060 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4115 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5200 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4116 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5600 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5610 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5620 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 31 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5630 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 31 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5631 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 33 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5641 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 33 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5700 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4116 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5720 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4117 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5750 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4118 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-6970 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4118 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7050 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4118 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7120 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4119 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7130 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4119 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7140 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4122 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7210 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4124 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7240 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4124 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7250 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4124 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7260 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4125 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7270 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4136 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7300 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4139 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7330 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4140 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7360 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4140 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7800 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4141 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7880 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4141 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-50-250 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3301 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-50-270 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3302 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-50-280 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3302 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1100 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3302 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1110 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3303 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1310 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3308 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1605 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3309 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1615 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3310 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1625 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3321 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1635 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3321 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1645 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1655 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1665 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1675 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1685 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1695 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3323 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1700 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1705 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1710 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1715 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1720 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1725 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1730 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1735 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1740 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
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9 VAC 5-80-1745 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1750 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1755 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1760 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1765 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1770 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3327 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1775 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3327 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1780 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3328 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1785 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3328 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1790 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1795 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1800 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1805 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1810 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1815 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1820 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1825 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1830 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3330 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1835 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3330 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1840 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3332 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1845 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3332 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1850 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3334 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1855 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3334 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1860 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3335 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1865 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3335 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1870 through 9 VAC 5-80-1920 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3340 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1925 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3340 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1930 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3341 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1935 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3341 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1940 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3341 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1945 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3341 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1950 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1955 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1960 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1965 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1970 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1975 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1985 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3343 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1995 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3343 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2000 through 9 VAC 5-80-2020 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3343-3355 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2040 through 9 VAC 5-80-2070 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3355-3358 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2090 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3358 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2091 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3358 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2110 through 9 VAC 5-80-2140 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3359-3362 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2141 through 9 VAC 5-80-2143 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3362-3366 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2144 Added 22:23 VA.R 3367 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2180 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3372 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2200 through 9 VAC 5-80-2240 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3373-3375 9/1/06 
9 VAC 20-60-18 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3375 8/23/06 
9 VAC 20-85-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 584 11/29/06 
9 VAC 20-85-30 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 585 11/29/06 
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9 VAC 20-85-40 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 585 11/29/06 
9 VAC 20-85-60 through 9 VAC 20-85-170 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 585-589 11/29/06 
9 VAC 25-31-10 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3610 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-30 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3619 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-80 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3620 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-100 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3620 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-165 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3637 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-220 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3651 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-290 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3656 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-770 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3657 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-780 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3658 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-790 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3662 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-800 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3667 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-840 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3670 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-870 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3677 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-260-5 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 41 ∗ 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4142 * 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 38 * 

9 VAC 25-260-50 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 42 * 

9 VAC 25-260-187 Added 23:1 VA.R. 42 * 

9 VAC 25-260-310 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 44 * 

9 VAC 25-260-480 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 46 * 
9 VAC 25-660-90 Erratum 22:23 VA.R. 3424 -- 
9 VAC 25-680-70 Erratum 22:23 VA.R. 3424 -- 
9 VAC 25-680-90 Erratum 22:23 VA.R. 3424 -- 
9 VAC 25-690-70 Erratum 22:23 VA.R. 3424 -- 
9 VAC 25-820-10 through 9 VAC 25-820-70 Added 23:2 VA.R. 231-251 11/1/06 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 5-20-200 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3907 11/6/06 
11 VAC 5-20-210 through 11 VAC 5-20-520 Repealed 22:25 VA.R. 3907-3914 11/6/06 
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3916 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-30 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3917 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-40 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3917 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-40 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-50 Repealed 22:25 VA.R. 3917 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-50 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-60 through 11 VAC 10-70-90 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3917-3918 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-60 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-70 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4145 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-80 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-90 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-170 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3918 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-170 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-90-10 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3919 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-90-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-90-30 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3919 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-90-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 

                                                           
∗ Upon filing notice of EPA approval with the Registrar of Regulations. 
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11 VAC 10-90-50 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3919 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-90-50 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-480-10 through 12 VAC 5-480-8920 Repealed 22:25 VA.R. 3877 9/20/06 
12 VAC 5-481-10 through 12 VAC 5-481-3670 Added 22:25 VA.R. 3877 9/20/06 
12 VAC 5-585-70 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 438 11/9/06 
12 VAC 5-585-510 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 438 11/9/06 
12 VAC 5-585-600 through 12 VAC 5-585-630 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 442-450 11/9/06 
12 VAC 5-590-10 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3677 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-370 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3683 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-410 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3708 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-440 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3711 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-505 Added 23:1 VA.R. 47 10/18/06 
12 VAC 5-590, Appendix N Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3717 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-545 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3712 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-820 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3717 9/6/06 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3376 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-40-290 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3377 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-40-300 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3379 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-40-360 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3385 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-50-190 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3386 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-70-221 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4183 9/4/06-9/3/07 
12 VAC 30-70-291 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3388 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-70-301 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3921 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-70-425 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3389 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-70-426 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3390 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-80-20 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3390 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3393 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-90-19 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3395 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-110-90 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4168 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-110-370 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4168 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-110-710 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3385 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-110-960 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3385 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-120-215 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3718 9/6/06 
12 VAC 30-120-280 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4170 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-120-290 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4172 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-120-310 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4172 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-120-320 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4173 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-120-380 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3386 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-120-720 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3721 9/6/06 
12 VAC 30-120-920 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3724 9/6/06 
12 VAC 30-141-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4147 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-40 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4149 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-100 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4150 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-160 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4151 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-170 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4152 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-175 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4153 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-200 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3387 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-141-200 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4155 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-500 Amended 22:16 VA.R. 2385 7/3/06 
12 VAC 30-141-500 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3387 8/23/06 



Cumulative Table of VAC Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed 

Volume 23, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2006 

692 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
12 VAC 30-150-40 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3924 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-150-50 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3925 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-150-70 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3925 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-150-80 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3926 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-150-90 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3926 11/6/06 
12 VAC 35-115-10 through 12 VAC 35-115-150 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 50-79 10/18/06 
12 VAC 35-115-145 Added 23:1 VA.R. 76 10/18/06 
12 VAC 35-115-146 Added 23:1 VA.R. 77 10/18/06 
12 VAC 35-115-160 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 79 10/18/06 
12 VAC 35-115-170 through 12 VAC 35-115-250 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 79-91 10/18/06 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-30-20 Erratum 22:24 VA.R. 3755 -- 
14 VAC 5-30-80 Erratum 22:24 VA.R. 3755 -- 
14 VAC 5-260 (Forms) Erratum 22:24 VA.R. 3756 -- 
14 VAC 5-260-10 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 253 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-20 Repealed 23:2 VA.R. 253 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-30 through 14 VAC 5-260-60 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 253-257 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-80 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 257 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-90 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 257 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-110 Added 23:2 VA.R. 258 10/2/06 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 25-60-10 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3878 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-30 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3879 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-40 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3879 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-80 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3879 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-90 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3880 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-100 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3881 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-120 through 16 VAC 25-60-150 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3882-3883 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-190 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3883 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-260 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3884 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-300 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3885 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-320 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3885 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-340 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3886 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.95 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.178 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.266 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.441 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1000 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1020 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1030 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1051 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1450 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1001 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.60 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.62 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.754 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1092 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1127 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 10-20-10 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 96  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-15 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 97  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-17 Added 23:1 VA.R. 97  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-20 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 97  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-25 Added 23:1 VA.R. 98  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-30 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 98 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-60 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 99 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-35 through 18 VAC 10-20-55 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 98-99 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-70 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 99  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-75 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 99  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-80 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 99 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-85 Added 23:1 VA.R. 99 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-90 through 18 VAC 10-20-420 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 99-110 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-440 through 18 VAC 10-20-560 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 110-113  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-565 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 114 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-570 through 18 VAC 10-20-620 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 113-116  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-625 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 116 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-630 through 18 VAC 10-20-660 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 116-117  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-665 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 117 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-670 through 18 VAC 10-20-795 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 117-122  2/1/07 
18 VAC 15-20-20 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 451 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-30 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 453 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-31 Added 23:3 VA.R. 454 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-32 Added 23:3 VA.R. 454 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-33 Added 23:3 VA.R. 457 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-34 Added 23:3 VA.R. 458 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-40 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-50 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-51 Added 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-52 Added 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-53 Added 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-60 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 460 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-70 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 460 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-80 through 18 VAC 15-20-150 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 461 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-250 through 18 VAC 15-20-361 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 461-463 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-400 through 18 VAC 15-20-451 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 464-466 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-453 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 466 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-456 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 466 12/1/06 
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18 VAC 15-20-459.6 through 18 VAC 15-20-460 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 466-468 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-461 Added 23:3 VA.R. 468 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-462 Added 23:3 VA.R. 468 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-463 Added 23:3 VA.R. 469 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-464 Added 23:3 VA.R. 469 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-470 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 469 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-30 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 471 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-40 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 471 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-50 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 471 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-51 through 18 VAC 15-30-54 Added 23:3 VA.R. 472-475 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-100 through 18 VAC 15-30-330 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 475-481 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-161 through 18 VAC 15-30-167 Added 23:3 VA.R. 477-479 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-332 Added 23:3 VA.R. 481 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-334 Added 23:3 VA.R. 481 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-420 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 481 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-510 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 482 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-810 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 483 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-820 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 484 12/1/06 
18 VAC 25-21-70 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4155 11/1/06 
18 VAC 25-21 (Forms) Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4155 -- 
18 VAC 30-20-80 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4186 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 30-20-170 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4186 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 30-20-171 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4186 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 41-30-10 through 18 VAC 41-30-250 Added 23:1 VA.R. 124-131 11/1/06 
18 VAC 41-50-10 through 18 VAC 41-50-420 Added 22:25 VA.R. 3887-3900 10/1/06 
18 VAC 50-22-40 emer Amended 23:1 VA.R. 131 8/21/06-8/20/07 
18 VAC 50-22-50 emer Amended 23:1 VA.R. 132 8/21/06-8/20/07 
18 VAC 50-22-60 emer Amended 23:1 VA.R. 133 8/21/06-8/20/07 
18 VAC 50-22-300 through 18 VAC 50-22-350 emer Added 23:1 VA.R. 134 8/21/06-8/20/07 
18 VAC 60-20-10 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3397 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-20 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3398 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-71 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3399 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-100 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3749 10/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-105 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3399 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-106 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3399 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-108 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4175 11/18/06 
18 VAC 60-20-210 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3400 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-230 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3400 8/23/06 
18 VAC 70-20-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4156 11/1/06 
18 VAC 70-20-50 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4156 11/1/06 
18 VAC 70-20 (Forms) Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4156 -- 
18 VAC 76-20-10 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-20 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-30 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-50 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-60 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-70 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3403 8/23/06 
18 VAC 85-20-22 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4187 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-20-122 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4157 10/4/06 
18 VAC 85-20-226 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4188 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-20-330 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3901 9/20/06 
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18 VAC 85-40-35 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4189 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-40-67 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4190 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-50-35 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4190 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-50-61 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4191 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-80-26 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4191 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-80-73 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4191 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-101-25 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4192 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-101-153 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4192 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-110-35 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4193 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-110-161 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4193 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 90-25-15 through 18 VAC 90-25-80 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 487-492 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-25-71 Added 23:3 VA.R. 491 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-25-72 Added 23:3 VA.R. 491 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-25-81 Added 23:3 VA.R. 492 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-25-100 through 18 VAC 90-25-130 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 492-494 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-30-10 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4194 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4177 11/18/06 
18 VAC 90-30-120 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4195 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 90-30-121 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4195 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 95-20-220 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4157 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-221 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4158 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-310 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4158 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-330 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4158 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-340 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4159 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-380 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4159 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-390 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4159 10/4/06 
18 VAC 105-20-20 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4159 10/4/06 
18 VAC 110-20-20 Amended 22:15 VA.R. 2321 5/3/06 
18 VAC 110-20-20 Erratum 22:16 VA.R. 2399 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-20 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3726 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-20 Erratum 22:25 VA.R. 3935 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 635 11/29/06 
18 VAC 110-20-70 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3751 10/23/06 
18 VAC 110-20-630 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3728 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-640 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3728 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-660 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3728 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-670 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3728 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-720 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 634 11/29/06 
18 VAC 110-30-15 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 637 11/29/06 
18 VAC 110-50-10 through 18 VAC 110-50-150 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3729-3735 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-50-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 637 11/29/06 
18 VAC 112-20-50 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3404 8/23/06 
18 VAC 112-20-65 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3404 8/23/06 
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 497 12/11/06 
18 VAC 155-20-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4160 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-110 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4161 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-120 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4161 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-160 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4162 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-220 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4163 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-280 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4166 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20 (Forms) Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4166 -- 
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18 VAC 160-20-10 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 136 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-74 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 137 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-76 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4179 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-90 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4180 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-95 Added 23:1 VA.R. 137 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-104 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 137 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-106 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 137 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-109 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 138 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-140 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 139 12/1/06 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-315 (Form) Amended 23:4 VA.R. 639 -- 
20 VAC 5-315-10 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 500 9/26/06 
20 VAC 5-315-20 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 500 9/26/06 
20 VAC 5-315-30 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 500 9/26/06 
20 VAC 5-315-40 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 501 9/26/06 
20 VAC 5-413-5 Added 23:3 VA.R. 504 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-10 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 504 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-20 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 505 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-25 Added 23:3 VA.R. 505 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-30 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 505 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-35 Added 23:3 VA.R. 506 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-40 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 506 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-50 Added 23:3 VA.R. 506 12/1/06 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 40-35-10 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4196 9/1/06-8/31/07 
22 VAC 40-35-80 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4198 9/1/06-8/31/07 
22 VAC 40-35-90 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4198 9/1/06-8/31/07 
22 VAC 40-35-100 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4199 9/1/06-8/31/07 
22 VAC 40-72-789 Erratum 22:26 VA.R. 4207 -- 
22 VAC 40-72-1060 Erratum 22:26 VA.R. 4207 -- 
22 VAC 40-325-10 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3901 10/1/06 
22 VAC 40-325-20 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3902 10/1/06 
22 VAC 40-745-10 through 22 VAC 40-745-70 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 140-145 11/1/06 
22 VAC 40-745-90 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 145 11/1/06 
22 VAC 40-745-100 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 145 11/1/06 
22 VAC 40-745-110 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 145 11/1/06 
22 VAC 40-901-10 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3903 10/1/06 
22 VAC 40-901-40 through 22 VAC 40-901-90 Added 22:25 VA.R. 3903-3905 10/1/06 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 30-271-10 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 259 11/1/06 
24 VAC 30-271-20 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 259 11/1/06 
24 VAC 30-550 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3736 9/6/06 
24 VAC 30-551-10 through 24 VAC 30-551-100 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3736-3744 9/6/06 
24 VAC 30-600 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3736 9/6/06 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation. 

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner:  Jesse W. Moffett, Executive Director, 
Frederick-Winchester Service Authority (FWSA). 

Nature of Petitioner's Request:  Amend the Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (9 VAC 25-720-50 C) to 
modify total nitrogen (TN) and total phosphorus (TP) waste 
load allocations for the FWSA-Opequon Water Reclamation 
Facility; VPDES Permit No. 0065552.  The TN and TP 
allocations are currently based on a permitted design capacity 
of 8.4 million gallons per day (MGD), and FWSA claims that 
the existing infrastructure is more appropriately classified as 
12.6 MGD.  FWSA requests that the facility's waste load 
allocations be increased from 102,336 lbs/yr to 153,422 lbs/yr 
for TN, and from 7,675 lbs/yr to 11,506 lbs/yr for TP, to 
reflect a design capacity of 12.6 MGD. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request:  Public-notice 
receipt of the petition and provide for a 21-day public 
comment period. Upon close of the public comment period, 
review any comments received and then make a decision to 
either initiate a rulemaking or place the petition on the board's 
next meeting agenda for its consideration. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 4, 2006. 

Agency Contact:  John M. Kennedy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Chesapeake Bay Program Manager, 
P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240-0009, telephone 
(804) 698-4312, FAX (804) 698-4116, or email 
jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-22; Filed October 25, 2006, 8:32 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 6 VAC 20-
160, Rules Relating to the Court-Appointed Special 
Advocate Program (CASA). The purpose of the proposed 
action is to clarify the rule of the Court-Appointed Special 
Advocate (CASA) Advisory Council, improve training 
opportunities, increase support for staff and volunteers, and 
improve the recordkeeping of both program activities and the 
financial accountability of each location. The proposed 
revisions are intended to ensure that the regulations are in 
support of and consistent with the mission and goals of 
CASA programs across Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-151 and 9.1-153 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until November 15, 2006. 

Contact: Hope Hodgson, Program Assistant, Department of 
Criminal Justice Services, 202 N. 9th St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-4331, FAX (804) 786-3414 or 
email hope.hodgson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-02; Filed September 26, 2006, 10:01 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled 9 VAC 25-120, 
General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) Permit for Discharges from Petroleum 
Contaminated Sites and Hydrostatic Tests. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to amend, as necessary, and reissue the 
general VPDES permit covering point source discharges for 
petroleum contaminated sites and hydrostatic tests, which 
expires on February 26, 2008. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR 
Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on December 
13, 2006. 

Contact: James Barnett, State Lead Program Manager, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 E. 
Main St., Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4289, 
FAX (804) 698-4266, or email jsbarnett@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-21; Filed October 19, 2006, 9:25 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled 9 VAC 25-196, 
General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) Permit for Cooling Water Discharges. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to reissue, and amend as 
necessary, the existing VPDES general permit for point 
source discharges from noncontact cooling water. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia and 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC 1251 et seq.). 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on November 
15, 2006. 

Contact: Burton R. Tuxford, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4086, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 
email brtuxford@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-06; Filed September 27, 2006, 10:17 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled 9 VAC 25-260, 
Water Quality Standards. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to update the water quality standards based on new 
scientific information; improve permitting, monitoring and 
assessment programs; and fulfill the legal mandates for a 
three-year review of the standards. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 
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Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR Part 131. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on November 
17, 2006. 

Contact:  Elleanore M. Daub, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 698-4116, or 
email emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-344; Filed August 30, 2006, 8:18 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends 
to consider adopting regulations entitled 9 VAC 25-860, 
General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) Permit for Potable Water Treatment Plants. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to establish appropriate and 
necessary permitting requirements for discharges of 
wastewater from potable water treatment plants. The 
proposed regulation will set forth standard language for 
effluent limitations and monitoring requirements necessary to 
regulate this category of dischargers. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia and 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC 1251 et seq.). 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on November 
30, 2006. 

Contact: George E. Cosby, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4067, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 
email gecosby@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-12; Filed October 10, 2006, 2:00 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

† Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory 
Action 

Notice is hereby given that the State  Board of  Health has 
WITHDRAWN the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 
12 VAC 5-60, State Emergency Medical Service Plan, 
which was published in 19:25 VA.R. 3661 August 25, 2003.  

Contact: Michael Berg, Manager, Regulation and 
Compliance, Office of Emergency Medical Services, 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Suite UB-55, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7615, FAX (804) 

864-7580, toll-free 1-800-523-6019 or email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R03-310; Filed October 30, 2006, 4:34 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board 
intends to consider adopting regulations entitled 16 VAC 25-
95, Medical Services and First Aid Standards for General 
Industry. The purpose of the proposed action is to require 
employers in General Industry and in the Construction 
Industry to train employees to render first aid and 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) when employees are 
exposed to occupational hazards that could result in death or 
serious physical harm.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority:  § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on November 
16, 2006. 

Contact: Regina P. Cobb, Agency Management Analyst 
Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-0610, FAX (804-786-8418, or email rlc@doli.state.va.us. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-05; Filed September 27, 2006, 9:17 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Audiology and Speech-
Language Pathology intends to consider amending 
regulations entitled 18 VAC 30-10, Public Participation 
Guidelines. The purpose of the proposed action is to clarify 
and update certain provisions of the regulation pursuant to 
recommendations resulting from a periodic review, including 
use of electronic notification and the Virginia Regulatory 
Townhall as an option for comment. 
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The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007 and 54.1-2400 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on November 
15, 2006. 

Contact: Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 6603 W. Broad 
St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 
662-9111, FAX (804) 662-9523, or email 
elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-03; Filed September 26, 2006, 12:01 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Health Professions 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 
76-30, Public Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to follow recommendations of a periodic 
review of regulations to update and clarify the regulations.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007 and 54.1-2400 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on December 
13, 2006.   

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, Department 
of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor,  
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX 
(804) 662-9114, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-28; Filed October 26, 2006, 3:42 p.m. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers intends to consider amending regulations entitled 
18 VAC 65-10, Public Participation Guidelines. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to clarify and update the 
guidelines for public participation in the promulgation of 
regulations.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007 and 54.1-2400 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on December 
13, 2006.   

Contact: Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor,  Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9907, FAX (804) 662-9943, or 
email elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-27; Filed October 26, 2006, 3:42 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Physical Therapy intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 112-10, 
Public Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to clarify and update certain provisions of 
the regulation pursuant to recommendations resulting from a 
periodic review, including use of electronic notification and 
the Virginia Regulatory Townhall as an option for comment. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007 and 54.1-2400 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on November 
15, 2006. 

Contact: Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9924, 
FAX (804) 662-9523, or email 
elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-04; Filed September 26, 2006, 12:01 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled 24 VAC 22-20, 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Fees. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to adjust the fee schedule that dealers follow. The 
regulation sets maximum fee levels. The current fee schedule 
was established about 10 years ago. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
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Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1506 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 1, 2006. 

Contact: Bruce Gould, Executive Director, Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, Richmond, VA 
23220, telephone (804) 367-1100, FAX (804) 367-1053, toll-
free 1-877-270-0203, or email 
bruce.gould@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-13; Filed October 11, 2006, 12:08 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 
Fisheries is exempt from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 15-20. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: In General (adding 4 VAC 15-20-220). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-103.1, 29.1-501 and 
29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  December 12, 2006 - 9 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until November 23, 
2006. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst and Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 
West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-1000, FAX (804) 367-0488 or email 
regcomments@dgif.state.va.us. 

Notice to the Public: The Board of Game and Inland Fisheries 
has ordered to be published, pursuant to §§ 29.1-501 and 
29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia, the following proposed 
amendment to board regulations.  A public comment period 
on the proposed regulation opened October 24, 2006, and 
remains open until November 23, 2006.  Comments 
submitted must be in writing; must be accompanied by the 
name, address and telephone number of the party offering the 
comments; should state the regulatory action desired; and 
should state the justification for the desired action.  
Comments should be submitted online at 
www.dgif.virginia.gov, emailed to 
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov, or sent to Department of 
Game and Inland Fisheries, Phil Smith, Policy Analyst and 
Regulatory Coordinator, 4016 West Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia 23230. 

A public hearing on the advisability of adopting or amending 
and adopting the proposed regulation, or any parts thereof, 
will be held during a meeting of the board to take place at the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia, beginning at 9 a.m. on Tuesday, 
December 12, 2006, at which time any interested citizen 

present shall be heard.  If the board is satisfied that the 
proposed regulation, or any parts thereof, is advisable, in the 
form in which published or as amended after receipt of the 
public's comments, the board may adopt regulation 
amendments as final at the December 12 meeting.  The 
regulation or regulation amendment adopted may be either 
more liberal or more restrictive than that proposed and being 
advertised under this notice. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment authorizes the director to take 
measures to prevent, control or eradicate the spread of 
diseases in the Commonwealth whenever (i) such diseases 
threaten wildlife; (ii) a disease in wildlife has implications 
for human, domestic or agricultural animal health; or (iii) 
a disease is confirmed in wildlife held in captivity that 
threatens wildlife, human, domestic or agricultural animal 
health. 

4 VAC 15-20-220. Definitions and miscellaneous: In 
general.  Disease prevention, control and eradication in 
wildlife. 

A. Whenever a disease threatens wildlife in the 
Commonwealth, the director is authorized to undertake 
measures to prevent, control or eradicate the spread of such 
disease including, but not limited to, the delineation of 
wildlife disease management, surveillance, and quarantine 
areas, the reduction of selected wildlife populations, the 
restriction in the movement of wildlife or parts thereof, the 
prohibition of feeding of wildlife or use of animal-based 
products such as attractants, the prohibition of rehabilitation 
and release of selected wildlife species and the manipulation 
or modification of environmental conditions. Further, the 
director is authorized to require mandatory checking and 
disease testing of selected wildlife species and to modify or 
establish hunting and trapping seasons and bag limits, as 
necessary, to prevent, control or eradicate the spread of 
disease in wildlife. 

B. Whenever a disease in wildlife or the planned disease 
response has implications for human, domestic or agricultural 
animal health in the Commonwealth, the director, in 
consultation with the state and/or public health veterinarian as 
appropriate, is authorized to undertake measures as described 
in subsection A to prevent, control or eradicate the spread of 
such disease in wildlife. 

C. Whenever a disease is confirmed in wildlife held in 
captivity that threatens wildlife, human, domestic or 
agricultural animal health, the director, in consultation with 
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the state and/or public health veterinarian as appropriate, is 
authorized to quarantine or dispose of such animals, including 
measures such as population reduction, depopulation and 
exportation, modification and decontamination of the captive 
facility as necessary, and revocation of permits or 
modification of permit conditions, as to prevent further 
disease transmission. The department may indemnify the 
owner or owners, at fair-market value, for privately owned 
wildlife removed. The department may seek reimbursement 
of costs for depopulation, modification to, or decontamination 
of the facility from the landowner and/or owner or owners of 
the facility. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to willfully impede the 
department or its designee in its execution of the 
aforementioned measures to prevent, control, or eradicate 
disease in wildlife. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-24; Filed October 25, 2006, 11:22 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 
(amending 4 VAC 15-320-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  December 12, 2006 - 9 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until November 23, 
2006. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst and Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 
West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-1000, FAX (804) 367-0488 or email 
regcomments@dgif.state.va.us. 

Notice to the Public: The Board of Game and Inland Fisheries 
has ordered to be published, pursuant to §§ 29.1-501 and 
29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia, the following proposed 
amendment to board regulations.  A public comment period 
on the proposed regulation opened October 24, 2006, and 
remains open until November 23, 2006.  Comments 
submitted must be in writing; must be accompanied by the 
name, address and telephone number of the party offering the 
comments; should state the regulatory action desired; and 
should state the justification for the desired action.  
Comments should be submitted online at 
www.dgif.virginia.gov, emailed to 
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov, or sent to Department of 
Game and Inland Fisheries, Phil Smith, Policy Analyst and 
Regulatory Coordinator, 4016 West Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia 23230. 

A public hearing on the advisability of adopting or amending 
and adopting the proposed regulation, or any parts thereof, 
will be held during a meeting of the board to take place at the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia, beginning at 9 a.m. on Tuesday, 

December 12, 2006, at which time any interested citizen 
present shall be heard.  If the board is satisfied that the 
proposed regulation, or any parts thereof, is advisable, in the 
form in which published or as amended after receipt of the 
public's comments, the board may adopt regulation 
amendments as final at the December 12 meeting.  The 
regulation or regulation amendment adopted may be either 
more liberal or more restrictive than that proposed and being 
advertised under this notice.   

Summary: 

The proposed amendment adds yellow perch, white perch, 
gizzard shad, carp, and gar to the list of freshwater fish 
that may be harvested from below the fall line in all tidal 
rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and sold commercially in 
accordance with Virginia Marine Resources Commission 
commercial fishing regulations, and size and harvest limits 
set by the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

4 VAC 15-320-40. Sale of game fish, yellow perch, white 
perch, gizzard shad, carp, gar, and catfish.  

Game fish, yellow perch, and catfish raised in a privately 
owned facility by the holder of a Permit to Propagate and Sell 
Certain Wildlife or Permit to Hold and Sell Certain Wildlife 
may be sold as follows: (i) game fish for stocking private 
waters; (ii) game fish for stocking public waters only with 
approval from the department pursuant to 4 VAC 15-320-60; 
(iii) trout pursuant to 4 VAC 15-330-180 and 4 VAC 15-330-
190; and (iv) yellow perch and catfish for stocking private 
waters, public waters pursuant to 4 VAC 15-320-60, or for 
human consumption. Catfish Except as otherwise provided 
for in 4 VAC 15-320-25 and 4 VAC 15-360-10, catfish, 
yellow perch, white perch, gizzard shad, carp, and gar may be 
taken from tidewater may also be sold below the fall line in 
all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay and sold commercially 
in accordance with Virginia Marine Resources Commission 
commercial fishing regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-25; Filed October 25, 2006, 11:21 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 15-360. Fish: Aquatic 
Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 
(amending 4 VAC 15-360-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  December 12, 2006 - 9 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until November 23, 
2006. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Policy Analyst and Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4016 
West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-1000, FAX (804) 367-0488 or email 
regcomments@dgif.state.va.us. 
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Notice to the Public: The Board of Game and Inland Fisheries 
has ordered to be published, pursuant to §§ 29.1-501 and 
29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia, the following proposed 
amendment to board regulations.  A public comment period 
on the proposed regulation opened October 24, 2006, and 
remains open until November 23, 2006.  Comments 
submitted must be in writing; must be accompanied by the 
name, address and telephone number of the party offering the 
comments; should state the regulatory action desired; and 
should state the justification for the desired action.  
Comments should be submitted online at 
www.dgif.virginia.gov, emailed to 
regcomments@dgif.virginia.gov, or sent to Department of 
Game and Inland Fisheries, Phil Smith, Policy Analyst and 
Regulatory Coordinator, 4016 West Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia 23230. 

A public hearing on the advisability of adopting or amending 
and adopting the proposed regulation, or any parts thereof, 
will be held during a meeting of the board to take place at the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad 
Street, Richmond, Virginia, beginning at 9 a.m. on Tuesday, 
December 12, 2006, at which time any interested citizen 
present shall be heard.  If the board is satisfied that the 
proposed regulation, or any parts thereof, is advisable, in the 
form in which published or as amended after receipt of the 
public's comments, the board may adopt regulation 
amendments as final at the December 12 meeting.  The 
regulation or regulation amendment adopted may be either 
more liberal or more restrictive than that proposed and being 
advertised under this notice.   

Summary: 

The proposed amendment makes it legal to take gizzard 
shad and white perch from below the fall line in all tidal 
rivers of the Chesapeake Bay using a gill net in accordance 
with Virginia Marine Resources Commission recreational 
gill net regulations and size and harvest limits set by the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries. 

4 VAC 15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 
amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use.  

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in 
§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4 VAC 15-20-130, 
subdivision 8 of 4 VAC 15-320-40 and the sections of this 
chapter, it shall be lawful to capture and possess live for 
private use and not for sale no more than five individuals of 
any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4 VAC 15-20-
50) species of amphibian and reptile and 20 individuals of 
any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4 VAC 15-20-
50) species of aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless 
specifically listed below: 

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited 
numbers from inland waters statewide: carp, bowfin, 
longnose gar, mullet, yellow bullhead, brown bullhead, 

black bullhead, flat bullhead, snail bullhead, white sucker, 
northern hogsucker, gizzard shad, threadfin shad, blueback 
herring (see 4 VAC 15-320-25 for anadromous blueback 
herring limits), white perch, yellow perch, alewife (see 
4 VAC 15-320-25 for anadromous alewife limits), 
stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden shiner, 
and goldfish.  

2. See 4 VAC 15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad, 
channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue 
catfish limits.  

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be 
defined as native or naturalized species of minnows and 
chubs (Cyprinidae), salamanders (each under six inches in 
total length), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession 
limit for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in 
aggregate, unless said person has purchased "fish bait" and 
has a receipt specifying the number of individuals 
purchased by species, except salamanders and crayfish 
which cannot be sold pursuant to the provisions of 4 VAC 
15-360-60 and 4 VAC 15-360-70. However, stonerollers 
(hornyheads), fathead minnows, golden shiners, and 
goldfish may be taken and possessed in unlimited numbers 
as provided for in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

4. The daily limit for bullfrogs and snapping turtles shall be 
15 and bullfrogs and snapping turtles may not be taken 
from the banks or waters of designated stocked trout 
waters. 

5. The following species may not be taken in any number 
for private use: candy darter, eastern hellbender, 
diamondback terrapin, and spotted turtle.  

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A. Except as 
otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 4 VAC 15-
20-130, 4 VAC 15-320-40, and other regulations of the board, 
and except in any waters where the use of nets is prohibited, 
the species listed in subsection A may only be taken by hand, 
hook and line, with a seine not exceeding four feet in depth 
by 10 feet in length, an umbrella type net not exceeding five 
by five feet square, small minnow traps with throat openings 
no larger than one inch in diameter, cast nets, and hand-held 
bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 inches and handle 
length not to exceed eight feet (such cast net and hand-held 
bow nets when so used shall not be deemed dip nets under the 
provisions of § 29.1-416 of the Code of Virginia). Gizzard 
shad and white perch may also be taken from below the fall 
line in all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay using a gill net 
in accordance with Virginia Marine Resources Commission 
recreational fishing regulations. Bullfrogs may also be taken 
by gigging or bow and arrow and, from private waters, by 
firearms no larger than .22 caliber rimfire.  

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as provided 
for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of Virginia, it 
shall be unlawful to take mussels and the spiny riversnail (Io 
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fluvialis) in the Tennessee drainage in Virginia (Clinch, 
Powell and the North, South and Middle Forks of the Holston 
Rivers and tributaries). It shall be unlawful to take mussels in 
the James River and tributaries west of U.S. Route 29, in the 
entire North Fork of the Shenandoah River, and in the entire 
Nottoway River. 

D. Areas restricted from taking salamanders. Except as 
provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson 
Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the 
Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson, Smyth 
and Washington Counties bounded on the east by State Route 
16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the south and west 
by U.S. Route 58. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-26; Filed October 25, 2006, 11:21 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6 VAC 20-250. Regulations Relating to 
Property and Surety Bail Bondsmen (adding 6 VAC 20-
250-10 through 6 VAC 20-250-380). 

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  March 7, 2007 - 9 a.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until January 12, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Regulatory Program Manager, 
Department of Criminal Justice Services, 202 North Ninth 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2419, 
FAX (804) 786-6344, or email lisa.mcgee@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The legal authority to regulate property and surety bail 
bondsmen is found in § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 
Section 9.1-102 authorizes the department, under the 
direction of the board to "license and regulate property bail 
bondsmen and surety bail bondsmen in accordance with 
Article 11 (§ 9.1-185 et seq) of this chapter." The board shall 
adopt regulations that are necessary to ensure respectable, 
responsible, safe and effective bail bonding within the 
Commonwealth pursuant to § 9.1-185.2 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Purpose: The regulation establishes a licensure process to 
include a fingerprint-based background check, licensure fees, 
compulsory minimum entry-level training standards, and 
administration of the regulatory system. It authorizes the 
department to receive complaints concerning the conduct of 
any person whose activities are monitored by the board, to 

conduct investigations, to issue disciplinary action, and to 
revoke, to suspend, and to refuse to renew a license. These 
procedures are established to ensure respectable, responsible, 
safe and effective bail bonding in the Commonwealth. 

Substance: The regulation establishes a licensure process, 
licensure fees, compulsory minimum entry-level training 
standards including firearms training and qualifications, 
standards of conduct, and administration of the regulatory 
system. It outlines procedures for receiving complaints 
concerning the conduct of any person whose activities are 
monitored by the board; conducting investigations; issuing 
disciplinary action; and revoking, suspending, or refusing to 
renew a license. The regulation provides an appeal process 
pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

Issues: The primary advantage of incorporating the changes 
presented in the proposed regulations is to continue to 
provide necessary public protection tasked through existing 
statutes. The main purposes of the amendments are to first 
and foremost provide a clearer set of regulations to use and 
understand, thereby facilitating compliance. 

Some of the issues addressed pertain to increasing training 
standards to afford further protection by ensuring that those 
performing the duties of bail bonding and fugitive recovery 
maintain the appropriate proficiency, knowledge and skills 
needed in the performance of these duties. In addition, 
standards, restrictions and requirements for solicitation, 
uniforms and identification where clarified as required by 
statute. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Regulation. Pursuant to legislation 
passed during the 2004 General Assembly session, the 
Criminal Justice Services Board (board) proposes regulations 
for licensure of property and surety bail bondsmen. 

Result of Analysis. There is not enough information to 
compare the magnitude of costs versus benefits for this 
proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact. Prior to implementation of 
emergency regulations in July 2005, surety bail bondsmen 
were licensed by the State Corporation Commission (SCC). 
Surety bail bondsmen were required to obtain a background 
check and submit it to the SCC. Individuals who had been 
convicted of a felony, but whose civil rights had not been 
restored, were not eligible for licensure. Surety bondsmen 
were required to provide the SCC with powers of attorney 
which served as proof that the surety bondsmen were agents 
of a particular insurance company. Surety bondsmen were 
also required to pass an exam. In total, the Department of 
Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) estimates that the total cost 
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of licensure through the SCC was approximately $50 ($35 for 
the background check and $15 to cover the cost of the 
required exam) plus the cost associated with time spent 
meeting SCC requirements. 

Prior to July 2005, property bail bondsmen had to obtain a 
certificate from a judge in a locality where they wanted to 
offer bonds. They had to be of good moral character. They 
had to verify (with a tax or other property assessment) that 
they had collateral against the totality of their outstanding 
bonds and had to sign an affidavit that they had at least 
$200,000 equity in their collateral property. They had to 
undergo a fingerprint background check and, like surety 
bondsmen, they could not offer bonds if they had been 
convicted of a felony. The costs associated with being able to 
offer bonds as a property bondsmen included a $35 fee to 
cover the required fingerprint background check and any 
costs associated with obtaining property assessments. These 
individuals also incurred opportunity costs for time spent 
meeting legal requirements. 

The proposed regulation will require both property and surety 
bail bondsmen to: 

• Have a General Equivalency Diploma (GED) or a high 
school diploma. 

• Undergo a fingerprint background check through DCJS 
(this costs $60). 

• Undergo 40 hours of bail bondsmen core training and 
14 hours of firearms training (if they intend to carry a 
gun while acting as a bondsmen). 

• Take an exam (through DCJS). 

• Pay a licensure fee that will vary between $1,000, for 
surety bail bondsmen, and $1,150, for principal property 
bail bondsmen who have other property bondsmen 
working for them. An additional $30 must be paid on an 
annual basis if a bondsman wants a DCJS firearms 
endorsement. 

• Undergo eight hours of in-service training before 
biannual re-licensure. 

In addition to these general requirements, surety bail 
bondsmen must still maintain an SCC property and casualty 
license and must provide DCJS with a property and casualty 
power of attorney. Property bail bondsmen have to provide 
DCJS with verification of at least $200,000 equity in property 
(or an equivalent value held in cash or certificates of deposit). 
Principal property bail bondsmen must also provide 
verification of an additional $200,000 for each agent bail 
bondsmen in their employ. Property bail bondsmen must 
report the dollar value of any bonds they have outstanding 
each month (by the 5th) to DCJS. Neither property nor surety 
bail bondsmen may post any advertising materials on 
government property or wear any company insignia larger 

than 3 by 5 inches while on government property. All of these 
requirements, except for the restrictions on advertising on 
government property, are due to legislative mandate. 

The costs that bail bondsmen will incur because of the 
proposed regulation include all explicit fees and training costs 
plus the implicit costs of time spent on becoming and 
remaining licensed (time spent in training, filling out 
paperwork, etc.) and any loss of income that can be attributed 
to the new restrictions on advertising. Localities and the 
Commonwealth may also incur costs if the proposed 
regulation reduces the number of bail bondsmen operating in 
Virginia and, as a consequence of this, individuals in jail 
awaiting trial stay in jail for more days because they cannot 
make bail. The legislature is requiring regulation for bail 
bondsmen because they believe such regulation will protect 
the public from bondsmen, and bondsmen’s agents, who 
have, on rare occasions, acted unethically or criminally while 
engaging in bond recovery. It is not entirely clear, however, 
that much of this same end couldn’t have been accomplished 
more efficiently by more vigorously enforcing preexisting 
criminal law. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. DCJS licensed 260 surety 
bail bondsmen and 118 property bail bondsmen when 
emergency regulations were implemented in late 2005. All of 
these, plus any other individuals who may wish to pursue a 
career in the future, will be affected by the proposed 
regulation. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed regulation will 
affect all localities in the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The licensure fees that 
DCJS will charge surety bail bondsmen are significantly 
higher than those that the SCC has charged and property bail 
bondsmen will be subject to licensure fees for the first time. 
These increased fees may lead some bondsmen to choose to 
leave their employment in this field. Some of the other 
requirements that this regulation or the mandating legislation 
imposes have imposed or will impose will preclude some bail 
bondsmen from continuing their practice in this field. Bail 
bondsmen who do not have a GED or high school diploma, 
for example, will not be able to be licensed by the 
Commonwealth as bail bondsmen no matter how long they 
have practiced in this field. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the 
extent that the proposed regulation precludes business owners 
from continuing to practice as bail bondsmen, the value of 
their businesses will likely fall toward zero. If these 
businesses can be sold, some of their original value may be 
recoverable. Bail bondsmen who are able to continue 
practicing after promulgation of the proposed regulation may 
see an increase in the value of their businesses as they will 
likely face less competition and may be able to write more 
bonds. 
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Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. Property and 
surety and bail bondsmen will incur licensure fees and the 
cost associated with the necessary background check. They 
will also lose the value associated with the ban the proposed 
regulation will place on advertisement of any sort within any 
court, jail, lock-up or on any surrounding government 
property. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact. Most requirements that the proposed 
regulation will impose are on account of legislative mandate. 
DCJS might lessen the impact of the proposed regulation by 
loosening the restrictions on advertising on government 
property and the restrictions on what advertising bail 
bondsmen can wear. 

Legal mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02). Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property. Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation. The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis: The Department of 
Criminal Justice Services, Private Security Services Section, 
concurs with the economic impact analysis as reviewed by the 
Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation establishes a licensure process, 
licensure fees, compulsory minimum entry-level training 
standards including firearms training and qualifications, 
standards of conduct, and administration of the regulatory 
system for property and surety bail bondsmen. The 
proposed regulation provides an appeal process pursuant 
to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) and outlines procedures for (i) receiving 
complaints concerning the conduct of any person whose 
activities are monitored by the board; (ii) conducting 
investigations; (iii) issuing disciplinary action; and (iv) 
revoking, suspending, or refusing to renew a license. 

CHAPTER 250. 
REGULATIONS RELATING TO PROPERTY AND 

SURETY BAIL BONDSMAN. 

PART I. 
DEFINITIONS. 

6 VAC 20-250-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Agent bail bondsman" means a licensed property bail 
bondsman who is in the employment of another licensed 
property bail bondsman whose collateral requirement is met 
by the principal bail bondsman pursuant to § 9.1-185.5 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Armed" means a bail bondsman who carries or has 
immediate access to a firearm in the performance of his 
duties. 

"Bail" means the pretrial release of a person from custody 
upon those terms and conditions specified by order of an 
appropriate judicial officer. 

"Bail bondsman" means any person who is licensed by the 
department who engages in the business of bail bonding and 
is thereby authorized to conduct business in all courts of the 
Commonwealth. 

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board or any 
successor board or agency. 

"Bond" means the posting by a person or his surety of a 
written promise to pay a specific sum, secured or unsecured, 
ordered by an appropriate judicial officer as a condition of 
bail to assure performance of the terms and conditions 
contained in the recognizance. 

"Certificate" means a certificate issued by a judge on or 
before June 30, 2005, pursuant to former § 19.2-152.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

"Department" or "DCJS" means the Department of Criminal 
Justice Services or any successor agency. 

"Firearm endorsement" means a method of regulation, which 
identifies a person licensed as a bail bondsman who has 
successfully completed the annual firearms training and has 
met the requirements as set forth in this regulation. 

"Licensee" means a licensed bail bondsman. 
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"Principal bail bondsman" means a licensed property bail 
bondsman who provides the collateral requirements for 
himself and any agent bail bondsmen in his employment. 

"Property bail bondsman" means a person pursuant to this 
article who, for compensation, enters into a bond or bonds for 
others, whether as a principal or surety, or otherwise pledges 
real property, cash or certificates of deposit issued by a 
federally insured institution, or any combination thereof as 
security for a bond as defined in § 19.2-119 of the Code of 
Virginia that has been posted to assure performance of terms 
and conditions specified by order of an appropriate judicial 
officer as a condition of bail.  

"Recognizance" means a signed commitment by a person to 
appear in court as directed and to adhere to any other terms 
ordered by an appropriate judicial officer as a condition of 
bail. 

"Surety bail bondsman" means a person licensed pursuant to 
this article who is also licensed by the State Corporation 
Commission as a property and casualty insurance agent, and 
who sells, solicits, or negotiates surety insurance as defined in 
§ 38.2-121 of the Code of Virginia on behalf of insurers 
licensed in the Commonwealth, pursuant to which the insurer 
becomes surety on or guarantees a bond, as defined in § 19.2-
119 of the Code of Virginia, that has been posted to assure 
performance of terms and conditions specified by order of an 
appropriate judicial officer as a condition of bail. 

"Training school" means a training school that is certified or 
licensed  by the department for the specific purpose of 
training regulated personnel in at least one category of the 
compulsory minimum training standards. 

PART II. 
FEES. 

6 VAC 20-250-20. Fees. 

A. Schedule of fees. The fees listed below reflect the costs of 
handling, issuance, and production associated with 
administering and processing applications for licensing and 
other administrative requests for services relating to bail 
bonding services. 

Bail bondsman license application 
(Initial/Renewal) 

$900 

Licensure category fee:  
Surety $100 
Property (agent) $100 
Property (principal) $250 

Firearms endorsement (annually) $30 
Fingerprint card processing $60 
Replacement photo identification $30 
Reinstatement $250 
In-service alternate training credit $50 

B. Dishonor of fee payment due to insufficient funds. 

1. The department may suspend the license it has granted 
any person who submits a check or similar instrument for 
payment of a fee required by statute or regulation that is not 
honored by the financial institution upon which the check 
or similar instrument is drawn. 

2. The suspension shall become effective upon receipt of 
written notice of the dishonored payment. Upon 
notification of the suspension, the licensee may request that 
the suspended license or authority be reinstated, provided 
payment of the dishonored amount plus any penalties or 
fees required under the statute or regulation accompanies 
the request. Suspension under this provision shall be 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

PART III. 
LICENSING PROCEDURES AND REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAC 20-250-30. Bail bondsman eligibility. 

A. Persons required to be licensed as a bail bondsman 
pursuant to § 9.1-102.47 of the Code of Virginia, shall meet 
all licensure requirements in this section. Persons who carry 
or have access to a firearm while on duty must have a valid 
license with a firearm endorsement as described under 6 VAC 
20-250-80. If carrying a handgun concealed, the person must 
also have a valid concealed handgun permit and the written 
permission of his employer pursuant to § 18.2-308 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

B. Each person applying for a bail bondsman license shall 
meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows: 

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age; 

2. Be a United States citizen or legal resident alien of the 
United States; and 

3. Have received a high school diploma or GED. 

4. Have successfully completed all initial training 
requirements, pursuant to the compulsory minimum 
training standards in Part IV of this regulation. 

5. Have successfully completed the bail bondsman exam 
required by the board at a certified or licensed private 
security services training school with a minimum passing 
grade of 70%. 

C. The following persons are not eligible for licensure as bail 
bondsmen and may not be employed nor serve as the agent of 
a bail bondsman:  

1. Persons who have been convicted of a felony within the 
Commonwealth, any other state, or the United States, who 
have not been pardoned, or whose civil rights have not 
been restored;  

2. Persons who are an employee, spouse of an employee or 
residing in the same household of an employee of a local or 
regional jail; sheriff's office; state or local police 
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department; an office of an attorney for the 
Commonwealth; Department of Corrections, Department of 
Criminal Justice Services; or a local community corrections 
agency, or persons appointed as conservators of the peace 
pursuant to Article 4.1 (§ 9.1-150.1 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 
Title 9.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

6 VAC 20-250-40. Initial bail bondsman license 
application. 

A. Prior to the issuance of any bail bondsman license, each 
bondsman applicant shall:  

1. Pass the bail bondsman exam as prescribed by the board 
at a certified or licensed private security services training 
school with a minimum passing grade of 70%. Any 
applicant who improperly uses notes or other reference 
materials, or otherwise cheats on the exam, shall be 
ineligible to become a licensed bail bondsman.  

2. Successfully complete entry-level training, and firearms 
training if applicable, pursuant to the compulsory minimum 
training standards set forth under Part IV (6 VAC 20-250-
130 et seq.) of this chapter; 

3. File with the department a completed application for 
such license on the form and in the manner provided by the 
department. 

4. Submit fingerprints to the department pursuant to 6 VAC 
20-250-50; 

5. Submit the appropriate nonrefundable application 
processing fee and appropriate category fee to the 
department. 

6. Maintain a physical address in Virginia where records 
required to be maintained by the Code of Virginia and this 
regulation are kept and available for inspection by the 
department. A post office box is not a physical address; 

7. Provide the legal entity name, all fictitious names and 
physical addresses of all companies under which he carries 
out his bail bonding business. 

B. Additionally, prior to the issuance of a property bail 
bondsman license, each property bail bondsman applicant 
shall provide proof of collateral of $200,000 on his bonds and 
proof of collateral of $200,000 on the bonds of each of his 
agents. Any collateral that is not in the form of real estate, 
cash, or certificates of deposit issued by a FDIC-insured 
financial institution shall be specifically approved by the 
department before it may be used as collateral. 

C. A property bail bondsman license will not be issued if the 
true market value of the equity in his collateral of real estate, 
cash or certificates of deposit issued by a federally insured 
institution, or any combination thereof does not meet or 
exceed $200,000. 

1. If the property used as collateral is real estate, such real 
estate shall be located in the Commonwealth. In addition, 
the property bail bondsman applicant shall submit to the 
department: 

a. A true copy of the current real estate tax assessment 
thereof, certified by the appropriate assessing officer of 
the locality wherein such property is located or, at the 
option of the property bail bondsman, an appraisal of the 
fair market value of the real estate, which appraisal shall 
have been prepared by a licensed real estate appraiser, 
within one year of its submission.  

b. A new appraisal, if, at its discretion, the department so 
orders for good cause shown prior to certification. At the 
discretion of the department, after the original 
submission of any property appraisal or tax assessment, 
further appraisals or tax assessments for that property 
may not be required more than once every five years.  

c. An affidavit by the property bail bondsman applicant 
that states, to the best of such person's knowledge, the 
amount of equity in the real estate, and the amounts due 
under any obligations secured by liens or similar 
encumbrances against the real estate, including any 
delinquent taxes, as of the date of the submission. At its 
discretion, the department may require additional 
documentation to verify these amounts. 

2. If the property used as collateral consists of cash or 
certificates of deposit, the property bail bondsman 
applicant shall submit to the department verification of the 
amounts, and the names of the financial institution in which 
they are held. 

3. Any property bail bondsman issued a certificate by a 
judge pursuant to former § 19.2-152.1 of the Code of 
Virginia, prior to July 1, 1989, who has continuously 
maintained his certification and who has never provided to 
a court collateral of $200,000 or more, shall continue to be 
exempt from the $200,000 collateral requirements specified 
above. Those property bail bondsmen who are exempted 
from this provision shall satisfy all of the other 
requirements in this article for bail bondsmen, and shall 
provide to the department the collateral amount to which 
they may bond and provide proof of his prior certification 
by obtaining a certified copy of (i) the certificate issued 
pursuant to former § 19.2-152.1 of the Code of Virginia 
and (ii) the documents held by the originating court that 
stated the collateral amount for which they were able to 
bond. 

4. Each property bail bondsman, if so directed by the 
department, shall place a deed of trust on the real estate that 
he is using for the limit of his expected bonded 
indebtedness to secure the Commonwealth and shall name 
the attorney for the Commonwealth of the affected locality 
as trustee under the deed of trust, and furnish the 
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department an acceptable appraisal and title certificate of 
the real estate subject to any such deed of trust.  

5. Each principal property bail bondsman applicant shall 
submit signed documentation authorizing special power of 
attorney for the purpose of bonding on any collateral 
provided for licensure that is not legally in the sole 
ownership of the principal property bail bondsman. 

6. Each agent property bail bondsman applicant shall 
submit signed documentation authorizing special power of 
attorney for the purpose of bonding on any collateral 
provided for licensure by the principal bail bondsman. 

D. Prior to the issuance of a surety bail bondsman license, 
each surety bail bondsman applicant shall:  

1. Submit proof of current licensing as a property and 
casualty insurance agent validated by the State Corporation 
Commission.  

2. Submit copies of each qualifying power of attorney that 
will be used to provide surety. All qualifying powers of 
attorney filed with the department shall contain the name 
and contact information for both the surety agent and the 
registered agent of the issuing company.  In the event an 
applicant for a surety bail bondsman license is unable to 
obtain a qualifying power of attorney prior to the issuance 
of his license, the department may issue a letter of 
temporary licensure for not more than 30 days on the 
condition that each qualifying power of attorney obtained 
be filed within the 30 days. This temporary license does not 
permit a surety bail bondsman to write bail bonds for any 
insurance company without first filing the company 
qualifying power of attorney with the department. 

6 VAC 20-250-50. Fingerprint processing. 

A. Each person applying for licensure as a bail bondsman 
shall submit to the department: 

1. One completed fingerprint card provided by the 
department or another electronic method approved by the 
department; 

2. A fingerprint processing application;  

3. The applicable nonrefundable fee; and 

4. All criminal history conviction information on a form 
provided by the department. 

B. The department shall submit those fingerprints to the 
Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia 
Criminal History Records search and a National Criminal 
Records search to determine whether the person or persons 
have a record of conviction.  

C. Fingerprint cards found to be unclassifiable will suspend 
action on the application pending the re-submittal of a 
classifiable fingerprint card. The applicant shall be so notified 
in writing and shall submit a new fingerprint card within 30 

days before the processing of his application shall resume. 
After 30 days, the initial fingerprint application process will 
be required to include applicable application fees.  

D. If the applicant is denied by DCJS, the department will 
notify the applicant by letter regarding the reasons for the 
denial. 

6 VAC 20-250-60. Application sanctions/denial, probation, 
suspension and revocation. 

A. The department may deny a license in which any person 
has been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony. Any plea 
of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purposes of this regulation. The record of a conviction 
authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 
under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 
admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. 

B. The department may deny a license in which any person 
has not maintained good standing in every jurisdiction where 
licensed; has had his license denied upon initial application, 
suspended, revoked, surrendered, or not renewed; or has 
otherwise been disciplined in connection with a disciplinary 
action prior to applying for licensing in Virginia. 

C. Any false or misleading statement on any state application 
or supporting documentation is grounds for denial or 
revocation and may be subject to criminal prosecution. 

D. The department may deny licensure to a person for other 
just cause. 

E. A licensee shall be subject to disciplinary action for 
violations or noncompliance with the Code of Virginia or this 
regulation. Disciplinary action shall be in accordance with 
procedures prescribed by the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The disciplinary 
action may include but is not limited to a letter of censure, 
fine, probation, suspension or revocation. 

6 VAC 20-250-70. License issuance. 

A. Upon completion of the initial license application 
requirements, the department may issue an initial license for a 
period not to exceed 24 months. 

B. Each license shall be issued to the applicant named on the 
application and shall be valid only for the person named on 
the license. No license shall be assigned or otherwise 
transferred to another person. 

C. Each licensee shall comply with all applicable 
administrative requirements and standards of conduct and 
shall not engage in any acts prohibited by applicable sections 
of the Code of Virginia and this regulation. 

6 VAC 20-250-80. Additional category application. 

Licensed individuals seeking to add categories to a current 
license must:  
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1. Submit a properly completed application provided by the 
department; 

2. Meet all licensure requirements pursuant to 6 VAC 20-
250-40 B through D; and 

3. Submit the applicable, nonrefundable category fee.  

6 VAC 20-250-90. Firearm endorsement. 

A. In addition to applying for a bail bondsman license, each 
applicant who carries or has immediate access to a firearm 
while on duty must apply for such endorsement on a form and 
in the manner prescribed by the board and containing any 
information the board requires. 

B. Prior to the issuance of a firearm endorsement, each 
applicant shall:  

1. Successfully complete the entry-level firearms training, 
pursuant to the compulsory minimum training standards set 
forth in Part IV (6 VAC 20-250-130 et seq.) of this chapter; 
and 

2. Submit the appropriate nonrefundable application-
processing fee to the department. 

C. Upon completion of the application requirements, the 
department may issue a firearm endorsement for a period not 
to exceed 12 months. 

D. Firearms endorsements may be reissued for a period not to 
exceed a period of 12 months when the applicant has met the 
following requirements: 

1. Filed with the department a completed application for 
such endorsement on the form and in the manner provided 
by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration of 
their current endorsement; 

2. Successfully completed the firearms retraining pursuant 
to the compulsory minimum training standards set forth 
under Part IV (6 VAC 20-250-130 et seq.) of this chapter; 
and 

3. Submitted the appropriate nonrefundable application 
processing fee to the department. 

6 VAC 20-250-100. License renewal application. 

A. The department should receive applications for licensure 
renewal at least 30 days prior to expiration. The department 
will provide a renewal notification to the last known mailing 
address of the licensed person. However, if a renewal 
notification is not received by the person, it is the 
responsibility of the person to ensure renewal requirements 
are filed with the department.  

B. Each person applying for license renewal shall meet the 
minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:  

1. Successfully complete the in-service training, and 
firearms retraining if applicable pursuant to the compulsory 

minimum training standards set forth under Part IV (6 VAC 
20-250-130 et seq.) of this chapter; and 

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed. 
This subdivision shall not apply to any probationary 
periods during which the person is eligible to operate under 
the license.  

C. The department may renew a license when the department 
receives the following:  

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by 
the department; 

2. Fingerprint cards submitted pursuant to 6 VAC 20-250-
50; 

3. The applicable, nonrefundable license renewal fee, and 
appropriate category fee; 

4. Proof of successful completion of in-service training 
pursuant to the compulsory minimum training standards set 
forth under Part IV (6 VAC 20-250-130 et seq.) of this 
chapter; and 

5. All other documentation listed in 6 VAC 20-250-40 B 
and C. 

D. Upon completion of the renewal license application 
requirements, the department may issue a license for a period 
not to exceed 24 months.  

E. Any renewal application received by the department shall 
meet all renewal requirements prior to the expiration date of a 
license or shall be subject to the initial bail bondsman license 
application requirements pursuant to 6 VAC 20-250-40. 

6 VAC 20-250-110. License termination. 

A. Any surety bail bondsman license issued pursuant to this 
part shall terminate immediately upon the termination of the 
licensee's property and casualty insurance agent license, and 
may not be applied for again until the person has been issued 
a new property and casualty insurance agent license.  

B. A surety bail bondsman may apply for reinstatement of the 
terminated license no more than 120 days from termination 
with the appropriate reinstatement application and 
nonrefundable fees. After 120 days application for a bail 
bondsman license shall be subject to the initial bail bondsman 
license application requirements pursuant to 6 VAC 20-250-
40. 

6 VAC 20-250-120. Replacement state issued 
identification. 

Licensed person seeking a replacement state issued photo 
identification shall submit to the department: 

1. A properly completed application provided by the 
department; and 

2. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 
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PART IV. 
COMPULSORY MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS 

FOR BAIL BONDSMEN. 

Article 1. 
Training Requirements. 

6 VAC 20-250-130. Entry-level training. 

A. Each bail bondsman as defined by § 9.1-185 of the Code 
of Virginia, must meet the compulsory minimum training 
standards herein established, unless provided for otherwise in 
accordance with this regulation. 

B. Training must be completed at a private security services 
training school certified or licensed by the department. 

C. Training will be credited only if application for licensure is 
submitted to the department within 12 months of completion 
of training.  

D. Hour requirement. The compulsory minimum entry-level 
training hour requirement by category, excluding 
examinations, practical exercises and range qualification, 
shall be: 

1. Bail bondsman core training - 40 hours 

2. Firearms training - 14 hours 

E. Course content. The compulsory minimum entry-level 
training course content by category, excluding examinations, 
mandated practical exercises and range qualification, shall be 
as provided in this subsection. 

Core subjects. The entry-level curriculum set forth the 
following areas identified as: 

I. Orientation - two hours. 

A. Ethical standards 

1. Professionalism 

2. Misrepresentation 

3. Conflicts of interest 

4. Information protection, confidentiality, and discretion 
requirements 

B. Brief introduction to Code of Virginia and regulations 
relating to bail bondsman  

II. Law - 12 hours plus one practical exercise. 

A. Code of Virginia and regulations relating to bail bondsman 

1. Definitions 

2. Licensing procedures and requirements 

3. Compulsory minimum training standards 

4. Standards of practice and prohibited acts 

5. Administrative requirements/standards of conduct 

6. Administrative reviews, complaints, procedures, and 
responsibilities 

B. Basic law 

1. Legal terminology and definitions 

2. Purpose and function of law 

3. U.S. Constitution  

a. Amendments 

b. Bill of Rights 

4. Landmark cases 

5. Limitations and liability 

C. Surety and property law 

1. Surety bail bondsman 

a. Insurance companies 

b. Agent vs. attorney-in-fact 

c. Virginia qualification requirements 

2. Property bail bondsman 

a. Virginia property requirements 

b. Agent requirements 

D. Courts 

1. Civil court system 

a. Federal 

b. State 

c. Local jurisdiction 

d. Definitions 

e. Civil judicial procedures 

2. Criminal court system  

a. State and federal 

b. Legal authority and related issues 

c. Liability concerns 

d. Definitions/interpretations 

e. Magistrates 

E. Release from legal obligation 

1. When defendant answers charge 

2. Circulate the bail piece release 

3. Special considerations 

a. The recognizance 

b. Preliminary hearing 
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c. Bond continuation pending pre-sentence report 

d. Sentencing 

e. Withhold findings 

f. Bond reinstatement 

III. Fugitive recovery - 24 hours plus one practical exercise. 

A. Legal procedures 

1. Bondsman’s legal right to recover 

2. Notice of show cause hearing 

3. Entry of finding of default 

4. Payment of forfeiture 

5. Recovery: 12 months from entry of finding of default 

6. Section 9.1-185.15 of the Code of Virginia, recovery of 
bailees 

B. Criminal statutes 

1. Liability considerations/liability insurance 

2. Case law 

3. Law enforcement 

a. State  

b. Federal 

4. Reasonable force to effect apprehension 

C. Use of recovery agents in Virginia 

1. Virginia legal requirements 

2. Recovery agents authority 

3. Employee vs. independent contractor 

4. Liability considerations/liability insurance 

D. Investigative techniques 

1. Surveillance 

2. Court research 

3. Law-enforcement coordination 

4. Interviewing 

5. Impersonation and misrepresentation 

6. Reference materials and resource list 

7. Skip-tracing techniques 

8. Fugitive identification 

E. Recovery procedures 

1. Pursuit 

a. Foot 

b. Vehicular 

c. Other 

2. Entry and search 

3. Perimeter/interior room control 

F. Agent survival 

1. Confrontation management 

2. Use of force 

3. Deadly force 

4. Escalation of force 

5. Emergency procedures 

G. Apprehension of a fugitive 

1. Compliant versus noncompliant procedures 

2. Search of person 

a. Personal items 

b. Seizure of contraband 

3. Handcuffing techniques 

4. Rights of the accused 

5. Detainment and transportation 

6. Interstate transport 

7. False arrest 

IV. Responsibilities of bondsman and remanding to custody 
two hours plus one practical exercise. 

A. Recovery in Virginia 

B. Recovery out of Virginia; Uniform Extradition Act 

C. International recovery 

D. Legal detainment facilities 

E. Entering the jail or sally port 

F. Signing the bail piece/return to court 

G. Hospital procedures for injuries 

V. Documentation - two hours plus one practical exercise. 

A. Required by the courts 

B. Required by DCJS 

C. Recordkeeping 

D. Reporting 

E. Retaining records  

VI. Written examination 

Total hours (excluding exam) - 40 hours  
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6 VAC 20-250-140. In-service training. 

A. Each person licensed with the department as a bail 
bondsman shall complete the compulsory in-service training 
standards within the last 12 months preceding the expiration 
date of licensure. If in-service training is not completed by the 
expiration date of licensure, entry-level training will be 
required pursuant to initial licensure requirements pursuant to 
6 VAC 20-250-40. 

B. Course content. The compulsory minimum in-service 
training course content by category, excluding examinations, 
practical exercises and range qualification, shall be as 
follows: 

Bail Bondsman core subjects: 

1. Legal authority - 2 hours 

2. Job-related training - 6 hours 

Total hours - 8 hours 

6 VAC 20-250-150. In-service alternative training credit. 

Persons who have completed training that meets or exceeds 
the compulsory minimum training standards promulgated by 
the board for in-service training required for the individual's 
particular category may be authorized credit for such training, 
provided the training has been completed within 12 months of 
the expiration date of the licensure period during which in-
service training is required. Such training must be provided 
by a third-party organization offering services or expertise for 
the particular training category. Official documentation of the 
following must accompany the application for in-service 
alternative training credit:  

1. Information regarding the sponsoring organization, 
including documentation regarding the instructor for each 
session; 

2. An outline of the training session material, including the 
dates, times and specific subject matter; 

3. Proof of attendance and successful completion; and 

4. The applicable, nonrefundable application fee. 

6 VAC 20-250-160. Training extension. 

A. An extension of the time period to meet in-service training 
requirements may be approved only under specific 
circumstances, which do not allow bail bondsmen to 
complete the required procedures within the prescribed time 
period. The following are the only circumstances for which 
extensions may be granted:  

1. Extended illness;  

2. Extended injury; and 

3. Military or foreign service. 

B. A request for extension shall:  

1. Be submitted in writing, dated and signed by the licensee 
prior to the expiration date of the time limit required for 
completion of the requirements;  

2. Indicate the projected date that the person will be able to 
comply with the requirements; and  

3. Include a copy of the physician's record of the injury or 
illness or a copy of the government orders.  

C. No extension will be approved for licenses that have 
expired.  

D. Applications for additional extensions may be approved 
upon written request of the licensee. 

E. Approved extensions may only be granted for a period not 
to exceed 12 months. 

Article 2. 
Firearms Training Requirements. 

6 VAC 20-250-170. General firearms training 
requirements. 

Firearms training endorsement is required for all bail 
bondsmen who carry or have access to a firearm while on 
duty. Each person who carries or has access to firearms while 
on duty shall qualify with each type of action and caliber of 
firearm to which he has access.  

6 VAC 20-250-180. Firearms (handgun/shotgun) entry-
level training. 

All armed bail bondsmen must satisfactorily complete the 
firearms classroom training, practical exercises and range 
training, as prescribed in the Regulations Relating to Private 
Security Services (6 VAC 20-171) for handgun and for 
shotgun, if applicable, prior to the issuance of the firearms 
endorsement. 

6 VAC 20-250-190. Firearms (handgun/shotgun) 
retraining. 

On an annual basis all armed bail bondsman must requalify 
for a firearms endorsement by satisfactorily completing 
firearms classroom training, practical exercises and range 
training, as prescribed in the Regulations Relating to Private 
Security Services (6 VAC 20-171) for handgun and for 
shotgun, if applicable. 

6 VAC 20-250-200. Prior firearms training exemption. 

A. Persons having previous department-approved firearms 
training may be authorized credit for such training that meets 
or exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards for a 
firearm endorsement, provided such training has been 
completed within the 12 months preceding the date of 
application. Official documentation of the following must 
accompany the application for partial in-service training 
credit:  
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1. Completion of department-approved firearms training; 
and 

2. Qualification at a Virginia criminal justice agency, 
academy or correctional department. 

B. Individuals requesting a training exemption shall file an 
application furnished by the department and include the 
applicable, nonrefundable application fee. The department 
may issue a training exemption on the basis of individual 
qualifications as supported by required documentation. 

Article 3. 
Training Sessions. 

6 VAC 20-250-210. Bail bondsmen and firearms training 
sessions. 

A. Training sessions will be conducted by private security 
services training schools certified or licensed under the 
Regulations Relating to Private Security Services (6 VAC 20-
171) or by the department in accordance with requirements 
established in this chapter. Adherence to the administrative 
requirements, attendance and standards of conduct are the 
responsibility of the training school, training school director 
and instructor of the training session. 

B. Administrative requirements. 

1. In a manner approved by the department, a notification 
to conduct a training session shall be submitted to the 
department. All notifications shall be received by the 
department, or postmarked if mailed, no less than seven 
calendar days prior to the beginning of each training 
session to include the date, time, instructors and location of 
the training session. The department may allow a session to 
be conducted with less than seven calendar days of 
notification with prior approval. Session notifications 
require no fee from the training school. A notification to 
conduct a training session shall be deemed to be in 
compliance unless the department notifies the training 
school director to the contrary.  

2. Notification of any changes to the dates, times, location 
or cancellation of a future training session must be 
submitted to the department in writing and received by the 
department at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled 
starting time of the class. In the event that a session must be 
cancelled on the scheduled date, the department must be 
notified immediately followed by a cancellation in writing 
as soon as practical.  

3. On a form provided by the department, the training 
school director shall issue an original training completion 
form and training certificate to each student who 
satisfactorily completes a training session no later than five 
business days following the training completion date. 

4. In a manner approved by the department, the training 
school director shall submit an original training completion 

roster to the department affirming each student's successful 
completion of the session. The training completion roster 
shall be received by the department within seven calendar 
days, or postmarked if mailed, no later than five business 
days following the training completion date. 

5. A written examination shall be administered at the 
conclusion of each entry-level training session. The 
examination shall be based on the applicable learning 
objectives. The student must attain a minimum grade of 
70% for all entry-level training examinations to 
satisfactorily complete the training session. 

6. Firearms classroom training shall be separately tested 
and graded. Individuals must achieve a minimum score of 
70% on the firearms classroom training examination. 

7. Failure to achieve a minimum score of 70% on the 
firearms classroom written examination will exclude the 
individual from the firearms range training. 

8. To successfully complete the firearms range training; the 
individual must achieve a minimum qualification score of 
75% of the scoring value of the target. 

9. To successfully complete the bail bondsman entry-level 
training session, the individual must: 

a. Successfully complete each of the three graded 
practical exercises required; and 

b. Pass the written examination with a minimum score of 
70%. 

C. Attendance.  

1. Individuals enrolled in an approved training session are 
required to be present for the hours required for each 
training session.  

2. Tardiness and absenteeism will not be permitted. 
Individuals violating these provisions will be required to 
make up any training missed. Such training must be 
completed within 60 days after the completion of the 
training session. Individuals not completing the required 
training within this period are required to complete the 
entire training session.  

3. Individuals that do not successfully complete the 
compulsory minimum training standards of the training 
session shall not be reported to the department except 
where required.  

4. Each individual attending an approved training session 
shall comply with the regulations promulgated by the board 
and any other rules within the authority of the training 
school. If the training school director or instructor 
considers a violation of the rules detrimental to the training 
of other students or to involve cheating on examinations, 
the training school director or instructor may expel the 
individual from the school. Notification of such action shall 
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immediately be reported to the employing firms and the 
department.  

D. Standards of conduct. 

1. The training school, training school director and 
instructor shall at all times conform to the application 
requirements, administrative requirements and standards of 
conduct established for certification as a training school 
and instructor. 

2. Training sessions will be conducted by DCJS-certified 
instructors or other individuals authorized to provide 
instruction.  

3. Training sessions will be conducted utilizing lesson 
plans developed including at a minimum the compulsory 
minimum training standards established pursuant to this 
chapter.  

4. Instruction shall be provided in no less than 50-minute 
classes. 

5. Training sessions may not exceed nine hours of 
classroom instruction per day. Range qualification and 
practical exercises shall not be considered classroom 
instruction; however, total training, including the maximum 
allotment of nine hours classroom instruction and 
applicable range qualification and practical exercises, shall 
not exceed 12 hours per day. This does not include time 
allotted for breaks, meals and testing.  

6. All audiovisual training aids must be accompanied by a 
period of instruction where the instructor reviews the 
content of the presentation and the students are provided 
the opportunity to ask questions regarding the content.  

7. A training session must adhere to the minimum 
compulsory training standards and must be presented in its 
entirety. Training school directors may require additional 
hours of instruction, testing or evaluation procedures.  

8. A training session must provide accurate and current 
information to the students.  

9. Mandated training conducted not in accordance with the 
Code of Virginia and this chapter is null and void. 

10. A duplicate set of instructor course materials including 
all student materials shall be made available to any 
department inspector during the training session, if 
requested. 

PART V. 
RECORDKEEPING STANDARDS AND REPORTING 

REQUIREMENTS. 

6 VAC 20-250-220. Recordkeeping standards. 

A. The bail bondsman shall retain the following for a 
minimum of three calendar years from the date of the 
termination of the liability:  

1. Copies of recognizance, documentary evidence of terms 
of agreement between principal, indeminator and licensed 
bail bondsman. 

2. Copies of all written representations made to any court 
or to any public official for the purpose of avoiding a 
forfeiture of bail, setting aside a forfeiture, or causing a 
defendant to be released on his own recognizance. 

3. Copies of all affidavits and receipts made in connection 
with collateral received in the course of business. 

4. Evidence of the return of any security or collateral 
received in the course of business, including a copy of the 
receipt showing when and to whom the collateral was 
returned. 

5. Copies of all written documentation in connection with 
the recovery of a bailee pursuant to 6 VAC 20-250-260. 

B. Upon request of the department, a bail bondsman shall 
provide any documents required to be kept pursuant to this 
section.  

6 VAC 20-250-230. Reporting requirements. 

A. Each licensed bail bondsman shall report within 30 
calendar days to the department any change in his residence, 
name, business name or business address, and ensure that the 
department has the names and all fictitious names of all 
companies under which he carries out his bail bonding 
business.  

B. Each licensed bail bondsman arrested or convicted of a 
felony shall report within 30 calendar days to the department 
the facts and circumstances regarding the arrest or criminal 
conviction.  

C. Each licensed bail bondsman shall report to the 
department, within 30 calendar days of the final disposition, 
of the matter any administrative action taken against him by 
another governmental agency in the Commonwealth or in 
another jurisdiction. Such report shall include a copy of the 
order, consent to order or other relevant legal documents. 

D. Each licensed bail bondsman shall report to the department 
within 24 hours any event in which he discharges a firearm 
during the course of his duties.  

E. Each licensed property bail bondsman shall submit to the 
department, on a prescribed form, not later than the fifth day 
of each month, a list of all outstanding bonds on which he 
was obligated as of the last day of the preceding month, 
together with the amount of the penalty of each such bond.  

F. Each licensed principal property bail bondsman shall report 
to the department any change in the number of agents in his 
employ within seven days of such change and concurrently 
provide proof of collateral of $200,000 for each new agent, in 
accordance with subsection C of § 9.1-185.5 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
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G. Each licensed agent bail bondsman shall report to the 
department any change in his employment within seven days 
of such change. 

H. Each licensed principal property bail bondsman shall 
report to the department within five business days if any new 
lien, encumbrance, or deed of trust is placed on any real estate 
that is being used as collateral on his or his agents' bonds as 
well as the amount it is securing. The reporting requirement 
deadline is deemed to begin as soon as the licensed property 
bail bondsman learns of the new lien, encumbrance, or deed 
of trust, or should have reasonably known that such a lien, 
encumbrance, or deed of trust had been recorded.  

I. Each licensed surety bail bondsman shall report to the 
department within 30 days any change in his employment or 
agency status with a licensed insurance company. If the 
surety bail bondsman receives a new qualifying power of 
attorney from an insurance company, he shall forward a copy 
thereof within 30 days to the department, in accordance with 
subdivision D 2 of § 9.1-185.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

PART VI. 
ADMINISTRATIVE REQUIREMENTS/STANDARDS OF 

CONDUCT. 

6 VAC 20-250-240. General requirements. 

All bail bondsman are required to maintain administrative 
requirements and standards of conduct as determined by the 
Code of Virginia, department guidelines and this regulation. 

6 VAC 20-250-250. Professional conduct standards; 
grounds for disciplinary actions. 

A. Any violations of the restrictions or standards under this 
statute shall be grounds for placing on probation, refusal to 
issue or renew, sanctioning, suspension or revocation of the 
bail bondsman's license. A licensed bail bondsman is 
responsible for ensuring that his employees, partners and 
persons contracted to perform services for or on behalf of the 
bonding business comply with all of these provisions, and do 
not violate any of the restrictions that apply to bail bondsmen. 
Violations by a bondsman's employee, partner, or agent may 
be grounds for disciplinary action against the bondsman, 
including probation, suspension or revocation of license. 
Upon notification from the State Corporation Commission of 
a license suspension, the department shall immediately 
suspend a surety bondsman's license, pending the results of an 
investigation. 

B. A licensed bail bondsman shall not:  

1. Knowingly commit, or be a party to, any material fraud, 
misrepresentation, concealment, conspiracy, collusion, 
forgery, scheme or device whereby any other person 
lawfully relies upon the word, representation, or conduct of 
the bail bondsman. 

2. Solicit sexual favors or extort additional consideration as 
a condition of obtaining, maintaining, or exonerating bail 
bond, regardless of the identity of the person who performs 
the favors. 

3. Conduct a bail bond transaction that demonstrates bad 
faith, dishonesty, coercion, incompetence, extortion or 
untrustworthiness. 

4. Coerce, suggest, aid and abet, offer promise of favor, or 
threaten any person on whose bond he is surety or offers to 
become surety, to induce that person to commit any crime. 

5. Give or receive, directly or indirectly, any gift of any 
kind to any nonelected public official or any employee of a 
governmental agency involved with the administration of 
justice, including but not limited to law-enforcement 
personnel, magistrates, judges, and jail employees, as well 
as attorneys. De minimis gifts, not to exceed $50 per year 
per recipient, are acceptable, provided the purpose of the 
gift is not to directly solicit business, or would otherwise be 
a violation of board regulations or the laws of the 
Commonwealth. 

6. Fail to comply with any of the statutory or regulatory 
requirements governing licensed bail bondsmen.  

7. Fail to cooperate with any investigation by the 
department. 

8. Fail to comply with any subpoena issued by the 
department. 

9. Provide materially incorrect, misleading, incomplete or 
untrue information in a license application, renewal 
application, or any other document filed with the 
department.  

10. Provide bail for any person if he is also an attorney 
representing that person.  

11. Provide bail for any person if the bondsman was 
initially involved in the arrest of that person.  

C. A licensed bail bondsman shall ensure that each 
recognizance on all bonds for which he signs shall contain the 
name, license number and contact information.  

D. A surety bail bondsman shall in addition ensure that each 
recognizance for which he signs contains the contact 
information for both the surety agent and the registered agent 
of the issuing company. 

E. An administrative fee may be charged by a bail bondsman, 
not to exceed reasonable costs and must be disclosed in 
writing. Reasonable costs may include, but are not limited to, 
travel, court time, recovery fees, phone expenses, 
administrative overhead and postage.  

F. A property bail bondsman shall not enter into any bond if 
the aggregate of the penalty of such bond and all other bonds, 
on which he has not been released from liability, is in excess 
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of the true market value of the equity in his real estate, cash 
or certificates of deposit issued by a federally insured 
institution, or any combination thereof.  

G. A property bail bondsman or his agent shall not refuse to 
cover any forfeiture of bond against him or refuse to pay such 
forfeiture after notice and final order of the court.  

H. A surety bail bondsman shall not refuse to cover any 
forfeiture of bond against him or refuse to pay such forfeiture 
after notice and final order of the court. 

I. A surety bail bondsman shall not write bail bonds on any 
qualifying power of attorney for which a copy has not been 
filed with the department. 

J. A surety bail bondsman shall not violate any of the statutes 
or regulations that govern insurance agents.  

K. A licensed bail bondsman shall disclose in writing to the 
indeminator if the bail bondsman has the knowledge that the 
bailee is being held in multiple jurisdictions. 

6 VAC 20-250-260. Solicitation of business; standards, 
restrictions and requirements. 

A. Only licensed bail bondsmen shall be authorized to solicit 
bail bond business in the Commonwealth.  

B. A licensed bail bondsman shall not:  

1. Solicit bail bond business or have any person solicit on 
his behalf by directly initiating contact with any person in 
any court, jail, lock-up, or surrounding government 
property. 

2. Leave any type of advertising material in any court, jail, 
lock-up or surrounding government property. 

3. Loiter by any jail or magistrate's office unless there on 
legitimate business. 

4. Communicate with any inmate without first notifying the 
sheriff of jailor of their intent to communicate with such 
inmate. 

5. Refer a client or a principal for whom he has posted 
bond to an attorney for financial profit or other 
consideration. 

6 VAC 20-250-270. Recovery of bailees; methods of 
capture; standards and requirements; limitations. 

A. During the recovery of a bailee, a bail bondsman shall 
have a copy of the relevant recognizance for the bailee. In the 
event a bail bondsman is recovering the bailee of another 
bondsman, he shall also have written authorization from the 
bailee's bondsman obtained prior to affecting the capture. The 
department shall develop the written authorization form to be 
used in such circumstances. 

B. A bail bondsmen shall not enter a residential structure 
without first verbally notifying the occupants who are present 
at the time of the entry.  

C. Absent exigent circumstances, a bail bondsman shall give 
prior notification of at least 24 hours to local law enforcement 
or state police of the intent to apprehend a bailee. In all cases, 
a bail bondsman shall inform local law enforcement within 30 
minutes of capturing a bailee.  

D. A bail bondsman shall not break any laws of the 
Commonwealth in the act of apprehending a bailee.  

E. A bail bondsman shall adhere to the recovery requirements 
pursuant to § 19.2-149 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. A bail bondsman must complete and maintain the 
information on the recovery of a bailee on a form prescribed 
by the department. 

6 VAC 20-250-280. Collateral received in the course of 
business; standards and requirements. 

A. A licensed bail bondsman shall be permitted to accept 
collateral security or other indemnity from the principal, 
which shall be returned upon final termination of liability on 
the bond, including the conclusion of all appeals or appeal 
periods. Such collateral security or other indemnity required 
by the bail bondsman shall be reasonable in relation to the 
amount of the bond.  

B. When a bondsman accepts collateral, he shall give a 
written receipt to the depositor. The receipt shall provide a 
full description of the collateral received and the terms of 
redemption or forfeiture. The receipt shall also include the 
depositor's name and contact information.  

C. Any bail bondsman who receives collateral in connection 
with a bail transaction shall receive such collateral in a 
fiduciary capacity, and prior to any forfeiture of bail shall 
keep it separate and apart from any other funds or assets of 
such bail bondsman. In the event a bondsman receives 
collateral in the nature of a tangible good, it shall be a per se 
violation of the bail bondsman's fiduciary duty to make 
personal use of any such collateral unless there is a proper 
forfeiture of bail.  

D. Any collateral received shall be returned with all due 
diligence to the person who deposited it with the bail 
bondsman or any assignee other than the bail bondsman as 
soon as the obligation is discharged and all fees owed to the 
bail bondsman have been paid. In any event, after a specific 
request for the return of the collateral by the depositor, the 
collateral shall be returned within 15 days after all fees owed 
have been paid.  
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6 VAC 20-250-290. Uniforms and identification; 
standards and restrictions. 

A. A bail bondsman shall not wear, carry, or display any 
uniform, badge, shield, or other insignia or emblem that 
implies he is an agent of state, local, or federal government. 

B. A bail bondsman shall wear or display only identification 
issued by or whose design has been approved by the 
department. 

1. A bail bondsman is required to visibly display on his 
outermost clothing, the photo identification license issued 
by the department at all times while on legitimate bail 
bonding business on government property. 

2. A bail bondsman may display only his name and name 
of his company on the front of his shirt or jacket on 
government property as long as the insignia or emblem is 
no larger then 3 x 5 inches in its entirety. 

PART VII. 
COMPLAINTS, DEPARTMENT ACTIONS, 

ADJUDICATION. 

Article 1. 
Complaints. 

6 VAC 20-250-300. Submittal requirements. 

A. Any aggrieved or interested person may file a complaint 
against any person whose conduct and activities are regulated 
or required to be regulated by the board. The complaint must 
allege a violation of the law governing bail bondsman 
services or this regulation. 

B. Complaints may be submitted: 

1. In writing, or on a form provided by the department, by a 
signed complainant; 

2. In writing, submitted anonymously, that provide 
sufficient detailed information for the department to 
conduct an investigation; or 

3. Telephonically, providing the complaint alleges 
activities that constitute a life-threatening situation, or have 
resulted in personal injury or loss to the public or to a 
consumer, or that may result in imminent harm or personal 
injury, and that provide sufficient detailed information for 
the department to conduct an investigation. 

6 VAC 20-250-310. Department investigation. 

A. The department may initiate or conduct an investigation 
based on any information received or action taken by the 
department to determine compliance with the Code of 
Virginia and this regulation.  

B. Documentation.  

1. Persons regulated or required to be regulated by this 
regulation pursuant to the Code of Virginia are required to 

provide department investigators with any and all records 
required to be maintained by this regulation.  

a. This shall not be construed to authorize the department 
to demand records protected under applicable federal and 
state laws. If such records are necessary to complete an 
investigation, the department may seek a subpoena to 
satisfy the request.  

b. The department shall endeavor to review, and request 
as necessary, only those records required to verify 
alleged violations of compliance with the Code of 
Virginia and this regulation.  

2. The department shall endeavor to keep any 
documentation, evidence or information on an investigation 
confidential until such time as adjudication has been 
completed, at which time information may be released 
upon request pursuant to applicable federal and state laws, 
rules or regulations.  

Article 2. 
Department Actions. 

6 VAC 20-250-320. Disciplinary action; sanctions; 
publication of records. 

A. Each person subject to jurisdiction of this regulation who 
violates any statute or regulation pertaining to bail bondsman 
services shall be subject to sanctions imposed by the 
department regardless of criminal prosecution.  

B. The department may impose any of the following 
sanctions, singly or in combination, when it finds the 
respondent in violation or in noncompliance of the Code of 
Virginia or of this regulation:  

1. Letter of reprimand or censure;  

2. Probation for any period of time;  

3. Suspension of license or approval granted, for any period 
of time;  

4. Revocation;  

5. Refusal to issue or renew a license or approval;  

6. Fine not to exceed $2,500 per violation as long as the 
respondent was not criminally prosecuted; or 

7. Remedial training. 

B. The department may conduct hearings and issue cease and 
desist orders to persons who engage in activities prohibited 
by this regulation but do not hold a valid license, certification 
or registration. Any person in violation of a cease and desist 
order entered by the department shall be subject to all of the 
remedies provided by law and, in addition, shall be subject to 
a civil penalty payable to the party injured by the violation.  

C. The director (chief administrative officer of the 
department) may summarily suspend a license under this 
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regulation without a hearing, simultaneously with the filing of 
a formal complaint and notice for a hearing, if the director 
finds that the continued operations of the licensee would 
constitute a life-threatening situation, or has resulted in 
personal injury or loss to the public or to a consumer, or that 
may result in imminent harm, personal injury or loss.  

D. All proceedings pursuant to this section are matters of 
public record and shall be preserved. The department may 
publish a list of the names and addresses of all licensees 
whose conduct and activities are subject to this regulation and 
have been sanctioned or denied licensure or approval.  

6 VAC 20-250-330. Fines, administrative and investigative 
costs. 

The department may recover costs of any investigation and 
adjudication of any violations of the Code of Virginia or 
regulations that result in a sanction, including fine, probation, 
suspension, revocation or denial of any license. Such costs 
shall be in addition to any monetary penalty that may be 
imposed.  

Article 3. 
Adjudication. 

6 VAC 20-250-340. Hearing process. 

Following a preliminary investigative process, the department 
may initiate action to resolve the complaint through an 
informal fact-finding conference or formal hearing as 
established in this regulation. Pursuant to the authority 
conferred in § 9.1-141 C 6 of the Code of Virginia and in 
accordance with the procedures set forth by the 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) and the procedures prescribed herein, the 
department is empowered to receive, review, investigate and 
adjudicate complaints concerning the conduct of any person 
whose activities are regulated by the board. The board will 
hear and act upon appeals arising from decisions made by the 
director. In all case decisions, the Criminal Justice Services 
Board shall be the final agency authority. 

6 VAC 20-250-350. Informal fact-finding conference. 

The purpose of an informal fact-finding conference is to 
resolve allegations through informal consultation and 
negotiation. Informal fact-finding conferences shall be 
conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 
Virginia. The respondent, the person against whom the 
complaint is filed, may appeal the decision of an informal 
fact-finding conference and request a formal hearing provided 
that written notification is given to the department within 30 
days of the date the informal fact-finding decision notice was 
served, or the date it was mailed to the respondent, whichever 
occurred first. In the event the informal fact-finding decision 
was served by mail, three days shall be added to that period. 

6 VAC 20-250-360. Formal hearing. 
A. Formal hearing proceedings may be initiated in any case in 
which the basic laws provide expressly for a case decision, or 
in any case to the extent the informal fact-finding conference 
has not been conducted or an appeal thereto has been timely 
received. Formal hearings shall be conducted in accordance 
with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia. The findings and 
decision of the director resulting from a formal hearing may 
be appealed to the board. 

B. After a formal hearing pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Code 
of Virginia wherein a sanction is imposed to fine, or to 
suspend, revoke or deny issuance or renewal of any license or 
approval, the department may assess the holder thereof the 
cost of conducting such hearing when the department has 
final authority to grant such license, registration, certification 
or approval, unless the department determines that the offense 
was inadvertent or done in good faith belief that such act did 
not violate a statute or regulation. The cost shall be limited to 
(i) the reasonable hourly rate for the hearing officer and (ii) 
the actual cost of recording the proceedings. This assessment 
shall be in addition to any fine imposed by sanctions. 

6 VAC 20-250-370. Appeals. 
The findings and the decision of the director may be appealed 
to the board provided that written notification is given to the 
attention of the Director of the Department of Criminal 
Justice Services within 30 days following the date notification 
of the hearing decision was served, or the date it was mailed 
to the respondent, whichever occurred first. In the event the 
hearing decision is served by mail, three days shall be added 
to that period. (Rule 2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia Supreme 
Court.) 

6 VAC 20-250-380. Court review; appeal of final agency 
order. 
A. The agency's final administrative decision (final agency 
orders) may be appealed. Any person affected by, and 
claiming the unlawfulness of the agency's final case decision, 
shall have the right to direct review thereof by an appropriate 
and timely court action. Such appeal actions shall be initiated 
in the circuit court of jurisdiction in which the party applying 
for review resides; save, if such party is not a resident of 
Virginia, the venue shall be in the city of Richmond, Virginia.  

B. Notification shall be given to the attention of the Director 
of the Department of Criminal Justice Services in writing 
within 30 days of the date notification of the board decision 
was served, or the date it was mailed to the respondent, 
whichever occurred first. In the event the board decision was 
served by mail, three days shall be added to that period. (Rule 
2A:2 of Rules of the Virginia Supreme Court.)  

C. During all judicial proceedings incidental to such 
disciplinary action, the sanctions imposed by the board shall 
remain in effect unless the court issues a stay of the order. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-279; Filed October 24, 2006, 12:33 p.m. 
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STATE BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  6 VAC 35-180. Regulations Governing 
Mental Health Services Transition Plans for Incarcerated 
Juveniles (adding 6 VAC 35-180-10 through 6 VAC 35-
180-170). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 16.1-293.1 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 29, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Deron Phipps, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 East Franklin Street, P.O. 
Box 1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 786-
6407, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
deron.phipps@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 66-10 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 
general authority of the Board of Juvenile Justice to 
promulgate regulations.   

During the 2005 session, the General Assembly enacted 
Senate Bill 843 and House Bill 2245 thereby creating § 16.1-
293.1 of the Code of Virginia.  (See Chapters 334 and 405 of 
the 2005 Acts of Assembly.)  Section 16.1-293.1 provides 
that the "Board of Juvenile Justice, after consultation with the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services, must promulgate regulations for 
the planning and provision of post-release services for 
persons committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice 
(DJJ) pursuant to subdivision A 14 of § 16.1-278.8 or placed 
in a postdispositional detention program pursuant to 
subsection B of § 16.1-284.1 and identified as having a 
recognized mental health, substance abuse, or other 
therapeutic treatment need."  Section 16.1-293.1 also 
specifies certain elements that must be included in the 
transitional treatment plan, which, therefore, will be 
addressed in the regulation. 

Purpose:  The purpose of the proposed regulation is to ensure 
the planning and provision of postrelease services addressing 
the mental health, substance abuse, or other therapeutic 
treatment needs of incarcerated juveniles as they transition 
back into their communities.  The goal is to ensure 
implementation and continuity of necessary treatment and 
services in order to improve short- and long-term outcomes 
for juvenile offenders with significant needs in these areas.  
Services should be provided in the least restrictive setting 
consistent with public safety and the juvenile’s treatment 
needs. 

Substance:  The proposed regulation specifies how 
individuals will be identified as having a recognized mental 
health, substance abuse, or other therapeutic treatment need.  

The regulation requires that the transitional services plan be 
in writing and completed prior to the person’s release.  The 
plan must be designed to ensure continuity of necessary 
treatment and services. 

The regulation requires that: 

1. The mental health services transition plan identify the 
mental health, substance abuse, or other therapeutic needs 
of the person being released; 

2. Appropriate treatment providers and other persons from 
state and local agencies or entities, as defined by the board, 
participate in the development of the plan. 

In addition, the proposed regulation provides that appropriate 
family members, caregivers, and other relevant persons are to 
be invited to participate in the development of the person’s 
plan. 

The proposed regulation requires that, prior to the person’s 
release from incarceration, the identified agency or agencies 
responsible for the case management of the mental health 
services transition plan will make the necessary referrals 
specified in the plan.  The proposed regulations also require 
identifying the person who will assist in applying for 
insurance and other services identified in the plan, including 
completing and submitting applications that may be 
submitted only upon release. 

Issues:  The regulation enhances the public safety because the 
services mandated therein should reduce recidivism by 
juveniles who have been incarcerated and identified with a 
mental health treatment need. About 1,000 juveniles are 
released each year from a JCC. Of those juveniles, 60% of the 
males and 90% of the females have diagnosed mental health 
treatment needs (41% of males and 59% of females have 
severe emotional disturbances). Half of the youth have taken 
psychotropic medications prior to commitment; 25% have 
been hospitalized in mental hospitals prior to commitment; 
and approximately 70% of all wards are identified as having a 
"High Treatment Need" for substance abuse services. 
Seventy-five percent of the wards were committed for 
nonviolent offenses. 

This regulation is intended to ensure the planning and 
provision of postrelease services addressing the mental 
health, substance abuse, or other therapeutic treatment needs 
of incarcerated juveniles as they transition back into their 
communities.  The goal is to ensure implementation and 
continuity of necessary treatment and services in order to 
improve short- and long-term outcomes for juvenile offenders 
with significant needs in these areas.  Services should be 
provided in the least restrictive setting consistent with public 
safety and the juvenile’s treatment needs.  The plan shall 
address the juvenile’s need for, and ability to access, 
medication, medical insurance, disability benefits, mental 
health services, and funding necessary to meet the juvenile’s 
treatment needs. 
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The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 
the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  Pursuant to Chapter 
440 (2005, Acts of the Assembly), the Board of Juvenile 
Justice (board) proposes to promulgate regulations to provide 
for coordinated post-release mental health, substance abuse 
and other therapeutic treatment for incarcerated juveniles. 

Result of Analysis.  There is insufficient data to measure the 
magnitude of cost versus benefits for the proposed regulation.  
Cost and benefits are detailed below. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Prior to passage of Chapter 440 
in 2005, the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) had no 
regulations dictating how post-release services would be 
planned and provided.  DJJ reports that it was their practice to 
try and ensure juveniles leaving DJJ custody received 
appropriate care but there was no formal coordination 
between DJJ and local agencies that would provide for that 
care. Currently, most juveniles who leave DJJ custody, and 
are in need of continuing care, will receive services through 
one of the 40 Community Services Boards (CSBs) throughout 
the state. CSBs receive state and federal funding through the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental, Mental Retardation 
and Substance Abuse Services (DMMRSAS). 

Chapter 440 (2005, Acts of the Assembly) requires the board 
to promulgate regulations that will ensure "continuity of 
necessary treatment and services" through a mental health 
services transitional plan.  This plan must be developed by a 
team that includes "appropriate treatment providers," 
"persons from state and local agencies or entities" (as defined 
by the board) and "appropriate family members, caregivers, 
or other persons" (also as defined by the board).  This 
legislation also requires that "prior to the person’s release 
from incarceration, the identified agency or agencies 
responsible for case management of the mental health 
services transition services plan shall make the necessary 
referrals specified in the plan, including completing and 
submitting applications that may only be submitted upon 
release." 

The board proposes regulations that require service plans be 
developed for juveniles who have been diagnosed with a 
mental illness that is likely to impair their ability to function 
in the communities to which they will be released, as well as 
juveniles who are receiving medication treatment while 
incarcerated.  At least 90 days before release, the court 
services unit (CSU) or post-dispositional detention program 
(PDDP) that has custody of an affected juvenile will be 
required to review their case and determine if a mental health 
services transitional plan is needed. If it is, the CSU or PDDP 
will enter into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with 
public agencies (local Departments of Social Services 

(LDSS), CSBs, local Departments of Health, representatives 
of local school districts) that will be responsible for the post-
release care.  The time frame requirement for the initiation of 
case review and planning are waived if a juvenile is subject to 
a judicial order for release. In this instance, case review and 
planning will be completed no later than 30 days after release. 

The proposed regulation requires that a mental health services 
transitional plan specify: 

• What agency or person will be assigned case 
management duties. 

• The kind of services that will be made available. 

• Who will provide these services. 

• The time frame in which these services will be provided 
and  

• All proposed sources for funding to pay for these 
services 

All applications for services, insurance or financial services 
will be required to be filled out before release when possible. 

The proposed regulation will benefit juveniles who may have 
otherwise received no needed services or who would have 
received less than optimally effective services. The 
communities into which these juveniles will be released will 
also likely benefit as offered services may lower the 
probability of recidivism. Local agencies, as well as DJJ, may 
incur unbudgeted for costs associated with implementing this 
regulation. These costs would include staff time spent 
planning for post-release services, as well as time and 
resources spent providing services for juveniles who would 
not have previously received them. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed regulation 
will affect the approximately 1,000 juveniles and young 
adults released each year from juvenile correctional facilities.  
Also affected will be the court services units, community 
services boards, Local Departments of Social Services, Local 
Departments of Health and local school divisions that will 
enter into Memorandums of Understanding to meet the needs 
of released juveniles. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  The proposed regulation 
will affect all 134 localities in the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  To the extent that the 
proposed regulation ensures that juveniles receive drug 
treatment/therapy/other mental health services when they 
otherwise would not have, employment in therapeutic fields 
may increase to meet this increased demand.  Since many of 
these juveniles would have received services anyway, albeit 
in a less coordinated, efficient fashion, any increase in 
employment is likely to be small.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  Any 
private individuals or businesses that are tasked with 
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providing services for released juveniles will likely see in 
increase in their revenues.  So long as costs associated with 
providing these services are less than the associated revenues, 
profits, and the value of these private businesses, will 
increase. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  Costs for 
implementing the proposed regulation will fall on state and 
local agencies. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  Costs for implementing the proposed 
regulation will fall on state and local agencies. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of 
Juvenile Justice concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulations provide the framework for 
creating a mental health services transition plan for the 
provision of mental health, substance abuse, or other 
therapeutic treatment services for persons returning to the 
community following commitment to a juvenile correctional 
center or postdispositional detention. 

CHAPTER 180. 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING MENTAL HEALTH 

SERVICES TRANSITION PLANS FOR INCARCERATED 
JUVENILES. 

PART I. 
GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

6 VAC 35-180-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Direct discharge" means the release of a juvenile from 
commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice with no 
supervision conditions imposed upon the juvenile by the 
department or a court. 

"Facility" means a juvenile correctional center operated by 
the Department of Juvenile Justice, an alternative placement 
for juveniles under the direct custody of the Department of 
Juvenile Justice, or a postdispositional detention program 
serving juveniles sentenced under § 16.1-284.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Identified as having a recognized mental health, substance 
abuse, or other therapeutic treatment need" means a juvenile 
who meets established criteria based on objective assessment 
or diagnosis by a qualified mental health professional, as 
provided for in this regulation. 

"Incarceration" means confinement in a postdispositional 
detention program pursuant to § 16.1-284.1 of the Code of 
Virginia or in a juvenile correctional center or alternative 
placement as a result of a commitment to the Department of 
Juvenile Justice pursuant to subdivision A 14 of § 16.1-278.8 
or § 16.1-285.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Juvenile" means an individual who was committed to the 
Department of Juvenile Justice pursuant to § 16.1-285.1 or 
subdivision A 14 of § 16.1-278.8 of the Code of Virginia or 
placed in a postdispositional detention program pursuant to 
subsection B of § 16.1-284.1 of the Code of Virginia. For 
purposes of this regulation, the term includes wards being 
released from incarceration that are 18 years old or older. 

"Mental health initiative funds" means funds appropriated by 
the General Assembly to the Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services for mental 
health and substance abuse services for children and 
adolescents with serious emotional disturbances who are not 
mandated for services under the Comprehensive Services Act 
(§ 2.2-5200 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Mental health services transition planning" means the 
enhanced planning process described by 6 VAC 35-180-70 
through 6 VAC 35-180-160 to ensure the provision of mental 
health, substance abuse, or other therapeutic treatment 
services upon a juvenile’s release from incarceration. This 
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planning process is considered "enhanced" because it is more 
comprehensive than the standard process for developing a 
plan for probation, parole, or aftercare. This process shall 
result in a mental health transition services plan. 

6 VAC 35-180-20. Purpose and goal. 

A. This chapter is intended to ensure the planning and 
provision of postrelease services addressing the mental 
health, substance abuse, or other therapeutic treatment needs 
of incarcerated juveniles as they transition back into their 
communities. The goal is to ensure implementation and 
continuity of necessary treatment and services in order to 
improve short- and long-term outcomes for juvenile offenders 
with significant needs in these areas. Services should be 
provided in the least restrictive setting consistent with public 
safety and the juvenile’s treatment needs. The plan shall 
address the juvenile’s need for and ability to access 
medication, medical insurance, disability benefits, mental 
health services, and funding necessary to meet the juvenile’s 
treatment needs. 

B. This chapter is intended to be applied in conjunction with 
other relevant regulations of agencies of the Commonwealth 
(e.g., 6 VAC 35-150, Standards for Nonresidential Services 
Available to Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Courts; 
6 VAC 35-140, Standards for Juvenile Residential Facilities; 
22 VAC 42-10, Standards for Interdepartmental Regulation of 
Children’s Residential Facilities; and 8 VAC 20-660, 
Regulations Governing the Reenrollment of Students 
Committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice). 

6 VAC 35-180-30. Criteria for mental health services 
transition planning. 

A juvenile will qualify for mental health services transition 
planning when one of the following criteria is met:  

1. A qualified mental health professional determines that 
the juvenile has a current diagnosis for a mental illness that 
is likely to result in significant impairment in the juvenile’s 
functioning in the community, including, but not limited to, 
the following: psychotic disorders, major affective 
disorders, substance use disorders, and posttraumatic stress 
disorder. 

2. The juvenile is currently receiving medication treatment 
for a mental illness as described in subdivision 1 of this 
section, and the provider has indicated a treatment 
necessity to continue such medication upon discharge. 

6 VAC 35-180-40. Confidentiality. 

For all activities conducted in accordance with this chapter, 
confidential information shall be handled in accordance with 
the Health Insurance Portability and Privacy Act (HIPAA), 
federal regulations governing Confidentiality of Alcohol and 
Drug Abuse Patient Records (42 CFR Part 2), and any other 
relevant state or federal law or regulation addressing sharing 
of confidential information. 

PART II. 
AGREEMENTS AMONG AGENCIES AND SERVICE 

PROVIDERS. 

6 VAC 35-180-50. Interagency Memorandum of 
Understanding. 

Each court service unit (CSU) and postdispositional detention 
program shall enter into a single, integrated Memorandum of 
Understanding (MOU) with the public agencies that are 
required to participate in the Community Policy and 
Management Team (CPMT), as established by § 2.2-5205 of 
the Code of Virginia, for each jurisdiction covered by the 
CSU or postdispositional detention program. The MOU shall 
specify the parties’ commitment to participate in the planning 
process established in this chapter and in § 16.1-293.1 B of 
the Code of Virginia. Other public or private agencies may be 
party to these agreements as appropriate. 

6 VAC 35-180-60. Content of agreements. 

The Memorandum of Understanding shall identify: 

1. The substance abuse, mental health, or other therapeutic 
treatment and case management services that the agencies 
will make available for juveniles being released from 
incarceration; 

2. If, and with what restrictions, the Family Assessment 
and Planning Teams (FAPT), as established by § 2.2-5207 
of the Code of Virginia, shall be responsible for the 
development and implementation of the mental health 
transition plan as described in 6 VAC 35-180-100 or how 
the mental health transition planning process will take 
place when the FAPT will not serve as the responsible 
entity;  

3. The process and parties responsible for making the 
necessary referrals specified in the plan and for assisting 
the juvenile and the juvenile’s family with the process of 
applying for services identified in the plan; 

4. A timeline for implementation of services upon the 
juvenile’s release from incarceration; 

5. The sources of funding that may be utilized to provide 
the services; 

6. Methods for maximizing available sources of funding, 
including Medicaid, and the process and parties responsible 
for initiation of application(s) for insurance or other 
benefits that may be used to fully or partially fund such 
services; and  

7. Methods for handling confidential information in 
accordance with the Health Insurance Portability and 
Privacy Act (HIPAA), federal regulations governing 
Confidentiality of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Patient Records 
(42 CFR Part 2), and any other relevant state or federal law 
or regulation addressing sharing of confidential 
information. 
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PART III. 
FACILITY REVIEW OF JUVENILE’S CASE. 

6 VAC 35-180-70. Timing and purpose of facility case 
review. 

A. At least 90 days before a juvenile’s scheduled release from 
a juvenile correctional center or postdispositional detention 
program, designated staff at the facility where the juvenile 
resides shall review the juvenile’s case, including the 
juvenile’s individualized service plan, to determine if the 
juvenile qualifies for the enhanced mental health services 
transition planning based on the criteria set forth in 6 VAC 
35-180-30. 

B. In addition to an assessment of the criteria set forth in 
6 VAC 35-180-30, the facility case review shall address the 
continuing needs of the juvenile, family involvement, the 
juvenile’s progress towards discharge, and the anticipated 
release date. 

C. The time frames designated in subsection A of this section 
shall be waived in the event that a judicial order for release of 
a juvenile sentenced under § 16.1-285.1 (serious offender 
incarcerated in a juvenile correctional center) or § 16.1-284.1 
(placement in a postdispositional detention program) of the 
Code of Virginia makes such time frames impracticable. In 
such cases, review shall be completed as soon as possible, but 
no later than 30 days after the juvenile’s release. 

6 VAC 35-180-80. Participants in facility case review. 

The following parties shall participate (either in person or via 
telephone or video-conference) in the facility review unless 
clearly inappropriate (as determined by the professional 
members of the facility review team) and documented in the 
case file:  

1. The juvenile; 

2. The juvenile’s family, legal guardian, or legally 
authorized representative; 

3. The juvenile’s probation or parole officer, or a 
representative of the Department of Corrections (adult 
probation), if applicable;  

4. Facility staff knowledgeable about the juvenile and his 
mental health needs; and 

5. Other community agency staff, if appropriate (e.g., 
Department of Social Services (DSS) personnel for a youth 
to be released to DSS custody). 

6 VAC 35-180-90. Distribution and documentation of 
facility case review. 

The results of the facility case review, including any 
recommendations for treatment or other services, shall be 
distributed to the parties who participated in the meeting. The 
distribution shall be documented in the juvenile’s record. 

PART IV. 
ENHANCED TRANSITION PLANNING. 

Article 1. 
Developing the Transition Plan. 

6 VAC 35-180-100. Enhanced mental health transition 
planning. 

A. If the juvenile meets the criteria set out in 6 VAC 35-180-
30, the probation or parole officer present at the facility case 
review meeting shall (i) notify the responsible agency or 
agencies identified in the Memorandum of Understanding 
established pursuant to 6 VAC 35-180-50, and (ii) schedule a 
meeting, to be conducted no later than 30 days prior to the 
juvenile’s anticipated release, to develop the juvenile’s 
mental health services transition plan. 

B. However, when a juvenile (i) will receive a direct 
discharge from the department upon attaining the age of 21 
and will not be subject to adult parole supervision, or (ii) will 
be released from a postdispositional program at age 18 or 
older without having been placed on probation, the meeting 
shall be scheduled and proceed only with the juvenile’s 
documented consent and, as required by law, the consent of 
his parent or legal guardian. 

C. The time frames designated in subsection A of this section 
shall be waived in the event that a judicial order for release of 
a juvenile sentenced under § 16.1-285.1 (serious offender 
incarcerated in a juvenile correctional center) or § 16.1-284.1 
(placement in a postdispositional detention program) of the 
Code of Virginia makes such time frames impracticable. In 
such cases, review shall be completed as soon as possible, but 
no later than 30 days after the juvenile’s release. 

6 VAC 35-180-110. Referral to family assessment and 
planning team. 

If the juvenile’s case is referred to the local family assessment 
and planning team established under the Comprehensive 
Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 
meeting will be conducted in accordance with the policies of 
the family planning and assessment team. 

6 VAC 35-180-120. Development of the plan if other than 
family assessment and planning team. 

A. If the juvenile’s case is not referred to the local family 
assessment and planning team, the following persons shall 
participate in the development of the mental health services 
transition plan: 

1. The juvenile; 

2. The juvenile’s parent, legal guardian, or legal custodian 
unless clearly inappropriate (as determined by the 
professional members of the review team) and documented 
in the case file;  
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3. Unless the juvenile will not be receiving any postrelease 
supervision, the juvenile’s probation or parole officer or a 
representative of the Department of Corrections for those 
offenders determinately committed under § 16.1-285.1 of 
the Code of Virginia who will be released to adult 
supervision; and 

4. A representative of one or more of the agencies 
participating in the Memorandum of Understanding 
established by 6 VAC 35-180-50, as applicable and 
appropriate. 

B. The following persons may be invited to participate in the 
meeting to develop the juvenile’s mental health services 
transition plan: 

1. Other family members or caregivers who are judged to 
be critical to the person’s successful completion of 
treatment services; and 

2. Any other person, agency, or institution having a 
legitimate interest in the development of the plan for the 
purpose of providing treatment or services for the juvenile 
who is the subject of the plan. 

C. If the persons invited pursuant to subsection B of this 
section are unable to participate in the planning meeting as 
described in subsection D of this section, they may provide 
information prior to the meeting. 

D. All participants in the development of the plan shall be 
concurrently available to each other during the transition 
services planning meeting, either in person, or by telephone 
conference call, or by video-conference. 

Article 2. 
Content of the Plan. 

6 VAC 35-180-130. Content of the plan. 

A. The plan shall specify: 

1. The person(s) assigned case management responsibilities 
for the development and implementation of the mental 
health transition services plan. Case management includes 
making all referrals and coordination of all aspects of the 
plan; 

2. The kinds of substance abuse, mental health, or other 
therapeutic treatment that will be made available to the 
juvenile; 

3. The provider or providers who will be responsible for 
delivering each service; 

4. The projected time frame over which each service will 
be provided; 

5. The proposed sources through which the services will be 
funded (funding sources may include, but are not limited 
to, Medicaid, Comprehensive Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia), Family Access to Medical 

Insurance Security, private insurance, and other federal, 
state, or local funds such as Promoting Safe & Stable 
Families funds, federal mental health and substance abuse 
block grant funds, Virginia Juvenile Community Crime 
Control Act funds, DJJ Transitional Services funds, and 
other state general funds available to the Community 
Service Boards, the Department of Juvenile Justice, or 
other agencies participating in the planning process); and 

6. Any applications for services, insurance, and other 
financial assistance that must be completed in order for the 
juvenile to obtain the identified services. Such applications 
include (i) those applications that may be completed and 
submitted before the juvenile’s release from incarceration; 
(ii) those applications that may be completed before, but 
may not be submitted until after, the juvenile is released 
from incarceration; and (iii) those applications that may not 
be initiated until after the juvenile’s release from 
incarceration. The plan shall assign responsibility for 
assisting the juvenile or the juvenile’s parents or guardians 
in completing such applications. 

B. To the extent possible, all issues pertaining to the 
implementation of the plan shall be resolved prior to the 
juvenile’s release. 

Article 3. 
Completion and Implementation of the Plan. 

6 VAC 35-180-140. Time frames for completing the plan 
and related tasks. 

A. To facilitate the process of referrals for services and 
application and enrollment for financial and other assistance, 
the written plan shall be completed at least 10 days prior to 
the juvenile's release from incarceration unless such time 
frame is rendered impracticable by a judicial order to release 
the juvenile from incarceration. In such instances, the plan 
shall be completed as soon as possible, but in no event later 
than 30 days following the date of the court order for release. 

B. All referrals for services and all applications for financial 
and other assistance shall be completed within sufficient time 
frames to ensure continuity of necessary treatment and 
implementation of recommended services upon the juvenile’s 
release. 

C. All participants in the development of the plan shall sign 
the plan, indicating their commitment to fulfill the 
responsibilities assigned to them. 

PART V. 
REVIEW OF THE PLAN. 

6 VAC 35-180-150. Reports to probation or parole officer. 

When it is a condition of probation or parole that the juvenile 
must participate in one or more treatment services provided in 
accordance with this chapter, the person or agency 
responsible for providing such clinical services shall report to 
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the probation or parole officer on the juvenile’s progress 
toward meeting the plan’s objectives at least monthly as long 
as the juvenile remains under probation or parole supervision. 

When the juvenile’s treatment need has been met, the service 
may be discontinued, and the probation or parole officer shall 
be notified that the juvenile has completed the treatment. 

When the juvenile discontinues participation in the treatment 
or is suspended or terminated from the program, the probation 
or parole officer shall be notified as soon as practicable of the 
juvenile’s changed status. 

6 VAC 35-180-160. Periodic review of mental health 
transition plan. 

A. Every 90 days, the parties to the plan shall review and 
assess the juvenile’s progress and continued applicability of 
the plan. 

B. Any changes to the plan shall be made in writing. All 
participants shall sign and receive copies of the revised plan. 

6 VAC 35-180-170. Final review prior to termination of 
probation or parole. 

A. If the juvenile has been placed on probation or parole, the 
individuals and agencies participating in the implementation 
of the mental health transition plan shall convene no later 
than 30 days before the juvenile’s anticipated release from 
probation or parole supervision to determine if any of the 
services provided for in the plan should continue beyond the 
juvenile’s release from probation or parole supervision. 

B. If the determination is made that one or more services 
should continue, an updated plan shall be developed for the 
juvenile, including identification of the case manager to be 
responsible for the plan from that point forward. All 
participants shall sign and receive a copy of the updated plan. 

C. If treatment services are continued beyond the juvenile’s 
release from probation or parole, the service provider and 
case manager shall have no further duty to report to the 
probation or parole officer on the juvenile’s progress in 
treatment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-104; Filed October 20, 2006, 12:52 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  6 VAC 35-190. Regulations Governing 
Juvenile Work Release Programs (adding 6 VAC 35-190-
10 through 6 VAC 35-190-110). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 66-10 and 66-25.1:3 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 29, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Deron Phipps, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 East Franklin Street, P.O. 
Box 1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 786-
6407, FAX (804) 371-0773, or email 
deron.phipps@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 66-10 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
Board of Juvenile Justice to promulgate such regulations as 
may be necessary to carry out the provisions of Title 66 and 
other laws of the Commonwealth administered by the director 
or the department. 

Section 66-25.3:2 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 
department to provide juveniles committed to the department 
with opportunities to work and participate in career training 
or technical education programs.  In implementing such 
programs, § 66-25.3:3 authorizes the State Board of Juvenile 
Justice to develop regulations setting forth the rules and 
criteria by which the department may operate work release 
programs whereby committed juveniles may be employed by 
private individuals, corporations, or state agencies at places of 
business. 

Purpose:  The goal of the career training and technical 
education programs authorized by § 66-25.1:2 of the Code of 
Virginia is "to assist juveniles in acquiring necessary work 
habits, developing marketable skills, and identifying career 
goals through a broad range of career opportunities and 
mentoring and apprenticeship programs." 

The goals of the work release provisions of § 66-25.1:3 of the 
Code of Virginia are (i) to allow a juvenile who is proficient 
in any trade or occupation and who meets the work release 
criteria established by the director to be approved for 
employment by private individuals, corporations, or state 
agencies at places of business; and (ii) to permit a juvenile 
who meets the work release criteria and is capable of 
receiving substantial benefit from educational and other 
related community activity programs that are not available 
within a juvenile correctional center to attend such programs 
outside of the juvenile correctional facility. 

Substance:  The proposed regulation (i) provides for an 
assessment of wards’ suitability to participate in work release 
or similar programs, based on the enabling statute; (ii) 
specifies criteria that wards must meet to be considered for 
participation in a work release, educational release, job 
enterprise, or other rehabilitative program in the community; 
(iii) requires written procedures to ensure accountability of 
participating wards; (iv) specifies conditions wards must meet 
to participate in a work release program; (v) specifies the 
conditions that must be met by an employing, supervising, or 
training entity; (vi) establishes conditions for ward 
participation in educational or rehabilitative release program; 
(vii) requires written procedures, consistent with the Code of 
Virginia, governing ward furloughs; (viii) requires that a 
ward’s earnings shall be disbursed in accordance with § 66-
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25.1:3 of the Code of Virginia; and (ix) requires written 
procedures for removing a ward from a program. 

Issues:  The proposed regulations will strengthen the 
department's ability to help develop a committed juvenile’s 
educational and career skills needed to successfully transition 
back into the community from which the ward was 
committed.  Providing the opportunity to participate in 
educational and career training programs and jobs to wards 
between the ages of 16 and 21 will increase that ward’s 
potential for obtaining meaningful employment upon release 
from the juvenile correctional center.  Ensuring that a ward is 
participating in educational and career programs during his 
commitment will increase the likelihood of a successful 
transition back into the community and lessen the possibility 
of recidivism.  Reducing recidivism and providing juveniles 
with better possibilities for career development will benefit 
all Virginia families. 

The department may develop appropriate interagency 
linkages with state and local agencies, public and private 
institutions of education and of higher education, labor and 
industry councils, the business community, rehabilitative 
services providers, and employment and guidance services. 

The regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 
the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  Pursuant to Chapter 
648 (2005 Acts of Assembly), the Board of Juvenile Justice 
(board) proposes to promulgate permanent regulations which 
will allow continuation of work release programs for 
juveniles committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice  
(DJJ). These regulations were put in place by emergency 
regulatory action (December, 2005). 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
this proposed regulatory change. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Before passage of Chapter 648, 
and implementation of a pilot work release program in 2005, 
juveniles (and adults between the ages of 18 and 21) 
incarcerated in Virginia’s juvenile correctional facilities were 
only able to work and gain an education on-site.  This limited 
the types of job training and educational opportunities of 
which these individuals could avail themselves and had the 
potential to impede their ability to function in the larger 
society to which they would eventually be released. 

The proposed regulations set rules under which incarcerated 
juveniles may engage in outside employment and education.  
Criteria for participation in this work release program 
include: 

• Juveniles must be at least 17 years old. 

• They must have been in the custody of the DJJ for at 
least 90 days. 

• They must have no major infractions of facility rules on 
their records (they may have very limited numbers of 
minor or moderate rules infractions). 

• They may have only have been in one of the two least 
serious security levels of custody. 

• They may not have any gang affiliations. 

Juveniles who have been convicted of a violent felony may 
only participate in the program with the permission of the 
director of the correctional facility to which they have been 
committed.  DJJ has received funding for this program from 
the US Department of Labor; this funding covers staff to 
operate the program, vehicles to transport program 
participants to and from their places of employment or 
education and electronic monitoring equipment worn by 
program participants. 

So far under DJJ’s pilot program, approximately 10-12 
juveniles have either worked at one of four participating 
businesses or attended classes at the one participating 
community college.  DJJ estimates that five of the eight 
correctional facilities statewide would be appropriate venues 
for expansion of this pilot program. 

Although this program will likely increase the possibility that 
convicted juveniles will have the opportunity to re-offend 
when they are on the job or on an educational campus, 
selection criteria and monitoring should ensure that increase 
is minimized.  In any case, this risk is one that communities 
would face eventually, and probably at an even greater level, 
as incarcerated juveniles age out of the system without the 
benefits that this program offers.  Weighed against this risk 
are the benefits from this program that will accrue to juvenile 
participants and the businesses that employ them. 

Juveniles who participate in a work release program are likely 
to be able to learn a more varied job skills set than can be 
taught inside a correctional facility.  They will also have the 
opportunity to learn coping skills and practice forming 
interpersonal relationships in an environment that is both less 
restrictive than the correctional facility where they are 
incarcerated and more reflective of the wider communities in 
which they must eventually function.  Additionally, juvenile 
participants will benefit from their wages which will allow 
them to pay off any court imposed fines and restitution 
monies and, after those obligations are fulfilled, will allow 
them to provide money to their families (if they choose) or 
have spending money at the correctional facility store. 

Businesses that choose to participate in juvenile work release 
may benefit in several ways.  Juvenile inmate labor is likely 
to be allocated in ways that do not fully reflect market 
pressures so businesses may be able to offer lower wages to 
juveniles who enter their employ through work release 
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programs.  Work release participants will be transported to 
and from their employment by correctional facility personnel, 
and may have less freedom to quit than they would have 
under other circumstances, so businesses who participate in 
this program may incur fewer costs associated with searching 
for, and training, new employees.  Both of these effects will 
tend to lower employee costs for participating businesses.  
These cost saving are likely to be small given that only a 
handful (4-6) of juveniles have been eligible to participate in 
the program at any given time. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed regulation 
will affect approximately 1000 incarcerated juveniles; 
approximately 300 of these are between the ages of 18 and 
21.  Participating businesses, as well as the communities 
where these juveniles are incarcerated and will work, will 
also be affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  The proposed regulation 
will affect all localities in the Commonwealth. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  Total employment within 
the Commonwealth is very unlikely to be affected by the 
proposed regulation.  To the extent that they are able to gain 
work experience outside of the correctional facilities where 
they are incarcerated, juveniles in this program will likely be 
more employable once they are released. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  Because 
juvenile inmate labor is likely to be allocated in ways that do 
not fully reflect market pressures, businesses may be able to 
offer lower wages to juveniles who enter their employ 
through work release programs.  Because work release 
participants will be transported to and from their employment 
by correctional facility personnel and may have less freedom 
to quit than they would have under other circumstances, 
businesses who participate in this program may incur fewer 
costs associated with searching for, and training, new 
employees.  To the extent that some combination of these two 
affects occur, participating businesses may experience a 
(small) increase in profits. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  Participating 
small businesses will likely see no cost increases because of 
this proposed regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  Participating small businesses will likely 
see no cost increases because of this proposed regulation. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 

number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of 
Juvenile Justice concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulations provide the framework for 
assessing each juvenile committed to the Department of 
Juvenile Justice for participation in a work release 
program, apprenticeship program, job enterprise program, 
or any other work experience opportunity located at or 
through the juvenile correctional center (JCC) where the 
juvenile is placed.  As required by the Code of Virginia, the 
juveniles participating in these offsite work and 
educational opportunities will be those who have made 
significant rehabilitative progress and have demonstrated 
their capacity to meet the challenges presented by these 
opportunities. 

A juvenile who is proficient in a trade or occupation and 
who meets the work release criteria established by the 
director may be approved for employment outside of the 
JCC.  A juvenile who the director is satisfied meets the 
work release criteria and is capable of receiving 
substantial benefit from educational and other related 
community activity programs that are not available within 
a JCC may attend such programs outside of the juvenile 
correctional facility. 

CHAPTER 190. 
REGULATIONS GOVERNING JUVENILE WORK 

RELEASE PROGRAMS. 

6 VAC 35-190-10. Definitions. 

Unless the context clearly requires a different understanding, 
the following terms shall have the meanings indicated when 
used in this regulation. 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2006 

730 

"Educational release program" or "rehabilitative release 
program" means a program whereby wards of the Department 
of Juvenile Justice who meet the minimum eligibility criteria 
for a work release program, and who the director determines 
may receive substantial benefit from the activity, may be 
approved to participate in educational or other community 
activity programs not available within a juvenile correctional 
center. 

"Furlough" means a temporary, short-term, authorized 
absence from a secure custody facility for a specific purpose. 
A furlough extends the physical limits of confinement to 
include the place or places in the community that the ward is 
given specific permission to visit. 

"Work release program" means a program whereby wards of 
the Department of Juvenile Justice who meet specified 
eligibility criteria may be approved for employment by 
private individuals, corporations, or state agencies at places of 
business, as provided for in § 66-25.1:3 of the Code of 
Virginia or by local agencies at places of business or to 
improve, repair, work on, or cultivate public or private 
property or buildings as provided for in § 66-25.1:2 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

6 VAC 35-190-20. Policy and purpose. 

A. It is the policy of the Commonwealth of Virginia to 
provide juveniles committed to the Department of Juvenile 
Justice with job training opportunities, consistent with 
protection of the public safety, so as to facilitate their 
reintegration into their communities as productive citizens 
upon release from commitment. 

B. The purpose of the career-related programs, training, and 
services governed by this regulation is to assist juveniles in 
acquiring necessary work habits, developing marketable 
skills, and identifying career goals through a broad range of 
career opportunities and mentoring and apprenticeship 
programs. Work training opportunities may include but need 
not be limited to, business, industrial, agricultural, highway 
maintenance and construction, and other arrangements 
whereby juveniles may be employed to improve, repair, work 
on, or cultivate public or private property or buildings. 

6 VAC 35-190-30. Assessing a ward’s suitability for 
program participation. 

A. Department case management procedures shall provide a 
process for assessing the suitability of individual wards for 
work release, educational release, and other programs 
authorized by this regulation, subject to eligibility criteria 
established by 6 VAC 35-190-40. 

B. The assessment shall include: 

1. A review of the ward’s offense history and his behavior 
during commitment; 

2. The completion of an objective risk assessment of the 
juvenile's likelihood to reoffend; 

3. An assessment of the juvenile's suitability for the 
particular community release program, including, if 
applicable, the ward’s proficiency in a trade or occupation 
related to a work release program. 

6 VAC 35-190-40. Eligibility criteria. 

A. In accordance with department case management 
procedures, wards may be approved to participate in a work 
release, educational release, or other rehabilitative program in 
the community when they meet the following eligibility 
criteria: 

1. The ward must be at least 16 years of age. 

2. The ward must have been in direct care for a minimum 
of 90 days. 

3. The ward must not have committed a moderate 
institutional offense during the previous 30 days, nor a 
major institutional offense within the previous 90 days. 

4. A ward who previously escaped from a secure setting 
shall not be eligible for participation in a release program. 

5. A ward who is determinately committed as a serious 
offender pursuant to § 16.1-285.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
may participate in a release program only with written 
authorization of the committing court. 

6. A ward who is committed for a violent juvenile felony as 
defined pursuant to § 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia may 
be recommended to participate, but must be approved by 
the director of the department or his designee, in 
accordance with case management procedures. 

7. A ward requiring the highest level of supervision 
according to the department’s classification system, shall 
not be eligible to participate in a release program. 

8. A ward whose scores on an objective risk assessment 
instrument indicates a high risk of reoffending may 
participate in a release program only with the approval of 
the director. 

9. A ward who is subject to compulsory education shall not 
be eligible except on a part-time basis consistent with 
applicable child labor laws and with the concurrence of the 
school authority. 

B. Wards shall meet the established eligibility requirements 
prior to being released to participate in the program.  

6 VAC 35-190-50. Written procedures for accountability 
of participants. 

Written procedures shall ensure the accountability of 
participants and provide for supervision in the community. 
Such procedures shall include at a minimum: 
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1. Provisions for a daily count of participating wards; 

2. Methods for determining and identifying wards who are 
authorized to leave the facility; 

3. Provisions for a controlled sign-out and sign-in process; 

4. Methods for verifying the ward's location within the 
community, which may include telephone contact, random 
field visits, or global positioning systems technology; and 

5. Written procedure, approved by the facility’s health 
authority, that either permits or prohibits self-medication 
by wards when they are away from the facility. 

6 VAC 35-190-60. Conditions for offender participation in 
a work release program. 

Ward participation in a work release program shall conform 
to the following specific conditions. 

1. Participation by the ward shall be on a voluntary basis. 

2. Wards may be required to apply and interview for a 
position with a participating entity, and to be accepted by 
the entity, as a condition of placement. 

6 VAC 35-190-70. Conditions for employing, supervising, 
or training entity. 

A public or private entity providing employment, supervision, 
or training as part of a work release program shall be 
responsible for ensuring that: 

1. Rates of pay and other conditions of employment shall 
not be less than those paid or provided for work of a similar 
nature in the locality in which the work is being performed. 

2. Designated staff at the ward’s facility will be promptly 
notified if the work release participant is subject to 
employee discipline; fails to report to work as scheduled; 
leaves the work area without permission; receives or places 
nonbusiness telephone calls; or uses or appears to be under 
the influence of alcohol or other drugs. 

6 VAC 35-190-80. Conditions for ward participation in 
educational release or rehabilitative release program. 

Ward participation in an educational release or rehabilitative 
release program shall conform to the following specific 
conditions unless ordered otherwise by an appropriate court. 

1. Participation by an indeterminately committed ward 
shall be voluntary and may be subject to an application, 
interview, and approval process by the entity conducting 
the program. 

2. Participation of a determinately committed ward must be 
approved in writing by the committing court. The 
department may recommend that the ward be approved for 
participation. 

3. Classes, meetings, or training sessions shall be on a 
regularly scheduled basis. 

4. Other conditions shall not be more restrictive on the 
ward than those required by other participants, unless 
specifically authorized by this regulation. 

6 VAC 35-190-90. Furlough. 

Participants in the work release, educational release, or 
rehabilitative release programs may be considered for 
furlough. Written procedures shall govern the granting of 
furloughs in accordance with the provisions of § 66-25.1:4 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

6 VAC 35-190-100. Earnings. 

All earnings shall be received, and disbursed in accordance 
with subsection C of § 66-25.1:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

6 VAC 35-190-110. Removing participants from program. 

Written procedures shall establish the criteria and process for 
removing a participant from the program. 

1. Procedures shall include provisions for an impartial 
hearing for the participant. 

2. Procedures shall include provisions for the appeal of the 
removal. 

3. Documentation shall reflect that this information was 
explained to all participants when they were assigned to the 
program. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-139; Filed October 20, 2006, 12:52 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The Virginia Museum of Fine 
Arts is exempt from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 6 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts educational institutions operated by the 
Commonwealth.  The museum is required, however, to 
publish proposed and final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 8 VAC 103-20. Parking Regulations, 
Appeals and Fines (adding 8 VAC 103-20-10 through 
8 VAC 103-20-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Kenton Towner, Risk Management and 
Protective Services, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 
North Boulevard, Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 340-1488, 
FAX (804) 340-1646 or email 
kenton.towner@vmfa.museum. 
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Summary: 

These regulations shall allow the Virginia Museum of Fine 
Arts to (i)  provide safe and convenient parking for visitors, 
guests and employees of the museum; (ii) provide parking 
relief for Museum District residents and institutions; (iii) 
operate facilities ethically and in full compliance with state 
and local codes of law; and (iv) better operate facilities in 
a financially self-sustaining manner. 

CHAPTER 20. 
PARKING REGULATIONS, APPEALS AND FINES. 

8 VAC 103-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words or terms when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Employee" means any individual retained for services 
rendered to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (including the 
employees of the Foundation, Food Services, Special Events, 
Membership and volunteers) but does not include employees 
of contractor companies retained by any museum entity. 

"Motor vehicle" means any automobile, bus, truck, van, 
motorcycle or motorized scooter requiring a license or 
registration for legal street operation. 

"Parking Services Manager" means the employee(s) of the 
agency designated by the Chief Operating Officer of the 
museum and operating under the authority of the Board of 
Trustees to enforce this regulation. 

"Virginia Museum of Fine Arts" or "VMFA" or "agency" 
means the educational institutional and all associated entities 
as defined by § 23-253.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Visitor" means any person who is legally present on Virginia 
Museum of Fine Arts property and who is not presently and 
directly employed by the museum or by a company under 
contract with the museum. 

B. Applicability. This regulation applies to the use and 
operation of all parking facilities on the VMFA campus, 
including properties owned or leased by the VMFA 
Foundation and, with the consent of the property owner, any 
properties that may be rented, loaned or otherwise provided to 
any VMFA entity in support of any event or other purpose 
where motor vehicle parking is to be provided. 

8 VAC 103-20-20. General provisions. 

A. Registration requirements. 

1. All employees parking motorized vehicles on the 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts campus must display a 
parking permit issued by the Parking Services Manager, 
unless the employee has parked in a designated visitor 
parking area and is paying the going daily rate. 

2. Failure to properly register employee vehicles and to 
display the permit may result in a fine for the parking 
violation and possible immobilization of the vehicle. 

B. Eligibility for permanent parking permits. 

1. A current VMFA ID card, or other evidence of eligibility 
(authorizing signature on a ID card request form or a letter 
of employment) will be required when registering for a 
permanent parking permit. 

2. Employees may register motorcycles, mopeds, or 
motorized scooters in addition to passenger vehicles. No 
more than one registered employee vehicle may be parked 
in the designated staff parking area at any time. 

3. All vehicles registered must be owned by the registrant 
or a member of the registrant's family. 

4. Each trustee will be automatically issued an ID card that 
serves as a permanent parking pass for the term of his 
appointment to the board. Trustees unable to produce their 
electronic ID card will pay the going daily visitor rate to 
exit the parking facility. 

C. Volunteer and intern parking. 

1. Departments using the services of volunteer staff may 
register with the Parking Services Manager for parking 
privileges at no charge for their use of a limited number of 
designated parking spaces. Volunteer permits are valid for 
no more than a single year (12 months). 

2. Departments using the services of interns should direct 
such persons to visit the Parking Services Office to obtain a 
temporary parking permit. No fee will be collected for the 
temporary permit assigned for the terms and duration of the 
assignment. Availability of permits is limited. Interns will 
be permitted to park in designated areas as space is 
available. 

3. All permits will be recovered and returned to the Parking 
Services Manager at the termination of the respective 
agreement. 

D. Visitor parking. 

1. Visitors may park in the park and pay facilities or pay-
by-the-hour parking areas. All visitors are subject to 
receiving fines or being immobilized or towed for 
unauthorized parking in permit only or nonparking areas. 

2. Only the Parking Services Office may authorize a visitor 
to park in an area not designated for visitors. 

E. Temporary permits/museum guest parking. 

1. Departments receiving guests may purchase from the 
Parking Services Office a temporary parking permit at a 
reduced daily rate. 

2. Employees of companies involved in construction or 
similar projects on campus may park in a designated job 
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site without a permit. This area should be defined in 
cooperation with the Parking Services Manager. When 
parking outside the designated zone, a permit is required 
and must be purchased from the Parking Services Office. 

F. Permit usage and requirement. 

1. A permanent parking permit or a temporary permit 
displayed from the rearview mirror of a passenger vehicle 
(or in the wind screen of vehicles without rearview 
mirrors), is required for parking on the VMFA campus in 
any area other than park and pay and pay-by-the-hour 
areas. Convertibles, jeeps, or other open top vehicles that 
may leave a temporary permit unsecured may be issued 
special decals to be affixed to the windshield. 

2. Motorcycles and similar vehicles shall have the parking 
permit permanently affixed to the vehicle on the front or 
back fender for visibility. Motorcycles are prohibited from 
parking in bicycle racks, fire lanes, yellow zones, 
sidewalks, decks, handicap spaces, access zones, or any 
other unauthorized space. 

3. While permits may be transferred to any vehicle driven 
by the permit holder, the registered permit holder is 
responsible for all citations issued to that permit. Permits 
are not transferable from person to person. No permit is 
considered legal unless it is purchased directly from the 
Parking Services Office by the individual and the 
individual is currently eligible for the permit issued. 
Vehicles displaying illegal permits will be issued a citation 
in addition to being immobilized or towed at owner's 
expense. 

4. It is the responsibility of the registrant to remove 
permanent parking permits from a vehicle when it is sold, 
transferred or otherwise disposed of. 

5. Failure to obtain and display a valid permit may result in 
parking fines or immobilization of the vehicle until fines 
are paid. 

G. Refunds on parking permits. 

1. Employees terminating employment must turn in their 
permit in order to receive a prorated refund. Employees 
will be charged from the time the permit was issued 
through the full month in which they are requesting a 
refund. Refunds are issued after any remaining debts are 
paid to the department. 

2. No refunds will be given on temporary permits. 

H. Replacement of permits. 

1. If a hangtag malfunctions, the permit holder may obtain 
a replacement at no charge by returning the defective 
permit to the Parking Services Office. If a windshield decal 
stops adhering, the permit holder may obtain a replacement 
at no charge by returning the defective permit to the 
Parking Services Office. 

2. If a permanent permit is lost, stolen, or nonreturnable, a 
charge of $5.00 will be assessed for a replacement. 

I. Short-term parking. 

1. Metered spaces are provided for the short-term parking 
convenience of persons visiting the ticket office, museum 
restaurants or VMFA shop. When the ticket office, 
restaurants and the shop are normally open, the metered 
spaces will be limited to short-term parking only. 

2. Enforcement. 

a. Meter parking is enforced: 7 a.m. until 9:30 p.m. 
everyday. 

b. Persons with a valid DMV-issued handicap license 
plate or hangtag may use the metered parking spaces at 
no charge for the first four hours. After four hours the 
standard rate for the parking space applies. 

c. A VMFA parking permit is not valid as payment at 
meters. 

d. Parking or standing at an expired meter is not allowed 
and will result in a fine. 

J. Missing or inoperable meters. 

1. Inoperable meters are considered closed spaces; vehicles 
parked in these spaces are subject to a parking violation. 
Missing and inoperable meters should be reported to the 
Parking Services Office immediately for replacement or 
repair. 

2. Cases of meter vandalism may be tried in a Virginia 
court of law as destruction of property or larceny, in 
addition to any violation issued. 

3. Valid currency. 

a. Only United States currency may be used in parking 
meters. 

b. Federal law prohibits the use of other currency, altered 
U.S. currency, or other objects. 

K. Loading and unloading spaces. 

1. Loading and unloading is permitted only in designated 
areas and in accordance with the signing of that space. 
Prohibited and restricted areas, handicapped spaces, fire 
lanes, and meters are not designated for loading and 
unloading. 

2. Any vehicle loading or unloading in these areas is 
subject to a fine, or towing, at owner’s risk and expense. 

3. Use of loading/unloading spaces. 

a. A valid VMFA permit must be displayed in order to 
park in a loading/unloading space. 

b. Loading/unloading parking is limited to the posted 
time limit unless the Parking Services Office grants an 
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exception for special circumstances. Vehicles exceeding 
the posted time limit are subject to a fine. 

L. Parking space availability.  The purchase of a parking 
permit gives the permit holder the right to park in a 
designated area only when there is space available in that 
location. The purchase of a parking permit does not guarantee 
the purchaser access to a parking space at all times. 

M. Liability disclaimer.  VMFA, the Commonwealth of 
Virginia, and agents of VMFA do not assume responsibility 
for any vehicle or its contents when parked on museum 
property. The museum and the state do not assume 
responsibility for damage to vehicles that are booted, 
immobilized, or towed due to violations incurred or as a 
result of other violations. 

8 VAC 103-20-30. Enforcement of parking regulations. 

A. Enforcement in general. 

1. The chief operating officer of the agency has the overall 
responsibility for monitoring the enforcement of parking 
regulations and to direct the creation of new or revision of 
existing regulations, enforcement procedures, and appeals 
processes. 

2. The agency’s Protective Services Department and 
specified licensed security officers employed by private 
security companies that are contracted by the agency have 
the authority and duty to enforce the museum’s parking 
regulations through issuing parking permits, issuing 
parking citations, coordinating lawful vehicle 
removal/transfer, immobilization of vehicles, collection of 
fines, and to provide a fair method for appealing citations 
issued. 

3. No vehicle operator, including museum employees, shall 
park a vehicle that violates any of these rules and 
regulations. Any vehicle found violating these regulations 
is subject to a fine. 

B. Limitations on enforcement.  Only regulations pertaining 
to the parking of motor vehicles enacted by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia in this regulation are to be 
enforced within the jurisdiction described in 8 VAC 103-20-
10 B. Operators of vehicles in violation of the rules and 
regulations may only be subject to citation, fine, 
immobilization of the vehicle, or towing of the vehicle at the 
owner's risk and expense. 

C. Payment of fines for parking violations. 

1. Unless otherwise specified, tickets must be paid within 
10 days of citation issue date. 

2. Delinquencies are referred to a collection agency, the 
Virginia Department of Taxation Division of Set-Off Debt 
Collection, and credit bureaus. If the account remains 
unpaid, the individual becomes responsible for the payment 

of all additional agency costs. Collection costs may be as 
much as one-third of the balance due to the agency. 

D. Parking offenses and enforcement actions. 

1. Multiple citations. A vehicle may be issued multiple 
citations and fines for multiple violations at one time. A 
vehicle may be issued additional citations for the continued 
noncompliance of parking regulations, not to exceed one 
citation per four-hour period for the same violation. 

2. Towing.  

a. A vehicle may be towed from one area to another for 
violations of certain restrictions. Vehicles may be moved 
to an appropriate location or to an impoundment location. 
All towing arising from enforcement actions is at the 
owner’s risk and expense. Any vehicle impeding the flow 
of traffic, whether in a roadway or parking lot, is subject 
to towing at the owner’s risk and expense. Towing 
without notification can occur under certain 
circumstances. 

b. Towing tickets cannot be appealed. All towing tickets 
must be paid within 10 days of citation issue date. 

3. Booting. 

a. A vehicle may be immobilized (booted) if its 
registered driver or owner accrues $300 or more of 
unpaid fines, has outstanding late fines in excess of 10 
days, or the vehicle has been determined to be 
abandoned. 

b. Tampering with a booted vehicle, without payment 
and release by an authorized museum staff member, may 
result in additional action(s) being taken by the museum 
in accordance and compliance with all applicable laws. 

c. All booting arising from enforcement actions is at the 
owner’s risk and expense. Booting without notification 
can occur under certain circumstances. 

d. Booting tickets cannot be appealed. All booting tickets 
must be paid within 10 days of citation issue date. 

4. Fire lane violation. A vehicle parked in a fire lane or a 
roadway is subject to towing at the owner’s risk and 
expense. 

5. Handicapped space violation. A vehicle improperly 
parked in a handicapped area is subject to towing at the 
owner’s risk and expense without notice. 

6. Reserved space violation. A vehicle improperly parked 
in a reserved space is subject to towing at the owner’s risk 
and expense without notice. 

7. Blocking of egress or ingress. Any vehicle that blocks, 
impedes, or restricts another vehicle's ability of egress or 
ingress as a result of violating a parking regulation is 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2006 

735 

subject to towing, at the owner’s risk and expense without 
notice. 

8. Overnight parking. 

a. Parking facilities at the museum are intended solely for 
the use of persons with business at the museum during 
established hours. 

b. Overnight parking is permitted for staff on official 
travel and members and guests on council sponsored 
excursions only; no other overnight parking is permitted. 
Those requiring overnight parking for established 
purposes are to contact the Parking Services Office to 
make arrangements. 

c. Vehicles parked overnight without authorization may 
be subject to a fine or towing at the owner’s risk and 
expense without notice. 

8 VAC 103-20-40. Parking citation appeals. 

A. Appeals in general. 

1. The procedures provided herein apply to all Virginia 
Museum of Fine Arts staff, volunteers, contractors, visitors, 
and others who use agency parking facilities. This 
procedure is designed to assist the museum’s chief 
operating officer in evaluating the parking program, to 
highlight problem areas, to provide an avenue to correct 
enforcement errors, and to provide a means of redress. 

2. The chief operating officer has the responsibility of 
monitoring the policy and directing creation of new or 
revision of existing policies and procedures. 

B. Appeals procedure. 

1. Requests for an appeal may be done in person within 10 
calendar days of the issue date of the citation. 

2. Head, Risk Management and Protective Services will 
normally function as the appeals officer, the chief operating 
officer in his absence. 

3. The appeals officer will carefully review each appeal. 
The appeals officer will base his decision on this regulation 
and on the information presented. The appeals officer may 
approve the appeal (dismiss the citation), deny the appeal 
(uphold the citation), or downgrade the violation to an 
appropriate lesser violation. 

4. The appellant can appeal the decision of the hearing 
officer (see subsection G of this section, Parking Appeals 
Board). Any fines due after the appeal has been heard must 
be paid within 15 days of notice of the decision. 

5. Failure to pay will result in the accumulation of late fees 
and the individual’s outstanding account being turned over 
to a collection agency, the Virginia Department of Taxation 
Division of Set-Off Debt Collection, and credit bureaus. If 
the account remains unpaid, the individual becomes 

responsible for the payment of all additional agency costs. 
Collection costs may be as much as one-third of the 
balance due. 

6. Any staff, volunteer, or visitor may appeal in person or 
fill out a parking citation appeal form within 10 calendar 
days of the citation. Forms are available from the Parking 
Services Manager. Contact the Parking Services Office for 
office hours and location of hearing officer. 

7. Fines associated with appealed citations need not be paid 
until the appellant is advised of the decision. All appeals 
must be submitted with the appellant’s name, address, and 
telephone number. Appeals submitted without this 
information will not be processed. 

C. Hearing officer decision guidelines. 

1. The citation and fine is presumed valid. It is the 
obligation of the appellant to present information that 
would invalidate the ticket. 

2. Reasons that might warrant invalidation of the ticket are 
evidence of illness that necessitated the violation, 
mechanical breakdowns that were handled in a reasonably 
expeditious manner, documented erroneous information 
given by a Parking Services Office employee, or other 
circumstances that are unusual enough to warrant special 
consideration. 

3. Reason to warrant a downgrade of the ticket are when 
further information that was not readily available to the 
citing officer is provided to the reviewer as a justification 
for the downgrade, valid misunderstandings regarding 
ambiguous parking areas in the judgment of the reviewer, 
etc. 

4. A specific reason for denial need not be given. A general 
statement can be made that a sufficient reason for reversal 
was not made. 

D. Time limit on filing appeals. 

Failure to file an appeal in 10 calendar days of the issue date 
of the citation will result in the addition of a late fee of $10 to 
the fine in accordance with this regulation. No appeals will be 
considered more than 30 calendar days from the issue of the 
citation. 

E. Final appeal, parking board of appeals. 

Hearing officer determinations may be appealed to the 
appeals board. Notification of a determination will provide 
information stating if an additional appeal process is available 
as an option. A request for reconsideration of denied appeals 
to an appeals board must be made within 10 calendar days 
from the time a decision was made by the hearing officer. For 
an appeal to be reconsidered by the appeals board, the 
appellant must schedule a hearing and be present at that 
hearing. The appellant will have the opportunity to present his 
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case directly to the board members. The decision of the board 
members is final. 

F. Parking citation and fine liability.  Ultimately, the 
registered owner of a vehicle is responsible for all citations 
and fines issued to said vehicle whether or not the owner was 
in fact the driver. In addition to the registered owner of the 
vehicle, the holder of a VMFA parking permit may also be 
held financially responsible for citations and fines issued to 
the vehicle for which the permit is registered. 

G. Parking appeals board.  A parking appeals board will be 
appointed monthly and convene twice a month to hear 
parking citation appeals and advise the chief operating officer 
on parking related matters. The board consists of three 
VMFA staff members rotationally selected by the Office of 
Human Resources.  

8 VAC 103-20-50. Schedule of fines. 
 

Citation Definition Fine 
No permit No permit on file or 

displayed 
$25 

Parking overtime Parking time limit 
exceeded 

$10 

Fire lane Parking at yellow curbing 
or signing 

$85 

Restricted area Not adhering to signage 
or restrictions 

$35 

Prohibited zone Not authorized for 
parking area 

$25 

Loading zone Improper/unauthorized 
use of loading area 

$35 

Handicapped area  Violation of policy and 
procedure 

$100 

Blocking 
handicapped 
access 

Restricting ability to 
access in or out 

$100 

Parking in a 
reserved 
space/area 

No permit for restricted 
area 

$50 

Fraudulent 
display 

Use of 
lost/stolen/counterfeit 
permit 

$75 

Booting and 
Immobilization 

Restricting ability of 
moving car by device 

$50 

Improper display Noncompliance with 
policy display 
requirements 

$15 

Parking over the 
lines 

Exceeding parameter of 
designated space control 

$15 

Double parking Parking side by side in a 
vertical parking area 

$15 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-23; Filed October 25, 2006, 10:23 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with §§ 2.2-4006 A 3, which excludes regulations that consist 
only of changes in style or form or corrections of technical 
errors, and 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, which 
excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 
Board will receive, consider and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9 VAC 5-40. Existing Stationary 
Sources (amending 9 VAC 5-40-250; adding 9 VAC 5-40-
7370, 9 VAC 5-40-7540; and repealing 9 VAC 5-40-300, 
9 VAC 5-40-310, and 9 VAC 5-40-311). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 
§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172 and 182 of the Clean Air Act 
(40 CFR Parts 51 and 60). 

Effective Date: December 15, 2006. 

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 
698-4510 or email kgsabastea@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The first part of this action  clarifies and recodifies the 
existing provisions covering case-by-case RACT 
(reasonably available control technology) determinations 
and creates a new Article 51 in which to separate the 
RACT-specific requirements from the general process 
requirements of Article 4.  These amendments consist only 
of changes in style or form. 

Article 4 currently contains emission standards for general 
process operations, including determination of case-by-
case RACT.  As implementation of the Clean Air Act 
Amendments of 1990 has progressed, numerous revisions 
to the RACT portions of Article 4 have been made, thus 
significantly increasing the rule’s complexity.  This has 
resulted in regulations that are very difficult to read and 
understand. 

The second part of this action is to add the new eight-hour 
ozone standard requirements.  These amendments are 
necessary to meet the requirements of the federal Clean Air 
Act and do not differ materially from the pertinent U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulation. 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2006 

737 

40 CFR Part 51 sets out requirements for the preparation, 
adoption, and submittal of SIPs.  EPA has added a new 
subpart X to 40 CFR Part 51, which covers the 
implementation of the eight-hour ozone standard.  It 
requires that nonattainment areas meet the requirements of 
§ 51.900(f), including RACT and major source 
applicability cut-offs for purposes of RACT.  The rule also 
specifies dates by when states must submit the RACT SIP, 
and when RACT must be implemented.  The state 
regulations must be consistent with the federal regulations 
in order for the state to implement RACT. 

9 VAC5-40-250. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of the Regulations for the Control and 
Abatement of Air Pollution and subsequent amendments or 
any orders issued by the board, the words or terms shall have 
the meanings given them in subsection C of this section.  

B. As used in this article, all terms not defined herein shall 
have the meanings given them in 9 VAC 5 Chapter 10 
(9 VAC 5-10-10 et seq.), unless otherwise required by 
context. 

C. Terms defined. 

"Combustion installation" means all combustion units within 
a stationary source in operation prior to October 5, 1979. 

"Combustion unit" means any type of stationary equipment in 
which solid, liquid or gaseous fuels and refuse are burned, 
including, but not limited to, furnaces, ovens, and kilns. 

"Heat input" means the total gross calorific value of all fuels 
burned. 

"Manufacturing operation" means any process operation or 
combination of physically connected dissimilar process 
operations which is operated to effect physical or chemical 
changes or both in an article. 

"Materials handling equipment" means any equipment used 
as a part of a process operation or combination of process 
operations which does not effect a physical or chemical 
change in the material or in an article, such as, but not limited 
to, conveyors, elevators, feeders or weighers. 

"Physically connected" means any combination of process 
operations connected by materials handling equipment and 
designed for simultaneous complementary operation. 

"Process operation" means any method, form, action, 
operation or treatment of manufacturing or processing, 
including any storage or handling of materials or products 
before, during or after manufacturing or processing. 

"Process unit" means any step in a manufacturing or process 
operation which results in the emission of pollutants to the 
atmosphere. 

"Process weight" means total weight of all materials 
introduced into any process unit which may cause any 

emission of pollutants. Process weight includes solid fuels 
charged, but does not include liquid and gaseous fuels 
charged or combustion air for all fuels.  

"Process weight rate" means a rate established as follows:  

a. For continuous or long-run steady-state process 
operations, the total process weight for the entire period 
of continuous operation or for a typical portion of it, 
divided by the number of hours of such period or portion 
of it.  

b. For cyclical or batch process operations, the total 
weight for a period that covers a complete operation or 
an integral number of cycles, divided by the hours of 
actual process operation during such a period.  

"Reasonably available control technology" means the lowest 
emission limit that a particular source is capable of meeting 
by the application of control technology that is reasonably 
available, considering technological and economic feasibility.  

"Rated capacity" means, the capacity as stipulated in the 
purchase contract for the condition of 100% load, or such 
other capacities as mutually agreed to by the board and owner 
using good engineering judgment.  

"Total capacity" means with reference to a combustion 
installation, the sum of the rated capacities (expressed as heat 
input) of all units of the installation which must be operated 
simultaneously under conditions of 100% use load.  

9 VAC 5-40-300. Standard for volatile organic compounds. 
(Repealed.) 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged from any affected facility any volatile organic 
compound emissions in excess of that resultant from using 
reasonably available control technology.  

B. The provisions of this section apply to all facilities that (i) 
are within a stationary source in the Northern Virginia or 
Richmond Emissions Control Area (see 9 VAC 5-20-206) 
and (ii) are within a stationary source that has a theoretical 
potential to emit 25 tons per year or greater in the Northern 
Virginia Emissions Control Area or 100 tons per year or 
greater in the Richmond Emissions Control Area. Theoretical 
potential to emit shall be based on emissions at design 
capacity or maximum production and maximum operating 
hours (8,760 hours/year) before add-on controls, unless the 
facility is subject to state and federally enforceable permit 
conditions which limit production rates or hours of operation. 
Emissions from all facilities, including facilities exempt from 
any other emission standard for volatile organic compounds 
in this chapter, shall be added together to determine 
theoretical potential to emit.  

C. For facilities subject to the provisions of this section, the 
owners shall within three months of the effective date of this 
emission standard (i) notify the board of their applicability 
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status, (ii) commit to making a determination as to what 
constitutes reasonably available control technology for the 
facilities and (iii) provide a schedule acceptable to the board 
for making this determination and for achieving compliance 
with the emission standard as expeditiously as possible but 
not later than the following dates:  

1. For facilities in the Northern Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 50 tons per year or 
greater, May 31, 1995.  

2. For facilities in the Northern Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 25 tons per year or 
greater, but less than 50 tons per year, May 31, 1996.  

3. For facilities in the Richmond Emissions Control Area 
with a theoretical potential to emit 100 tons per year or 
greater, May 31, 1995.  

9 VAC 5-40-310. Standard for nitrogen oxides. (Repealed.) 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged from any affected facility any nitrogen oxides 
emissions in excess of that resultant from using reasonably 
available control technology.  

B. Unless the owner demonstrates otherwise to the 
satisfaction of the board, compliance with the provisions of 
subsection A of this section shall be achieved for the 
applicable source types by the use of reasonably available 
control technology as defined in 9 VAC 5-40-311.  

C. The provisions of this section apply to all facilities that (i) 
are within a stationary source in the Northern Virginia, or 
Western Virginia Emissions Control Area (see 9 VAC 5-20-
206) and (ii) are within a stationary source that has a 
theoretical potential to emit 25 tons per year or greater in the 
Northern Virginia Emissions Control Area, or 100 tons per 
year or greater in the Western Virginia Emissions Control 
Area. Theoretical potential to emit shall be based on 
emissions at design capacity or maximum production and 
maximum operating hours (8,760 hours/year) before add-on 
controls, unless the facility is subject to state and federally 
enforceable permit conditions which limit production rates or 
hours of operation. Emissions from all facilities, including 
facilities exempt from any other emission standard for 
nitrogen oxides in this chapter, shall be added together to 
determine theoretical potential to emit.  

D. For facilities subject to the provisions of subsection A of 
this section, the owners shall within three months of the 
effective date of the emission standard (i) notify the board of 
their applicability status, (ii) commit to making a 
determination as to what constitutes reasonably available 
control technology for the facilities and (iii) provide a 
schedule acceptable to the board for making this 
determination and for achieving compliance with the 
emission standard as expeditiously as possible but no later 
than the following dates:  

1. For facilities in the Northern Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 50 tons per year or 
greater, May 31, 1995.  

2. For facilities in the Northern Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 25 tons per year or 
greater, but less than 50 tons per year, November 15, 2005.  

3. For facilities in the Western Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 100 tons per year 
or greater, November 15, 2005.  

E. For facilities to which the provisions of subsection B of 
this section are applicable, the owners shall within three 
months of the effective date of the emission standard (i) 
notify the board of their applicability status, (ii) commit to 
accepting the emission standard as reasonably available 
control technology for the applicable facilities or to 
submitting a demonstration as provided in subsection B of 
this section and (iii) provide a schedule acceptable to the 
board for submitting the demonstration no later than the dates 
specified in subdivisions 1, 2 and 3 of this subsection, and for 
achieving compliance with the emission standard as 
expeditiously as possible but no later than the dates specified 
in subdivisions 4, 5 and 6 of this subsection.  

1. For facilities in the Northern Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 50 tons per year or 
greater, January 1, 1994.  

2. For facilities in the Northern Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 25 tons per year or 
greater, but less than 50 tons per year, January 1, 2004.  

3. For facilities in the Western Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 100 tons per year 
or greater, January 1, 2004.  

4. For facilities in the Northern Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 50 tons per year or 
greater, May 31, 1995.  

5. For facilities in the Northern Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 25 tons per year or 
greater, but less than 50 tons per year, November 15, 2005.  

6. For facilities in the Western Virginia Emissions Control 
Area with a theoretical potential to emit 100 tons per year 
or greater, November 15, 2005.  

F. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged from any facility any nitrogen oxides emissions in 
excess of those necessary to achieve emissions reductions 
identified in any attainment or maintenance plan or any other 
legally enforceable document submitted to the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency as a revision to the state 
implementation plan.  

1. The facilities to which the provisions of this subsection 
apply are facilities within the Richmond Emissions Control 
Area (see 9 VAC 5-20-206) identified in any attainment or 
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maintenance plan submitted to the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency as a revision to the state implementation 
plan.  

2. The board may establish case-by-case emission limits 
and other requirements as may be necessary to achieve the 
required emission reductions via permits, consent orders, or 
other legally enforceable means.  

3. Facilities subject to this subsection shall be in 
compliance with any limits and other requirements 
established pursuant to subdivision 2 of this subsection 
within the timeframes established in any state plan revision, 
permit, or other legally enforceable document.  

4. The provisions of subsections A through E of this section 
shall not apply to facilities within the Richmond Emissions 
Control Area (see 9 VAC 5-20-206).  

9 VAC 5-40-311. Reasonably available control technology 
guidelines for stationary sources of nitrogen oxides. 
(Repealed.) 

A. General. Unless otherwise approved by the board, this 
section defines reasonably available control technology for 
the purposes of compliance with 9 VAC 5-40-310 A for the 
source types specified here.  

B. Definitions.  

1. For the purpose of this section and subsequent 
amendments or any orders issued by the board, the words 
or terms shall have the meaning given them in subdivision 
B 3 of this section.  

2. As used in this section, all terms not defined here shall 
have the meaning given them in 9 VAC 5 Chapter 10 
(9 VAC 5-10-10 et seq.), unless otherwise required by 
context.  

3. Terms defined.  

"Capacity factor" means the ratio of the average load on a 
machine or equipment for the period of time considered to 
be the capacity rating of the machine or equipment.  

"Combustion modification" means any change to the 
configuration of the burners or the firing method or 
mechanism of any combustion equipment for the purpose 
of reducing the emissions of nitrogen oxides. Acceptable 
combustion equipment changes within the context of this 
term include, but are not limited to, reburning, burners out 
of service, flue gas recirculation, fuel substitution, engine 
adjustments, engine modifications, fuel modifications and 
the addition of over fire air and low nitrogen oxides burner 
systems.  

"Fossil fuel" means natural gas, petroleum, coal and any 
form of solid, liquid or gaseous fuel derived from such 
materials for the purpose of creating useful heat.  

"Fuel burning equipment" means any furnace, with fuel 
burning equipment appurtenances thereto, used in the 
process of burning fuel for the primary purpose of 
producing heat to be utilized by indirect heat transfer or 
producing power. This includes facilities that are designed 
as boilers to produce steam or heated water and are 
designed to burn either fossil fuel or refuse derived fuel. It 
does not include such facilities if designed primarily to 
burn raw refuse.  

"Gas turbine" means a rotary internal combustion engine 
fueled by liquid or gaseous fuel.  

"Heat input" means the total gross calorific value of all 
fuels burned.  

"Incinerator" means any device, apparatus, equipment, or 
structure using combustion or pyrolysis for destroying, or 
reducing the volume of any material or substance.  

"Internal combustion engine" means a reciprocating engine 
which is fueled by liquid or gaseous fuel.  

"Process heater" means any fuel burning equipment which 
is used to produce heat for use in a manufacturing process. 
This term includes boilers which use a heat transfer 
medium other than water, but does not include drying 
ovens, steam generating units, or other drying apparatus.  

"Rated capacity" means the capacity as stipulated in the 
purchase contract for the condition of 100% load, or such 
other capacities as mutually agreed to by the board and 
owner using good engineering judgment.  

"Refuse derived fuel (RDF)" means fuel produced from 
solid or liquid waste (includes materials customarily 
referred to as refuse and other discarded materials) or both 
which has been segregated and classified, with the useable 
portions being put through a size reduction and 
classification process which results in a relatively 
homogeneous mixture.  

"Steam generating unit" means any furnace, boiler or other 
device used for combusting fuel for the purpose of 
producing steam.  

C. Definition of reasonably available control technology.  

1. For the source types listed below, reasonably available 
control technology is defined as the emission limits 
specified below based upon the application of combustion 
modification; however, owners may elect to use any 
alternative control technology, provided such alternative is 
capable of achieving the prescribed emission limits.  

a. Steam generating units and process heaters. The 
maximum allowable emission rate for nitrogen oxides 
from steam generating units and process heaters is as 
follows:  
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TABLE 4-4C 

Maximum Allowable Emission Rates for Nitrogen Oxides 
Emissions from Steam Generating Units and Process Heaters 

(pounds per million Btu heat input) 
 

Fuel Type Firing Method 
 Face* and 

Tangential Cyclone Stokers 

 Coal – wet bottom 1.0 .55 N/A 
 Coal – dry bottom .38 N/A 0.4 
 Oil or Gas or both .25 .43 N/A 
 Gas only .20 N/A N/A 

* Includes wall, opposed and vertical firing methods 

b. Gas turbines.  The maximum allowable emission rate 
for nitrogen oxides from gas turbines is as follows: 

TABLE 4-4D 

Maximum Allowable Emission Rates for Nitrogen Oxides 
Emissions from Gas Turbines (parts per million by dry 

volume corrected to 15% oxygen) 
 

Fuel Type Turbine Type 
 Simple Cycle Combined Cycle 
Gas 42 42 
Oil 65/77* 65/77* 

* Limit shall be 65 ppm for fuel bound nitrogen (FBN) 
< 0.015% and 77 ppm for FBN ≥ .015%. 

2. Any demonstration of compliance with the limits in 
subdivision C 1 of this section shall be on a daily basis.  

3. For the source types and sizes listed below, a 
demonstration of reasonably available control technology is 
not required as provided in 9 VAC 5-40-310 B.  

a. Any steam generating unit, process heater or gas 
turbine with an annual capacity factor of less than 5.0%, 
except that three months following any calendar year 
during which the capacity factor is 5.0% or greater, the 
facility shall be subject to 9 VAC 5-40-310 A or B, as 
applicable, and the owner shall comply with 9 VAC 5-
40-310 D or E, as applicable, except the compliance date 
shall be two years after approval of the schedule by the 
board. Time periods during which a stand-by unit is used 
to provide replacement services for a unit being altered to 
comply with the provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-310 A or B 
shall not be used as the basis for a determination that the 
stand-by unit exceeded the annual capacity factor criteria 
of 5.0%.  

b. Any stationary internal combustion engine with a rated 
capacity of less than 450 hp of output power.  

c. Any incinerator with a maximum capacity of less than 
50 tons of waste per day.  

d. Any incinerator or thermal or catalytic oxidizer used 
exclusively as air pollution control equipment.  

e. Any generator used solely to supply emergency power 
to buildings during periods when normal power supplies 
are interrupted and during periods of scheduled 
maintenance. 

Article 51. 
Emission Standards for Stationary Sources Subject to Case-

by-Case RACT Determination (Rule 4-51). 

9 VAC 5-40-7370. Applicability and designation of 
affected facility. 

A. The affected facility to which the provisions of this article 
apply is each facility that is within a stationary source that has 
a theoretical potential to emit equal to or greater than the 
applicable source threshold specified in Table 4-51A or 4-
51B, and Table 4-51C or 4-51E. 

B. The provisions of this article apply to all Emission Control 
Areas as defined in 9 VAC 5-20-206 and indicated in Table 
4-51A or 4-51B, and Table 4-51C or 4-51E. 

C. The provisions of this article do not apply to a particular 
pollutant from an affected facility if the affected facility is 
subject to other emission standards in this chapter covering 
the same pollutant. 

9 VAC 5-40-7380. Definitions. 

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 
the Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air 
Pollution and related uses, the words or terms shall have the 
meanings given them in subsection C of this section. 

B. As used in this article, all terms not defined here shall have 
the meanings given them in 9 VAC 5-10, unless otherwise 
required by context. 

C. Terms defined. 

“Capacity factor” means the ratio of the average load on a 
machine or equipment for the period of time considered to be 
the capacity rating of the machine or equipment. 

“Combustion modification” means any change to the 
configuration of the burners or the firing method or 
mechanism of any combustion equipment for the purpose of 
reducing the emissions of nitrogen oxides.  Acceptable 
combustion equipment changes within the context of this 
term include, but are not limited to, reburning, burners out of 
service, flue gas recirculation, fuel substitution, engine 
adjustments, engine modifications, fuel modifications and the 
addition of over fire air and low nitrogen oxides burner 
systems. 
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“Fossil fuel” means natural gas, petroleum, coal and any form 
of solid, liquid or gaseous fuel derived from such materials 
for the purpose of creating useful heat. 

“Fuel burning equipment” means any furnace, with fuel 
burning equipment appurtenances thereto, used in the process 
of burning fuel for the primary purpose of producing heat to 
be utilized by indirect heat transfer or producing power.  This 
includes facilities that are designed as boilers to produce 
steam or heated water and are designed to burn either fossil 
fuel or refuse derived fuel.  It does not include such facilities 
if designed primarily to burn raw refuse. 

"Gas turbine” means a rotary internal combustion engine 
fueled by liquid or gaseous fuel. 

“Heat input” means the total gross calorific value of all fuels 
burned. 

“Incinerator” means any device, apparatus, equipment, or 
structure using combustion or pyrolysis for destroying, or 
reducing the volume of any material or substance. 

“Internal combustion engine” means a reciprocating engine 
that is fueled by liquid or gaseous fuel. 

“Presumptive RACT” means the emission limit that a 
particular source is capable of meeting by the application of 
reasonably available control technology that is defined in 
9 VAC 5-40-7430. 

“Process heater” means any fuel burning equipment that is 
used to produce heat for use in a manufacturing process.  This 
term includes boilers that use a heat transfer medium other 
than water, but does not include drying ovens, steam 
generating units, or other drying apparatus. 

“Rated capacity” means the capacity as stipulated in the 
purchase contract for the condition of 100% load, or such 
other capacities as mutually agreed to by the board and owner 
using good engineering judgment. 

“Reasonably available control technology” or "RACT" means 
the lowest emission limit that a particular source is capable of 
meeting by the application of control technology that is 
reasonably available, considering technological and economic 
feasibility. 

“Refuse derived fuel (RDF)” means fuel produced from solid 
or liquid waste (includes materials customarily referred to as 
refuse and other discarded materials) or both that has been 
segregated and classified, with the useable portions being put 
through a size reduction and classification process which 
results in a relatively homogeneous mixture. 

“Steam generating unit” means any furnace, boiler or other 
device used for combusting fuel for the purpose of producing 
steam. 

“Theoretical potential to emit” means the maximum capacity 
of a stationary source to emit a pollutant based on emissions 

at design capacity or maximum production and maximum 
operating hours (8,760 hours/year) before add-on controls, 
unless the facility is subject to state and federally enforceable 
permit conditions that limit production rates or hours of 
operation.  Emissions from all facilities, including facilities 
exempt from any other emission standard for volatile organic 
compounds or nitrogen oxides in this chapter, shall be added 
together to determine theoretical potential to emit. 

“Tpy” means tons per year. 

9 VAC 5-40-7390. Standard for volatile organic 
compounds (one-hour ozone standard). 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged from any affected facility any volatile organic 
compounds (VOCs) emissions in excess of that resultant from 
using RACT. 

B. The provisions of this section apply to all facilities that (i) 
are within a stationary source in the emissions control areas 
specified in Table 4-51A and (ii) are within a stationary 
source that has a theoretical potential to emit at the applicable 
source thresholds specified Table 4-51A. 

TABLE 4-51A. 

Notification and Compliance Dates for 
Facilities Located in VOC Emissions Control Areas. 

Emissions 
Control Area 

Source 
Threshold Notification Date Compliance Date 

Richmond ≥ 100 tpy October 1, 1991 May 31, 1995 

Northern 
Virginia 

≥ 100 tpy October 1, 1991 May 31, 1995 

Northern 
Virginia 

≥ 50 tpy and 
<100 tpy 

April 1, 1993 May 31, 1995 

Northern 
Virginia 

≥ 25 tpy and 
< 50 tpy 

July 1, 1996 May 31, 1996 

C. For facilities subject to the provisions of this section, the 
owners shall, by the notification dates specified in Table 4-
51A, (i) notify the board of their applicability status, (ii) 
commit to making a determination as to what constitutes 
RACT for the facilities and (iii) provide a schedule acceptable 
to the board for making this determination and for achieving 
compliance with the emission standard as expeditiously as 
possible but no later than the compliance dates specified in 
Table 4-51A. 

D. For the purposes of this section only, the Richmond 
Emissions Control Area shall not include Prince George 
County and Petersburg City. 

9 VAC 5-40-7400. Standard for volatile organic 
compounds (eight-hour ozone standard). 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged from any affected facility any volatile organic 
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compounds (VOCs) emissions in excess of that resultant from 
using RACT. 

B. The provisions of this section apply to all facilities that (i) 
are within a stationary source in the emissions control areas 
specified in Table 4-51B and (ii) are within a stationary 
source that has a theoretical potential to emit at the applicable 
source thresholds specified Table 4-51B. 

TABLE 4-51B. 

Notification and Compliance Dates for Facilities Located in 
VOC Emissions Control Areas 

Emissions 
Control Area 

Source 
Threshold 

Notification 
Date 

Compliance 
Date 

Northern Virginia ≥ 50 tpy March 1, 2007 April 1, 2009 

C. For facilities subject to the provisions of this section, the 
owners shall, by the notification dates specified in Table 4-
51B, (i) notify the board of their applicability status, (ii) 
commit to making a determination as to what constitutes 
RACT for the facilities and (iii) provide a schedule acceptable 
to the board for making this determination and for achieving 
compliance with the emission standard as expeditiously as 
possible but no later than the compliance dates specified in 
Table 4-51B. 

D. Nothing in this article shall exempt any facility subject to 
the provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-7390 from being subject to the 
provisions of this section.  The board may reevaluate any 
RACT determination made under 9 VAC 5-40-7390 and 
require compliance with a new RACT determination as 
necessary to implement this section. 

E. Upon the request of the board, the owner of a facility 
subject to or exempt from the provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-7390 
shall provide such information as the board deems necessary 
to determine if the facility is subject to this section. 

9 VAC 5-40-7410. Standard for nitrogen oxides (one-hour 
ozone standard). 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged from any affected facility any nitrogen oxides 
(NOX) emissions in excess of that resultant from using 
RACT. 

B. Unless the owner demonstrates otherwise to the 
satisfaction of the board, facilities to which the presumptive 
RACT provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-7430 are applicable shall 
comply with the provisions of subsection A of this section by 
the use of presumptive RACT. 

C. The provisions of this section apply to all facilities that (i) 
are within a stationary source in the emissions control areas 
specified in Table 4-51C and (ii) are within a stationary 
source that has a theoretical potential to emit at the applicable 
source thresholds specified in Table 4-51C. 

TABLE 4-51C. 

Notification and Compliance Dates for Facilities Located in 
NOx Emissions Control Areas for Which There is No 

Presumptive RACT. 
Emissions 
Control Area 

Source 
Threshold Notification Date Compliance Date 

Northern 
Virginia 

≥ 50 tpy April 1, 1993 May 31, 1995 

Northern 
Virginia 

≥ 25 tpy and 
< 50 tpy 

September 4, 2003 November 15, 2005 

Western 
Virginia 

≥ 100 tpy June 24, 2004 November 15, 2005 

D. For facilities subject to the provisions of this section and 
for which there is no presumptive RACT definition, the 
owners shall, by the notification dates specified in Table 4-
51C, (i) notify the board of their applicability status, (ii) 
commit to making a determination as to what constitutes 
RACT for the facilities and (iii) provide a schedule acceptable 
to the board for making this determination and for achieving 
compliance with the emission standard as expeditiously as 
possible but no later than the compliance dates specified in 
Table 4-51C. 

E. For facilities subject to the provisions of this section and 
for which there is a presumptive RACT definition, the owners 
shall, by the notification dates specified in Table 4-51D, (i) 
notify the board of their applicability status, (ii) commit to 
accepting the presumptive RACT emission limits as RACT 
for the applicable facilities or to submitting a demonstration 
as provided in subsection B of this section and (iii) provide a 
schedule acceptable to the board for submitting the 
demonstration no later than the demonstration dates specified 
in Table 4-51D, and for achieving compliance with the 
emission standard as expeditiously as possible but no later 
than the compliance dates specified in Table 4-51D. 

TABLE 4-51D. 

Notification and Compliance Dates for Facilities Located in 
NOx Emissions Control Areas for Which Presumptive RACT 

is Defined. 
Emissions 
Control 
Area 

Source 
Threshold 

Notification 
Date 

Demon-
stration Date 

Compliance 
Date 

Northern 
Virginia 

≥ 50 tpy April 1, 
1993 

January 1, 
1994 

May 31, 1995 

Northern 
Virginia 

≥ 25 tpy 
and < 50 
tpy 

September 
4, 2003 

January 1, 
2004 

November 15, 
2005 

Western 
Virginia 

≥ 100 tpy June 24, 
2004 

January 1, 
2004 

November 15, 
2005 

F. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged from any facility any NOX emissions in excess of 
those necessary to achieve emissions reductions identified in 
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any attainment or maintenance plan or any other legally 
enforceable document submitted to the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency as a revision to the state implementation 
plan. 

1. The facilities to which the provisions of this subsection 
apply are facilities within any emissions control area (see 
9 VAC 5-20-206) identified in any attainment or 
maintenance plan submitted to the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency as a revision to the state implementation 
plan. 

2. The board may establish case-by-case emission limits 
and other requirements as may be necessary to achieve the 
required emission reductions via permits, consent orders, or 
other legally enforceable means. 

3. Facilities subject to this subsection shall be in 
compliance with any limits and other requirements 
established pursuant to subdivision 2 of this subsection 
within the timeframes established in any state plan revision, 
permit, or other legally enforceable document. 

9 VAC 5-40-7420. Standard for nitrogen oxides (eight-
hour ozone standard). 

A. No owner or other person shall cause or permit to be 
discharged from any affected facility any nitrogen oxides 
(NOX) emissions in excess of that resultant from using 
RACT. 

B. Unless the owner demonstrates otherwise to the 
satisfaction of the board, facilities to which the presumptive 
RACT provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-7430 are applicable shall 
comply with the provisions of subsection A of this section by 
the use of presumptive RACT. 

C. The provisions of this section apply to all facilities that (i) 
are within a stationary source in the emissions control areas 
specified in Table 4-51E and (ii) are within a stationary 
source that has a theoretical potential to emit at the applicable 
source thresholds specified in Table 4-51E. 

TABLE 4-51E. 

Notification and Compliance Dates for Facilities Located in 
NOx Emissions Control Areas for Which There is No 

Presumptive RACT. 
Emissions 
Control Area 

Source 
Threshold 

Notification 
Date 

Compliance 
Date 

Northern Virginia ≥ 100 tpy March 1, 2007 April 1, 2009 

D. For facilities subject to the provisions of this section and 
for which there is no presumptive RACT definition, the 
owners shall, by the notification dates specified in Table 4-
51E, (i) notify the board of their applicability status, (ii) 
commit to making a determination as to what constitutes 
RACT for the facilities and (iii) provide a schedule acceptable 
to the board for making this determination and for achieving 
compliance with the emission standard as expeditiously as 

possible but no later than the compliance dates specified in 
Table 4-51E. 

E. For facilities subject to the provisions of this section and 
for which there is a presumptive RACT definition, the owners 
shall, by the notification dates specified in Table 4-51F, (i) 
notify the board of their applicability status, (ii) commit to 
accepting the presumptive RACT emission limits as RACT 
for the applicable facilities or to submitting a demonstration 
as provided in subsection B of this section and (iii) provide a 
schedule acceptable to the board for submitting the 
demonstration no later than the demonstration dates specified 
in Table 4-51F, and for achieving compliance with the 
emission standard as expeditiously as possible but no later 
than the compliance dates specified in Table 4-51F. 

TABLE 4-51F. 

Notification and Compliance Dates for Facilities Located in 
NOx Emissions Control Areas for Which Presumptive RACT 

is Defined. 
Emissions 
Control 
Area 

Source 
Threshold 

Notification 
Date 

Demon-
stration 
Date 

Compliance 
Date 

Northern 
Virginia 

≥ 100 tpy March 1, 
2007 

June 1, 
2007 

April 1, 2009 

F. Nothing in this article shall exempt any facility subject to 
the provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-7390 from being subject to the 
provisions of this section.  The board may reevaluate any 
RACT determination made under 9 VAC 5-40-7410 and 
require compliance with a new RACT determination as 
necessary to implement this section. 

G. Upon the request of the board, the owner of a facility 
subject to or exempt from the provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-7390 
shall provide such information as the board deems necessary 
to determine if the facility is subject to this section. 

9 VAC 5-40-7430. Presumptive reasonably available 
control technology guidelines for stationary sources of 
nitrogen oxides. 

A. Unless otherwise approved by the board, this section 
defines presumptive RACT for the purposes of compliance 
with 9 VAC 5-40-7410 A or 9 VAC 5-20-7420 A for the 
source types specified here. 

B. Presumptive RACT is defined as follows. 

1. For the source types listed below, RACT is defined as 
the emission limits specified below based upon the 
application of combustion modification; however, owners 
may elect to use any alternative control technology, 
provided such alternative is capable of achieving the 
prescribed emission limits. 

a. The maximum allowable emission rate for NOX from 
steam generating units and process heaters is as follows: 
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TABLE 4-51G. 

Maximum Allowable Emission Rates for NOx Emissions 
from Steam Generating Units and Process Heaters (pounds 

per million Btu heat input). 
 

Fuel Type Firing Method 
 Face* and 

Tangential Cyclone Stokers 

Coal – wet bottom 1.0 .55 N/A 
Coal – dry bottom .38 N/A 0.4 
Oil or Gas or both .25 .43 N/A 
Gas only .20 N/A N/A 

* Includes wall, opposed and vertical firing methods 

b. The maximum allowable emission rate for NOX from 
gas turbines is as follows: 

TABLE 4-51H. 

Maximum Allowable Emission Rates for NOx Emissions 
from Gas Turbines (parts per million by dry volume corrected 

to 15% oxygen). 
 

Turbine Type 
Fuel Type 

Simple Cycle Combined Cycle 
Gas 42 42 
Oil 65/77* 65/77* 

* Limit shall be 65 ppm for fuel bound nitrogen (FBN) < 0.015% and 77 
ppm for FBN ≥ .015%. 

2. Any demonstration of compliance with the limits in 
subdivision B 1 of this section shall be on a daily basis. 

3. The following sources are not required to make 
demonstration of RACT as required by 9 VAC 5-40-7410 
B or 9 VAC 5-40-7420 B. 

a. Any steam generating unit, process heater or gas 
turbine with an annual capacity factor of less than 5.0%, 
except that three months following any calendar year 
during which the capacity factor is 5.0% or greater, the 
facility shall be subject to 9 VAC 5-40-7410 A or B, or 
9 VAC 5-40 7420 A or B, as applicable, and the owner 
shall comply with 9 VAC 5-40-7410 D or E, or 9 VAC 
5-40-7420 D or E, as applicable, except the compliance 
date shall be two years after approval of the schedule by 
the board.  Time periods during which a stand-by unit is 
used to provide replacement services for a unit being 
altered to comply with the provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-
7410 A or B, or 9 VAC 5-40-7420 A or B, shall not be 
used as the basis for a determination that the stand-by 
unit exceeded the annual capacity factor criteria of 5.0%. 

b. Any stationary internal combustion engine with a rated 
capacity of less than 450 hp of output power. 

c. Any incinerator with a maximum capacity of less than 
50 tons of waste per day. 

d. Any incinerator or thermal or catalytic oxidizer used 
exclusively as air pollution control equipment. 

e. Any generator used solely to supply emergency power 
to buildings during periods when normal power supplies 
are interrupted and during periods of scheduled 
maintenance. 

9 VAC 5-40-7440. Standard for visible emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9 VAC 5-40-60 et seq.) of this 
chapter (Emission Standards for Visible Emissions and 
Fugitive Dust/Emissions, Rule 4-1) apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7450. Standard for fugitive dust/emissions. 

The provisions of Article 1 (9 VAC 5-40-60 et seq.) of this 
chapter (Emission Standards for Visible Emissions and 
Fugitive Dust/Emissions, Rule 4-1) apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7460. Standard for odor. 

The provisions of Article 2 (9 VAC 5-40-130 et seq.) of this 
chapter (Emission Standards for Odor, Rule 4-2) apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7470. Standard for toxic pollutants. 

The provisions of Article 4 (9 VAC 5-60-200 et seq.) of 
9 VAC 5 Chapter 60 (Emission Standards for Toxic 
Pollutants, Rule 6-4) apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7480. Compliance. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-20 (Compliance) apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7490. Test methods and procedures. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-30 (Emission Testing) apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7500. Monitoring. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-40 (Monitoring) apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7510. Notification, records and reporting. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-40-50 (Notification, Records and 
Reporting) apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7520. Registration. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-20-160 (Registration) apply. 

9 VAC 5-40-7530. Facility and control equipment 
maintenance or malfunction. 

The provisions of 9 VAC 5-20-180 (Facility and Control 
Equipment Maintenance or Malfunction) apply. 
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9 VAC 5-40-7540. Permits. 

A permit may be required prior to beginning any of the 
activities specified below and the provisions of 9 VAC 5-50 
and 9 VAC 5-80 may apply.  Owners contemplating such 
action should contact the appropriate regional office for 
guidance. 

1. Construction of a facility. 

2. Reconstruction (replacement of more than half) of a 
facility. 

3. Modification (any physical change to equipment) of a 
facility. 

4. Relocation of a facility. 

5. Reactivation (restart-up) of a facility. 

6. Operation of a facility. 
VA.R. Doc. No. R07-16; Filed October 13, 2006, 10:17 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The Department of Health is 
claiming an exclusion from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved.  The Department of Health will receive, consider 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12 VAC 5-31. Virginia Emergency 
Medical Services Regulations (amending 12 VAC 5-31-
1610). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-111.4 and 32.1-111.5 of 
the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 13, 2006. 

Agency Contact: Michael D. Berg, Manager, Regulation and 
Compliance, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Suite 
UB-55, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7600, 
FAX (804) 864-7580 or email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows registered nurses who are 
recognized under the Nurse Licensure Compact (§ 54.1-
3030 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) to be eligible for EMS 
certification through equivalency. 

12 VAC 5-31-1610. Certification through equivalency.  

A Virginia licensed practical nurse, registered nurse (to 
include those recognized through the Nurse Licensure 
Compact (§ 54.1-3030 et seq. of the Code of Virginia)), 
physician assistant or military corpsman with current 
credentials may be issued EMT certification through 
equivalency after completing the requirements of 12 VAC 5-
31-1640 B, including passing a written and practical 
certification examination. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-17; Filed October 18, 2006, 9:11 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulation is 
exempt from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 
with § 2.2-4006 A 2, which excludes regulations that 
establish or prescribe agency organization, internal practice or 
procedures, including delegations of authority.  The 
Department of Health will receive, consider and respond to 
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12 VAC 5-60. State Emergency 
Medical Services Plan (repealing 12 VAC 5-60-10 through 
12 VAC 5-60-260). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-111.3 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 13, 2006. 

Agency Contact: Michael D. Berg, Manager, Regulation and 
Compliance, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Suite 
UB-55, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7600, 
FAX (804) 864-7580 or email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The Office of the Attorney General has determined that the 
State EMS Plan does not belong in the Virginia 
Administrative Code. The State EMS Plan is a guidance 
document and carries no regulatory authority. Therefore, it 
is being repealed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-18; Filed October 18, 2006, 9:13 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2006 

746 

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing 
Development Authority is exempt from the Administrative 
Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4; however, under the provisions of 
§ 2.2-4031, it is required to publish all proposed and final 
regulations. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  13 VAC 10-50. Rules and Regulations 
for Home Rehabilitation Loans (repealing 13 VAC 10-50-
10 through 13 VAC 10-50-100). 

Statutory Authority:  § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  November 1, 2006. 

Agency Contact:  J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South 
Belvidere Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-
5540, FAX (804) 783-6701, toll free 1-800-968-7837, email 
judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The authority's rules and regulations for the home 
rehabilitation loan program are being repealed because 
the program authorized by such rules and regulations has 
been terminated. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-331; Filed October 23, 2006, 11:56 a.m. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 13 VAC 10-120. Rules and Regulations 
for REACH Virginia (amending 13 VAC 10-120-10 
through 13 VAC 10-120-80). 

Statutory Authority:  § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  November 1, 2006. 

Agency Contact: J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South 
Belvidere Street, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-
5540, FAX (804) 783-6701, toll free 1-800-968-7837, or 
email judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the authority's rules and regulations 
for the Virginia Housing Fund (i) include references to 
REACH Virginia that supersede the authority's Virginia 
Housing Fund and that provide increased funding for 
housing previously assisted by the authority through the 
Virginia Fund and (ii) make related technical changes. 

CHAPTER 120. 
RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR THE VIRGINIA 

HOUSING FUND REACH VIRGINIA. 

13 VAC 10-120-10. Definitions. 

"Application" or "proposal" means a written request to the 
authority by a prospective borrower for a loan or a written 
request to the authority by an applicant requesting the 
establishment of a loan program or other assistance under 
these rules and regulations. 

"Fund" means the housing fund created by the authority from 
moneys in its general fund for the purposes set forth herein. 

"Loan" means any extension of credit which is made or 
financed or is to be made or financed pursuant to these rules 
and regulations. 

"Loan program" means any program requested to be 
developed or implemented by the authority for the purpose of 
providing loans pursuant to these rules and regulations. 

"REACH Virginia" means the funding from the authority net 
assets that are dedicated to reduce the interest rates or 
otherwise provide housing subsidies under its programs. 

"VHF" means the housing fund created by the authority in 
1989 and continued through June 30, 2005, from moneys in 
its general fund. 

13 VAC 10-120-20. Applicability and purpose. 

The rules and regulations that follow will be applicable to 
loans or programs for loans which are made or financed or are 
proposed to be made or financed by the authority to 
borrowers who have presented proposals or applications for 
loans or loan programs from the fund REACH Virginia. 

The principal purpose of the fund REACH Virginia is to 
create new housing opportunities for lower income Virginians 
through its operation as a special purpose revolving loan 
fund. The highest priority is placed upon serving the elderly, 
disabled, and homeless as well as families in need of 
affordable housing not otherwise being serviced by other 
housing programs. The fund REACH Virginia will also seek 
to provide support for comprehensive programs of 
neighborhood revitalization. 

There will be special emphasis placed upon using the fund 
REACH Virginia to attract and leverage other housing aid of 
all kinds including, but not limited to, financial, in kind, tax 
incentives and subsidies. The fund REACH Virginia shall be 
used to encourage partnerships with both public and private 
interests including state agencies, localities and nonprofit 
organizations. The goal is to maximize the participation in, 
and resources devoted to, solving housing problems of lower 
income Virginians. 

There will be an emphasis on creative uses of the fund 
REACH Virginia which will result in the most effective use 
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of its resources and advancement of the state of the art in 
providing decent housing at an affordable cost to lower 
income Virginians. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, the 
executive director is authorized to waive or modify any 
provision herein, where deemed appropriate by him, for good 
cause, to the extent not inconsistent with the Act. 

All reviews, analyses, evaluations, inspections, 
determinations and other actions by the authority pursuant to 
the provisions of these rules and regulations shall be made for 
the sole and exclusive benefit and protection of the authority 
and shall not be construed to waive or modify any of the 
rights, benefits, privileges, duties, liabilities or responsibilities 
of the authority, the borrower, any contractors or any other 
parties under any agreements or documents relating to the 
loan. 

These rules and regulations are intended to provide a general 
description of the authority's processing requirements for 
loans or loan programs under the fund REACH Virginia and 
are not intended to include all actions involved or required in 
the processing and administration of such loans or loan 
programs. Because the fund REACH Virginia is an 
experimental venture, in order to refine and improve its 
implementation, it is the intention of the authority to be 
flexible in its interpretation of the principles set forth herein 
for loans or loan programs of special merit. These rules and 
regulations are subject to change at any time by the authority 
and may be supplemented by additional policies, rules and 
regulations adopted by the authority from time to time. The 
authority reserves the right to change the size of the fund or 
its amount of funds available under REACH Virginia or their 
uses as circumstances may reasonably dictate. 

PART II. 
PRINCIPLES GOVERNING THE FUND REACH 

VIRGINIA. 

13 VAC 10-120-30. General principles. 

The fund is a revolving loan fund. It is the authority's intent 
that repaid principal plus interest, less any loss of interest or 
principal in the event of default sustained by the fund, will be 
recycled and loaned to additional projects up to the full 
amount of the fund as approved by the board.  

Project and program proposals will be given preference in the 
selection process to the extent they address the following:  

1. Needs of the user group, which shall be primary;  

2. Partnerships which maximize leveraging of fund 
REACH Virginia loans;  

3. Extent to which the project is either innovative or 
demonstrates a possible "breakthrough" idea for serving 
lower income households or both;  

4. Potential for the project to the replicable (i.e., 
demonstration);  

5. Financial soundness and experience of the sponsor.  

Proposals should seek to maximize the number of persons or 
projects which are served. Projects which highly leverage 
fund REACH Virginia moneys by attracting external 
subsidies and capital are encouraged.  

The authority will seek an equitable geographic distribution 
of loans made from the fund REACH Virginia.  

All loans to be made from the fund REACH Virginia shall 
comply with all applicable laws and regulations to which the 
authority is subject and with any rules and regulations of the 
authority applicable or to be applicable thereto and such other 
underwriting criteria as the executive director deems 
necessary to protect the interests of the authority as lender. 

13 VAC 10-120-40. Terms of loans. 

Ten Thirty-five years shall be the maximum loan term, 
although longer amortization schedules may be utilized. 

13 VAC 10-120-50. Interest rates. 

The interest rate on loans shall be determined pursuant to a 
schedule and criteria established from time to time by a 
resolution of the board the authority. Such interest rates are 
expected to be significantly lower than those which would be 
available from other sources and, at the same time, will 
provide continuing support for the authority's currently 
outstanding and future bond issues. The authority realizes that 
loans will have significantly higher risks than alternative 
investments and will have little or no liquidity. If deemed 
necessary, all or a portion of the interest principal payments 
on loans may be deferred by the authority. 

13 VAC 10-120-60. Solicitation of applications and 
proposals. 

The executive director may from time to time take such 
action as he may deem necessary or proper in order to solicit 
proposals or applications for the fund REACH Virginia. Such 
actions may include advertising in newspapers and other 
media, mailing of information to prospective applicants and 
other members of the public, and any other methods of public 
announcement which the executive director may select as 
appropriate under the circumstances. The executive director 
may impose requirements, limitations and conditions with 
respect to the submission and selection of applications and 
proposals as he shall consider necessary or appropriate. The 
executive director may cause market studies and other 
research and analyses to be performed in order to determine 
the manner and conditions under which available moneys in 
the fund REACH Virginia are to be allocated and such other 
matters as he shall deem appropriate relating to the selection 
of applications and proposals or the establishment of 
programs. The authority may also consider and approve 
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applications and proposals submitted from time to time to the 
authority without any solicitation therefor on the part of the 
authority. 

13 VAC 10-120-70. Authority programs under the fund 
REACH Virginia. 

Programs may be designed and operated by the authority if 
they are innovative, cannot currently be conventionally 
funded, or may serve as models for future state or bond 
funding. 

13 VAC 10-120-80. Application and selection for 
processing. 

Application for a loan or loan program shall be commenced 
by filing with the authority an application or proposal on such 
form or forms as the executive director may from time to time 
prescribe, together with such documents and additional 
information as may be requested by the authority. 

Based on the applications, proposals, documents and any 
additional information submitted by applicants or obtained 
from other sources by the authority, a subcommittee of the 
board, the authority shall select for processing those 
applications and proposals which it determines may best 
satisfy the purposes and principles of the fund REACH 
Virginia set forth in 13 VAC 10-120-20 and 13 VAC 10-120-
30 hereof. 

Nothing contained herein shall require the authority to select 
any application or proposal which, in the judgment of the 
subcommittee of the board authority, does not adequately 
satisfy the purposes and principles of the fund REACH 
Virginia set forth in 13 VAC 10-120-20 and 13 VAC 10-120-
30 hereof. 

The selection by the subcommittee of the board authority 
shall be based only on the documents and information 
received or obtained by it at that time and shall be subject to 
modification or reversal upon receipt and further analysis of 
additional documents or information at a later time. 

After selection of an application or proposal for a loan has 
been made by the subcommittee of the board authority, such 
application will then be processed by the authority in 
accordance with the authority's one or both of the following: 
(i) any applicable rules and regulations of the authority or, if 
no such rules and regulations are applicable, in accordance 
with (ii) such written agreement or agreements with the 
applicant as the executive director may require to effect the 
purposes and principles hereof and to protect the authority's 
interest as lender. 

After selection of an application or proposal for a loan 
program has been made by the subcommittee of the board 
authority, the authority may implement such program by one 
or more of the following: (i) applying any then applicable 
existing rules and regulations of the authority, (ii) 
promulgating new rules and regulations therefor, or (iii) 

entering into such written agreement or agreements with the 
applicant or proposed borrowers or both as the executive 
director may require consistent with the purposes and 
principles hereof and the authority's interest as lender. 

Any application or proposal for a loan or loan program to be 
assisted with the VHF shall be processed or implemented in 
accordance with the rules and regulations for the VHF that 
were in effect prior to November 1, 2006. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R06-332; Filed October 23, 2006, 11:56 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations:  22 VAC 40-200. Foster Care - 
Guiding Principles (repealing 22 VAC 40-200-10 and 
22 VAC 40-200-20). 

22 VAC 40-201. Permanency Services - Prevention, Foster 
Care, Adoption and Independent Living (adding 22 VAC 
40-201-10 through 22 VAC 40-201-210). 

22 VAC 40-210. Foster Care - Assessing the Client's 
Service Needs (repealing 22 VAC 40-210-10 through 
22 VAC 40-210-40). 

22 VAC 40-240. Nonagency Placement for Adoption - 
Consent (repealing 22 VAC 40-240-10 through 22 VAC 
40-240-30). 

22 VAC 40-250. Agency Placement Adoptions - AREVA 
(repealing 22 VAC 40-250-10 and 22 VAC 40-250-20). 

22 VAC 40-260. Agency Placement Adoptions - Subsidy 
(repealing 22 VAC 40-260-10 and 22 VAC 40-260-20). 

22 VAC 40-280. Nonagency Placements for Adoption - 
Adoptive Home Study (repealing 22 VAC 40-280-10 and 
22 VAC 40-280-20). 

22 VAC 40-800. Family Based Social Services (repealing 
22 VAC 40-800-10 through 22 VAC 40-800-170). 

Statutory Authority:  § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until January 12, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Agency Contact:  Lynette Isbell, Acting Director, Division of 
Family Services, Department of Social Services, 7 North 
Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-
7082, FAX (804) 726-7895, or email 
lynette.isbell@dss.virginia.gov. 
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Basis:  The statutory authority to repeal the seven regulations 
and promulgate the new permanency services regulation can 
be found in §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of 
Virginia.  These statutes describe the authority of the State 
Board of Social Services to adopt regulations as may be 
necessary to carry out the purposes of the department and the 
programs the department is mandated to provide. 

Purpose:  The new permanency services regulation will 
incorporate all aspects of permanency (Foster Care 
Prevention, Foster Care, Independent Living, Agency 
Placement Adoptions – AREVA, Agency Placement 
Adoptions – Subsidy, and Nonagency Adoption Placement) 
in one new comprehensive regulation that will position all 
permanency services regulations in one location in the 
Virginia Administrative Code. 

The new permanency services regulation is essential to 
protect the health, safety and welfare of children in the 
Commonwealth because it will strengthen the regulatory 
infrastructure of programs providing for the permanency of 
children - a strong, stable environment in which to grow up – 
resulting in the strengthening of the institution of family and 
improving the health, safety and welfare of children.  The 
new permanency services regulation will also mandate new 
procedures integral to Virginia’s compliance with federal 
regulations and in keeping with the federal child and family 
services program outcome goals.  There are no environmental 
impacts resulting from this regulation. 

Substance:  This joint action will repeal the seven existing 
regulations pertaining to foster care prevention, foster care, 
and adoption services.  A comprehensive new permanency 
services regulation will be promulgated to take the place of 
and expand upon these seven regulations. 

The new permanency services regulation will incorporate 
comprehensive definitions pertaining to all permanency 
services for children:  Foster Care Prevention, Foster Care, 
Agency Placement Adoptions - AREVA, Agency Placement 
Adoptions – Subsidy, and Nonagency Adoption Placement.  
Definitions will be updated to ensure consistency between all 
service programs and to comply with federal and state 
requirements.  The foster care prevention section will expand 
on and identify mandated and optional service provisions for 
preventing children from needing to enter foster care. 

The foster care section will regulate all foster care services 
and activities as specified in the Code of Virginia including 
but not limited to accepting children into placement, 
assessment and reassessments, service planning and service 
delivery, criminal history and central registry background 
checks, independent living placements, permanency goals, 
case reviews of children in foster care, types of foster care 
placements, and worker contacts with children in foster care.  
These sections specify changes in the provisions for 
frequency of worker contact with children in foster care and 
their parents, required training for foster care and adoption 

workers and supervisory staff, procedures for conducting 
criminal background checks on adults in the home when 
children are expected to return home, standardized foster care 
paper case file formats, timeframes for filing  petitions for 
termination of parental rights, development of concurrent 
case plans for children, requirements for providing 
independent living services to older youth, requirements for 
conducting administrative panel reviews, and frequency for 
scheduling visitation between a child in foster care and the 
child’s parents and/or siblings. 

The adoption section will incorporate and update current 
adoption regulations, including Agency Placement Adoptions 
– AREVA and Agency Placement Adoptions - Subsidy, and 
Nonagency Adoption Placement, into this chapter.  This 
regulation will also mandate minimum requirements for 
foster and adoptive worker training. 

Issues:  The public is expected to benefit from this new 
comprehensive permanency services regulation. The 
regulation strengthens the protection offered to children by 
providing a regulatory framework for service provision to 
children in foster care and their families.  It also strengthens 
the authority and responsibilities of local departments of 
socials services who are entrusted to carry out service 
provision to children in foster care and their families by 
specifying how such services are to be provided and in what 
timeframes. 

The regulation poses no disadvantages to the public and 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Regulation.  The State Board of 
Social Services (board) proposes to repeal seven regulations 
which now govern parts of the adoption process as well the 
disposition of children in foster care and children who are at 
risk of becoming part of the foster care system. One 
comprehensive regulation that mandates the shape and scope 
of permanency services in Virginia will replace those seven 
that are to be repealed.  

In order to comply with Federal Title IV-E, the board 
proposes to require that: 

1. Certain specific judicial findings must be in the initial 
court order for removal of a child from his or her home.  

2. The Department of Social Services (DSS) must provide 
certain specified documentation to support a judicial 
finding that every reasonable effort has been made to 
achieve the goal of family preservation. 

The proposed regulation will also bring Virginia into greater 
compliance with the Federal Adoption and Safe Families Act 
of 1997 (ASFA) by requiring that: 
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1. Absent a court order to the contrary, DSS encourage and 
facilitate visitation between foster children and their 
parents and siblings. 

2. The case of each child in foster care be subject to judicial 
review at set intervals. 

3. DSS include all affected parties in the service planning 
process and notify these parties of all judicial and 
administrative hearings so that they may participate if they 
wish.1 

4. DSS have, in most situations, monthly face-to-face 
contact with children in intrastate foster care. The one 
exception to this monthly contact requirement for children 
placed within Virginia is that DSS need only have face-to-
face contact with children in permanent foster care not less 
than every six months. Children placed out-of-state, either 
with relatives or in a foster home or residential facility, 
need only meet face to face with DSS workers, or their 
designees, annually. Face-to face meetings between a child 
in foster care and DSS must occur in the home or facility 
where the child resides and must be documented in the 
Commonwealth’s approved case documentation system 
(OASIS). 

5. DSS have face-to-face contact with the parents or prior 
guardians to whom children in the foster care system are 
expected to be returned. The proposed regulation, but not 
ASFA, requires that contact occur at not less than monthly 
intervals. 

6. DSS have contact with all foster care providers, except 
those that provide permanent foster care, at least monthly. 
DSS need only have contact with providers of permanent 
foster care once every six months. The proposed regulation, 
but not ASFA, requires that contact, in most cases, occur at 
not less than monthly intervals. 

7. DSS petition for termination of parental rights at the first 
permanency planning hearing except where federally 
defined compelling reasons exist that would preclude such 
a petition.  

8. New social workers and supervisory staff participate in 
initial training and ongoing yearly training.  

In addition to bringing Virginia into greater compliance with 
the requirements of Title IV-E and ASFA, the proposed 
regulation contains requirements that are already DSS policy 
(DSS Foster Care Policy Manual Volume VII, Section III, 
Chapter B), but which has not yet been put into regulatory 
code. These portions of the proposed regulation do not 
represent a change in DSS practices. 

Result of Analysis.  The costs likely exceed the benefits for 
one of these proposed regulatory changes. There is 

                                                           
1 Affected parties include parents or prior guardians, foster parents and, when 
appropriate, children who are the subject of the service plan. 

insufficient data to decide whether benefits exceed costs for 
all other proposed changes. Detailed analysis can be found in 
the next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Most of the provisions of 
22 VAC 40-201 do not represent a substantive change in how 
the foster care system in Virginia operates. As noted above, 
much of the proposed regulation is a restatement of current 
DSS policy. There are however substantial costs, mostly labor 
costs, attached to the proposed regulation provisions that 
concern visitation between foster children and family 
members from whom they have been separated, between 
these children and their case social workers, and between 
social workers and parents. There will also be substantial 
costs associated with social worker and supervisor training. 

Current regulation contains no specific language obligating 
DSS to maintain ties between foster care children and their 
siblings and parents or former guardians; at this point, various 
localities have different policies for, and place varying 
importance on, this type of visitation. In 2003, the US 
Department of Health and Human Services Children’s Bureau 
(HHS) conducted a review of child and family services in 
Virginia. Visitation between foster children and their families 
is one of the areas in which Virginia’s foster care system "did 
not achieve substantial conformity" with the ASFA mandates. 
In order to avoid threatened monetary penalties, DSS seeks to 
now bring regulation and practice into compliance with 
ASFA, which requires that states facilitate this visitation so 
that families can be more easily reunited at the end of the 
foster care process. 

DSS estimates that implementation of this portion of the 
proposed regulation will require that local DSS offices 
(LDSS) hire the equivalent of 33.5 full time social workers 
($55,108 per worker per year2) in order to coordinate and 
supervise visitation between children in foster care and their 
siblings and parents. This change will likely yield benefits for 
children in foster care in that they will be able to maintain 
more stable ties with family members with whom they will 
eventually live. 

Additionally, DSS estimates that 156 full time social workers 
will be needed to implement mandated monthly face-to-face 
visitation between social workers and children in most types 
of foster care placement. While there is no federal 
requirement that visitation occur at any particular interval, the 
proposed regulation is written to require monthly visitation in 
most cases because DSS anticipates that that will be a federal 
requirement in the future. DSS and HHS believes that many 
situations, like poor placement fit, that might prove harmful 
to foster children can be caught and fixed more quickly if 
social workers have face-to-face contact more frequently. 

                                                           
2 This figure includes salary, retirement benefits, FICA, insurance, travel expenses, 
supplies, telephone costs, equipment costs and the one time expenses associated with 
setting up an office. The same expenses are included in the per year cost for each new 
case aide and supervisor.  Other accounting methods which recognize, for instance, that 
office space can be shared would likely yield lower per-worker costs. 
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This portion of the proposed regulation represents a large 
change in DSS policy as currently only quarterly visits are 
required. 

In stark contrast with the proposed visitation requirements for 
foster children placed within Virginia, DSS, apparently with 
the blessing of HHS, proposes to reduce the frequency of 
face-to-face visits between social workers and children placed 
out of state, either with relatives or in foster homes or 
residential facilities, from quarterly to annually. Although this 
reduction in services will save the state some money, it will 
also very likely leave children placed out of state more 
vulnerable and may also leave DSS open to charges that they 
are neglecting a population of children whose safety is, 
ultimately, their responsibility. 

DSS does not anticipate additional funding for localities to 
cover the increased visitation mandated by the proposed 
regulation and so would have to meet new regulatory 
requirements using their current staff. This provision, if 
promulgated without funding or resource redistribution, may 
have a negative effect on social worker retention rates which 
may, in turn, have a negative economic impact on the 
Commonwealth as additional funds will be needed for 
recruiting and hiring replacement workers. 

DSS estimates that, in order to comply with ASFA and 
facilitate new worker and annual in-service training, LDSS 
will need to hire 40.2 full time social workers. Of that 
number, 19.9 social workers would cover hours taken up by 
new worker training and 20.3 full time social workers would 
cover hours needed for continuing yearly training of all social 
worker and supervisory staff. The HSS Child and Family 
Services Review (CFSR) found that: 

"Virginia did not achieve substantial conformity with the 
systemic factor of training. The CFSR determined that 
the State does not provide initial training for all agency 
personnel who deliver services under titles IV-B and IV-
E statewide. Further, ongoing training for staff to address 
the skills and knowledge needed to carry out their duties 
is not provided in a consistent manner across the State." 

Again, DSS seeks to bring regulation and practice in this area 
into conformity with Federal standards in order to avoid 
possible monetary penalties. While the costs of this training 
are, in practical terms, unavoidable, they are mitigated by 
expected decreases in staff turnover. Social workers who are 
trained before they are assigned cases and who receive 
ongoing training are less likely to become frustrated because 
they are unprepared to handle the stress of their job. They 
may, as a consequence, stay in their position longer. If this is 
the case, DSS will avoid costs associated with searching for, 
and hiring, new employees. In addition, this portion of the 
proposed regulation will have non-monetary benefits in that 
well trained social workers are more likely to make good 
decisions for the children who they are evaluating or who are 
already in the care of DSS.  

DSS estimates that, in order to facilitate the training and 
visitation mandated by the proposed regulation, LDSS will 
need to hire the equivalent of 38.5 full time supervisors 
($71,737 per supervisor per year) to maintain a supervisor to 
social worker ratio of 1 to 6. DSS estimates of the number of 
supervisors needed are based on estimates of the number of 
new social workers needed statewide rather than in any 
particular locality. Because any one of the 120 local 
departments is not likely to hire a large enough number of 
new social workers to justify the expense of an extra 
supervisor, DSS’s estimates of the number of supervisors 
needed statewide likely overstates the supervisory needs of 
LDSSs. DSS also reports that local departments will need to 
hire 16.48 full time case aides ($47,745 per aide per year) to 
maintain an aide to social worker ratio of 1 to 14. Again, 
because the scale of social worker hiring for any one LDSS 
will likely be smaller than the statewide number suggests, the 
estimate of required new case aides is likely higher than the 
number of case aides that LDSSs will actually need.  

DSS estimates that the full labor cost for implementing the 
proposed regulation as it is now written is $16,236,429 (based 
on FY 2006 data). Localities would be responsible for 
covering 20% ($3,247,286) for service administration, so the 
Commonwealth’s portion of labor costs if the proposed 
regulation were fully implemented would be $12,989,144 for 
FY 2006. 

Other explicit costs generated by implementation of the 
proposed regulation, cost for printing training materials and 
any cost attached to gathering specific documentation that 
must be presented in removal hearings are two examples, are 
estimated by DSS to be minimal and already covered by pre-
existing budgetary allowances. These represent costs to 
opportunity in that funds used for these things cannot be used 
for something else, but DSS does not require an increase in 
their budget to cover them. 

The unforeseen costs that may be attached to the proposed 
regulation are harder to judge. For instance, the provision that 
requires that social workers meet with the parents of children 
in foster care may be problematic since DSS can dictate 
practice for LDSS staff but cannot force unwilling parents to 
meet if that is not their inclination. The cost of this item in 
man hours could easily add up very quickly as LDSS staff 
may find that they are spending a good deal more time than 
anticipated trying to get parents to comply. In addition, this 
may serve as a source of frustration to social workers and 
may be a factor that increases DSS staff turnover. 

The requirement that foster care parents have monthly contact 
with social workers could conceivably decrease the supply of 
foster care homes if that contact is viewed as an unnecessary 
intrusion. On the other hand, there is a strong argument to be 
made that increased contact between social workers and 
foster care parents may mean that the needs of the foster child 
are assessed more quickly, and services are delivered in a 
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more timely fashion, so frustration on the part of foster care 
families is reduced. This might very well reduce the 
possibility of foster parents removing themselves from the 
system. There is insufficient data to know which effect will 
outweigh the other. If this requirement causes greater foster 
parent attrition, search costs to recruit new foster parents may 
rise and LDSS may find they cannot find enough foster 
parents to meet demand for foster care services. If this 
happens, they may be forced to rely more heavily on private 
placement services. This might increase the price private 
placement agencies can negotiate at contract renewal. 

Many portions of the proposed regulation have minimal or no 
cost attached to their implementation but do have substantial 
cost attached if they are not promulgated and put into 
practice. It will cost little or nothing, for example, to get 
judges to word removal orders so that they meet Title IV-E 
requirements. If DSS does not mandate that the wording, 
however, Virginia may fail the next scheduled Title IV-E 
audit. If this happens DSS will have to return all Title IV-E 
funds that were dispersed in cases where Federal regulation 
was not adhered to and will have to pay additional penalties. 
The amount that Virginia could be forced to pay out if this 
happens could range between $2,000,000 and $12,000,000. 
DSS’s best estimate of what Virginia would owe the Federal 
government is approximately $8,000,000. Virginia is 
scheduled to be audited again in August 2006. 

In addition, DSS was subject to an audit of their compliance 
with ASFA. Many of the requirements of the proposed 
regulation are aimed at fixing the deficiencies that HHS found 
with Virginia’s child and family services. Although there has 
been no exact dollar amount yet attached to non-compliance, 
Virginia may be subject to monetary penalties if they do not 
improve performance in implementing ASFA mandates. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed regulation 
will affect 169 private placement agencies and child 
residential institutions, as well as the approximately 8,000 
children in foster care in Virginia. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  All 120 local Departments 
of Social Services will be affected by this new regulation. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  DSS estimates that at least 
230 new social workers will need to be hired to meet the 
visitation and training requirements of the proposed 
regulation. Additionally, approximately 55 new support and 
supervisory positions may be created. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
revenue of private placement agencies might increase if foster 
parent attrition rates increase and LDSS cannot recruit 
adequate numbers of replacement foster parents. The use and 
value of private property should not otherwise be affected by 
the proposed regulation. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  Only public 
agencies and non-profit private placing agencies are likely to 
be affected by the proposed regulation. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  Only public agencies and non-profit private 
placing agencies are likely to be affected by the proposed 
regulation. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The Department of 
Social Services concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

This is a joint action to repeal seven regulations and 
replace them with one comprehensive new permanency 
services regulation that will encompass the full range of 
services for providing a child with a safe, secure and stable 
situation in which to grow up. 

The proposed regulation incorporates comprehensive 
definitions pertaining to permanency services and provide 
a regulatory structure for the programs pertaining to 
permanency for children:  Foster Care Prevention and 
Stabilization, Foster Care Services, Agency Placement 
Adoptions, and Nonagency Adoption Placement. 

The proposed regulation incorporates and updates the 
repealed agency placement and nonagency placement 
regulations.  The new regulation also includes one section 
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on foster care prevention and stabilization and  sections 
covering the range of foster care services including 
entering foster care; foster care placement; case opening; 
initial assessment; choosing the goal; preparing the service 
plan; service delivery; reviewing the service plan; closing 
the foster care case; funding; other requirements; 
independent living; and training.  A section has also been 
added to address suspected violations in the placement and 
adoption of a child. 

CHAPTER 201. 
PERMANENCY SERVICES - PREVENTION, FOSTER 

CARE, ADOPTION AND INDEPENDENT LIVING. 

22 VAC 40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Adoption" means a legal process in which a person's rights 
and duties toward birth parent(s) are terminated and similar 
rights and duties are established with a new family.  

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 
between the agency and adoptive parent(s). An adoption 
assistance agreement may be for a federal subsidy, a state 
subsidy, or a conditional subsidy.  

"Adoption progress report" means a report filed with the 
juvenile court every six months that documents in detail, the 
reasonable efforts made to locate an adoptive family for a 
child following termination of parental rights.  Section 16.1-
283 F of the Code of Virginia requires that an adoption 
progress report be submitted to the juvenile court every six 
months following termination of parental rights until the 
adoption is final. 

"Adoption search" means interviews and written or telephone 
inquiries made by an agency to locate and advise the 
biological parent(s) or siblings of an adult adoptee’s request 
by application for disclosure or petition to the court for 
identifying information from a closed adoption record. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 
approved by a parent, local board or a licensed child-placing 
agency for the placement of a child with the intent of 
adoption. 

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of the adoptive 
family to determine their suitability for adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a child 
who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an 
approved home for the purpose of adoption.  

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 
of age or older.  A petition may be filed in circuit court by 
any natural person who is a resident of this Commonwealth 
(i) for the adoption of a stepchild 18 years of age or over to 
whom he has stood in loco parentis for a period of at least 

three months; (ii) for the adoption of a niece or nephew over 
18 years of age who has no living parents and who has lived 
in the home of the petitioner for at least three months; (iii) for 
the adoption of any person 18 years of age or over who is the 
birth child of the petitioner or who had resided in the home of 
the petitioner for a period of at least three months prior to 
becoming 18 years of age; or (iv) for the adoption of any 
person 18 years of age or older, for good cause shown, 
provided that the person to be adopted is at least 15 years 
younger than the petitioner and the petitioner and the person 
to be adopted have known each other for at least five years 
prior to the filing of the petition for adoption, and provided 
further that both the petitioner and the person to be adopted 
have been residents of the Commonwealth for at least two 
years immediately prior to the filing of the petition. 

"AFDC" means the Aid to Families with Dependent Children 
Program.  

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 
child is placed in an adoptive home by a local department or 
child-placing agency that has custody of the child.  

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 
Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 
and families waiting for adoption.  

"Assessment" means an initial evaluation of the situation of 
the child and family to identify services needed.  

"Birth family" or "birth sibling" means the child's biological 
family or biological sibling.  

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent(s) and, for 
purposes of adoptive placement, means parent(s) by previous 
adoption.  

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.  

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age.  

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 
children in foster homes, adoptive homes or independent 
living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 
Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 
or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903 and 
63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia.  Officers, employees, or 
agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within 
the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain 
a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" means any child under the age of 
18 in the custody of an agency or child-placing agency who:  

1. The state has determined is unlikely to return home 
because of termination of parental rights. 

2. Has individual characteristics that make the child hard to 
place including:  

a. Having a physical, mental, or emotional condition(s) 
existing prior to adoption;  
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b. Having a hereditary tendency, congenital problem, 
birth injury leading to risk of future disability; 

c. Having been prenatally exposed to drugs or alcohol or 
suspected of having been prenatally exposed to drugs or 
alcohol;  

d. Being eight years of age or older; 

e. Being a member of a minority or mixed racial heritage, 
and at least three years of age; 

f. Being a member of a sibling group who are being 
placed with the same family at the same time; or 

g. Having significant emotional ties with the foster 
parents with whom the child has resided for at least 12 
months when the adoption is in the best interest of the 
child. 

3. Has had reasonable efforts made to place without 
subsidy.  

4. For whom the above conditions were present at the time 
of adoption, but not diagnosed until after entry of the final 
order of adoption and the diagnosis is not more than 12 
months old. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department 
of Social Services or his designee, or authorized 
representative. 

"Community Policy and Management Team (CPMT)" means 
a team established by the Comprehensive Services Act for At-
Risk Youth and Families.  The team is appointed by local 
governing bodies to manage the cooperative effort in each 
community to serve the needs of troubled and at-risk youth 
and their families and to maximize the use of state and 
community resources.  This team’s powers and duties are set 
out in § 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk Youth and 
Families (CSA)" means the legislation found in Chapter 52 
(§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia 
creating a collaborative system of services and funding that is 
child centered, family focused, and community based to 
address the strengths and needs of troubled and at-risk youth 
and their families. 

"Custody investigation" means a court ordered method to 
gather information regarding a child whose custody, visitation 
or support is in controversy or requires determination. 

"Department" means the state Department of Social Services.  

"Family" means the child’s birth or adopted family or prior 
custodian(s), whoever had legal custody of the child at the 
time the child entered foster care. 

"Family Assessment and Planning Team (FAPT)" means the 
local team created by the CPMT to assess the strengths and 
needs of troubled youths and families who are referred to the 

team.  The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in 
§ 2.2-5208 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Finalization of the adoption" means the court process of 
approving the adoption that begins with the filing of a petition 
and ends with the entry of the final order of adoption.  

"Foster child" means a person who has been placed into foster 
care through a noncustodial foster care agreement, 
entrustment or court commitment before 18 years of age and 
who may remain in foster care to age 21.  

"Foster care placement" means placement of a child through 
(i) an agreement between the parent(s) or guardian(s) and the 
local board or public agency designated by the CPMT where 
legal custody remains with the parent(s) or guardians or (ii) 
an entrustment or court commitment of the child to the local 
board or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 
casework, treatment and community services for a planned 
period of time to a child, who is abused or neglected as 
defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia or in need of 
services as defined in § 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia, and 
his family, when the child (i) has been identified as needing 
services to prevent or eliminate the need for foster care 
placement, (ii) has been placed through an agreement 
between the local board or the public agency designated by 
the community policy and management team and the 
parent(s) or guardian(s) where legal custody remains with the 
parent(s) or guardian(s), or (iii) has been committed or 
entrusted to a local board or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Foster family placement" means placement of a child with a 
family that has been approved by the local department or a 
child-placing agency to provide substitute care for children 
until a permanent placement can be achieved.  

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 
person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 
adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 
household. 

"ICPC" means the Interstate Compact on the Placement of 
Children, which is found in § 63.2-1000 of the Code of 
Virginia and is statutory uniform law in all 50 states, the 
District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 

"Independent living" means a program of services and 
activities for children in foster care who are 16 years of age or 
older, and persons who are former foster care children 
between the ages of 18 and 21 that prepares them for the 
successful transition from foster care to self-sufficiency. 

"Independent living placement" means placement of a child at 
least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local board or 
licensed child-placing agency and has been placed by the 
local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 
arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute 
parental supervision.  
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"Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP)" means the plan for 
services developed by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-
5208 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the care 
of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement into 
or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing 
agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such 
placements in accordance with the laws of the foreign country 
under which it operates. 

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 
a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement or in the 
home of the child's parent(s) or with a relative or nonagency 
guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-
placing agency or court when the full legal right of the child's 
parent(s) or nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been 
voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of 
any court.  

"Investigation and report of investigation" means the process 
by which the local department obtains specific information 
required by the Code of Virginia about the placement and the 
suitability of the adoption.  The findings of the investigation 
are compiled into a written report for the circuit court 
containing a recommendation of the action to be taken by the 
court. 

"Juvenile court" means the juvenile and domestic relations 
district court of Virginia. 

"Lifebook" means a picture and narrative story of a child's 
life written by the child and social worker using the child's 
own words, pictures, photos, drawings, and memorabilia to 
tell the child's story.   

"Local department" means the local department of social 
services of any county or city in this Commonwealth. 

"Maintenance payments" means payments made on behalf of 
a child to cover the cost of (and the cost of providing) food, 
clothing, shelter, daily supervision, and school supplies.  A 
child’s personal incidentals, liability insurance with respect to 
a child and reasonable travel for a child’s visitation with 
family or other caretakers are also included in the definition 
of a maintenance payment. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 
which the child is not in the custody of a local department or 
licensed child-placing agency, and is placed in the adoptive 
home directly by the birth parent(s) or legal guardian. 

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means the agreement 
that specifies the conditions for care and control of the child 
that the agency or public agency designated by the 
community policy and management team enters into with the 
parent(s) or guardian(s) to place a child in foster care when 
the parent(s) or guardian(s) retain custody. 

"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive 
parent(s) directly related to the adoption of a child with 
special needs including, but not limited to, attorney fees 
directly related to the finalization of the adoption, 
transportation, court costs, and reasonable and necessary fees 
of child-placing agencies. 

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 
placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family 
home by the child's parent(s) or legal guardian(s) for the 
purpose of foster care or adoption.  

"Permanency" for children means establishing family 
connections and placement options for children in order to 
provide a lifetime of commitment, continuity of care, a sense 
of belonging and a legal and social status that goes beyond 
the child’s temporary foster care placement. 

"Permanency planning" means an array of social work and 
legal efforts directed toward securing safe, nurturing, life-
long families for children in foster care. 

"Person" means any natural person, or any association, 
partnership or corporation. 

"Petitioner" means the person who presents the petition for 
adoption to the court. 

"Prior custodian" means the person with whom the child 
resided, other than the birth parent(s), before custody was 
transferred to or placement made with the local department or 
licensed child-placing agency when that person had custody 
of the child. 

"Reassessment" means evaluation of the situations of the 
child, birth family or prior custodian(s), and resource, foster 
or adoptive family completed after the initial assessment to 
identify changes in needed services. 

"Residential placement" means placement in a licensed 
publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private 
family home, where 24-hour care is provided to children 
separated from their families.  A residential placement 
includes residential facilities for children, group homes, and 
some programs in psychiatric hospitals.  Residential and 
group home placements are not considered permanent foster 
care placements. 

"Resource family" means an approved relative or foster 
family home that agrees to both support reunification and be 
prepared to adopt the child if the child and family do not 
reunify. 

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home, 
based on a permanent plan, after removal for reasons of child 
abuse and neglect, abandonment, child in need of services, 
parental request for relief of custody, noncustodial agreement, 
entrustment, or any other court-ordered removal. 

"Service fee directory" means the directory created pursuant 
to § 2.2-5214 of the Code of Virginia, which lists services 
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offered and rates charged by any entity, public or private, that 
offers specialized services for at-risk youth or families. 

"Service plan" means a written document that outlines the 
services needed and those that will be provided to a foster 
child and his family.  

"Service worker" means the worker primarily responsible for 
case management or service coordination and meeting the 
foster care requirements for a foster care case. 

"Special service payments" means payments or services 
provided to help in meeting the adoptive or foster child's 
physical, mental, emotional, or dental needs.  

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income. 

"State pool fund" means the pooled federal, state and local 
funds established by the Comprehensive Services Act and 
used to pay for services authorized by the CPMT, including 
foster care services. 

"Stepparent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a new 
spouse of the birth or adoptive parent. 

"Subsidy/adoption assistance" means a money payment or 
services provided to adoptive parent(s) on behalf of a child 
with special needs.  

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 
authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption 
assistance. 

"Treatment program" means a program designed to provide 
services for physical, mental, and emotional problems. 

"Visitation and report" means the visitation conducted 
pursuant to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia and 
subsequent to the entry of an interlocutory order of adoption; 
and the written report compiling the findings of the visitation 
that is filed in the circuit court. 

"Youth" means any child 16-18 years of age or any person 18 
to 21 years of age transitioning out of foster care and 
receiving independent living services pursuant to § 63.2-
905.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

22 VAC 40-201-20. Prevention and stabilization. 

A. Services shall be available to families to prevent the need 
for foster care placement to the extent that funds are available 
for these services.  Any services available to a child in a 
foster care placement may also be available to a child and his 
family to prevent foster care placement and shall be based on 
an assessment of the child's and family's needs.  Families 
have a right to decline offered services. 

B. Services to prevent foster care placement are paid from 
state pool funds, family preservation funds, and child 
protective service funds.   

C. Services may include those that:  

1. Support children and families to reach self-sufficiency;  

2. Protect children and families from abuse/neglect;  

3. Keep children out of foster care by keeping families 
together; 

4. Reunite children with their family or prior custodian(s), 
when possible; and  

5. Find new homes and/or preventing disruption of 
adoptions, if possible. 

D. Mandated foster care prevention cases are those in which:  

1. The child’s safety is at risk if he remains in the home or 
with the custodian(s);  

2. The child is at risk of removal and placement into foster 
care within six months of the date the need for services is 
identified; 

3. The goal is to maintain the child in the home or with the 
custodian(s); and  

4. The services are provided by a provider who meets 
appropriate and relevant standards. 

E. Nonmandated foster care prevention cases are those in 
which: 

1. Services may be provided to the extent funds are 
available; 

2. Short-term intervention is needed to stabilize the family's 
or child's situation and/or to provide family support when 
the child is not at immediate risk of removal from his 
home; 

3. Services are needed to enhance parental or family 
capacities to care for and nurture the child(ren); and  

4. Short-term support is needed to maintain the family 
when a parent/caretaker has temporarily lost the capacity to 
care for and nurture the child. 

F. Services will generally be short-term and may be intensive 
in order to address and resolve immediate crises that threaten 
family integrity and safety. 

G. Every prevention case shall begin with a current 
assessment of the family’s and child’s situation, including a 
safety assessment when there are allegations of abuse and 
neglect.  A reassessment shall be done every six months 
thereafter and shall continue until the foster care case is 
closed. 

H. Any service may be purchased to prevent foster care 
placement and/or to stabilize the family situation, provided 
the need for the service is documented in the local 
department’s case record or the foster care service plan or in 
the CSA’s individual family service plan (IFSP). 
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I. Services may include the purchase of basic services such as 
emergency shelter, food, clothing, utilities or rent when no 
other resources are available and a lack of these resources 
becomes life threatening or may result in foster care 
placement. 

22 VAC 40-201-30. Entering foster care. 

A. Children enter foster care through court commitment based 
on an abuse or neglect petition, children in need of services 
(CHINS) petition, an entrustment, delinquency, a request for 
relief of custody, and a noncustodial foster care agreement. 

B. Title IV-E court order requirements for placement in foster 
care. 

1. Best interest requirements.  The local department shall 
ensure that the initial court order contains a judicial 
determination that the child was removed from the home 
because the court found that continuation in the home 
would be contrary to the welfare of the child, or that it is in 
the child’s best interests to be placed in foster care, or that 
there is no less drastic alternative than removal of the child 
from his home. 

2. Reasonable efforts requirements.  A court order within 
60 days of entry into care must contain language that 
indicates reasonable efforts were made to prevent the need 
for removal of the child from the home.  

C. The local department shall petition the court at least 
annually for a judicial determination for every child in foster 
care that reasonable efforts have been made to either reunite 
the child with his prior family if return home is the goal, or 
place the child in a timely manner in accordance with his 
permanency plan.  The local department shall document the 
reasonable efforts made to reunify the child and family or 
achieve a permanent placement for the child on the initial 60-
day service plan and on foster care service plans submitted 
for all court reviews thereafter. 

D. Indian Child Welfare Act.  Children of federally 
recognized American Indian or Alaskan Eskimo heritage are 
subject to the Indian Child Welfare Act.  If a local department 
suspects or knows that a child in foster care or one about to be 
placed in foster care is of federally recognized American 
Indian or Alaskan Eskimo heritage, the local department shall 
contact the tribal council.  However, when a child entering 
care is believed or known to have Virginia Indian heritage, 
the local department shall contact the Virginia Council on 
Indians and consider tribal culture and connections in the 
placement and care of the child. 

E. Temporary entrustment agreement. 

1. The primary goal of a temporary entrustment agreement 
is to return the child home or to plan for adoption. 

2. The agreement shall specify the rights and obligations of 
the child, the parent(s) or guardian(s) and the local 

department.  It shall include the responsibility of the 
parent(s) for financial support of the child and the authority 
of parent(s) and the local department for medical care of 
the child. 

3. Entrustments cannot be used for educational purposes, to 
make the child eligible for Medicaid, to avoid 
abuse/neglect charges, or to obtain mental health treatment. 

4. An entrustment cannot extend beyond the child’s 18th 
birthday. 

5. Parent(s) or prior custodian(s) may request return of the 
child to their home.  The agreement is considered to be 
revoked unless the local department opposes the request 
and obtains a judicial decision that the child shall remain in 
foster care. 

6. There are two types of temporary entrustments, those 
issued for up to 90 days, and those issued for more than 90 
days.   

a. Entrustments for up to 90 days.  

(1) This type of entrustment is used when a situation 
related to the child or his family can be resolved within 
90 days.  Documentation of the plan for services is 
required. 

(2) If it appears that the child will not return home 
within 90 days, the local department shall petition the 
court for a hearing to approve the service plan and 
entrustment no later than the 89th day after the 
entrustment agreement has been signed. 

(3) If the local department decides to terminate the 
entrustment and seek court commitment during the 
first 90 days, the local department shall petition the 
court for custody and submit the service plan for 
approval. 

b. Entrustments for more than 90 days.  The local 
department shall petition the court for approval of the 
temporary entrustment agreement intended to exist for 90 
days or more within 30 days of signing the agreement 
and the local department shall submit a service plan with 
the petition.  

F. Permanent entrustment agreement. 

1. This agreement provides a method for the parent(s) to 
voluntarily relinquish parental rights and gives the local 
department authority to place the child for adoption.  

2. The local department shall petition the court within 180 
days of signing the entrustment agreement to make a 
judicial determination that placement is in the best interest 
of the child and that reasonable efforts have been made to 
prevent removal. A service plan must be submitted with the 
petition. 
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3. Once the court approves the permanent entrustment, all 
parental rights are terminated, but the parents may appeal 
the order in accordance with § 16.1-296 of the Code of 
Virginia.  The parent(s) can no longer revoke the 
permanent entrustment agreement. 

4. The adoption progress report shall be submitted to the 
court within six months of the court’s approval of the 
permanent entrustment and every six months thereafter 
until finalization of the adoption. 

G. The noncustodial foster care agreement. 

1. A local department may enter into a noncustodial foster 
care agreement with the parent(s) of a child. 

2. The noncustodial foster care agreement shall address the 
conditions for care and control of the child, and the rights 
and obligations of the child, parent(s) or guardian(s), and 
local department.  

3. A copy of the agreement shall be given to the parent(s) 
or guardian(s), to the placement provider, and be kept in 
the child’s record.  

4. The plan for foster care placement through a 
noncustodial agreement shall be submitted for approval by 
the court. 

5. The local department or other public agency designated 
by the CPMT shall file a foster care plan with the juvenile 
court within 60 days following the board or public agency’s 
placement of the child unless the court, for good cause, 
allows an extension of time, which shall not exceed an 
additional 60 days. 

6. When children are placed in foster care through a 
noncustodial foster care agreement, all foster care 
requirements shall be met. 

7. When another public agency other than the local 
department is the case manager and enters into the 
noncustodial foster care agreement with the parent(s) or 
guardian(s), the other public agency is responsible for 
meeting the requirements of this section and all other foster 
care review requirements.  The local department is 
responsible for providing consultation to the other agency 
on meeting these foster care requirements, and for assuring 
the case is entered in the department’s approved case 
documentation system. 

22 VAC 40-201-40. Foster care placements. 

A. The local department has responsibility to protect the 
safety of each child under its care.   

B. Requirements for placement. 

1. The local department shall provide a placement that is 
appropriate for the child and shall describe and discuss the 
appropriateness of the placement in the service plan. 

2. The local department shall place the child in the least 
restrictive (most family like) setting consistent with the 
best interests and special needs of the child. 

3. The local department shall attempt to place the child in 
as close proximity as possible to the parent(s) or prior 
custodian(s) home to facilitate visitation and provide 
continuity for the child. 

4. The local department shall place the child in a licensed 
or approved placement.   

5. The local department shall enter into a placement 
agreement with the placement provider. 

6. Prior to placing a child in an emergency foster home or 
in any home not already approved by the local department 
or a licensed child-placing agency, or with relatives, the 
local department shall conduct a criminal background 
search and child abuse and neglect central registry check on 
all adults residing in the home in which the child is to be 
placed.  Results of the check may prohibit placement of the 
child.  Background check results shall be shared only with 
the person on whom the check was completed.  

7. Prior to returning a child to parent(s) from whom the 
child had previously been removed, the local department 
shall conduct a criminal background search and child abuse 
and neglect central registry check on all adults residing in 
the home in which the child is to be placed.  Results of the 
check may prohibit placement of the child, and in such 
cases, the background check results shall be shared only 
with the person on whom the check was completed.  This 
requirement also applies in the case of a child who is 
returning home after being placed outside the home as a 
result of a noncustodial foster care agreement.  

8. The local department shall document that foster parent(s) 
and other providers are given educational and medical 
information at initial placement, each time a child is placed, 
and on an ongoing basis in order to assure that foster 
parent(s) and other providers have basic medical and 
educational information about the child.   

9. The local department may not delay or deny placement 
of a child into a foster family placement on the basis of 
race, color, or national origin of the foster parent(s) or child 
involved. 

10. If the local department determines it is unlikely the 
child will return to his prior family in a timely manner, 
information shall be documented in the service plan 
regarding the opportunities for placing the child with 
relatives or in an adoptive home. 

C. Preplacement visits.  A service worker shall make a 
preplacement visit to any out-of-home placement to observe 
the environment where the child will be living. 
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1. The preplacement visit shall precede the placement date 
except in cases of emergency, which shall be documented 
in the case narrative.  In such emergency situation, a 
preplacement visit may be the day of placement. 

2. When a child is to be placed outside of Virginia, the 
preplacement visit shall be following ICPC procedures. 

D. Foster family homes. 

1. Foster family homes shall meet standards established by 
the board and shall be approved by local departments or 
licensed child placing agencies prior to placement of the 
child.  A copy of the foster home approval and reapproval 
shall be maintained in the child’s record, including those 
homes approved by a licensed child-placing agency. 

2. An employee of a local department cannot serve as a 
foster or adoptive parent for children in the custody of that 
local department.  The employee can be a foster or adoptive 
parent for another local department or licensed child-
placing agency. 

3. Multiple local department foster homes. 

a. Homes may be providers for more than one local 
department. 

b. Local departments placing a child into a foster home 
approved by another local department shall obtain prior 
written approval for each child they wish to place. 

4. Foster homes providing multiple types of care.  Homes 
may be providers of regular, emergency, specialized, 
therapeutic and permanent foster care at the same time 
when: 

a. The foster parent(s) demonstrate they can handle the 
different service needs of the children; and 

b. Services to children in ongoing placement are not 
disrupted by emergency placements. 

5. An emergency foster home is a foster family home 
where a child may be temporarily placed until a more 
appropriate placement is found or the home is approved. 

6. A regular foster home is a foster family home that has 
been approved and is being paid to provide basic 
maintenance, supervision, and parenting. 

7. A relative foster home is a foster family home of 
relatives.  These homes shall fully meet foster home 
standards as long as the child is in foster care. 

8. A specialized foster home is a local department approved 
foster home where the local department has elected to pay 
an additional service payment due to the difficulty of care 
of a child with special needs. 

9. A therapeutic foster home is a trained foster parent, 
providing care through a licensed child-placing agency or 
local department’s defined foster care therapeutic program. 

E. A foster home approved by a licensed child-placing agency 
is a foster family home approved by and provided through a 
private child-placing agency.  The local department shall 
maintain a copy of the licensed child-placing agency’s current 
license in the child’s foster care record. 

F. A treatment foster care program home is foster family 
home approved by a local department or a licensed child-
placing agency and enrolled by the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services (DMAS) to provide Medicaid-
reimbursed treatment foster care case management services 
for children.   

G. An adoptive home is a home that has been approved by a 
local department or private licensed child-placing agency for 
the placement of a child with the intent to adopt. 

H. An independent living placement is a placement of a youth 
in foster care, who is at least 16 years old, that does not 
provide daily parental supervision. 

1. In determining whether an independent living 
arrangement is the best plan for a foster youth, service 
workers must conduct an assessment to determine whether 
the placement is in the best interests of the youth. 

2. The services worker shall make an on-site visit to 
approve the living arrangement. 

I. Residential placement. 

1. Prior to placement, the local department shall verify that 
the residential placement facility is licensed by the 
appropriate licensing agency.  A copy of the license shall 
be maintained in the child’s record, along with 
documentation that criminal background and central 
registry checks have been completed on all employees. 

2. Priority shall be given to facilities that provide services 
to return children to the community. 

3. The local department shall coordinate the placement with 
the school division to assure that the child’s educational 
needs are met. 

J. Interstate placements. 

1. The local department shall receive approval from the 
department’s Office of the Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children prior to placing a child out of state. 

2. When the plan is to permit a foster child to move with a 
foster parent(s) from Virginia to another state, the 
department shall obtain the commissioner’s consent prior to 
allowing the move. 

K. Placements in another local department’s jurisdiction.  
When a child is to be placed in a home in another local 
department’s jurisdiction within the state and the local 
department in that community has not approved that home, 
the local department holding custody shall: 
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1. Notify the local department where the home is located 
that the home is being considered for the child’s placement;  

2. Conduct a study and approve the home or request that 
the local department in the receiving locality study and 
approve the home;  

3. Request the local department in the receiving locality 
supervise the child or notify them that the local department 
holding custody will supervise; and  

4. Notify the school division in the new locality as well as 
the school division the child is leaving within 72 hours of 
placement. 

L. When foster parent(s) move to another jurisdiction.  When 
a child moves with a foster family from one local 
department’s jurisdiction to another in the state, the local 
department holding custody is responsible for continuing 
supervision of the child unless supervision is transferred to 
the other local department.  The local department holding 
custody shall notify the local department in the county or city 
to which the foster family moves. 

M. Transferring custody to another local department.  If a 
local department is considering transferring custody of a child 
to another local department because the parent(s) or 
guardian(s) has moved to that locality, the local department 
shall submit a petition to the court requesting approval of the 
transfer of custody.  

N. Notification of placement changes.  All parent(s) with 
residual parental rights or prior custodian(s) shall be notified 
in writing of any change in placement or visitation privileges 
within 10 days of such a change.  

22 VAC 40-201-50. Foster care case opening. 

A. The department shall approve one specific official case 
documentation system in which all foster care and adoption 
cases shall be documented. 

B. Case opening requirements. 

1. Information for every child in foster care shall be entered 
into the department’s approved case documentation system 
as soon as possible but no later than 30 days after the 
child’s custody is transferred to the local department or he 
is placed in foster care.  The service worker is responsible 
for entering and updating all case data in the department’s 
approved case documentation system as soon as possible 
but no later than 30 days after each activity or event.  

2. Paper case records for the child.  The department’s 
approved case documentation system contains the official 
case record for all foster care cases, and is supplemented 
with forms, letters, and other original hard copy documents 
that shall be retained in the paper case record. 

a. A required paper case record format includes the 
following identifiable divisions and corresponding tabs, 
and shall contain the identified key documents: 

(1) Referral. 

(a) Referral for determining eligibility for Title IV-E 
funding and Medicaid; 

(b) Medical and mental health examinations;  

(c) Child support referral;  

(d) Social Security Disability (SSI); and 

(e) Any other governmental benefits. 

(2) Personal documents. 

(a) Birth verification; 

(b) Social security card and/or application. 

(3) Legal documents with original signatures. 

(a) Petitions; 

(b) Entrustments; 

(c) Court orders; and 

(d) ICPC forms. 

(4) Service plans. 

(a) Foster care service plan; 

(b) IFSP; and 

(c) Transitional living plan for older youth in care. 

(5) Agreements with original signatures including 

(a) Noncustodial foster care agreements; 

(b) Foster family home placement agreements; 

(c) Respite care agreements; and 

(d) Permanent foster care agreements. 

(6) Reports, including 

(a) Social histories; 

(b) School reports (including referrals for special 
education assessment or services);  

(c) Medical reports; 

(d) Psychological reports; and 

(e) Quarterly provider reports. 

(7) Residential placement information, including 

(a) Application; and 

(b) Placement reports. 

(8) Correspondence, in chronological order, including 
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(a) Notice of visitation and visitation arrangements; 

(b) Notice of placement change; 

(c) Notice of an administrative panel review; 

(d) CPS summary or affidavit; and 

(e) Other correspondence. 

(9) Adoption documents. 

(a) Termination of parental rights order; 

(b) Adoption assistance agreement (if applicable); 
and 

(c) Adoptive home placement agreement. 

(10) Purchase orders and invoices. 

3. Case record for the foster family.  Basic demographic 
information about all foster families (public and private) 
shall be entered into the department’s approved automated 
case documentation system. The paper case record for the 
local department approved foster home shall include all 
forms and information gathered during the home study 
evaluation and approval process.   

C. Referrals for maintenance: Title IV-E and state pool funds.  
All children in foster care placement are eligible to receive 
room, board, and supervision.  Funding sources for paying the 
costs of maintenance and procedures for determining the 
source to be used are described below: 

1. Title IV-E eligibility referral requirements. 

a. All children in foster care shall be referred for an 
initial determination of Title IV-E eligibility by services 
staff within 10 calendar days of the court commitment 
order, or the date the voluntary entrustment agreement is 
signed, or the date the noncustodial agreement is signed. 

b. To determine Title IV-E eligibility, the child’s case 
shall be in compliance with federally determined 
eligibility. 

2. Special regulations governing entrusted children.  

a. Funding from Title IV-E is limited to 180 days for 
children in custody pursuant to a voluntary entrustment 
agreement unless the agreement has been approved by 
the court and the court order contains the necessary best 
interests and reasonable efforts statements. 

b. For a child who is permanently entrusted to be eligible 
for Title IV-E foster care and subsidy, there shall be: 

(1) A court hearing within 180 days of the permanent 
entrustment; 

(2) A judicial determination and statements on the 
court order that reasonable efforts were made to 
prevent removal and that the placement is not contrary 
to the welfare of the child; and 

(3) A Title IV-E payment made during the temporary 
entrustment period if the case was initially a temporary 
entrustment. 

c. Failure to meet requirements of this section will result 
in the child being ineligible for Title IV-E funding.  
Costs for the child's placement shall then be paid from 
state pool funds. 

D. Referral for determination of Medicaid eligibility. 

1. Funding for medical services is from state and federal 
funds provided through DMAS.  Service workers are 
responsible for submitting required documentation for 
Medicaid eligibility to the eligibility worker within 10 days 
of date of placement.  

2. Informing Medicaid of changes.  Eligibility for Medicaid 
is redetermined annually.  However, the service worker 
shall provide the eligibility worker with any new 
information that might affect Medicaid eligibility within 10 
days from the date of the change. 

E. Referral for collection of child support. 

1. The local department is responsible for following the 
policies and procedures of the Division of Child Support 
Enforcement (DCSE). 

2. In cases where the foster care plan has the goal of 
returning the child to the parent(s) and collection of support 
will interfere with achieving that goal, the service worker 
may claim "good cause" for the parent(s) to whom the child 
is to return.  Claiming good cause shall result in the case 
not being pursued by DCSE for collection of support.  

F. Arranging visitation with parent(s) or prior custodian(s) 
and siblings.  Efforts to maintain contact with the parent(s) or 
prior custodian(s) and siblings in accordance with the goal for 
the child shall begin as soon as the child is placed in foster 
care.  If the local department wishes to terminate visitation, it 
shall obtain court approval. If the plan for visitation changes, 
parent(s) shall be notified in writing. 

G. Referral for services.  The service worker is responsible 
for referring the child and family to appropriate services 
identified through the assessment and service planning 
processes. 

H. SSI and other potential benefits. 

1. The service worker is responsible for determining all 
financial resources available to the child, including SSI, 
governmental benefits, and private resources. 

2. The service worker is also responsible for assessing 
whether a child in care may be eligible for other benefits 
and referring that child for eligibility determinations within 
timeframes set by the department. 
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I. Obtaining a medical exam.  The service worker is 
responsible for ensuring that the child receives a medical 
examination no later than 60 days after placement.  

J. School enrollment requirements. 

1. The service worker shall work with the school in the 
locality where the child is placed to ensure that the child is 
enrolled in school within 72 hours after placement.  

2. Local departments will allow children to remain in their 
previous school placement when it is in the best interest of 
the child to do so. 

3. When a school change is necessary, the service worker, 
in cooperation with the parent(s) and foster care providers, 
will coordinate the school placement. 

K. Setting up the payment process for providers.  The service 
worker is responsible for ensuring that the foster parent(s) and 
other service providers receive appropriate and timely 
payments according to departmental policies and procedures. 

22 VAC 40-201-60. Initial assessment. 

A. Initial assessment requirements. 

1. The needs of the child and the circumstances of the birth 
family or prior custodian(s) shall be assessed to determine 
the service needs of the child and family.  The initial 
assessment shall: 

a. Be completed within 60 days of acceptance of the 
child for foster care placement; and 

b. Be entered into the department’s approved automated 
case documentation system. 

B. Reassessments.  Reassessments shall occur every six 
months after placement for as long as the child remains in 
foster care. 

22 VAC 40-201-70. Choosing the foster care goal. 

A. Foster care goals are established in order to assure 
permanent planning for the child. 

B. The service plan for the child shall: 

1. Specify one of the approved permanency goals.  The 
foster care goals are hierarchical, indicating the order in 
which the goal shall be addressed by the local department.  
Goals, in order of priority, are: 

1. Return to parent(s) or prior guardian. 

2. Placement with relatives. 

3. Adoption. 

4. Permanent foster care. 

5. Independent living. 

6. Another planned permanent living arrangement. 

7. Continued foster care.  Continued foster care is not a 
permanency goal and should only be chosen when all 
others goals have been excluded and the reason(s) for their 
exclusion is documented in the automated case 
management file.  

22 VAC 40-201-80. Preparing the initial service plan. 

A. The service plan describes the needs of the child and 
family and identifies the services that will be provided to 
meet these needs so that the permanency goal can be 
achieved. 

B. There shall be a service plan for every child in foster care.  
Any appropriate service shall be made available to a foster 
child when that service is documented as needed in the child's 
foster care service plan. 

C. The service plan shall include:  

1. The reasons the child came into care and why placement 
is needed; 

2. The services offered to prevent removal of the child from 
the home of the birth parent(s)/prior custodian(s); 

3. The child’s situation at the time of placement in relation 
to the child’s family; 

4. Information regarding the child’s health and educational 
status; 

5. The nature of the placement that will be provided the 
child; 

6. The efforts made to place the child in the least restrictive 
setting available; 

7. The needs that shall be met to achieve the goal for the 
child; 

8. The programs, care, services and other support that will 
be offered to the child and parents and other prior 
custodians; 

9. A plan for visitation between the child and parent(s) and 
siblings; 

10. The permanency goal selected for the child; 

11. For teens 16 or over, the specific independent living 
services to meet the needs of the youth; 

12. Target dates for completion of the services provided to 
the child, the parent(s)/prior custodian(s), and foster 
parents; 

13. The projected date for goal achievement;  

14. A description of how the child, parent(s) or prior 
custodian(s), or foster parent(s) were involved in the 
planning process.  A description of why the parent(s)/prior 
custodian(s) were not involved in the planning process 
shall also be included when appropriate; 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2006 

763 

15. When the child cannot be returned to parent(s) or prior 
custodian(s), a description of the reasons the child cannot 
return home and a plan to lead to termination of parental 
rights within the specified time frames; and 

16. A description of efforts made to place siblings together. 

D. A full service plan on all children shall be completed and 
filed in the case record within 60 days of custody or 
placement (whichever comes first) of a child through court 
commitment, noncustodial foster care agreement, or a 
permanent entrustment agreement or, within 30 days of 
signing of a temporary entrustment for a placement of 90 
days or more. 

1. For children entering care through a court commitment 
for abuse or neglect, the local department shall file the plan 
with the petition for the dispositional hearing or, when 
there has not been a previous court hearing, within 75 days 
of when the child entered foster care.   

2. If a child is entrusted, the local department shall file the 
plan with the petition to approve the entrustment 
agreement. 

3. The local department shall provide the court with 
sufficient information to ensure that parent(s) receive 
notice of the dispositional hearing. 

4. A new plan is required when there is a change in the 
permanency goal, when there is a permanency planning 
hearing, and when a child returns from a commitment to 
the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ). 

a. When a child's legal custody has been returned from 
the local department to the parent(s) or prior custodian(s) 
and the child returns to local department custody and into 
a foster care placement, it shall be considered a new 
placement and a new service plan shall be developed.  

b. When a child returns home to the parent(s) or prior 
custodian(s), but remains in the custody of the local 
department and then returns to foster care placement, it 
shall be considered a new placement if the child was 
home for six months or longer and a new service plan 
shall be developed.  If the child was home for less than 
six months and returns to an out-of-home placement, the 
child shall be considered to be in the original placement 
and a new service plan is not required.  

22 VAC 40-201-90. Service delivery. 

A. The permanency planning process begins when the first 
contact is made with the child and family and continues until 
the safety, permanency and well-being of the child is assured, 
the goal is achieved, and services are terminated. 

B. When the goal is return to parent(s) or prior custodian(s), 
permanency planning requires that any and all necessary 
services are provided to implement this goal. 

1. Services to the parent(s) or prior custodian(s) shall 
continue until the child is returned home, the court case is 
dismissed, or the court approves another foster care goal 
for the child. 

2. Local department workers shall have a minimum of 
monthly face-to-face contact with the parent(s) or prior 
custodian(s) to whom the child is expected to return.  

C. When the goal is adoption, services shall be provided to 
prepare the child for adoption and to achieve the goal of 
adoption.  All parental rights shall be terminated and the local 
department shall have legal authority to place and consent to 
the child’s adoption. 

1. The petition shall specifically request that parental rights 
of the parent(s) be terminated and that the local department 
be given the authority to place and consent to adoption of 
the child.  

2. The local department shall provide the court with 
sufficient information to provide legal notice of the petition 
to all persons with a legitimate interest. 

3. The child remains in custody of the local department and 
is eligible for foster care services until the final order of 
adoption. 

4. The adoption progress report shall be submitted to court 
six months following termination of parental rights and 
every six months thereafter until the adoption is final. 

5. Adoptive planning shall: 

a. Reflect the child's need to be in a permanent placement 
as soon as possible. 

b. Recognize the importance of placing siblings in the 
same adoptive home. 

c. Consider foster parent(s) with whom the child has 
developed emotional ties as a primary adoptive resource 
for the child. 

When a family is selected, full, factual information that the 
local department has about the child and the child's birth 
family, except that which would reveal the identity of the 
child's birth family, shall be provided to prospective 
adoptive parents. 

The goal of adoption is achieved when the final order of 
adoption is entered. 

D. Permanent foster care. 

1. The purpose of permanent foster care is to maintain the 
child in the foster home in which the child and foster 
parent(s) have already established an attachment by 
strengthening the legal bond between the child and foster 
family.  Permanent foster care provides greater rights and 
responsibilities to the foster family that regular foster 
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parent(s) do not have, including the authority to give 
consent to: 

a. Application to college;  

b. Entrance into the military; 

c. Marriage; 

d. Driver’s license; and 

e. Surgery. 

2. The roles and responsibilities of the local department, 
foster parents, birth parent(s) and, if appropriate, the child 
shall be defined in a mutually developed and signed 
agreement. 

3. The child shall be age 12 or over.  In some limited 
circumstances permanent foster care may be appropriate for 
younger children.  In these situations, approval from the 
department shall be obtained before the petition is filed. 

4. The local department is responsible for: 

a. Conducting at least one face-to-face visit with the child 
in the child’s home at least every six months. 

b. Reviewing the case plan and progress made through 
alternating administrative panel reviews and a court 
hearing every six months. 

c. Maintaining involvement of the birth family, if 
possible. 

E. Independent living. 

1. The focus of services is to assist older teens in acquiring 
skills to become self-sufficient and transition from foster 
care to independence. 

2. All youth 16 or older, regardless of their permanency 
goal, shall have a transitional independent living plan that 
describes the services that will be provided to prepare them 
for independence. Youth shall be supported and 
encouraged to participate in designing their transitional 
independence plan and take responsibility for achieving 
independence. 

3. Preparing youth for independence requires accurate 
assessment of their skills and needs and targeted service 
provision. 

4. Service planning for older youth shall be done in 
accordance with 22 VAC 40-201-140. 

F. Another planned permanent living arrangement.  This goal 
provides long-term residential treatment for children with a 
severe and chronic emotional, physical or neurological 
disabling condition.   

G. Continued foster care. 

1. This goal is not a permanency goal and shall only be 
used when all other goals are found to be inappropriate. 

2. Services provided shall be focused on establishing a 
permanency goal for the child.  

H. Local department responsibilities to foster parent(s) and 
providers. 

1. Foster parent(s) and providers should be contacted by 
local department service workers as often as needed but at 
least monthly.  Permanent foster homes approved for the 
permanent placement of a specific child shall be contacted 
at least every six months. 

2. Foster parent(s) and providers shall be given the 
opportunity to participate in all meetings and conferences 
related to service planning for a child in the home or 
placement.  

3. Foster parent(s) and providers shall be given information 
they may need about the child, and shall keep this 
information confidential.  Foster parent(s) and providers 
shall be given appropriate sections of the foster care service 
plan and educational and medical information about the 
child. 

4. Foster parent(s) and providers shall be given notice, 
whenever possible, as specified in the placement 
agreement, when a change in placement is to occur. 

I. Worker contact with children in foster care.  Workers shall 
have a face-to-face visit with the child including those youth 
in independent living situations, at least monthly. 

1. At least one face-to-face visit per quarter shall occur in 
the child’s place of residence. 

2. When courtesy supervision is provided by another local 
department, that local department is responsible for the 
visits. 

3. Children in an approved permanent foster home shall be 
visited by the local department worker at least once every 
six months in the permanent foster home. 

4. Ongoing annual visits with a child placed outside 
Virginia with relatives, in a foster home, or an adoptive 
home: 

a. May be made by the agency in the receiving state 
authorized by the ICPC to provide supervision. 

b. The worker from the agency providing supervision 
shall have a face-to-face visit with the child at least 
annually in the child’s home or placement.   

5. Annual on-site visits are required for children placed in 
out-of-state residential facilities. 

6. Workers are required to document contacts with children 
in the department’s approved automated case 
documentation system. 

J. Services to older youth in foster care. 
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1. Opportunities for independent living activities, services, 
and learning experiences for youth ages 16 to 21 years, 
shall be provided to youth in foster care no matter what 
their permanency goal. 

2. Independent living activities are not an alternative to 
permanence for any youth.  They should be provided to 
youth while concurrently pursuing return home, adoption 
or other permanency goals. 

3. A youth placed in foster care before the age of 18 may 
continue to receive services from the local department 
between ages 18 to 21 if: 

a. The youth willingly agrees to remain in placement and 
cooperate with all services and this is documented in the 
case record; and 

b. The youth is making progress in an educational, 
treatment or training program; or 

c. The youth is in permanent foster care, requires 
continuing foster care assistance to participate in an 
educational, training, or treatment program, and wishes 
to remain in foster care.  

K. Consent for medical treatment for children in foster care 
pursuant to § 54.1-2969 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Where possible, the parent(s) of a child who is 
committed or entrusted to a local department shall always 
be involved in the medical planning for the child.   

2. When the parent(s) are not available, or their consent 
cannot be obtained immediately, a court order is required 
for major medical/surgery treatment.  

a. If the court order is not readily available, the local 
department superintendent, director or his designee may 
consent.   

b. The local department may obtain blanket authority 
from the court to consent to medical treatment and 
surgery.  This blanket authority shall be in writing and 
signed by the judge. 

3. Section 54.1-2969 E of the Code of Virginia deems the 
child in foster care an adult who may consent to specific 
medical services as defined in this section of the Code of 
Virginia. 

L. Medical care and treatment to be provided to a child in 
foster care placement. 

1. A medical examination of the child shall be obtained no 
later than 60 days after placement, commitment or 
entrustment. 

2. Annual routine medical and dental examinations for 
children four years of age and over shall be provided.   

3. Medical care shall be provided for the child who is ill or 
injured or has ongoing medical treatment for the child with 
physical, mental or emotional disabilities. 

M. Providing services during residential placement. 

1. Local department staff shall: 

a. Maintain telephone contact with the facility staff to 
coordinate services as often as possible but no less than 
once a month. 

b. Encourage and assist with regular visits between the 
child and parent(s) and the child and siblings. 

c. Inform parents of their child's progress and needs 
while in placement. 

d. Complete documentation of every visit and contact in 
the department’s approved automated case 
documentation system. 

e. Develop a plan to transition the child back to the 
family or community.  

2. Local departments shall require residential facilities to 
provide the following: 

a. A treatment plan for the child within 30 days of child's 
placement in the residential facility; 

b. Notification to the local department of the child's 
progress and behaviors, including any serious incident, 
while the child is in residential care through regular 
reports. 

N. Respite care services.  Respite care for foster parent(s) can 
be provided on an emergency or planned basis in accordance 
with criteria determined by the department. 

22 VAC 40-201-100. Reviewing the service plan. 

A. Service plans for children in custody or foster care 
placement shall be reviewed to assure the effectiveness of 
permanency planning for every child.  A formal review shall 
be held at least every six months.  The types of reviews are:  

1. The foster care review hearing;  

2. The permanency planning hearing;   

3. The administrative panel review; and  

4. The supervisory review. 

B. Parental attendance at court hearings.  The local 
department is responsible for providing the court with as 
much information as possible as to the names, addresses, and 
any other contact information on parent(s) and previous 
caretaker(s) who should be given notice of the next hearing.  
Parents whose rights have been terminated do not receive 
notice.  The local department is responsible for providing the 
court with as much information as possible as to the names, 
addresses, and any other contact information for foster 
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parents, pre-adoptive parents, the child, and other interested 
parties who should be notified of every hearing. 

C. First foster care review hearing. 

1. The purpose of the first foster care review hearing is to 
review the progress made on the initial foster care service 
plan or make changes in the plan.  

2. Within five months of the dispositional hearing at which 
the foster care plan was reviewed, the local department 
shall submit to the court: 

a. A petition for a foster care review hearing; 

b. A foster care service plan reassessment that shall 
include any updates to the initial foster care service plan; 

c. Information listing individuals who should receive a 
copy of the petition and/or be notified of the hearing.  
These include at least the child, the parents, guardian, or 
prior custodian(s); the guardian ad litem; the foster 
parents; and any other interested parties. 

D. Permanency planning hearing.  The purpose of the 
permanency planning hearing is to establish a permanent goal 
for a child and either to achieve the permanent goal or to 
defer such action through the approval of an interim plan for 
the child.  The local department shall file a petition for a 
permanency planning hearing within 10 months of the 
dispositional hearing at which the foster care plan was 
reviewed, and shall submit to the court: 

1. A petition for a permanency planning hearing requesting 
the court take one of the actions in accordance with § 16.1-
282.1 of the Code of Virginia, permanency planning 
hearing for children in foster care. 

2. Information listing individuals who will receive the 
foster care service plan and/or be notified of the hearing.  
These include the child, if age 12 and over; guardian ad 
litem; child’s parent(s) or prior custodian(s); parents’ 
attorney(s); foster parent(s); preadoptive parent(s); and 
other interested parties the court directs, such as attorneys 
for the local department, or the court appointed special 
advocate (CASA). 

3. A foster care service plan reassessment and a new foster 
care service plan are required at the permanency planning 
hearing depending on the foster care goal and status toward 
achieving the goal. Foster care goal-related requirements 
for new service plans are: 

a. When the goal is return home or placement with 
relatives with subsequent transfer of custody, and the 
court does not approve the transfer of custody, the local 
department shall develop a new foster care service plan 
identifying how it will achieve the goal for the child in 
the next six months. 

b. If the local department decides that it is in the best 
interests of the child to ask for the local department to 
continue having custody of the child and the goal is 
either return home, placement with relatives, or 
continued foster care, the local department shall describe 
in the new service plan how the local department intends 
to accomplish the goals of return home or placement with 
relatives in the next six months. 

c. If the goal is continued foster care, the local 
department shall identify a new goal and describe how it 
will achieve that goal in the next six months. 

d. If the local department does not petition for 
termination of parental rights at the initial permanency 
planning hearing, it shall defer such action through the 
approval of an interim plan for the child pursuant to § 
16.1-282.1 of the Code of Virginia and document in the 
foster care service plan one of the following exceptions: 

(1) Termination of parental rights is not in the best 
interests of the child that requires that the local 
department document a compelling reason explaining 
why termination is not in the best interests of the child; 

(2) The child is being cared for by a relative; or 

(3) The local department has not provided services to 
the parent(s) deemed necessary for the safe return of 
the child. 

e. When the local department petitions for termination of 
parental rights, it shall: 

(1) File a petition that states termination of parental 
rights is in the best interests of the child; and 

(2) File a service plan with the goal of adoption. 

E. Subsequent permanency planning hearing.  The subsequent 
permanency planning hearing occurs within six months of the 
first permanency planning hearing when a permanency goal 
or plan has not been achieved by the first permanency 
planning hearing. A second permanency planning hearing 
occurs when the court approved the goal of return home, 
placement with relatives, or continued foster care at the initial 
permanency planning hearing. The same requirements apply 
to this hearing as apply to the first permanency planning 
hearing.  

F. Foster care review hearings after a permanency goal is 
approved.  The purpose of these foster care review hearings is 
to review progress in cases where the permanency goals of 
reunification, placement with relatives, adoption, permanent 
foster care, independent living, or another planned permanent 
living arrangement has been approved. 

1. Where the goals of return home, placement with 
relatives, adoption, or independent living are approved, the 
foster care review hearings are held at least annually after 
the permanency planning hearing.  Administrative panel 
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reviews are held at six-month intervals between these 
yearly court reviews.  These court hearings are 
discontinued once the final order of adoption is issued or 
the child turns age 18. 

2. Where the goal of another planned permanent living 
arrangement is approved, foster care review hearings shall 
be held at least every six months. 

G. Permanent foster care and reviews. 

1. Once a child is placed in a court-approved permanent 
foster care placement with a permanent foster family 
named in the court order, annual foster care review 
hearings shall be held.   

2. Permanent foster care cases are subject to administrative 
panel reviews that shall occur every six months, between 
the annual judicial reviews. 

H. Administrative panel reviews. 

1. An administrative panel review (APR) shall be held six 
months after a permanency planning hearing when the 
goals of adoption, permanent foster care or independent 
living have been approved by the court. 

a. The local department shall invite the child, the child’s 
foster parent(s), adoptive parent(s), guardian ad litem, 
CASA, and other placement providers to participate at 
the APR. 

b. The child will continue to have APRs alternating with 
annual foster care review hearings until a final order of 
adoption is issued or the child reaches age 18. 

2. Composition of the review panel. 

a. The local department is responsible for ensuring the 
APR is conducted by a panel of appropriate persons at 
least one of whom is not responsible for the case 
management or delivery of services to either the child or 
the parent(s).  

b. The local department is responsible for having outside 
objective panel members participating in the APR. 

c. The local department is required to do all that is 
possible to encourage the participation of these 
individuals in the APR process in order for them to 
provide input. 

d. Parent(s), minors, the child’s foster parent(s), attorney 
or friends of parents cannot be members of the panel. 

3. The FAPT staffing may substitute for an APR as long as 
the requirements for the APR are met. 

4. Results of the APR. 

a. The local department shall consider all 
recommendations made by the panel in planning services 
for the child.  At the APR, the panel shall address and 

make recommendations, when needed, concerning the 
following: 

(1) Appropriateness of the services provided during the 
preceding six months; 

(2) Appropriateness of the child's current placement;  

(3) Extent of the local department's, parent(s)', child's, 
and foster care provider's compliance with the service 
plan; 

(4) Any barriers to goal achievement; 

(5) Appropriateness of the program goal for the child 
and of the date for goal achievement; and 

(6) Continuing need for placement. 

b. The findings of the panel and any recommendations 
made by the panel, including changes to the service plan, 
shall be recorded in the department’s approved case 
documentation system. 

c. The birth parent(s)/prior custodian(s), foster parents, or 
other providers not in attendance shall be given or 
offered a copy of the results of the APR as documented 
on the department approved form for this review. 

5. Hearings that substitute for an APR. 

a. A foster care review or permanency planning hearing 
may substitute for the APR. 

b. Another type of court hearing may substitute for an 
APR if: 

(1) The parent(s) are notified of the hearing.  

(2) The APR process and results are documented in the 
department’s approved case documentation system and 
includes:  

(a) The date the hearing was held; and  

(b) An indication that this hearing was held in lieu of 
an APR.   

(3) The court makes a determination in regard to:   

(a) The continuing need for and appropriateness of 
the placement.  

(b) The extent of all parties’ compliance with the 
case plan.  

(c) The extent of progress which has been made 
toward alleviating the conditions that brought the 
child into care.  

c. The court order will serve as documentation of the 
APR in this situation and no additional forms are 
required. 

I. Supervisory reviews.  A supervisory review is required 
every six months for children placed in their own homes, but 
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still in the custody of the department, and for youth ages 18-
21.  When a child returns home after being in a foster care 
placement and remains in the custody of the local department, 
the supervisory review shall be scheduled six months from 
the last APR.   

J. Exceptions to required reviews. 

1. Hearings when cases are on appeal.  When a case is on 
appeal for TPR, the juvenile and domestic relations district 
court retains jurisdiction on all matters not on appeal.  The 
circuit court appeal hearing may substitute for a review 
hearing if the circuit court adjudicates the future status of 
the child.  

2. Children committed to DJJ. 

a. Children formerly in local department custody who 
have been committed to DJJ are not subject to APRs or 
court review hearings during their commitment. 

b. Children committed to DJJ who return to foster care 
are subject to APRs and the appropriate court review 
hearing.  

K. Developing the plan when the goal is changed to adoption.  
At the initial permanency planning hearing, the local 
department shall file a petition with the court 30 days prior to 
the hearing to terminate parental rights, along with the foster 
care service plan.  Additional information as directed by the 
department may need to be gathered.  This information is 
critical as it will serve as a basis for identifying adoption 
services, will be used in the selection of an appropriate 
adoptive home, and will be the only information available to 
the child after adoption about the child's birth family and 
background.  If any of this information is missing from the 
foster care record, one of the services that shall be identified 
on the new plan is to obtain the missing information. 

L. Redeterminations. 

1. Redetermining Title IV-E eligibility.  Eligibility shall be 
redetermined at least annually or upon change in situation 
and in accordance with federal Title IV-E eligibility 
requirements and department procedures. 

2. Redetermining Medicaid eligibility.  The service worker 
is responsible for providing the Medicaid worker 
information required for the annual redetermination of 
eligibility and information related to changes in the child’s 
situation. 

22 VAC 40-201-110. Closing the foster care case. 

A. Terminating court commitments.  There are three ways 
court commitments are terminated: 

1. Through court order when parent(s)/prior custodian(s), 
relatives, or the local department petition the court 
requesting termination and the court transfers custody;  

2. A child, 18 to 21 years of age or older, committed as 
abused and neglected or in need of services, requests to be 
released; or  

3. The court terminates custody at the time of a 
dispositional or other hearing.  

B. Termination of noncustodial foster care agreements. 

1. Noncustodial foster care agreements are terminated at 
the request of the parent(s)/prior custodian(s) if the 
following conditions are met: 

a. A criminal background check and child abuse and 
neglect central registry check shall be completed on all 
adults in the home prior to the return of the child from an 
out-of-home placement.  The local department shall 
evaluate the results of the background and registry 
checks to determine whether any criminal background or 
abuse/neglect history exists to preclude the safe return of 
the child. 

b. In those cases where the judge has heard and approved 
the noncustodial foster care agreement, termination of the 
noncustodial foster care agreement is not effective until 
the judge agrees to and documents the termination of the 
agreement. 

2. The local department may petition the court for custody 
should the local department disagree with the request for 
return of the child. 

C. Discharging a child from care. 

1. The foster care case shall be closed in the department’s 
approved case documentation system as soon as possible, 
but no later than 30 days after the child leaves care of the 
local department. 

2. Record retention at closure. 

a. When the foster care paper case record is closed for 
services, the record shall contain all court orders, 
assessments, service plans, administrative panel reviews, 
and a brief closure statement identifying when the case 
was closed, placement of the child, and child and family 
adjustment.  Pertinent documents including, but not 
limited to, eligibility determinations, medicals, and 
educational and social history shall also be retained. 

b. Personal items belonging to the child should be given 
to the child. 

c. When closing a case in the department’s approved case 
documentation system, the final case contact should 
reflect the case disposition at case closure, a summary of 
services in place at termination, child and family 
adjustment, over-all case progress, and a summary of the 
final court hearing.  

3. Length of time records shall be retained after closure.  
Agencies shall maintain paper and electronic case records 
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in accordance with regulations promulgated by The Library 
of Virginia. 

4. Access to records after closure.  Any foster care youth 
who has reached age 18, has not been adopted, and has not 
had parental rights terminated shall have the right to 
request and receive information from his record, including 
information about parent(s) or relatives.  If a youth has not 
been adopted, has reached age 18, and has had parental 
rights terminated, he shall have access to his records, but 
not to identifying information pertaining to his biological 
family, except by order of the circuit court. 

5. Emancipation of youth before age 18.  Youth who are at 
least age 16 years of age may be legally emancipated at a 
court hearing held pursuant to § 16.1-331 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

22 VAC 40-201-120. Funding. 

A. Paying for maintenance. 

1. Payment for maintenance for children in foster care is 
made by Title IV-E or state pool funds for non-Title IV-E 
eligible children. 

2. Agencies are not permitted to increase the basic 
maintenance rates to foster parents.  Specialized payments 
to regular foster parents, who are not part of a therapeutic 
program, are considered service payments and cannot be 
paid by Title IV-E funds. 

3. Duplicate payments for maintenance cannot be made. 

4. To determine if payments to foster parents for children 
under the age of 19 are to be considered income for federal 
or state tax purposes, refer to the Department of the 
Treasury, Internal Revenue Service Guidance Publications. 

5. Title IV-E is used to pay all maintenance costs when all 
federal guidelines for eligibility are met.  

B. Paying for children supervised by another state agency. 

1. Payment for the costs of maintenance and social services 
is the responsibility of the local department holding 
custody of the child or having accepted placement of the 
child. 

2. Certification of a child to a state mental health facility 
does not relieve the local department of custody. 

a. Room, board and medical costs are not the 
responsibility of the local department unless the 
department maintains custody. 

b. Costs of clothing and personal care items shall be paid 
by the local department holding custody. 

3. The DJJ is responsible for the maintenance and care of 
the child committed to its care.  Payments cannot be made 
by the local department for maintenance of the child at the 
DJJ facility. 

C. Children placed in out-of-state foster homes. 

1. Payment for non-Title IV-E eligible children is from 
state pool funds at the rate set by the other state. 

2. Payment from Title IV-E is at the standard rate for 
Virginia.  Where this rate is not acceptable to the other 
state, payment of Virginia’s maintenance rate is from Title 
IV-E funds, with the balance paid from state pool funds as 
a specialized payment. 

3. The foster homes shall meet standards for care set by the 
other state. 

D. Paying maintenance for the child of a foster child. 

1. If a foster child has a child and the child remains in the 
custody of his foster child parent, the child shall be eligible 
for a foster care maintenance payment if he remains in a 
foster home or residential facility with his parent or comes 
to live in a foster home or residential facility with his 
parent.  The child shall not be eligible for Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF).  Maintenance costs 
of the child of a foster child are to be paid out of the same 
pool of funds as the foster child’s maintenance costs.  

2. If the child of a foster child has his own resources (i.e. 
SSI, SSA, or child support) these resources shall be used 
toward the maintenance cost. 

E. Paying for independent living placements. 

1. The standard statewide payment is made from state pool 
funds. 

2. The payment covers the cost of maintenance.  

F. Paying for services using state pool funds.  Any child 
placed through a noncustodial foster care agreement, 
committed or entrusted to a local board of social services or 
for whom a local department is given responsibility for 
aftercare supervision is eligible for state pool funds that may, 
if needed by the child, fund: 

a. Maintenance and services for a child placed outside of 
his own home.  

b. Services for a child living in his own home 
(preplacement and postplacement) in the custody of the 
local board. 

G. Purchase of services from foster parents are services 
provided by foster parent(s) to meet the special needs of a 
child and are distinct from basic maintenance and supervision 
of the child.  The provider(s) shall be qualified through 
training or experience to provide the special services required.  
The child's record shall document the special physical, mental 
or emotional problems of the child that require the need for 
service. 

H. Expenses paid by foster parent(s) on behalf of the child.  
Local departments shall reimburse foster parent(s) for 
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expenses paid by them on behalf of the foster child when the 
services are pre-authorized. 

I. Purchasing foster home recruitment, study, approval and 
placement with state pool funds.  The recruitment, screening, 
study and development of foster family homes and placement 
services may be purchased from licensed child placing and 
other agencies.  The purchase shall be on behalf of a specific 
child. 

J. Purchasing regular education services. 

1. Children in foster care are considered to be indigent and 
eligible for free textbooks and workbooks.  

2. Other educational services needed by the child and not 
provided by the school division may be purchased using 
state pool funds.   

3. Regular education services may be purchased when: 

a. They are needed to achieve an educational goal; 

b. They are not the responsibility of state and/or 
education agencies;  

c. Services are not available without cost; and 

d. Charges for services are the same to all residents of the 
locality regardless of income. 

4. Expenses related to school activities that are not 
necessary to meet an educational goal may be purchased 
with state pool funds based on CPMT procedures. 

K. Paying for special educational services.  When a child is 
placed in another jurisdiction, agencies shall follow the 
funding guidelines established by the Virginia Department of 
Education for any children receiving foster care services.  

L. Use of state pool funds for special education services.  
State pool funds are to be used to purchase special education 
and related services for a child placed in a residential facility 
approved for special education or private special education 
day school in accordance with the child’s IEP.  Procedures to 
access state pool funds for these placements will be based 
upon CPMT policies.  The local department, in coordination 
with the FAPT, is responsible for ensuring that an appropriate 
placement is provided for the child.  State pool funds may pay 
for special education services when it is determined that a 
child has additional special education needs not included on 
the IEP.  

M. Paying for care in a residential facility.  The cost of 
maintenance for a child placed in a residential facility is paid 
from Title IV-E or state pool funds for non-Title IV-E 
children.  Services provided in a residential facility will be 
paid from state pool funds.   

N. Purchasing transportation services.  Transportation may be 
provided from state pool funds, Medicaid, or Title IV-E in 

accordance with federal and state guidelines for use of these 
funds. 

O. Purchasing day care services.  Child day care services for 
foster children may be purchased in a licensed day care 
facility or home, using Title IV-E or state pool funds, in 
accordance with federal and state policy for use of these 
funds. 

P. Paying for independent living program services.  
Independent living program services are paid from the local 
department's allocation of the Chafee Foster Care 
Independence Program funds.  The local department shall 
have an approved independent living program plan before 
funds may be obligated. Independent living program funds 
shall not be used to pay for maintenance. 

22 VAC 40-201-130. Other requirements. 

A. Confidentiality of records.  The records of children in 
foster care are confidential and information about children in 
foster care or their parent(s) or relative(s) is confidential.  The 
local department may disclose information upon order of the 
court or when the local department determines that the person 
has a legitimate interest in accordance with state and federal 
law and regulation and it is in the best interests of the child to 
release the information. 

B. Travel of foster children.  Out-of-country travel may be 
approved at the option of the local department when the 
director of the local department gives written approval for a 
child going out of the country.  The local department shall 
obtain written approval from the parent(s) or custodian(s) if 
whereabouts are known and parental rights have not been 
terminated.  The local department-approved sponsor of the 
out-of-country trip shall provide the local department with the 
contact information where the child and/or sponsor can be 
reached.  Proper passports, visas or other requirements for 
traveling out of the country shall be obtained.  Written 
assurances shall be obtained that the sponsor will provide for 
the health, safety and legal needs of the child during the trip. 
The local department shall provide the sponsor with 
authorization to obtain medical care. 

C. Requirement for approved child restraint devices. 

1. Children age five and under, transported in a car by local 
department staff, foster care providers, or any adult 
transporting a child, shall be secured in a child restraint 
device of a type approved by the United States Department 
of Transportation. 

2. Certain children may be exempt from the requirements 
for an approved restraint device in the following situations 
in accordance with § 46.2-1096 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Child protective services reporting. 

1. Responsibility to report.  Any person employed as a 
social worker who suspects a child has been abused or 
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neglected in foster care placement shall report the matter 
immediately to the local department or the child protective 
services hotline. 

2. Investigating the CPS report.  The foster care worker 
shall cooperate with the CPS investigation and be kept 
informed and involved in any decision to remove the child.  
The local department holding custody or having placed the 
child, if different than the local department of the child's 
residence, shall be notified of the report of abuse/neglect. 

E. The child of a foster child. 

1. The child of a foster child remains the responsibility of 
his parent, unless custody has been removed. 

2. The child is not subject to requirements for service plans, 
reviews, or hearings.  However, the needs and safety of the 
child shall be considered and documented when developing 
the service plan for the (foster child) parent.  

3. The child is eligible for Medicaid, services, and child 
support services. 

F. Procedures and responsibility for children in custody of the 
DJJ. 

1. Child committed to the DJJ.  From the time a child in the 
custody of a local department is committed to DJJ, the local 
department shall maintain contact with the child during 
commitment.  Maintaining contact is necessary to begin 
aftercare planning to return the child to the community.  
Contact with the child shall include:  

a. Participation in DJJ’s Reception and Diagnostic Center 
staffing; 

b. Participation in the juvenile correctional center (JCC) 
treatment team meeting and subsequent development of 
the comprehensive service plan; and  

c. Visits, as often as needed, but at least once every three 
months with DJJ and the child in order to plan and carry 
out services to return the child to the community and/or 
provide services to the family so that the plan for the 
child can be achieved. 

2. When a child is committed to DJJ, the service worker 
shall perform appropriate data entry into the department’s 
approved case documentation system.  

3. Payments for the cost of maintenance for the child and 
purchased services are not made by the local department 
and become the responsibility of the agency with custody 
of the child. 

4. Child transferred to a JCC.  If a child is committed to a 
JCC, the local department worker is responsible for 
attending any meetings at the JCC to provide additional 
input regarding the child's needs and to discuss the 
comprehensive service plan and the aftercare plan for the 
child. 

a. The local department worker shall develop a draft 
comprehensive services plan that will address the 
continuum of services needed for the child from the date 
of transfer to the JCC through the date of release from 
aftercare supervision.  

b. The local department worker should request that all 
treatment team members and the child sign the 
comprehensive service plan. 

c. If the local department worker has reservations about 
the comprehensive service plan that cannot be resolved 
on-site at the JCC, the worker should not sign the plan 
but shall obtain a copy for the child’s file.  

d. Proposed changes in the comprehensive service plan 
shall be approved by the local department and the JCC.  
Documentation indicating agreement with any changes 
shall be filed in the child’s case record when received by 
the local department worker. 

5. When planned aftercare placement is not available. 

a. If, at any point during the child's commitment, it 
becomes apparent that the proposed aftercare placement 
will not be available, the local department worker will 
notify the JCC counselor by letter within five working 
days of learning that the placement is not available. 

b. The notification shall discuss placement alternatives 
previously explored.  Information shall include actual 
placements or programs considered, whether the child 
was accepted/denied for placement/program, and the 
reason child was not accepted or resource not to be 
utilized.  An action plan to locate placement shall also be 
presented. 

6. Resolution of issues.  The local department worker is 
responsible for cooperating with attempts made to resolve 
disputes over the service plan and documenting the steps 
taken to resolve the disputes in the department’s approved 
case documentation system.  

7. Postrelease supervision.  Postrelease supervision is the 
period that begins after a child who has been committed to 
the DJJ returns to a community for supervision.  In the 
event that the child was in the custody of the local 
department immediately prior to his commitment to DJJ, 
and has not attained the age of 18 years, the local 
department shall resume custody upon the child’s release, 
unless an alternative arrangement for the custody has been 
made and communicated in writing to DJJ. 

8. Children returned to the community and placed in an 
out-of-home placement.  The local department worker is 
responsible for ensuring that all foster care requirements 
are met including those governing service plans, 
supervisory or panel reviews, court hearings and eligibility 
determinations. 
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22 VAC 40-201-140. Independent living. 

A. Service planning and service provision shall be provided 
to assist older youth in acquiring skills necessary for self-
sufficiency. 

B. When to select independent living as the permanency goal.  
This goal may be chosen for youth, ages 16 and over, who are 
preparing for independent living when all other permanency 
goals have been considered and are not feasible. 

C. Service planning for older youth. 

1. In developing service plans for older youth, the local 
department shall: 

a. Identify services that will transition the youth from 
foster care to independence and document these services 
in the service plan document; and 

b. Develop the service plan based on a formalized 
assessment. 

2. Service plans shall be developed through a team process 
with the youth being a member of the team. 

D. Service provision for youth. 

1. The local department shall offer a program of education, 
vocational training, employment, financial support, daily 
living skills, and counseling for youth leaving foster care; 
and 

2. Services shall continue up to the age of 21 for youth who 
have aged out of foster care if needed. 

E. Independent living arrangements. 

1. Youth may live in independent living arrangements 
provided the youth demonstrates the maturity and skills 
necessary to live without parental supervision; 

2. The local department shall approve all independent 
living arrangements and supervise youth in such 
arrangements; and 

3. The local department and youth shall enter into a 
contract identifying responsibilities for all parties for 
maintaining the independent living arrangement. 

F. Educational training vouchers. 

1. The Education and Training Vouchers (ETV) Program is 
available to all agencies to help foster youth with expenses 
associated with college and postsecondary vocational 
training programs.   

2. Eligibility criteria for ETV funding and expenditures are 
determined by the department and shall comply with 
federal funding and expenditure criteria. 

3. ETV funds are to be used for expenses as identified in 
departmental requirements and shall comply with federal 
expenditure criteria. 

4. ETV funding should be expended for education and 
training specific expenses prior to using the independent 
living basic allocation and only for those eligible youth 
engaged in post-secondary education or training. 

22 VAC 40-201-150. Adoption resource exchange of 
Virginia (AREVA). 

A. The purpose of AREVA is to increase opportunities for 
children to be adopted by providing services to agencies 
having custody of these children.  

B. Services provided by AREVA shall include:  

1. Maintaining a registry of children awaiting adoption and 
a registry of approved families waiting for adoption;  

2. Preparing and distributing a photo-listing of special 
needs children awaiting adoption and a photo-listing of 
families awaiting special needs children;  

3. Providing information and referral services for children 
who have special needs to link agencies with other 
adoption resources;  

4. Providing ongoing adoptive family recruitment for 
waiting children; 

5. Providing consultation and technical assistance to 
agencies in finding adoptive families for waiting children; 
and 

6. Monitoring local department compliance with legal 
requirements for adoption; and state board policy on 
registering children and families.  

C. Registration requirements.  

1. Registration of children.  

a. All children shall be registered with AREVA within 60 
days of termination of parental rights if:  

(1) The goal is adoption; 

(2) The child is legally free for adoption; 

(3) The local department has the authority to place for 
adoption; and 

(4) Adoptive placement has not occurred. 

b. A copy of the court commitment or permanent 
entrustment agreements shall be submitted by the local 
department or child-placing agency with the child's 
registration forms.  

2. Registration of families.  

a. Approved families shall be registered within 60 days 
after the date of approval if they are expressing interest in 
adopting children who are:  

(1) Eight years of age and over;  
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(2) Members of sibling groups who are placed with the 
same family at the same time; 

(3) Members of a minority or mixed racial heritage and 
at least three years of age or older; or 

(4) Physically, mentally, or emotionally disabled. 

b. Approved families expressing interest in adopting 
healthy white children up to the age of eight may be 
registered with AREVA upon request of the family.  

D. Photo-listing procedures.  

1. Local departments or child placing agencies may request 
a 60-day deferment from the photo-listing for children and 
families when a family has been identified, including foster 
parents, and placement is pending;  

2. The child or family shall be featured in the photo-listing 
the month following expiration of the deferment period, 
unless an adoptive home placement agreement has been 
signed.  

3. An additional 30-day deferment may be granted once at 
the discretion of AREVA staff. 

4. AREVA staff shall make the determination about which 
children and families to feature in the photo-listing. The 
decision will be based on the needs of waiting children and 
on the types of families waiting for placement.  

E. Local department and child-placing agency 
responsibilities. 

1. The local department or child-placing agency shall be 
responsible for local recruitment of prospective adoptive 
families.  

2. The local department or child-placing agency registering 
the child or family shall inform AREVA immediately of:  

a. Changes in the status of the child or family;  

b. Placements for adoptive purposes; and 

c. Withdrawals of the child or family from AREVA.  

3. The local department or child-placing agency shall 
provide families selected for a particular child with full 
factual information that the agency has on the child and the 
child's birth family, except that which would reveal the 
identity of the child's birth family.  The information 
provided shall include complete medical and psychological 
reports.  

4. The local department or child-placing agency shall 
explore with the family selected for a particular child the 
family's ability to fully or partially meet financial costs 
related to any special needs the child may have.  If it is 
determined that the child has special needs and is eligible 
for subsidy, the agency shall inform the adoptive parent(s) 
of the child's eligibility for subsidy.  

5. The local department or child-placing agency shall 
obtain the consent of the Commissioner of Social Services 
prior to placing a child out of state. 

F. Resource utilization.  When indicated, AREVA shall 
consult with the local agency or child-placing agency 
regarding the need to explore additional resources.  

1. AREVA staff may recommend referral of a child to a 
specialized adoption agency.  

2. AREVA staff shall routinely register a child with the 
national adoption exchange after the child has been in the 
photo-listing for 60 days, unless a placement is pending.  

3. AREVA shall be responsible for statewide recruitment of 
prospective adoptive families.  

4. AREVA will automatically feature children on the 
state’s electronic exchange system.  AREVA staff shall 
make the determination about which children and families 
to feature.  The decision will be based on the needs of the 
waiting children and on the types of families waiting for 
placement.  

22 VAC 40-201-160. Adoption subsidy. 

A. An adoption assistance agreement shall be executed by the 
local department or child-placing agency for children who 
have been determined eligible for subsidy.  Local departments 
shall use an adoption assistance agreement form developed 
and made available by the department. 

1. Basic eligibility.  The child shall be: 

a. Under 18 years of age; 

b. In the custody of a local department or licensed, 
private child-placing agency at the time the petition for 
adoption is filed; and  

c. Placed by the local department or licensed, private 
child-placing agency with the prospective adoptive 
family for the purpose of adoption, except for those 
situations in which the child has resided for 18 months 
with foster parent(s) who file a petition for adoption 
under § 63.2-1229 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Determining that the child has special needs.  The local 
department or child-placing agency shall determine that:  

a. The child cannot be returned home because parental 
rights are terminated. 

b. The child has individual characteristics that make the 
child hard to place for adoption due to one or more of the 
following: 

(1) Physical, mental, or emotional condition(s) existing 
before legal adoption;  
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(2) Hereditary tendency, congenital problem or birth 
injury that could lead to a future disability, verified by 
a medical/psychological statement;  

(3) Prenatal exposure or suspected exposure to drugs 
and/or alcohol; 

(4) Is eight years of age or older;  

(5) Is a member of a minority or mixed racial heritage 
and at least three years of age; 

(6) Is a member of a sibling group who are placed with 
the same family at the same time; and  

(7) Has significant emotional ties with foster parent(s) 
with whom the child has resided for at least 12 months 
and adoption is in the best interest of the child.  

c. Reasonable efforts have been made to place the child 
with appropriate adoptive parent(s) without subsidy.  A 
reasonable effort:  

(1) Shall be made except when it would be against the 
best interest of the child because of factors such as the 
existence of significant emotional ties with foster 
parents;  

(2) Shall be considered made if the child has been 
registered with AREVA and featured in the photo-
listing. 

B. Determining the child’s eligibility after legal adoption. 

(i) The child shall have a physical, mental or emotional 
condition that was present at the time of adoptive 
placement; (ii) the need for subsidy results from a 
hereditary tendency, congenital problem, or birth injury; or 
(iii) the child was exposed perinatally to drugs and/or 
alcohol; and (iv) there is a medical or psychological 
diagnosis that is not more than 12 months old. 

C. Determining the type of agreement for which the child is 
eligible. There are three types of subsidy agreements. The 
types of subsidy for which a child can be eligible are:  

1. A federal subsidy.  This type of subsidy is used for 
children whose foster care expenses are paid from federal 
and state funds.  A federal subsidy agreement shall be 
executed for any special needs child who meets eligibility 
requirements for AFDC or SSI.  

2. A state subsidy.  This type of subsidy is used for children 
whose foster care expenses are paid from state pool funds.  
State subsidy funds shall be reimbursed by the department 
within the limitations of the appropriations to the 
department for that purpose in accordance with § 63.2-1302 
D of the Code of Virginia. 

3. A conditional subsidy:  

a. Shall be provided for any child with special needs, 
whose foster care expenses are paid from state pool 

funds, when payments and services are not needed at the 
time of placement but may be needed later. It is granted 
upon the request of the adoptive parent(s) when a child:  

(1) Has a physical, mental or emotional disability at 
the time of placement;  

(2) Has a hereditary tendency, congenital problem or 
birth injury;  

(3) Has been perinatally exposed to drugs and/or 
alcohol; 

(4) Could develop a clinically diagnosable mental 
health condition resulting from separation from birth 
parents, placement in foster care, or adoption;  

(5) May need help later with daily living expenses.  

b. Does not involve money payments or services.  It is an 
agreement that allows the adoptive parent or parents to 
apply for a state subsidy after the final order of adoption;  

c. Commits the local department to providing a state 
subsidy when the adoptive parent or parents apply, if it is 
determined that the need is related to one of the 
conditions described in subdivision 3 a of this subsection;  

d. Does not require annual certification.  

D. Determining the types of payment to be made.  Adoption 
assistance payments shall be negotiated with the adoptive 
family taking into consideration the needs of the child and the 
circumstances of the family.  In considering the family’s 
circumstances, income shall not be the sole factor.  Family 
and community resources shall be explored to help defray the 
costs of adoption assistance. 

E. Before recommending any type of payment, all known 
resources must be explored to determine whether the costs of 
the child's special needs can be fully or partially defrayed.  
Some of these resources are: 

1. Governmental benefits to which a child may be entitled; 

2. Supplemental Security Income (SSI) payments; 

3. Medicaid coverage; 

4. Services provided by Children's Specialty Services, 
Virginia Department of Health; 

5. Hospital and major medical insurance plans; 

6. Education services; and 

7. Virginia Birth-related Neurological Injury Compensation 
Program.  

F. There are three types of payment that shall be made on 
behalf of a child who is eligible for subsidy.  Payments for 
adoption assistance shall not begin until the final order of 
adoption has been entered.  The amount of payments made 
and services provided shall not exceed what would have been 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2006 

775 

paid or provided had the child remained in foster care. The 
types of payment include:  

1. Maintenance payments. 

a. A maintenance payment shall be approved for all 
children who are eligible for subsidy, except those for 
whom a conditional subsidy will be provided, unless the 
adoptive parent or parents indicate that a payment is not 
needed or it is determined through negotiation that the 
payment is not needed.  

b. The amount of the payment shall be negotiated with 
the adoptive parent(s) taking into consideration the needs 
of the child and circumstances of the adoptive parents.  

c. Maintenance payments shall not be reduced lower than 
the amount specified in the initial subsidy agreement, 
unless requested by the adoptive parents.  

d. Increases in the amount of payment shall be made 
when the child is receiving the maximum allowable basic 
maintenance payment, and: 

(1) A child reaches a higher age grouping, as specified 
in foster care policy for maintenance payments; 

(2) Statewide increases are approved for foster care 
maintenance payments. 

e. Payments shall be made directly to the adoptive parent 
or parents on a monthly basis. 

f. Child care may be purchased with a maintenance 
payment, if needed by the adoptive parents. 

2. Special service payments. 

a. A special service payment is used to help in meeting 
the child's physical, mental, emotional, or nonroutine 
dental needs.  The special service payment shall be 
directly related to the child’s individual characteristic 
that makes the child hard to place or a physical, mental or 
emotional condition that existed at the time of placement 
but was not identified before the final order of adoption.  
Special service payments may be time limited, based on 
the needs of the child. 

b. Types of expenses that are appropriate to be paid 
include:  

(1) Medical, surgical, or dental;  

(2) Equipment such as prosthetics, braces, crutches, 
hearing aids, etc;  

(3) Individual tutoring or remedial educational 
sessions, books or equipment;  

(4) Psychological and psychiatric evaluations and 
treatment;  

(5) Speech, physical, and occupational therapy;  

(6) Premiums for a major medical insurance policy for 
a child, if the child is not covered by a family policy; 
and 

(7) Specialized or therapeutic services provided 
directly to the child by the adoptive parents.  The rate 
of payment for these services shall be established by 
the department and shall be based on difficulty of care 
rates.  The parent(s) shall be qualified by experience or 
specific training to perform such services. This item 
may be paid in addition to a maintenance payment. 

c. A special service payment may be used for children 
eligible for Title XIX and the Social Services Block 
Grant (SSBG) to supplement expenses not covered by 
Medicaid or when SSBG funds are not available or do 
not provide adequate coverage.  

d. Payments for special services are negotiated with the 
adoptive parent(s) taking into consideration:  

(1) The special needs of the child;  

(2) Alternative resources available to fully or partially 
defray the cost of meeting the child's special needs; 
and  

(3) The circumstances of the adoptive family.  In 
considering the family's circumstances, income shall 
not be the sole factor.  

e. Special service payments may be made directly to the 
providers of service or through the adoptive parents.  A 
bill or receipt shall be submitted before payment.  The 
local department shall not be responsible for bills or 
receipts submitted later than six months after the end of 
the month in which the service was rendered.  

f. The rate of payment shall not exceed the prevailing 
community rate.  

3. One time only payments.  Adoptive parent(s) shall be 
reimbursed, upon request, for the nonrecurring expenses of 
adopting a child with special needs.  

a. Nonrecurring expenses shall include:  

(1) Attorney fees directly related to the finalization of 
the adoption. 

(2) Transportation and other expenses incurred by 
adoptive parent(s) related to placement of the child.  
Expenses may be paid for more than one visit; 

(3) Court costs related to filing an adoption petition; 
and 

(4) Reasonable and necessary fees of adoption child-
placing agencies. 

b. The total amount of reimbursement for nonrecurring 
expenses is based on actual costs and shall not exceed 
$2,000 per child per placement. 
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c. An adoption assistance agreement shall be signed and 
shall specify the services to be provided under this 
section. 

d. Payment of nonrecurring expenses may begin as soon 
as the adoption assistance agreement has been signed and 
the child is placed in the adoptive home. Payment may be 
made directly to providers of services or to the adoptive 
parent(s) for expenses they have incurred. 

e. A bill or receipt shall be submitted before payment can 
be made.  The local department shall not be responsible 
for bills or receipts submitted later than six months after 
the end of the month in which the expense was incurred. 

G. Applying for subsidy. 

1. Procedures for the child whose eligibility is established 
before legal adoption. 

The adoption assistance agreement: 

(1) Shall be executed within 90 days of receipt of the 
application for adoption assistance; 

(2) Shall be signed before entry of the final order of 
adoption; 

(3) Shall specify the amount of payment and the 
services to be provided, including Title XIX and SSBG 
services; 

(4) May be adjusted with the concurrence of the 
adoptive parents, in the event of changes in the needs 
of the child; and 

(5) Shall remain in effect regardless of the state of 
which the adoptive parent(s) are residents at any given 
time. 

The interests of the child shall be protected through the 
Interstate Compact on Adoption and Medical 
Assistance should the adoptive parent(s) and child 
move to another state while the agreement is effective. 

2. Procedures for the child whose eligibility is established 
after legal adoption.  The application procedures are the 
same as for the child whose eligibility is established before 
adoption except:  

a. The application shall be submitted within one year of a 
diagnosis;  

b. The application shall be for a state subsidy.  

H. Maintaining responsibility.  

1. The adoptive parent or parents shall:  

a. Submit annually to the local department or child-
placing agency an affidavit that certifies that:  

(1) The child for whom they are receiving subsidy 
remains in their care;  

(2) They are legally responsible for supporting the 
child; and 

(3) If applicable, the child's condition requiring 
subsidy continues to exist.  

b. Submit copies of all bills or receipts for special service 
payments made directly to the adoptive parents.  

2. The local department or child-placing agency shall:  

a. Maintain responsibility for any payment or services 
identified in the agreement, regardless of where the 
family resides; 

b. Inform prospective adoptive parent(s) of the child's 
eligibility for subsidy. This shall include a full disclosure 
of the services and payments for which the child is or 
may be eligible;  

c. Notify adoptive parent or parents who are receiving 
subsidy that the annual affidavit is due.  The notification 
shall be sent to the adoptive parent or parents two months 
before the affidavit is due;  

d. Inform adoptive parent or parents, in writing, that they 
have the right to appeal decisions relating to the child's 
eligibility for subsidy and decisions relating to payments 
and services to be provided.  

I. Terminating the subsidy agreement.  The adoption 
assistance agreement: 

1. Shall be terminated when the child reaches the age of 18 
unless the child has:  

a. A physical or mental disability which warrants 
continuation of the agreement; or 

b. An educational delay.  This shall include educational 
delays resulting from a child's foster care circumstances.  
The maintenance payment may be continued for a child 
who is turning 18 during his senior year of school, if the 
child is expected to graduate by the end of school year in 
which he turns 18.  

c. If a child has one of the conditions in subdivisions 1 a 
and b of this subsection, the agreement shall be continued 
until the child reaches the age of 21; 

2. Shall not be terminated before the child's 18th birthday 
without the consent of the adoptive parent(s) unless;  

a. It is determined that the child is no longer receiving 
financial support from the adoptive parents; 

b. The adoptive parent or parents are no longer legally 
responsible for the child; or 

c. The child's condition requiring subsidy no longer 
exists. 
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3. Shall not be terminated if the child's condition improves 
but could deteriorate again. In this case, the agreement shall 
be suspended without a payment, rather than terminated. 

4. When a child receiving adoption subsidy enters foster 
care or physical custody becomes the responsibility of the 
state, the local department may renegotiate the adoption 
assistance agreement with the adoptive parent(s).  Any 
renegotiated adoption assistance agreement shall receive 
concurrence from all parties to the agreement. 

J. Appeals. 

1. Adoptive applicants and adoptive parent(s) shall have the 
right to appeal adoption subsidy/assistance decisions 
related to: 

a. The lack of or shortage of subsidy/adoption assistance 
because the local department  failed to present to 
adoptive parent(s) relevant facts known by the agency 
regarding the child prior to adoption finalization;  

b. Failure of the local department to inform the parent(s) 
of the child’s eligibility for subsidy/adoption assistance; 
and 

c. Local department decisions related to the child’s 
eligibility for subsidy/adoption assistance, subsidy 
payments and services, and changing or terminating a 
subsidy agreement.  

2. Appeals shall be processed in accordance with 
procedures established by the board. 

22 VAC 40-201-170. Adoptive home study. 

A. The manner in which a family receives a child for 
adoption shall have no bearing on how the family is assessed 
for purposes of adoptive placement. The criteria of capacity 
for parenthood are the same whether the child was placed by 
a local department, by a child-placing agency, by the birth 
parents, or by a legal guardian. The difference between 
completing a home study for a child placed by a local 
department or child-placing agency, and for a child placed by 
birth parent(s) is in the role of the agency, not in the 
assessment of the adoptive family.  In an agency placement, 
the local department or child-placing agency approves or 
denies adoptive applicants based on the local department’s 
assessment of the prospective family. In a parental placement, 
the local department or agency is to make a recommendation 
to the court regarding the suitability of the family to adopt. 
The recommendation is to be based on an assessment of 
whether the placement is contrary to the best interest of the 
child. The assessment is based on information gathered 
during the home study process. 

B. The following criteria provide agencies with the minimum 
requirements for the completion of an adoptive home study. 
These criteria are based on the current Minimum Standards 

for Licensed Child Placing Agencies and the department's 
Agency Approved Provider Standards. 

1. Applicants for resource, foster or adoptive parents must 
complete an application to become an approved provider 
according to department requirements to be considered for 
approval and for a home study process to occur. 

2. The home study shall be documented in a narrative 
format and shall be signed and dated by the individual 
completing the home study and the supervisor or his 
designee. 

3. Local departments must ask if a prospective resource, 
foster or adoptive parent previously applied to, or was 
approved by another local department or licensed child-
placing agency for approval.  The local department shall 
have the applicant(s) sign a request to release information 
from the other agency in order to request information about 
any previous applications and shall use that information in 
considering approval of the provider. 

4. Interviews, references, and employment history. 

a. Local departments shall conduct a minimum of three 
face-to-face interviews with each provider, at least one of 
which must be in the provider’s home.  If the prospective 
provider is a couple, at least one interview must be with 
the couple together.  At least one interview must be with 
all individuals who are residing in the home. 

b. The local department shall obtain at least three 
references from persons who have knowledge of the 
provider's ability, skill, or experience in the provision of 
services and who shall not be related to the provider.  
The local department may request more than three 
references. 

c. In a parental placement, the worker shall meet at least 
once with the birth parent(s) and prospective adoptive 
parent(s) simultaneously. 

d. The local department shall obtain information on the 
provider's employment history. 

e. A thorough assessment of the adoptive family is 
critical in evaluating whether the placement is contrary to 
the best interest of the child.  The adoption home study 
and assessment should include an in-depth history of the 
adoptive applicants and should consider the 
characteristics that are presumed, on the basis of present 
knowledge, to provide the best indication of capacity for 
adoptive parenthood.  The home study shall include, but 
not be limited to, an assessment of the following criteria: 

(1) Provider’s knowledgeable about providing the 
necessary care for children; 

(2) The provider’s physical and mental capability to 
provide the necessary care; 
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(3) Provider’s ability to sustain positive and 
constructive relationships with children in care, and to 
relate to children with respect, courtesy and 
understanding; 

(4) Provider’s ability to handle emergencies with 
dependability and good judgment; 

(5) Provider’s ability to communicate and follow 
instructions sufficiently to assure adequate care, safety 
and protection for children; 

(6) Provider’s demonstrated capacity to love and 
nurture a child born to someone else; 

(7) Provider’s ability to accept the child without 
expecting the child to resolve family problems or 
fulfill the provider’s family ambitions; and 

(8) Marital stability, if the providers are married. 

f. Criminal and child protective services records.  

(1) Adoptive applicants shall identify any criminal 
convictions and be willing to consent to a criminal 
records search; 

(2) Adoptive applicants shall not have been convicted 
of a felony or misdemeanor that jeopardizes the safety 
or proper care of the child. 

(3) Adoptive applicants shall be willing to consent to a 
search of the Child Protective Services Central 
Registry. 

g. Medical examinations.  Adoptive applicants shall 
provide a physician's statement that reflects their current 
health and that states that they are in satisfactory physical 
health to enable them to provide adequate care for the 
child.  

h. Approval period.  A home study conducted for 
purposes of parental placements shall be approved for a 
period of 12 months from the date of completion of the 
study.  

22 VAC 40-201-180. Agency responsibilities for consent in 
nonagency adoptive placements. 

A. In order for the juvenile court to make the legally required 
determinations before accepting consent, the local department 
or child-placing agency shall:  

1. Conduct a home study of the prospective adoptive home 
in a format determined by the department; and 

2. Provide the court with a report of the home study. Two 
copies of the home study report shall be sent with the 
original for the court, at its discretion, to provide to the 
birth and adoptive parents. The report shall include the 
following: 

a. Information regarding whether the prospective 
adoptive parent(s) are financially able, morally suitable, 
and in satisfactory physical and mental health to enable 
them to care for the child; 

b. The physical and mental condition of the child; 

c. Information about both birth parents including: 

(1) Full names and addresses; 

(2) Why the parent(s) desire to be relieved of the 
responsibility for the child and what their attitude is 
toward the proposed adoption; 

(3) Physical description, age, race, marital status, 
education, employment, and, if known, physical and 
mental health. 

d. The circumstance under which the child came to live, 
or will be living, in the home of the prospective adoptive 
family; 

e. Fees that have been paid by the prospective adoptive 
family or in their behalf in the placement and adoption of 
the child; 

f. A statement as to whether the requirements of law 
related to execution of consent have been met; 

g. A statement, if applicable, as to whether the 
requirements of law related to the ICPC have been met; 

h. A statement that the birth parent(s) and the adoptive 
parent(s) have shared identifying information. The 
identifying information shall be written, signed and dated 
by the adoptive parent(s) and the birth parents, and a 
copy of the document shall be preserved as part of the 
agency's permanent adoption record. The local 
department or child-placing agency shall make available 
at any time to both parties a copy of this document. The 
document shall include but not be limited to full names, 
addresses, physical, mental, social and psychological 
information;  

i. Any other matters specified by the court.  

B. The local department or child-placing agency shall make a 
recommendation to the court regarding the suitability of the 
family to adopt.  When the recommendation is that the 
placement appears to be contrary to the best interest of the 
child, the local department or child-placing agency shall 
provide its justification for the recommendation. 

C. If the local department or child-placing agency suspects 
there has been an exchange of property, money, services, or 
any other thing of value in violation of law in the placement 
or adoption of the child, they shall report such findings to the 
commissioner for investigation. The following exceptions 
apply:  
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1. Reasonable and customary services provided by a 
licensed or duly authorized child-placing agency, and fees, 
based on prevailing community rates, paid for such 
services;  

2. Payment or reimbursement for medical expenses directly 
related to the birth mother's pregnancy and hospitalization 
for the birth of the child who is the subject of the adoption 
proceedings, and for expenses incurred for medical care for 
the child;  

3. Payment or reimbursement to birth parent(s) for 
transportation necessary to execute consent to the adoption;  

4. Usual and customary fees, based on prevailing 
community rates, for legal services in adoption 
proceedings; and  

5. Payment or reimbursement of reasonable expenses 
incurred by adoptive parent(s) for transportation in 
intercountry placements and as necessary for compliance 
with state and federal law in such placements.  

D. If the local department or child-placing agency suspects 
that a person has engaged in any activities of a child-placing 
agency without legal authority or a license to do so, the local 
department or child-placing agency shall report the findings 
to the commissioner for investigation. These activities 
include:  

1. Taking custody of a child for purposes of placing the 
child for adoption;  

2. Studying and approving adoptive homes;  

3. Selecting a particular adoptive home for a child;  

4. Placing a child in an adoptive home; and  

5. Providing supervision of the placement to meet legal 
requirements related to visitation of the child and family.  

22 VAC 40-201-190. Fees for court services. 

A. Services for which a fee is charged.  The services for 
which the local department shall charge fees are court ordered 
custody investigations, adoption searches, nonagency 
placement adoptions, investigation and reports, and visitation 
and reports.  

B. Fees for custody investigations are to be assessed in 
accordance with fee schedules established by the appropriate 
local board of social services. 

C. Fees for adoption searches, nonagency placement 
adoptions, investigations and reports, and visitation and 
reports shall be determined as follows: 

1. Current costs of services provided by agencies.  The 
department shall determine the statewide average number 
of hours needed to provide each service.  The statewide 
average hourly cost of service shall be calculated, 
considering both direct and indirect costs. The average time 

required for each service multiplied by the average hourly 
costs shall be used to determine the total cost of each 
service. The statewide average cost of service and average 
number of hours needed to provide each service shall be 
periodically redetermined.  

2. Income and fee schedule.  A fee schedule, based upon 
family size and income, shall be developed annually using 
the median income level for Virginia.  The fee schedule 
shall be as follows: 

a. Families with 50% or less of median income shall not 
be charged a fee. 

b. Families whose income falls between 50% and 100% 
of median income shall be charged an incremental 
percentage of the maximum fee. 

c. Families whose income is above 100% median income 
shall be charged the maximum fee.  

3. Local departments shall include in reports to the courts 
the amount of the fee assessed to the petitioners, if any.  If 
a local department finds an unusual circumstance that 
would affect a petitioner's ability to pay, it shall include 
this in its report to the court.  

D. Collection of fees. 

1. In nonagency placement adoptions and adoption 
searches, the fee shall be collected by the circuit court prior 
to the entry of any final order and shall be disbursed to the 
local department that performed the service.  

2. The local department shall report any fees collected as 
expenditures refunded on its financial report.  The local 
department’s reimbursement from state and federal funds 
shall be adjusted to reflect the state and federal share of 
income collected.  

2 VAC 40-201-200. Suspected violations in the placement 
and adoption of a child. 

When the commissioner receives a report of suspected 
violations of § 63.2-1218 of the Code of Virginia, the 
commissioner shall, in accordance with § 63.2-1219 of the 
Code of Virginia: 

1. Investigate the suspected violation; and  

2. Take appropriate action as follows:  

a. When the investigation reveals that there may have 
been a violation of law; the commissioner shall report his 
findings to the appropriate attorney for the 
Commonwealth;  

b. When the investigation reveals that the violation 
occurred in the course of the practice of a profession or 
occupation licensed or regulated pursuant to Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia; the commissioner shall also report 
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his findings to the appropriate regulatory authority for 
investigation and appropriate disciplinary action; or  

c. Pursuant to § 63.2-1711 of the Code of Virginia, the 
commissioner may file suit with the court of record 
having chancery jurisdiction, when the investigation 
reveals that the violation involves engaging in the 
activities of a child-placing agency without a license.  

22 VAC 40-201-210. Training. 

A. Local departments shall provide training for all foster care 
and adoption workers as determined by the department. 

B. Local department foster care and adoption workers and 
supervisory staff will complete an individual training needs 
assessment using a method prescribed by the department. 

C. New local department foster care and adoption workers 
and supervisory staff will attend and complete new worker 
required training using a curriculum developed by the 
department. 

D. Local department foster care and adoption workers and 
supervisory staff will attend and complete required annual in-
service training using a curriculum developed by the 
department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R04-148; Filed October 24, 2006, 9:24 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIONS TO REGULATIONSAGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE OBJECTIONFORMS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

EDITOR'S NOTICE: The following form has been filed by the 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. The form is 
available for public inspection at the Department of Mines, 
Minerals and Energy, 202 North Ninth Street, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219, at the department's Big Stone Gap office, 
3405 Mountain Empire Road, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219, or 
the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly 
Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. Copies of 
the form may be obtained from David B. Spears, Department 
of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 202 North Ninth Street, 
Richmond, Virginia 23219, telephone (804) 692-3200. 

Title of Regulation:  4 VAC 25-170. Geothermal Energy 
Regulations. 

FORMS 

FORMS IMPLEMENTING CHAPTERS 14.2 THROUGH 
14.4 OF TITLE 45.1 OF THE CODE OF VIRGINIA 
REGARDING COAL MINE SAFETY. 

Coalfield Employment Tax Credit Production/Labor Report, 
DM-TC-1 (eff. 10/06). 
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

BROWN V. BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIP 
AWARDS COMMITTEE 

Informational Session Regarding Awards 
Senator Benjamin J. Lambert, III, of Richmond, Chairman of 
the Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Awards 
Committee, has announced that the committee will hold an 
information session concerning the scholarship program for 
applicants, recipients, institutions of higher education, and 
other interested persons. Other members of the committee are 
Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, of Richmond; Delegates 
Watkins M. Abbitt, Jr. of Appomattox, Rosalyn R. Dance of 
Petersburg, Clarke N. Hogan of South Boston, and Thomas 
C. Wright, Jr. of Victoria; and nonlegislative citizens Dr. 
Patricia Johnson Brown of Richmond, Andrew I. Heidelberg 
of Norfolk, Donald E. Martin of Charlottesville, Phyllistine 
Ward Mosley of Lynchburg, and Tameka Andrea Ferrell of 
Lawrenceville. 

The Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship Program and 
Fund was one of several initiatives resulting from the 
Commonwealth's two-year long commemoration of the 50th 
anniversary of Brown v. Board of Education. The Virginia 
General Assembly has designed and enacted the scholarship 
program to assist persons who were enrolled or eligible to 
enroll in Virginia public schools in localities in which the 
public schools were closed to avoid desegregation during 
Massive Resistance between 1954 and 1964. Eligible persons 
may use the award to obtain (i) an adult high school diploma, 
(ii) the General Education Development (GED) certificate, 
(iii) College-Level Examination Program (CLEP) credit, (iv) 
career or technical education or training at an approved 
Virginia institution of higher education, or (v) an 
undergraduate degree from an accredited public or private 
two-year or four-year Virginia institution of higher education. 

By law, the Brown v. Board of Education Scholarship 
Awards Committee is authorized to administer all aspects of 
the program and to award scholarships to persons who meet 
the statutory requirements. Therefore, to apprise all interested 
parties concerning the application and financial aid processes, 
state law, and committee policies governing the program, the 
committee invites all applicants, recipients, institutions of 
higher education, and other interested persons to attend the 
Brown Scholarship Information Session on Wednesday, 
November 8, 2006, at 6 p.m. at the Robert Russa Moton 
Museum, 900 Griffin Boulevard, Farmville, Virginia 23901. 

For further information, please contact Mrs. Brenda H. 
Edwards, Division of Legislative Services, General Assembly 
Building, 2nd Floor, 910 Capitol Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, (804) 786-3591. 

BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Revising English Language Proficiency Standards 
of Learning 

The Board of Education intends to review and revise the 
English Language Proficiency Standards of Learning.  Public 
comment and public hearings will be held in October and 
November 2006, with final adoption by the Board of 
Education expected in the spring of 2007.  The dates, 
locations, and times of the public hearings will be announced 
in advance.  The proposed revisions may be viewed at the 
following website: 

www.doe.virginia.gov/VDOE/VA_Board/Meetings/2006/ 
ItemK-sep.pdf 

Comments will be received until January 12, 2007. 

Contact Ms. Valarie Goose, Specialist for ESL Programs, 
Virginia Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1692, or email 
valarie.goose@doe.virginia.gov. 

Revising Foreign Language Standards of Learning 
The Board of Education intends to revise the Foreign 
Language Standards of Learning. The proposed revisions may 
be viewed at the following website: 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/VDOE/VA_Board/home.shtml 

Click on the link to the October 25th meeting.  Then click the 
link to the Foreign Language SOLs. 

Public hearings will be announced on the Commonwealth 
Calendar. 

Send comments by January 3, 2007, to Margaret N. Roberts, 
Virginia Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
Richmond, VA 23218, margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Restore Water Quality in Occupacia Creek 

Announcement of an effort to restore water quality in 
Occupacia Creek in Essex County, Virginia. 

Public meeting:  Essex Public Library, 117 North Church 
Lane, Tappahannock, Virginia on November 30, 2006, from 
7 p.m. to 9 p.m.  In case of inclement weather, check the 
DEQ website for a rescheduled date.  A Technical Advisory 
Meeting will be held on November 15, 2006, in the Essex 
Public Library meeting room from 2 p.m. until 4 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality and the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
are announcing the start of a study to restore water quality, a 
public comment opportunity, and public meeting. 
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Meeting description:  Final public meeting and technical 
advisory committee meeting on a study to restore water 
quality. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies are working to 
identify sources of the bacterial contamination in the waters 
of Occupacia Creek and it’s tributaries in Essex County.  This 
stream is impaired for failure to meet the Primary Contact 
(recreational) designated use because of bacterial standard 
violations. 

The study reports the sources of bacterial contamination and 
recommends total maximum daily loads, or TMDLs, for the 
impaired waters.  A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant 
a water body can contain and still meet water quality 
standards.  To restore water quality, bacterial levels have to 
be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How a decision is made:  The development of a TMDL 
includes a public comment period, including public meetings.  
After public comments have been considered and addressed, 
DEQ will submit the TMDL report to the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment:  DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail.  Written comments should include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period, November 30, 2006, to December 30, 2006.  DEQ 
also accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

Contact for additional information: Chris French, TMDL 
Coordinator, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804)-527-5106, or 
email rcfrench@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) - Hardware and 
North Fork Hardware Rivers 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation seek written and 
oral comments from interested persons on the development of 
total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for the Hardware and 
North Fork Hardware Rivers in Albemarle and Fluvanna 
counties.  The Hardware River was listed on the 2002 303(d) 
TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations 
of the state’s water quality standard for bacteria.  This 
impairment extends for 23.11 miles from the headwaters to 
the confluence with the James River.  The North Fork 
Hardware River was listed on the 2004 303(d) TMDL 
Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations of the 
state’s water quality standard for bacteria.  This impairment 
extends for 10.39 miles from the headwaters to the 
confluence with the Hardware River. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia’s 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. 

The first public meeting on the development of these TMDLs 
will be held on Thursday, November 30, 2006, 7 p.m. at the 
Scottsville Town Council Chambers, 401 Valley Street, 
Scottsville, Virginia. 

The public comment period for the first public meeting will 
end on December 30, 2006.  Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments and should be sent to Robert 
Brent, Department of Environmental Quality, 4411 Early 
Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 
(540) 574-7848, FAX (540) 574-7878, or email 
rnbrent@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) - Westmoreland 
County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), Virginia 
Department of Health and the Department of Conservation 
and Recreation seek written and oral comments from 
interested persons on the development of a total maximum 
daily load (TMDL) for fecal coliform bacteria in shellfish 
propagation waters located in Westmoreland County, 
Virginia. 

The impaired segments are located in VDH Growing Area 4 
containing: 

Growing Area 4 -82A Pierce Creek 
Growing Area 4-82B Upper Nomini Creek 
Growing Area 4-82C Barnes Creek 
Growing Area 4 -82D Buckner Creek 
Growing Area 4-82E North Prong 
Growing Area 4-184A Cold Harbor Creek 
Growing Area 4-184B Currioman Creek 

All waters are tributaries to the Potomac River and the 
Chesapeake Bay. 

The affected water body segments are identified in Virginia’s 
1998 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due 
to violations of the state’s water quality standard for fecal 
coliform bacteria in shellfish waters.  Section 303(d) of the 
Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of 
Virginia, require DEQ to develop TMDLs for pollutants 
responsible for each impaired water contained in Virginia’s 
303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. 

This is the first public meeting to provide information and 
solicit participation of citizens and local government in the 
development of the fecal coliform TMDL’s. The meeting will 
be held on November 15, 2006, from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the 
Johnson Recreation Center, 18849 Kings Highway, Montross, 
Virginia.  Directions can be obtained by calling Chester 
Bigelow at (804) 698-4554. 
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The public comment period will begin on November 15, 
2006, and end on December 15, 2006.  Questions or 
information requests should be addressed to Chester Bigelow, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4554, FAX (804) 
698-4116, or email ccbigelow@deq.virginia.gov., and should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person submitting the comments.   

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Notice of Periodic Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 36 (2006), the Department of 
Labor and Industry (DOLI) will review its regulation entitled 
Public Participation Guidelines (16 VAC 20-10-10 et seq.).  
The purpose of the review is to determine whether the 
regulation should be amended, or retained in its current form.  
The review of the regulation will be guided by the principles 
listed in Executive Order 36 (2006). 

The purpose of this regulation is to provide information on 
the process that the Virginia Apprenticeship Council (council) 
will use to gather information and provide opportunities for 
the public to participate at every stage in the regulatory 
process. 

DOLI and the council seek public comment on the review of 
issues related to these regulations, especially the following: 

1. Does the regulation meet the following goals? 

- Provide maximum opportunity for the public to 
participate in the regulatory process. 

- Ensure that the public is informed of new regulations. 

- Ensure that the public has the opportunity to provide 
comments on regulatory changes. 

- Protect the public’s health, safety and welfare with the 
least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and 
businesses of the Commonwealth. 

2. Is the regulation clearly written and easy to understand? 

Comments on this regulation are welcome and will be 
accepted until December 4, 2006.  Comments may be mailed 
to Reba O’Connor, Virginia Department of Labor and 
Industry, Powers-Taylor Building, 13 South 13th Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219 or email to 
reba.oconnor@doli.virginia.gov.  Please include your full 
name and mailing address. 

Notice of Periodic Review 
Pursuant to Executive Order 36 (2006), the Virginia 
Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) and the Virginia 
Apprenticeship Council (council) will review the regulations 
entitled, Regulations Governing the Administration of 
Apprenticeship Programs in the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

(16 VAC 20-20-10 et seq.).  The purpose of the review is to 
determine whether these regulations should be amended, or 
retained in their current form.  The review of these 
regulations will be guided by the principles listed in 
Executive Order 36 (2006). 

The purpose of these regulations is to establish procedures 
and standards for the approval and registration of 
apprenticeship programs and agreements in accordance with 
the Voluntary Apprenticeship Act, Chapter 6 (§ 40.1-117 et 
seq.) of Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

DOLI and the council seek public comment on the review of 
issues related to these regulations, especially the following: 

1.  Does the regulation meet the following goals? 

- Maintain a highly skilled workforce to compete 
globally in a changing economy. 

- Provide a method of transition from school to work for 
high school graduates. 

- Protect the public's health, safety and welfare with the 
least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and 
businesses of the Commonwealth. 

2. Is the regulation clearly written and easy to understand? 

Comments on this regulation are welcome and will be 
accepted until December 4, 2006.  Comments may be mailed 
to Reba O’Connor, Virginia Department of Labor and 
Industry, Powers-Taylor Building, 13 South 13th Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219 or email to 
reba.oconnor@doli.virginia.gov.  Please include your full 
name and mailing address. 

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 
The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on October 16, 2006, and October 19, 2006. The 
orders may be viewed at the State Lottery Department, 900 E. 
Main Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

Final Rules for Game Operation: 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Five (06) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 331; "Bingo Magic" 
(effective 10/06/06) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Six (06) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 756; "The Big Cheese" 
(effective 10/06/06) 
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Director's Order Number Fifty-Seven (06) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 758; "Double Dollars" 
(effective 10/06/06) 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Eight (06) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 759; "$75,000 Pinball" 
(effective 10/06/06) 

Director's Order Number Sixty (06) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 757; "Jack In The Box" 
(effective 10/16/06) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-One (06) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 760; "King of Cash" 
(effective 10/16/06) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Two (06) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 761; "Aces Wild" (effective 
10/16/06) 

Director's Order Number Sixty-Three (06) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 763; "Queen of Hearts" 
(effective 10/16/06) 

* * * 

Director's Order Number Fifty-Nine (06) 
Certain Virginia Instant Game Lotteries; End of Games. 

In accordance with the authority granted by §§ 2.2-4002 B 
(15) and 58.1-4006 A of the Code of Virginia, I hereby give 
notice that the following Virginia Lottery instant games will 
officially end at midnight on October 27, 2006: 

Game 292 Aces & 8's 
Game 295 $1,000 Payday Tripler 
Game 296 Bonus 7's 
Game 647 $500,000 Bonus Bucks 
Game 676 Slots of 999's 
Game 699 Wild 7's Doubler 
Game 708 20K 
Game 714 Ace in the Hole 
Game 716 Sizzlin' 7's 

The last day for lottery retailers to return for credit unsold 
tickets from any of these games will be December 1, 2006. 
The last day to redeem winning tickets for any of these games 
will be April 25, 2007, 180 days from the declared official 
end of the game.  Claims for winning tickets from any of 
these games will not be accepted after that date.  Claims that 
are mailed and received in an envelope bearing a postmark of 
the United States Postal Service or another sovereign nation 
of April 25, 2007, or earlier, will be deemed to have been 
received on time.  This notice amplifies and conforms to the 
duly adopted State Lottery Board regulations for the conduct 
of lottery games. 

This order is available for inspection and copying during 
normal business hours at the Virginia Lottery headquarters, 
900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia; and at any 
Virginia Lottery regional office.  A copy may be requested by 
mail by writing to Director's Office, Virginia Lottery, 900 
East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

This Director's Order becomes effective on the date of its 
signing and shall remain in full force and effect unless 
amended or rescinded by further Director's Order. 

/s/ Shelia Hill-Christian 
Executive Director 
October 16, 2006 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 

Revised Commonwealth of Virginia (2007) Policies 
and Procedures for the Implementation of Part C of 

the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 

The Virginia Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services announces Public 
Hearings and is accepting public comment on the revised 
Commonwealth of Virginia (2007) Policies and Procedures 
for the Implementation of Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act. 

Public hearings will be held at two locations:  

• Richmond Area, January 11, 2007, from 1 p.m. to 
3 p.m. at the Henrico Area DMHMRSAS East 
Center (Room 23), 4825 South Laburnum Avenue, 
Richmond, Virginia; and 

• Southwest Virginia, January 18, 2007, from 1 p.m. 
to 3 p.m. at New River Valley Community Services 
(New River Room), 700 University City Boulevard, 
Blacksburg, Virginia. 

Written public comments will be received beginning 
December 1, 2006, and concluding January 29, 2007.  Copies 
of the revised policies and procedures will be available on the 
Infant & Toddler Connection of Virginia website at 
www.infantva.org.  Please submit written comments to Mary 
Ann Discenza, State Coordinator, Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, 
Part C Early Intervention, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1797, 
Richmond, VA 23218-1797. 

Public comments can also be sent electronically to 
maryann.discenza@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

For a printed copy of the revised policies and procedures, 
please contact Keisha White, Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, Part C 
Early Intervention, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 
23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-3710, FAX (804) 371-
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7959, or email keisha.white@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. If 
interpreters are needed for the public hearings for individuals 
with hearing impairments, please contact Keisha White by 
December 26, 2006. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Mr. R.L. Bowman 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Isle of Wight County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: November 14, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Mr. R.L. Bowman to 
address alleged violations of the Virginia Water Protection 
Permit Regulations.  The location of the property where the 
alleged violations occurred is adjacent to Strawberry Plains 
Road in Isle of Wight County.  The consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve unauthorized clearing and filling of 
approximately 1.4 acres of forested wetlands.  The consent 
order requires development and implementation of a 
restoration plan and requires Mr. Bowman to pay a civil 
charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax, or postal mail.  All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period.  The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information Matthew J. Strickler, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone 
(757) 518-2185, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
mjstrickler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - BR-1998, L.L.C. 
Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Henrico County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: November 13, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to BR-1998, L.L.C., to 
address violations of § 62.1-44.5 A & B of the Code of 
Virginia. The consent order describes a settlement to resolve 
an unauthorized discharge that occurred at Brook Ridge 
Apartment Complex, 5613 Crenshaw Road, Richmond, 

Virginia.  The order requires payment of a $15,500 civil 
charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information Frank Lupini, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5093, 
FAX (804) 527-5106, or email felupini@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Colonna’s Ship 
Yard, Incorporated 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Norfolk, Virginia. 

Public comment period: November 14, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Colonna’s Ship Yard, 
Incorporated, to address alleged violations of Virginia State 
Water Control Law. The location of the facility where the 
alleged violations occurred is 400 East Indian River Rd, 
Norfolk.  The consent order describes a settlement to resolve 
alleged violations of the facility Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System Permit. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information John M. Brandt, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Blvd, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 
518-2010, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
jmbrandt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - City of 
Fredericksburg 

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility in the City of 
Fredericksburg. 

Public comment period: November 13, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 
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Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to the City of 
Fredericksburg to address alleged violations of the Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit No. 
VA0025127. The location of the facility where the alleged 
violations occurred is 700 Beulah-Salisbury Road. The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve permit effluent 
limit violations and failure to meet Reliability Class I 
requirements. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information Carl Ciccarelli, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Virginia Regional Office, 
13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone 
(703) 583-3862, FAX (703) 583-3841, or email 
cjciccarelli@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Grayco, Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Isle of Wight County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: November 14, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description:  The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Grayco, Inc., to address 
alleged violations of the Virginia Water Protection Permit 
Regulations. The location of the property where the alleged 
violation occurred is the Founder’s Pointe subdivision in Isle 
of Wight County. The consent order describes a settlement to 
resolve the unauthorized clearing of approximately 1.3 acres 
of forested buffer that Grayco had offered as compensation 
for impacts to wetlands authorized under its permit.  The 
consent order requires development and implementation of a 
restoration plan and requires Grayco to pay a civil charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax, or postal mail.  All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period.  The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information Matthew J. Strickler, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone 

(757) 518-2185, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
mjstrickler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Hearndon 
Construction Corp. 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Chesapeake, Virginia. 

Public comment period: November 14, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description:  The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Hearndon Construction 
Corp. to address alleged violations of the Virginia Water 
Protection Permit Regulations. The location of the property 
where the alleged violation occurred is the Ship’s Landing 
subdivision in Chesapeake. The consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve the unauthorized clearing of 
approximately 0.6 acres of forested wetlands and 
approximately one acre of forested buffer that Grayco had 
offered as compensation for impacts to wetlands authorized 
under its permit.  The consent order requires development and 
implementation of a restoration plan and requires Hearndon 
to pay a civil charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax, or postal mail.  All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period.  The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information Matthew J. Strickler, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone 
(757) 518-2185, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
mjstrickler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Lee’s Mobil, Inc. 
Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Ashland, Virginia. 

Public comment period: November 13, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Lee’s Mobil, Inc., to 
address violations of its VPDES Permit No. VAG404066. 
The location of the facility where the violation occurred is 
10292 East Patrick Henry Road, Ashland, Virginia.  The 
consent order describes a settlement to resolve wastewater 
permit discharge violations that occurred at the facility. The 
order requires corrective action and payment of a civil charge. 
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How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information Frank Lupini, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5093, 
FAX (804) 527-5106, or email felupini@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Powhatan 
County 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for the Fighting Creek Wastewater Treatment Plant (WWTP), 
owned by Powhatan County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: November 13, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Powhatan County to 
address alleged violations of VPDES regulations. The 
location of the facility where the violations occurred is at 
3900 Old Plantation Rd., Powhatan County, Virginia.  The 
consent order settles noncompliance with the VPDES 
regulations and includes the payment of a civil charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail.  All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period.  The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information Cynthia Akers, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5079, 
FAX (804) 527-5106, or email ecakers@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Sims Group USA 
Corporation 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Chesapeake, Virginia. 

Public comment period: November 14, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description:  The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Sims Group USA 
Corporation to address alleged violations of the Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit Regulations 
and the State Water Control Law. The location of the property 
where the alleged violation occurred is the Sims Hugo Neu 
facility, 4300 Buell St., Chesapeake, Virginia. The consent 
order describes a settlement to address an unauthorized 
discharge of approximately 1,500 gallons of diesel fuel to the 
Elizabeth River, and unpermitted ship breaking activities.  
The consent order requires Sims to pay a civil charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax, or postal mail.  All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period.  The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information Matthew J. Strickler, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone 
(757) 518-2185, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
mjstrickler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Town of Stuart 
Citizens may comment on a proposed consent order for a 
facility located in Stuart, Virginia. 

Public comment period:  November 13, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Purpose of notice: To invite the public to comment on a 
proposed consent order. 

A consent order is issued to a business owner or other 
responsible party to perform specific actions that will bring 
the entity into compliance with the relevant law and 
regulations. It is developed cooperatively with the facility and 
entered into by mutual agreement. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to the Town of Stuart to 
address alleged violations of the town’s VPDES Permit. The 
location of the facility where the alleged violations occurred 
is Stuart, Virginia. The consent order describes a settlement to 
resolve violations in the operations and maintenance of the 
town’s wastewater treatment plant. It requires the signatories 
to pay a civil penalty and comply with the VPDES Permit. 

How a decision is made: After public comments have been 
considered, the DEQ director will make a final decision. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4554, 
FAX (804) 698-4116, or email ccbigelow@deq.virginia.gov. 
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To review the consent order: The public may review the 
proposed consent order at the DEQ West Central Regional 
Office in Roanoke, Virginia, every work day by appointment 
or on the DEQ website at www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information Jerry Ford, Jr., Department of 
Environmental Quality, West Central Regional Office, 3019 
Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, Virginia 24019, telephone (540) 
562-6700, FAX (540) 562-6725, or email 
jrford@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Whispering 
Pines, Inc. 

Purpose of notice: To seek public comment on a proposed 
consent order from the Department of Environmental Quality 
for a facility in Accomack County, Virginia. 

Public comment period: November 14, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description:  The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Whispering Pines, Inc., to 
address alleged violations of the Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System Permit Regulations. The location of the 
property where the alleged violation occurred is the 
Whispering Pines Motel, 23388 Tasley Rd., Tasley, Virginia. 
The consent order describes a settlement to address the failure 
of Whispering Pines, Inc., to comply with permit 
requirements, including a corrective action schedule for 
treatment plant upgrades and timely submittal of Discharge 
Monitoring Reports (DMRs).  The consent order includes a 
revised corrective action schedule and requires Whispering 
Pines, Inc., to pay a civil charge. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax, or postal mail.  All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period.  The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests, and 
additional information Matthew J. Strickler, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, telephone 
(757) 518-2185, FAX (757) 518-2003, or email 
mjstrickler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Consent Special Order - Woodbridge 
MHP, LLC  

Purpose of notice: To invite citizens to comment on a 
proposed consent order for a facility in Woodbridge, Virginia 
(Prince William County). 

Public comment period: November 13, 2006, to December 
13, 2006. 

Consent order description: The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order to Woodbridge MHP, 
L.L.C., to address alleged violations of the Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination System Permit No. VA0027855. The 
location of the facility where the alleged violations occurred 
is 13145 Minnieville Road. The consent order describes a 
settlement to resolve permit effluent limit violations and late 
submittal of financial assurance documents.  

How to comment: DEQ accepts comments from the public by 
email, fax or postal mail. All comments must include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ within the comment 
period. The public may review the proposed consent order at 
the DEQ office named or on the DEQ website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. 

Contact for public comments, document requests and 
additional information Carl Ciccarelli, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Virginia Regional Office, 
13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone 
(703) 583-3862, FAX (703) 583-3841, or email 
cjciccarelli@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 
Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, FAX (804) 692-0625. 

Forms for Filing Material for Publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations 

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when 
furnishing material for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. The forms may be obtained from: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591. 

Internet: Forms and other Virginia Register resources may 
be printed or downloaded from the Virginia Register web 
page: http://register.state.va.us. 

FORMS: 

NOTICE of INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION-RR01 
NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD-RR02 
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet)-RR03 
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet)-RR04 
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet)-RR05 
NOTICE of MEETING-RR06 
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE 
OBJECTIONS-RR08 
RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR RULEMAKING-RR13 
FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING ACTION-RR14 
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ERRATA 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Titles of Regulations:  9 VAC 5-20. General Provisions 
(Rev. D04). 

9 VAC 5-40. Existing Stationary Sources (Rev. D04). 

Publication:  22:26 VA.R. 4110-4141 September 4, 2006. 

Corrections to Final Regulation: 

Page 4113, 9 VAC 5-20-21 E 4 a (21), line 3, change 
"Plant" to "Plants" 

Page 4123, 9 VAC 5-40-7140, Table 4-49A, 1st column, 
row 4, in second column opposite "Specialty Coatings [ : ]" 
delete "530" 

Page 4123, 9 VAC 5-40-7140, Table 4-49A, 2nd column, 
line 34, in first column, delete hyphen between "Sealers" 
and "and" 

Page 4125, 9 VAC 5-40-7260, second column, in definition 
of "ACP emissions," in first equation, change "K" to "..." 

Page 4126, 9 VAC 5-40-7260, first column, in definition of 
"ACP emissions," after "1. For all products except for 
charcoal lighter material products:" and before the 
equation, delete "where" 

Page 4126, 9 VAC 5-40-7260, first column, in definition of 
"ACP limit," in first equation, change "K" to "..." 

Page 4135, 9 VAC 5-40-7260, first column, in definition of 
"Total maximum historical emissions," in first equation, 
change "K" to "..." 

Page 4135, 9 VAC 5-40-7260, second column, in definition 
of "Type A propellant," lines 1 and 2, change "CO sub2, N 
sub2, N sub2 O" to "CO2, N2, N2O" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-66; Filed October 10, 2006, 3:40 p.m. 

* * * * * * * * 

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 5-40. Existing Stationary 
Sources (Rev. H03). 

Publication:  23:1 VA.R. 28-38 September 18, 2006. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 37, 9 VAC 5-40-5641 C, "Model Ordinance," in 
subsection B of Section (000-6), first column, line 1, after 
"permitted," insert "[ on-site ]" and change "disposal" to 
"[ disposal destruction ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-24; Filed October 26, 2006, 11:32 a.m. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 15-20. Virginia Asbestos 
Licensing Regulations. 

Publication:  23:3 VA.R. 450-470 October 16, 2006. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 457, 18 VAC 15-20-33 E 2 b (2), line 6, change 
"analysis" to "analyst" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R04-241; Filed October 25, 2006, 12:02 p.m. 
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS 

EXECUTIVE 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

† November 21, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Division of Legislative Services, General Assembly Building, 
910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss general matters about statutory 
review. Public comment will not be taken at the meeting. 
The public may observe and submit comments in writing 
within 10 days following the meeting. All meetings are 
subject to change. Any person desiring to attend the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the board office at 804-
367-8505 or 804-367-9753/TTY as soon as possible so 
suitable arrangements can be made. The board fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Nancy Taylor Feldman, Executive Director, Board 
of Accountancy, 3600 W. Broad St., Suite 378, Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8505, FAX (804) 367-2174, 
email boa@boa.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

December 7, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Oliver Hill Building, 102 Governor Street, 220 Board Room, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss issues related to Virginia agriculture 
and consumer services. Two regulations will be discussed: 
2 VAC 5-585, Retail Food Establishment Regulations, and 
2 VAC 5-490, Regulations Governing Grade "A" Milk. 
The board will entertain public comment at the conclusion 
of all other business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. 

Any person who needs any accommodation in order to 
participate at the meeting should contact Roy Seward at 
least five days before the meeting date so that suitable 
arrangements can be made.   

Contact:  Roy E. Seward, Board Secretary, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Oliver Hill Bldg., 102 
Governor St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-3538, FAX (804) 371-2945, email 
roy.seward@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

† November 13, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Dominion Resources Offices, Innsbrook Technical Center, 
Dominion Boulevard, Glen Allen, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the advisory board. 

Contact:  Janet Wynne, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4140, email jtwynne@deq.virginia.gov. 

† December 6, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Sheraton Richmond West, 6624 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the board and the annual meeting with 
the advisory board. 

Contact:  Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 
of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4346, 
email cmberndt@deq.virginia.gov. 
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

November 20, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 4, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 18, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Road, Richmond, Virginia.  

An executive staff meeting to receive and discuss reports 
and activities from staff members and to discuss other 
matters not yet determined. 

Contact:  W. Curtis Coleburn, III, Secretary to the Board, 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Rd., Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4409, FAX 
(804) 213-4411, (804) 213-4687/TTY , email 
curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

† January 31, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Architects Section to conduct board 
business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

† February 6, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Interior Designers Section to conduct 
board business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 

St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

† February 8, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Professional Engineers Section to conduct 
board business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

† February 13, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Landscape Architects Section to conduct 
board business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

ART AND ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW BOARD 
December 1, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Science Museum of Virginia, 2500 West Broad Street, Forum 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A monthly meeting to review projects submitted by state 
agencies. Art and Architectural Review Board submittal 
forms and submittal instructions can be downloaded by 
visiting the DGS Forms Center at www.dgs.virginia.gov. 
Request form #DGS-30-905 or submittal instructions 
#DGS-30-906. The deadline for submitting project 
datasheets and other required information is two weeks 
prior to the meeting date. 

Contact:  Brian Ohlinger, AIA, Chairman, Art and 
Architectural Review Board, 700 West Grace Street, Suite 
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2200, Richmond, VA 23284, telephone (804) 828-9647, FAX 
(804) 828-1288, (804) 786-6152/TTY, or email 
bjohling@vcu.edu. 

VIRGINIA COMMISSION FOR THE ARTS 

December 7, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond, Virginia; location to be announced.  (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly meeting of the commissioners to review grant 
award recommendations by the Arts in Education Teacher 
Incentive Grant Panel, as well as grant award 
recommendations by the Technology Enhancement Grant 
Panel. 

Contact:  Peggy Baggett, Executive Director, Virginia 
Commission for the Arts, 223 Governor St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-3132, FAX (804) 225-4327, 
(804) 225-3132/TTY , email 
peggy.baggett@arts.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS  

December 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Room 453, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A licensing informal fact-finding conference. 

Contact:  David Dick, Assistant Director, Virginia Board for 
Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 3600 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 
367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
asbestos@dpor.virginia.gov. 

† February 1, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting including consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. A 
portion of the board's business may be discussed in closed 
session. Public comment will be heard at the beginning of 
the meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the meeting 
and requiring special accommodations or interpretive 
services should contact the department at least 10 days 
prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. The department fully complies with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  David Dick, Executive Director, Virginia Board for 
Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 3600 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, FAX (804) 
367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

† January 18, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. A portion of the 
board's business may be discussed in closed session. Public 
comment will be heard at the beginning of the meeting. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpretive services should 
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Marian H. Brooks, Regulatory Board 
Administrator, Auctioneers Board, 3600 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 
367-0795, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 
November 17, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Room 453, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

An informal fact-finding conference. 

Contact:  William H. Ferguson, II, Executive Director, Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474, 
(804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

December 11, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

December 29, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology intends to adopt regulations entitled 18 VAC 
41-70, Esthetics Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to promulgate regulations governing the licensure 
and  practice of esthetics as directed by Chapter 829 of the 
2005 Acts of Assembly. In addition to any other comments, 
the board is seeking comments on the costs and benefits of 
the proposal and the potential impacts of this regulatory 
proposal.  Also, the board is seeking information on 
impacts on small businesses as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of 
the Code of Virginia.  Information may include (i) 
projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative 
costs, (ii) probable effect of the regulation on affected 
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small businesses, and (iii) description of less intrusive or 
costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
regulation. Anyone wishing to submit written comments 
may do so by mail, email or fax to William H. Ferguson II, 
Executive Director, Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 
3600 West Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-6295, 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov.  In order to be 
considered, comments must be received by the last date of 
the public comment period.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  William H. Ferguson, II, Executive Director, Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474, 
(804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

December 4, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 5, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Pilot Association, 3329 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct examinations for renewal of licenses. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Branch Pilots, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

December 11, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 2, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board’s business 
may be discussed in closed session. All meetings are 
subject to cancellation. Any person desiring to attend the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the board at least 10 
days prior to the meeting so suitable arrangements can be 
made. The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Branch Pilots, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

† February 1, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct examinations. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Branch Pilots, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS ASSISTANCE 

Small Business Advisory Board 

† November 13, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
707 East Main Street, 3rd Floor Board Room, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A regular bimonthly meeting. 

Contact:  Barbara E. Anderson, Administrative Assistant, 
Department of Business Assistance, 707 E. Main St., Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6280, FAX 
(804) 371-8111, toll-free (866) 248-8814, email 
barbara.anderson@dba.virginia.gov. 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

December 5, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Science Museum of Virginia, 2500 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular board meeting. 

Contact:  Clyde E. Cristman, Director, Department of 
Charitable Gaming, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 
17th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1681, 
FAX (804) 786-1079, email 
clyde.cristman@dcg.virginia.gov. 

CHESAPEAKE BAY LOCAL ASSISTANCE BOARD 

December 11, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced. 

A regular meeting to review local programs. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

STATE CHILD FATALITY REVIEW TEAM 
November 17, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, 400 East Jackson 
Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

The business portion of the State Child Fatality Review 
Team meeting, from 10 a.m. to 10:30 a.m., is open to the 
public. At the conclusion of the open meeting, the team 
will go into closed session for confidential case review. 
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Contact:  Rae Hunter-Havens, Coordinator, State Child 
Fatality Review, 400 E. Jackson St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-1047, FAX (804) 371-8595, toll-free 
(800) 447-1708, email rae.hunter-havens@vdh.virginia.gov. 

OFFICE OF COMMONWEALTH PREPAREDNESS 

Secure Commonwealth Panel 

† November 29, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Wendy Hoffman, Special Assistant, Office of 
Governor, Patrick Henry Building, 3rd Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 692-2595, email 
wendy.hoffman@governor.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGES 
November 14, 2006 - 11:45 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Boar's Head Inn, 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The 2006 annual meeting. A registration fee is required. 

Contact:  D. Susan Hayden, Director of Public Affairs, 
Virginia Community College System, 101 N. 14th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 819-4961, FAX (804) 
819-4768, (804) 371-8504/TTY  

November 15, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Boar's Head Inn, 200 Ednam Drive, Charlottesville, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

Meetings of the Budget and Finance, Academic, Student 
Affairs and Workforce Development, Audit, Facilities, and 
the Personnel committees. 

Contact:  D. Susan Hayden, Director of Public Affairs, 
Virginia Community College System, 101 N. 14th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 819-4961, FAX (804) 
819-4768, (804) 371-8504/TTY  

November 16, 2006 - 9:15 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Goochland Campus, J. Sargeant Reynolds Community 
College, 1851 Dickenson Road, Goochland, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

January 17, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Community College System, James Monroe 
Building, 101 North 14th Street, 15th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

Meetings of the Academic Committee, Student Affairs and 
Workforce Development Committee, Budget and Finance 
Committee, Facilities Committee, Audit Committee, and 
Personnel Committee. ` 

Contact:  D. Susan Hayden, Director of Public Affairs, 
Virginia Community College System, 101 N. 14th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 819-4961, FAX (804) 
819-4768, (804) 371-8504/TTY  

January 18, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Godwin-Hamel Board Room, James Monroe Building, 101 
North 14th Street, 15th Floor, James Monroe Building, 
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A meeting of the full board. Public comment may be 
received upon written notification at least five working 
days prior to the meeting. 

Contact:  D. Susan Hayden, Director of Public Affairs, 
Virginia Community College System, 101 N. 14th St., 15th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 819-4961, 
FAX (804) 819-4768, (804) 371-8504/TTY  

COMPENSATION BOARD 

November 15, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 20, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
102 Governor Street, Lower Level, Room LL22, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A monthly board meeting. 

Contact:  Cindy Waddell, Compensation Board, P.O. Box 
710, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3308, FAX 
(804) 371-0235, email cindy.waddell@scb.virginia.gov. 

COMMONWEALTH COMPETITION COUNCIL 

† November 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 3 East 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the 
deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Peggy Robertson, Staff, Commonwealth 
Competition Council, 1111 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-3812, FAX (804) 225-3291, 
email peggy.robertson@dpb.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

November 13, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 13, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Middle Peninsula Planning District Commission (Planning 
District 9), 125 Bowdeb Street, Saluda, Virginia.  

November 15, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 15, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Crater Planning District Commission Office, 1964 Wakefield 
Street, Petersburg, Virginia.  
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November 15, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 15, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Northern Virginia Regional Commission Office (Planning 
District 8), 3060 Williams Drive, Suite 510, Fairfax, 
Virginia.  

November 16, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 16, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Regional Planning District Commission Office 
(Planning District 15), 2104 West Laburnum Avenue, Suite 
101, Richmond, Virginia. 

November 27, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 27, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Hampton Roads Planning District Commission Office 723 
Woodlake Drive, Chesapeake, Virginia.  

† November 27, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† November 27, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Mount Rogers Planning District Commission Office, 1021 
Terrace Drive Marion, Virginia.  

November 27, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 27, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Region 2000 Local Government Council area (Planning 
District 11), Lynchburg Public Library, 2315 Memorial 
Avenue,  Lynchburg, Virginia.  

November 28, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 28, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission Office 
(Planning District 10), 401 East Water Street, Charlottesville, 
Virginia.  

November 28, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 28, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission Office 
(Planning District 5), 313 Luck Avenue, S.W., Roanoke, 
Virginia.  

November 29, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 29, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Central Shenandoah Planning District Commission Office 
(Planning District 6), 1112 MacTanly Place, Staunton, 
Virginia.  

† November 29, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† November 29, 2006 - 7 pm.. -- Open Meeting 
LENOWISCO Planning District Commission Office, 6913 
Duff-Patt Road, Duffield, Virginia.  

November 30, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Council (Planning District 
9), Culpeper County Library, 271 Southgate Shopping 
Center, Culpeper, Virginia.  

November 30, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Warren County Government Center (Northern Shenandoah 
Valley Regional Commission (Planning District 7)), 200 
North Commerce Avenue, Community Room, Front Royal, 
Virginia.  

† November 30, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Cumberland Plateau Planning District Commission Office, 
950 Clydesway Road, Lebanon, Virginia.  

† December 4, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 4, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
New River Valley Planning District Commission Office, 
6580 Valley Center Drive, Radford, Virginia.  

† December 5, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 5, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
West Piedmont Planning District Commission Office, 1100 
Madison Street, Martinsville, Virginia.  

† December 6, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 6, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Southside Planning District Commission Office, 200 South 
Mecklenburg Avenue, South Hill, Virginia.  

The Virginia Outdoors Plan is the Commonwealth’s 
official conservation, outdoor recreation, and open space 
plan, and it is intended to serve as a guide to all levels of 
government and the private sector in meeting the land 
conservation, outdoor recreation, and open space needs of 
the state. The 2007 edition of the Virginia Outdoors Plan 
(VOP) will be the 9th produced in Virginia in accordance 
with § 10.1-200 of the Code of Virginia. In addition, the 
plan serves as a guidance document for the protection of 
lands through actions of the Virginia Land Conservation 
Foundation (VLCF). Its development is also necessary in 
order to meet requirements for Virginia’s participation in 
the federal Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF) 
program. Preparation of the 2007 VOP has been under 
development this past year, and now the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation has scheduled public 
meetings to introduce this coming year’s plan and 
specifically, regional sections. Areas discussed in the plan 
follow boundaries of Planning Districts (Regional 
Commissions). With this series of meetings, it is DCR’s 
intent to provide the public with an overview of the VOP, 
outline draft recommendations for local areas, receive 
comments on these recommendations, obtain additional 
ideas, and solicit any comments or recommendations for 
land conservation efforts in the region. DCR will also be 
accepting comments in writing at the address on this 
announcement (please put Attn: John Davy, Division 
Director, on the envelope), or email the office at the 
following address, vop@dcr.virginia.gov . To keep abreast 
of the latest developments, please visit 
www.dcr.virginia.gov. 



Calendar of Events 

Volume 23, Issue 5 Virginia Register of Regulations November 13, 2006 

798 

Contact:  Janit Llewellyn, Environmental Program Planner, 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor 
Street, Suite 326 Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
0887, FAX (804) 371-7899, email 
janit.llwellyn@dcr.virginia.gov. 

† November 15, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Loudoun County Government Center, Lovettsville Room, 
Leesburg, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Goose Creek Scenic River 
Advisory Committee. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

November 21, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced. 

A meeting of the Virginia Land Conservation Foundation 
to review grant manual criteria. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

December 14, 2006 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Richmond City Hall, 900 East Broad Street, 5th Floor, 
Planning Commission Conference Room, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

A regular meeting of the Falls of the James Scenic River 
Advisory Committee to discuss river issues. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Board of Conservation and Recreation 

† November 30, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Bear Creek Lake State Park, 929 Oak Hill Road, Cumberland, 
Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATE AND LOCATION 
† November 15, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Association of Electric Companies, 4201 Dominion 
Boulevard, Conference Room, Glen Allen, Virginia. 

A regular board meeting and a presentation, discussion and 
possible approval of the draft of the proposed impounding 
structure (dam safety) regulations. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

November 14, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† November 28, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 5, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Room 453, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

An informal fact-finding conference. 

Contact:  Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

November 28, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 19, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting to address policy and procedural issues 
and review and render decisions on matured complaints 
against licensees. The meeting is open to the public; 
however, a portion of the board's business may be 
conducted in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to this meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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November 28, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting of the Board for Contractors 
Committee. The meeting starts after the Board for 
Contractors meeting. 

Contact:  Kevin Hoeft, Regulatory Boards Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804) 367-9753/TTY , 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONS 

November 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 3rd Floor 
Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Liaison Committee to discuss correctional 
matters of interest to the board. 

Contact: Barbara Woodhouse, Administrative Staff 
Assistant, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3124, FAX (804) 
674-3236, email barbara.woodhouse@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

November 14, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 3rd Floor, 
Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Correctional Services/Policy and 
Regulations Committee to discuss correctional services and 
policy/regulation matters to be considered by the board. 

Contact: Barbara Woodhouse, Administrative Staff 
Assistant, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3124, FAX (804) 
674-3236, email barbara.woodhouse@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

November 15, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 3rd Floor, 
Room 3054, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Administration Committee to discuss 
administrative matters to be considered by the board.  

Contact: Barbara Woodhouse, Administrative Staff 
Assistant, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3124, FAX (804) 
674-3236, email barbara.woodhouse@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

November 15, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Drive, 3rd Floor 
Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the full board to review and discuss 
all matters considered by board committees that require 
presentation to and action by the board. 

Contact: Barbara Woodhouse, Administrative Staff 
Assistant, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3124, FAX (804) 
674-3236, email barbara.woodhouse@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

† March 8, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Street, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  

January 12, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 
intends to adopt regulations entitled 6 VAC 20-250, 
Regulations Relating to Property and Surety Bail 
Bondsmen. The purpose of the proposed action is 
promulgate regulations for property and surety bail 
bondsmen. The regulation establishes a licensure process, 
training standards, fee schedule, and the administration of 
the regulatory system.  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Leon D. Baker, Jr., Division Director, Department 
of Criminal Justice Services, Eighth Street Office Bldg., 805 
E. Broad St., 10th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-4086, FAX (804) 786-0588, or 
email lbaker@dcjs.virginia.gov.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

November 17, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Special Conference Committee to hold 
informal conferences. There will not be a public comment 
period. 

Contact: Cheri Emma-Leigh, Operations Manager, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9906, 
FAX (804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
cheri.emma-leigh@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 1, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Credentials Committee to hold informal 
conferences. There will not be a public comment period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
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(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 7, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Informal conferences. There will not be a public comment 
period. 

Contact:  Cheri Emma-Leigh, Operations Manager, Board of 
Dentistry, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23230, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX (804) 662-7246, 
(804) 662-7197/TTY , email cheri.emma-
leigh@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss board business. There will be a 15-
minute public comment period at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DESIGN BUILD/CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT 
REVIEW BOARD 

November 16, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 21, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of General Services, 202 North Ninth Street, 
Room 412, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A monthly meeting to review requests submitted by 
localities to use the design build or construction 
management type contracts. Contact the Division of 
Engineering and Buildings to confirm this meeting. Board 
rules and regulations can be obtained on-line at 
www.dgs.virginia.gov under DGS Forms, Form #DGS-30-
904. 

Contact: Rhonda M. Bishton, Administrative Assistant, 
Division of Engineering and Buildings, Department of 
General Services, 202 N. Ninth St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3263, FAX (804) 371-7934, (804) 786-
6152/TTY , email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF EDUCATION 

† November 20, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Marriott West Hotel, 4240 Dominion Boulevard, 
Glen Allen, Virginia. 

† January 22, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced. 

A meeting of the Advisory Board on Teacher Education 
and Licensure. For additional information, contact Patty 
Pitts, Director of Teacher Licensure at the Department of 
Education, (804) 371-2471, email 
patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

November 29, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
January 10, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Main Lobby 
Level, Conference Rooms C and D, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular business meeting of the board. Public comment 
will be received. The public is urged to confirm 
arrangements prior to each meeting by viewing the 
Department of Education's public meeting calendar at 
http://www.pen.k12.va.us/VDOE/meetings.html. This site 
will contain the latest information on the meeting 
arrangements and will note any last minute changes in time 
or location. Persons who wish to speak or who require the 
services of an interpreter for the deaf should contact the 
agency at least 72 hours in advance. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

† November 29, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 22nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A public hearing on Revised English Language 
Proficiency. Speakers will have three minutes to speak and 
should bring copies of their comments for the board. 
Additionally, comments may be sent via mail, fax, or email 
until December 22, 2006, to Val Gooss, ESL coordinator, 
Office of Program Administration and Accountability, 
Virginia Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
Richmond, VA 23218-2120; fax (804) 371-7347; or email 
elpstandards@doe.virginia.gov. If you need additional 
information relating to the proposed revisions to the ELP 
standards, please contact Val Gooss at 
valerie.gooss@doe.virginia.gov or (804) 786-1692. 
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Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

November 29, 2006 -  11 a.m. -- Public Hearing  
Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 
14th Street, 22nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

December 15, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 8 VAC 20-21, Licensure 
Regulations for School Personnel and adopt regulations 
entitled 8 VAC 20-22, Licensure Regulations for School 
Personnel. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
propose substantive changes in the requirements for 
licensure of school personnel. In a concurrent action, the 
Board of Education proposes to repeal the text of the 
current regulations (8 VAC 20-21) and promulgate new 
regulations (8 VAC 20-22). Substantive new requirements 
are proposed for the following areas: (i) conditions for 
licensure; (ii) types of licenses; (iii) designations of career 
paths to teaching; (iv) added endorsements by examination; 
(v) conditions for licensure by reciprocity; (vi) names of a 
few endorsements and requirements for some teaching 
areas; (vii) endorsement areas by adding the mathematics 
specialist, school manager, and speech language assistants; 
and (viii) the administration and supervision endorsement.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-298.1 and 22.1-299 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

November 29, 2006 -  11 a.m. -- Public Hearing  
Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 
14th Street, 22nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

December 15, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 8 VAC 20-541, Regulations 
Governing Approved Programs for Virginia 
Institutions of Higher Education and adopt regulations 
entitled 8 VAC 20-542, Regulations Governing the 

Review and Approval of Education Programs in 
Virginia. During recent years, national, state, and local 
educators as well as members of the general public have 
placed increased emphasis on the need to ensure in our 
nation’s schools the provision of highly qualified teachers 
who in turn make a positive impact on preK-12 student 
achievement. Federal legislation such as the 2001 No Child 
Left Behind Act (NCLB) and the 1998 Reauthorization of 
the Title II Higher Education Act (Title II HEA) clearly 
express the need for increased accountability from states 
and institutions of higher education in the preparation, 
certification, and licensure of teachers and other school 
personnel.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-298.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

SECRETARY OF EDUCATION 

November 15, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 6, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Capital One West Creek Campus, Town Center Building, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A full council meeting of the Start Strong Pre-K Council. 

Contact: Kendall Tyree, Special Assistant to the Secretary of 
Education, 1111 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 692-2550, email 
kendall.tyree@governor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

November 14, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Page County Courthouse, South Court Street, Luray, 
Virginia.  

The first public meeting on the development of the 
implementation plan for fecal coliform bacterial TMDLs on 
Mill and Hawksbill Creeks located in Page County. The 
public notice appeared in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations on October 30, 2006. 

Contact:  Nesha Mizel, Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation, 44 Sangers Lane, Suite 102, Staunton, VA 
24401, telephone (540) 332-9238, email 
mesha.mizel@dcr.virginia.gov. 
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† November 15, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Johnson Recreation Center, 18849 Kings Highway, Montross, 
Virginia.  

The first public meeting on the development of fecal 
coliform TMDLs for shellfish propagation waters in 
Westmoreland County. The public notice appears in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations on November 13, 2006. 
The public comment period begins on November 15, 2006, 
and ends on December 15, 2006 

Contact:  Chester Bigelow, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4554, FAX (804) 698-4116, 
email ccbigelow@deq.virginia.gov. 

† November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Scottsville Town Council Chambers, 401 Valley Street, 
Scottsville, Virginia.  

The first public meeting on the development of bacteria 
TMDLs for the Hardware and North Fork Hardware Rivers 
in Albemarle and Fluvanna Counties. The public notice 
appears in the Virginia Register of Regulations on 
November 13, 2006. The public comment period begins on 
November 30, 2006, and ends on January 2, 2007. 

Contact:  Robert Brent, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 4411 Early Rd., PO Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 
22801, telephone (540) 574-7848, FAX (540) 574-7878, 
email rnbrent@deq.virginia.gov. 

† November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Essex Public Library, 117 North Church Lane, 
Tappahannock, Virginia.  

The final public meeting and technical advisory committee 
meeting on a study to restore water quality in the waters of 
Occupacia Creek and it’s tributaries in Essex County. This 
stream is impaired for failure to meet the primary contact 
(recreational) designated use because of bacterial standard 
violations. The public notice appears in the Virginia 
Register on November 13, 2006. The public comment 
period begins on November 30, 2006, and ends on January 
2, 2007. 

Contact:  Chris French, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 4949-A Cox Rd., Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone 
(804) 527-5124, email rcfrench@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 
November 16, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Fire Programs Headquarters, Glen Allen, 
Virginia.  

9:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. - Burn Building Subcommittee  
11 a.m. to 5 p.m. - Training Mini-Grant Application 
review/awards 

Contact:  Brook M. Pittinger, Quality Assurance Chief, 
Virginia Fire Services Board, 1005 Technology Park Dr., 
Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 249-1907, toll-free 
(866) 482-3473, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

† December 13, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henry County Emergency Training Center, 1024 Dupont 
Road, Martinsville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

Orientation for new board members.  

Contact:  Brook M. Pittinger, Quality Assurance Chief, 
Virginia Fire Services Board, 1005 Technology Park Dr., 
Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 249-1970, toll-free 
(866) 482-3473, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

† December 13, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henry County Emergency Training Center, 1024 Dupont 
Road, Martinsville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Executive Committee. 

Contact:  Brook M. Pittinger, Quality Assurance Chief, 
Virginia Fire Services Board, 1005 Technology Park Dr., 
Glen Allen, VA 23059telephone (804) 249-1970, toll-free 
(866) 482-3473, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

† December 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henry County Emergency Training Center, 1024 Dupont 
Road, Martinsville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

Committee meetings will be held as follows:  

Education and Training - 10 a.m. 
Fire Prevention and Control - 2 p.m.  
Administration, Policy and Finance - 3 p.m. 

Contact:  Brook M. Pittinger, Quality Assurance Chief, 
Virginia Fire Services Board, 1005 Technology Park Dr., 
Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 249-1970, toll-free 
(866) 482-3473, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

† December 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henry County Emergency Training Center, 1024 Dupont 
Road, Martinsville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A full board meeting. 

Contact:  Brook M. Pittinger, Quality Assurance Chief, 
Virginia Fire Services Board, 1005 Technology Park Dr., 
Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 249-1970, toll-free 
(866) 482-3473, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 
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BOARD OF FORESTRY 

November 13, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Forestry, Central Office, 900 Natural 
Resources Drive, Charlottesville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for 
the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  Donna S. Hoy, Administrative Staff Specialist, 
Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Dr., 
Charlottesville, VA 22903, telephone (434) 977-6555, FAX 
(434) 977-7749, email donna.hoy@dof.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

November 16, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Task Force on Cremation Laws and 
Regulations to discuss matters as they pertain to the 
cremation laws and regulations. 

Contact:  Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. 
Broad St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone 
(804) 662-9907, FAX (804) 662-9523, (804) 662-7197/TTY 

, email elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov. 

COUNCIL ON VIRGINIA'S FUTURE 

December 15, 2006 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Street, Senate 
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the members of the Council on Virginia's 
Future, related staff, members of the press, and the general 
public. 

Contact:  Gilbert M. An (Gigi), Executive Assistant to the 
Director, Virginia Research and Technology Advisory 
Commission, 1001 E. Broad St., Suite 430, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2346, FAX (804) 371-2347, 
email gma2n@virginia.edu. 

BOARD FOR GEOLOGY 

† January 3, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting including consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. The 
meeting is open to the public; however, a portion of the 
board's business may be conducted in closed session. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpretive services should 

contact the department at least 10 days prior to this meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board for 
Geology, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8507, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
geology@dpor.virginia.gov. 

GEORGE MASON UNIVERSITY 
December 6, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† January 31, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Fairfax Campus, Mason Hall, Fairfax, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Board of Visitors. Agenda items will be 
posted 10 days prior to the meeting. 

Contact:  Mary Roper, Secretary Pro Tem, George Mason 
University, 4400 University Dr., Fairfax, VA 22030, 
telephone (703) 993-8703, toll-free (703) 993-8707, email 
mroper@gmu.edu. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 
November 18, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
repeal regulations entitled 12 VAC 5-40, Regulations 
Governing Financial Assistance for Emergency Medical 
Services, and amend regulations entitled 12 VAC 5-31, 
Virginia Emergency Medical Services Regulations. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to adopt regulations for 
designation of regional EMS councils and revise 
regulations regarding the Rescue Squad Assistance Fund 
(RSAF) combining them with all regulations governing 
EMS in Virginia. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12, 32.1-111.4 and 32.1-111.11 
of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Michael D. Berg, Manager, Regulation and 
Compliance, Department of Health, 109 Governor St, UB-55, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7615, FAX (804) 
864-7580, toll-free 1-800-523-6019 or email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

December 18, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
amend regulations entitled 12 VAC 5-585, Biosolids Use 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
provide regulations and standards for site specific 
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management practices, including nutrient management 
plans for land applying Class B sewage sludge in the 
Commonwealth, and to provide for resolving disputes 
concerning permit compliance that may arise between land 
appliers and local governments. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-164.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: C.M. Sawyer, Division Director, Department of 
Health, 109 Governor St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7463, FAX (804) 864-7475 or email 
cal.sawyer@vdh.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

November 16, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 5th Floor, 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  
Will also be scheduled in remote locations via video 
conference. 

A meeting of the Authorized Onsite Soil Evaluator 
Regulations Advisory Committee to make 
recommendations to the commissioner regarding AOSE/PE 
policies and programs. 

Contact:  Dwayne Roadcap, Program Manager, Department 
of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7462, FAX (804) 864-7476, email 
dwayne.roadcap@vdh.virginia.gov. 

† November 17, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 15, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 5th Floor, 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting of the Sewage Handling and Disposal 
Regulations Advisory Committee to make 
recommendations to the commissioner regarding sewage 
handling and disposal policies, procedures and programs of 
the department. 

Contact:  Donald Alexander, Division Director, Department 
of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7452, FAX (804) 864-7476, email 
don.alexander@vdh.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association, 4200 Innslake 
Drive, Glen Allen, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Virginia Early Hearing Detection and 
Intervention Program Advisory Committee to assist the 
Department of Health in the implementation of the Virginia 
Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. Public 
comment will not be received. 

Contact:  Pat Dewey, M.Ed., Program Manager, Department 
of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-7713, email 
pat.dewey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

December 10, 2006 -  Canceled 
Holiday Inn Tanglewood, 4468 Starkey Road SW, Roanoke, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to solicit public comment for the Virginia 
Department of Health use of Ryan White CARE Act Title 
II funds is canceled. 

Contact:  Ben Alonso, Health Care Planner, Department of 
Health, 109 Governor St., Room 326, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-8022, FAX (804) 864-8050, email 
ben.alonso@vdh.virginia.gov. 

December 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads, 2535 
Turkey Creek Road, Oilville, Virginia.  

A regular meeting for the Regulation and Policy 
Committee for the EMS Advisory Board. 

Contact:  Michael D. Berg, Manager, Regulation and 
Compliance, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Suite 
UB-55, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7600, 
FAX (804) 864-7580, toll-free (800) 523-6019, email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS 

November 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting including consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. The 
meeting is open to the public; however, a portion of the 
board's business may be discussed in closed session. Public 
comment will be heard at the beginning of the meeting. 
Person desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpretive services should 
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: William H. Ferguson, II, Executive Director, Board 
for Hearing Aid Specialists, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-
6295, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

November 13, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Omni, 100 South 12th Street, 2nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A special meeting to review and approve the institutional 
performance standards. 

Contact:  Lee Ann Rung, State Council of Higher Education 
for Virginia, 101 N. 14th St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-2602, FAX (804) 371-7911, email 
leeannrung@schev.edu. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

November 16, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501 
North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting of the Community Development Codes and 
Standards Committee to discuss building and fire code 
updates and national model codes. 

Contact:  Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219-1321, 
telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX (804) 371-7090, (804) 371-
7089/TTY , email steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

State Building Code Technical Review Board 

November 17, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Housing and Community Development, 501 
North 2nd Street, Richmond, Virginia.   

The State Building Code Technical Review Board hears 
appeals from application of the department's building and 
fire regulations, typically after an appeal has been heard by 
a local government appeals board. The board also makes 
recommendations to the Board of Housing and Community 
Development for amendments to the regulations. 

Contact:  Vernon Hodge, Secretary, Department of Housing 
and Community Development, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, 
VA 23219-1321, telephone (804) 371-7150. 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

† November 29, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
TowneBank, Community Room, 109 E. Main Street, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the 
Virginia Housing Development Authority. The Board of 
Commissioners will review and, if appropriate, approve the 
minutes from the prior meeting; may consider for approval 
and ratification mortgage loan commitments under its 
various programs; will review the Authority’s operations 
for the prior months; and will consider such other matters 
and take such other actions as they may deem appropriate. 
Various committees of the Board of Commissioners, 
including the Programs Committee, the Audit Committee, 
the Operations Committee, the Executive Committee, and 
the Committee of the Whole may also meet before and 
after the meeting and may consider matters within their 
purview. The committees and the board may also meet 
during meals on the day of the meeting. The planned 
agenda of the meeting will be available at the offices of the 
Authority one week prior to the date of the meeting. 

Contact:  J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, Virginia 
Housing Development Authority, 601 S. Belvidere St., 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5540, FAX (804) 
783-6701, toll-free (800) 968-7837, (804) 783-6705/TTY , 
email judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCE 
MANAGEMENT 

December 16, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Human Resource 
Management intends to adopt regulations entitled 1 VAC 
55-30, Long-Term Care Program. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to establish regulations used by the 
Department of Human Resource Management in the 
administration of the long-term care plan for state 
employees, retirees and terminated vested participants of 
the Virginia Retirement System, as well as employees of 
local governments that have chosen to offer the plan. The 
regulations define eligibility and underwriting provisions, 
as well as establish distinct insurance classifications for 
participants. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-1207 and 2.2-1208 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact:  Charles Reed, Associate Director, Department of 
Human Resource Management, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 13th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3124, FAX (804) 371-2505, email 
charles.reed@dhrm.virginia.gov.  
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VIRGINIA COUNCIL ON HUMAN RESOURCES  

December 14, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, PDS 4, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A quarterly meeting. 

Contact:  Charles Reed, Associate Director, Department of 
Human Resource Management, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 13th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3124, FAX (804) 371-2505, email 
charles.reed@dhrm.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA INFORMATION TECHNOLOGIES AGENCY 

November 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 6, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 20, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
VRS Headquarters, 1200 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Council on Technology Services Mobile 
Workforce Workgroup. 

Contact:  Mike Hammel, Enterprise Architect, Virginia 
Information Technologies Agency, 110 S. 7th St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4016, email 
mike.hammel@vita.virginia.gov. 

JAMESTOWN-YORKTOWN FOUNDATION 

November 20, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 21, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Crowne Plaza Fort Magruder, 6945 Pocahontas Trail, 
Williamsburg, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

The semiannual two-day Board of Trustees meeting. Public 
comment will be received on the second day of the 
meeting. Contact the Foundation for a schedule. 

Contact:  Laura W. Bailey, Executive Assistant to the 
Boards, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation, P.O. Box 1607, 
Williamsburg, VA 23187, telephone (757) 253-4840, FAX 
(757) 253-5299, toll-free (888) 593-4682, (757) 253-
7236/TTY , email laura.bailey@jyf.virginia.gov. 

December 6, 2006 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond, Virginia. (call for specific location).  (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting of the Executive Committee of the 
Jamestown 2007 Steering Committee.  

Contact: Judith Leonard, Administrative Office Manager, 
Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation, 410 W. Francis St., 
Williamsburg, VA 23185, telephone (757) 253-4253, FAX 
(757) 253-4950, email judith.leonard@jyf.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

† January 29, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Juvenile Justice intends 
to adopt regulations entitled 6 VAC 35-180, Regulations 
Governing Mental Health Services Transition Plans for 
Incarcerated Juveniles. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to ensure continuity of necessary treatment and 
services for juveniles being released from incarceration.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-293.1 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia  

Contact: Deron M. Phipps, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 E. Franklin St., P. O. Box 
1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 786-6407, 
FAX (804) 371-0773, or 
email deron.phipps@djj.virginia.gov.  

* * * * * * * * 

† January 29, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Juvenile Justice intends 
to adopt regulations entitled 6 VAC 35-190, Regulations 
Governing Juvenile Work Release Programs. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to set forth the rules and 
criteria by which the Department may operate work release 
programs whereby committed juveniles (i) may be 
employed by private individuals, corporations, or state 
agencies at places of business; or (ii) may attend 
educational or other related community activity programs 
outside of a juvenile correctional facility. Chapter 648 
requires the Department to provide juveniles committed to 
the Department with opportunities to work and participate 
in career training or technical education programs as 
operated by DJJ or by the Department of Correctional 
Education (DCE) and sets forth requirements to be 
included in the regulation, including eligibility for work 
release, compensation, custody, and penalties for violating 
the terms of work release.   

Statutory Authority: §§ 66-10 and 66-25.1:3 of the Code of 
Virginia  

Contact: Deron M. Phipps, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 E. Franklin St., P. O. Box 
1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 786-6407, 
FAX (804) 371-0773, or 
email deron.phipps@djj.virginia.gov.  
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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Virginia Apprenticeship Council 
December 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Confederate Hills Recreation Building, 302 Lee Avenue, 
Highland Springs, Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  Beverley Donati, Program Director, Department of 
Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2382, FAX (804) 
786-8418, (804) 786-2376/TTY , email 
bgd@doli.state.va.us. 

LIBRARY BOARD 

November 13, 2006 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
January 19, 2007 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss matters pertaining to the Library of 
Virginia and the Library Board. 

Contact:  Jean H. Taylor, Executive Secretary Senior, The 
Library of Virginia, 800 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219-
8000, telephone (804) 692-3525, FAX (804) 692-3594, (804) 
692-3976/TTY , email jtaylor@lva.lib.va.us. 

† November 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A meeting of the Virginia Circuit Court Records 
Preservation Grant Review Board to review, evaluate, and 
appropriately award grant applications submitted by circuit 
court clerks to undertake records preservation projects in 
their offices. 

Contact:  Jean H. Taylor, Executive Secretary Senior, The 
Library of Virginia, 800 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219-
8000, telephone (804) 692-3535, FAX (804) 692-3594, (804) 
692-3976/TTY , email jtaylor@lva.lib.va.us. 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 
November 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Homestead, Chesapeake Room, Bath County, Virginia.  

A regular business meeting held in conjunction with the 
annual conference of the Virginia Association of Counties. 

Contact:  Barbara Johnson, Commission on Local 
Government, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-7024, FAX (804) 371-7090, email 
barbara.johnson@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

November 28, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 19, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
4th Floor, Newport News, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A monthly commission meeting. 

Contact:  Jane McCroskey, Commission Secretary, Marine 
Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, 
Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-2215, FAX 
(757) 247-8101, toll-free (800) 541-4646, (757) 247-
2292/TTY , email jane.mccroskey@mrc.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 
December 12, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, 13th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting. 

Contact:  Nancy Malczewski, Board Liaison, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8096, FAX (804) 
371-4981, (800) 343-0634/TTY , email 
nancy.malczewski@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

November 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

November 29, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Williamsburg Marriott, 50 Kingsmill Road, Williamsburg, 
Virginia.  

A special conference committee will convene informal 
conferences to inquire into allegations that certain 
practitioners of medicine or other healing arts may have 
violated certain laws and regulations governing the practice 
of medicine. Further, the committee may review cases with 
board staff for case disposition, including consideration of 
consent orders for settlement. The committee will meet in 
open and closed sessions pursuant to the Code of Virginia. 
Public comment will not be received.  

Contact:  Renee S. Dixson, Discipline Case Manager, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7009, 
FAX (804) 662-9517, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
renee.dixson@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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December 8, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Executive Committee to consider 
regulatory and disciplinary matters as may be presented on 
the agenda. Public comment on agenda items will be 
received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Ad Hoc Committee on Competency to 
discuss the elements involved in initial competency. Public 
comment will be received on agenda items at the beginning 
of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† January 26, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

The Legislative Committee will consider regulatory matters 
as may be presented on the agenda. Public comment on 
agenda items will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

†January 26, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 22, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

The Credentials Committee will meet to consider 
applicants for licensure and other matters of the board. 
Public comment on agenda items will be received at the 
beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Advisory Board on Midwifery 

† January 19, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

The advisory board will consider issues related to the 
regulations of midwifery. Public comment on agenda items 
will be received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Advisory Board on Physician Assistants 

† February 8, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

The advisory board will consider issues related to the 
regulations of physician assistants. Public comment on 
agenda items will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Advisory Board on Radiologic Technology 

† February 7, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

The advisory board will consider issues related to the 
regulations of radiologic technologists and radiologic 
technologist-limited. Public comment on agenda items will 
be received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 

November 17, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services intends 
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to amend regulations entitled 12 VAC 35-115, Rules and 
Regulations to Assure the Rights of Individuals 
Receiving Services from Providers of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to clarify terminology and 
procedures and align outdated provisions with applicable 
federal and state laws. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.2-203 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact:  Margaret Walsh, Director of the Office of Human 
Rights, State Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services Board, Jefferson Bldg., 1220 Bank 
St., P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone 
(804) 786-3988, FAX (804) 371-2308, email 
margaret.walsh@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

† December 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank St., 8th Floor Conference 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A public hearing to receive comments on the Synar Annual 
Report for the Virginia Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment Block Grant Application for federal fiscal year 
2006. Copies of the report are available for review at the 
Office of Substance Abuse Services, Room 818, Jefferson 
Building and at each community services board office. 
Comments may be made at the hearing or in writing by no 
later than December 14, 2006, to the Office of the 
Commissioner, Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services 
(DMHMRSAS), P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218. 
Any person wishing to make a presentation at the hearing 
should contact Sterling Deal, Ph.D. Copies of oral 
presentations should be filed at the time of the hearing. 

Contact:  Sterling Deal, Ph.D., Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-2148, FAX 
(804) 786-9248, (804) 371-8977/TTY , email 
sterling.deal@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Interagency Civil Admissions Advisory Council 

† November 15, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
VACSB, 10128-B West Broad Street, Glen Allen, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The Council will discuss its scope and goals and agenda for 
FY 2007. 

Contact:  Jane McDonald, Community Support Specialist, 
Office of Mental Health, Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, 1220 
Bank St., P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-8950, FAX (804) 786-1587, email 
jamcdonald@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Mental Health Planning Council 

December 6, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henrico CSB, 10299 Woodman Road, Conference Room C, 
Glen Allen, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A meeting to review MHBG plan, review MHBG 
Implementation Report, develop plan for 2006 issues, and 
monitor and evaluate mental health programs. 

Contact:  Will Ferriss, LCSW, Director, Planning and 
Evaluation, Office of Mental Health, Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, 
1220 Bank St., Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-
0363, FAX (804) 371-0091, email 
will.ferriss@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

STATE MILK COMMISSION 

December 13, 2006 - 10:45 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, Room 
2054, Charlottesville, Virginia.  

A regular meeting to consider industry issues, distributor 
licensing, base transfers, and reports from staff. The 
commission offers anyone in attendance an opportunity to 
speak at the conclusion of the agenda. Those persons 
requiring special accommodations should notify the agency 
meeting contact at least five working days prior to the 
meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be made. 

Contact:  Rodney Phillips, Administrator, State Milk 
Commission, 102 Governor St., Room 205, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-2013, FAX (804) 786-3779, 
email rodney.phillips@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

† December 11, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Oxbow Center, 16620 East Riverside Drive, St. Paul, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

Permit Enhancement Work Group will meet first, followed 
with Regulatory Work Group. To discuss potential 
enhancement to the DMLR permitting process. The 
regulatory work group will discuss draft language to amend 
the DMLR regulations. Public comments will be received 
as the last item of the meeting. Special accommodations for 
the disabled will be made available at the public meeting 
on request. Anyone needing special accommodations 
should contact the DMME DMLR or Virginia Relay Center 
at least seven days prior to the meeting date. 

Contact:  Leslie S. Vincent, Customer Services Manager, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of 
Mined Land Reclamation, 3405 Mountain Empire Rd., Big 
Stone Gap, VA 23219-3402, telephone (276) 523-8156, FAX 
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(275) 523-8163, (800) 828-1120/TTY , email 
les.vincent@dmme.virginia.gov. 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 

November 13, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Room 702, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

Committees will meet as follows:  

Dealer Practices Committee - 8:30 a.m.  
Licensing Committee - Immediately following Dealer 
Practices  
Advertising Committee - 9:30 a.m. or immediately after 
Licensing, whichever is later  
Transaction Recovery Fund Committee - Immediately 
following Advertising  
Franchise Law Committee - To be scheduled as needed.  
Full board meeting - 10 a.m. or five to 45 minutes 
following Transaction Recovery Fund 

NOTE: Meetings may begin later, but not earlier than 
scheduled. Meeting end times are approximate. Any person 
who needs any accommodation in order to participate in the 
meeting should contact the board at least 10 days before the 
meeting so that suitable arrangements can be made. 

Contact:  Alice R. Weedon, Administrative Assistant, Motor 
Vehicle Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1100, FAX (804) 
367-1053, toll-free (877) 270-0203, email 
dboard@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS 

November 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, The Pauley Center, 200 North 
Boulevard, Library, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Art Acquisitions Subcommittee for staff 
to update the committee in closed session. Public comment 
will not be received.   

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, FAX (804) 340-1502, 
(804) 340-1401/TTY , email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

November 15, 2006 - 8:45 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, The Pauley Center, 200 North 
Boulevard, Richmond, Virginia.  

The following committees will meet for staff updates: 

8:45 a.m. - Museum Expansion - Parlor 
11 a.m. - Artistic Oversight - Parlor 
1:15 p.m. - Government Affairs - Dining Room 

Public comment will not be received.   

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, FAX (804) 340-1502, 
(804) 340-1401/TTY , email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

November 16, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
University of Mary Washington, Hanover Street, Alumni 
Center Board Room, Fredericksburg, Virginia.     

A meeting of the Fiscal Oversight Committee for staff to 
update the committee. Public comment will not be 
received.   

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, FAX (804) 340-1502, 
(804) 340-1401/TTY , email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

November 16, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
University of Mary Washington, Hanover Street, Alumni 
Center Board Room, Fredericksburg, Virginia.     

A meeting for staff to update the board. Part of the meeting 
will be held in closed session. Public comment will not be 
received.   

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, FAX (804) 340-1502, 
(804) 340-1401/TTY , email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

December 5, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
January 2, 2007 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 6, 2007 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, The Pauley Center, 200 North 
Boulevard, Dining Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting for staff to update the Executive Committee. 
Public comment will not be received.   

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, FAX (804) 340-1502, 
(804) 340-1401/TTY , email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

† December 13, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, The Pauley Center, 200 North 
Boulevard, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Statewide Task Force for staff to update 
the task force. Public comment will not be received. 

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 
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BOARD OF NURSING 

November 13, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 16, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A panel of the board will conduct formal hearings with 
licensees and/or certificate holders. Public comment will 
not be received. 

Contact:  Jay P. Douglas, R.N., M.S.M., C.S.A.C., Executive 
Director, Board of Nursing, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX (804) 
662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

November 14, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct general business including receipt of 
committee reports and consideration of regulatory action 
and discipline case decisions as presented on the agenda. 
Public comment will be received at 11 a.m. 

Contact:  Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, Board of 
Nursing, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX 
(804) 662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

November 14, 2006 - 11:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

December 15, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 90-25, Regulations 
Governing Certified Nurse Aides. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to clarify the intent and/or language in 
the regulation relating to nurse aide education and to add to 
the grounds for unprofessional conduct to include 
providing false information to staff or board members in 
the course of an investigation or proceeding. There is also a 
proposed new rule that a certificate holder can only petition 
the board one time for removal of a finding of abuse. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 15, 2006, 
to Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, Board of 
Nursing, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712. 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

November 30, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 1, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 4, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 5, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
December 7, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
December 12, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
December 13, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.  

A Special Conference Committee comprised of two or 
three members of the Virginia Board of Nursing or agency 
subordinate will conduct informal conferences with 
licensees and certificate holders. Public comment will not 
be received. 

Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., M.S.M., C.S.A.C., Executive 
Director, Board of Nursing, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9909, 
FAX (804) 662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

JOINT BOARDS OF NURSING AND MEDICINE 

December 6, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, Board of 
Nursing, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX 
(804) 662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY 

November 20, 2006 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Old Dominion University, Webb University Center, Old 
Norfolk, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting of the governing board of the 
institution to discuss business of the board and the 
institution as determined by the rector and the president. 
Public comment will not be received by the board. 

Contact:  Donna Meeks, Executive Secretary to the Board of 
Visitors, Old Dominion University, 204 Koch Hall, Old 
Dominion University, Norfolk, VA 23529, telephone (757) 
683-3072, FAX (757) 683-5679, email dmeeks@odu.edu. 
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December 8, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Old Dominion University, Webb University Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the executive committee of the 
governing board of the institution to discuss business of the 
board and the institution as determined by the rector and 
the president. Public comment will not be received by the 
board. 

Contact:  Donna Meeks, Executive Secretary to the Board of 
Visitors, Old Dominion University, 204 Koch Hall, Norfolk, 
VA 23529, telephone (757) 683-3072, FAX (757) 683-5679,  
email dmeeks@odu.edu. 

OLMSTEAD COMMUNITY INTEGRATION 
IMPLEMENTATION TEAM 

December 19, 2006 - Canceled 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South 
Belvidere Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the 
deaf provided upon request) 

The regular meeting is canceled. 

Contact: Julie A. Stanley, Director, Community Integration 
for People with Disabilities, Office of Governor, 1111 E. 
Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-0828, 
FAX (804) 786-6984, email 
julie.stanley@governor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR OPTICIANS 
December 8, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting including consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. The 
meeting is open to the public; however, a portion of the 
board's business may be discussed in closed session. Public 
comment will be heard at the beginning of the meeting. 
Person desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpretive services should 
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  William H. Ferguson, II, Executive Director, Board 
for Opticians, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-
4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-6295, (804) 
367-9753/TTY , email opticians@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA OUTDOORS FOUNDATION 

November 15, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 16, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced; Charlottesville, Virginia area. 

A meeting for policy and easement consideration. Public 
comment will be received. 

Contact:  Trisha Cleary, Administrative Assistant, 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 101 N. 14th St., 
17th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2147, 
FAX (804) 371-4810, email tcleary@vofonline.org. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 

† December 7, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

An Executive Committee meeting. 

Contact:  Sandra Smalls, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9368, FAX (804) 786-1118, 
toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , email 
Sandra.Smalls@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

† December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 S Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

Community Integration is a submeeting of the VBPD 
quarterly board meeting. 

Contact:  Katherine Lawson, Outreach and Program 
Manager, Virginia Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 
9th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9376, 
FAX (804) 786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-
0016/TTY , email katherine.lawson@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

† December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A quarterly board meeting. 

Contact:  Sandra.Smalls, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., 9th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9368, FAX (804) 
786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , 
email sandra.smalls@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

† December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 
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Community Living/Transportation is submeeting of the 
Quarterly Board Meeting. 

Contact:  Teri Barker-Morgan, Programs Manager, Virginia 
Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9371, FAX (804) 786-1118, 
toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , email 
teri.barker@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

† December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

The Education Committee is a submeeting of the VBPD 
quarterly board meeting. 

Contact:  Linda Redmond, Research, Evaluation and 
Program Manager, Virginia Board for People with 
Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-7333, FAX (804) 786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-
4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , email 
linda.redmond@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

† December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

The Employment Committee is a submeeting of the VBPD 
quarterly board meeting. 

Contact:  Lynne Talley, Grants Administrative Manager, 
Virginia Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9375, FAX (804) 
786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , 
email lynne.talley@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

† November 30, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A panel will discuss disciplinary matters. No public 
comments will be received.  

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9911, FAX (804) 662-9313, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 13, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to consider such regulatory and disciplinary 
matters as may be presented on the agenda. Public 
comment will be received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9911, FAX (804) 662-9313, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

POLYGRAPH EXAMINERS ADVISORY BOARD 

December 7, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Public comment will 
be heard at the beginning of the meeting. Person desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpretive services should contact the 
department  at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Kevin Hoeft, Regulatory Boards Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-2785, FAX (804) 367-0674, (804) 367-9753/TTY , 
email kevin.hoeft@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

November 13, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor Conference Room, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting. 

Contact:  Mark Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX 
(804) 367-2475, email mark.courtney@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

December 11, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor Conference Room, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

December 15, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulations intends to amend regulations 
entitled 18 VAC 120-30, Regulations Governing 
Polygraph Examiners. The purpose of the proposed action 
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is to amend current regulations to increase fees. In addition 
to any other comments, the agency is seeking comments on 
the costs and benefits of the proposal and the potential 
impacts of this regulatory proposal.  Also, the agency is 
seeking information on impacts on small businesses as 
defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia.  
Information may include: (i) projected reporting, 
recordkeeping and other administrative costs; (ii) probable 
effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and 
(iii) description of less intrusive or costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1802 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact:  Kevin Hoeft, Regulatory Boards Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-2785, FAX (804) 367-0674, (804) 367-9753/TTY , 
email kevin.hoeft@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA PUBLIC GUARDIAN AND CONSERVATOR 
ADVISORY BOARD 

December 7, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest Avenue, Suite 100, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting. 

Contact:  Janet Dingle Brown, Esq., Public Guardianship 
Coordinator and Legal Services Developer, Department for 
the Aging, 1610 Forest Ave., Suite 100, Richmond, VA 
23229, telephone (804) 662-7049, FAX (804) 662-9354, toll-
free (800) 552-3402, (804) 662-9333/TTY , email 
janet.brown@vda.virginia.gov. 

† January 25, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest Avenue, Suite 100, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

Legislative meeting of VPGCAB Executive Committee and 
the Legislative Committee to view pending legislation, if 
any, affecting Virginia Public Guardians and/or 
Conservators during the 2007 General Assembly Session. 

Contact:  Janet Dingle Brown, Esq., Public Guardianship 
Coordinator and Legal Services Developer, Department for 
the Aging, 1610 Forest Ave., Suite 100, Richmond, VA 
23229, telephone (804) 662-7049, FAX (804) 662-9354, toll-
free (800) 552-3402, (804) 662-9333/TTY , email 
janet.brown@vda.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

† December 13, 2006 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Informal fact-finding conferences. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Appraiser Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

† December 4, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

An informal fact-finding conference. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

December 4, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Education Committee. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

December 5, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss fair housing cases. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

December 5, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss board business. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Appraiser Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 
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DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

† November 20, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, Fishersville, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly meeting. Prior to the meeting, a retreat will be 
held on Sunday, 11/19, from noon until 6 p.m. Materials in 
alternate format will be provided upon prior request. Public 
comments will begin at approximately 8:15 a.m. 

Contact:  Barbara Tyson, Staff Support, Department of 
Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Dr., Richmond, 
VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7010, FAX (804) 662-7644, 
toll-free (800) 552-5019, (804) 662-9040/TTY , email 
barbara.tyson@drs.virginia.gov. 

January 26, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Conference Rooms 103/105, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly meeting of the Virginia Brain Injury Council. 
Materials can be provided in alternate format upon request. 
Public comments will begin at approximately 1:15 p.m. 

Contact:  Kristie Chamberlain, Policy and Planning Director, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Dr., P.O. Box K-300, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 
662-7154, FAX (804) 662-7663, toll-free (800) 552-5019, 
(800) 464-9950/TTY , email 
kristie.chamberlain@drs.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA RESEARCH AND TECHNOLOGY 
ADVISORY COMMISSION 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING TIME 
November 14, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Williamsburg, Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Nancy Vorona, VP Research Investment, Virginia 
Research and Technology Advisory Commission, 2214 Rock 
Hill Rd., Suite 600, Herndon, VA 20170, telephone (703) 
689-3043, FAX (703) 464-1720, email nvorona@cit.org. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

November 18, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board 
intends to adopt regulations entitled 16 VAC 25-75, 
General Industry Standard for Telecommunications, 
General, Approach Distances, and amend regulations 
entitled 16 VAC 25-90-1910.268, Federal Identical 
General Industry Standards. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to provide telecommunications 

employees with protection from any live electrical part in 
the area where such employees are working. 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: John Crisanti, Policy Analyst Senior, Powers-
Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-4300, FAX (804) 786-8418 or 
email john.crisanti@doli.virginia.gov.  

December 6, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 1300 East 
Main Street, Courtroom A, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss selected chapters of regulations. 

Contact:  Regina P. Cobb, Agency Management Analyst 
Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-0610, FAX (804) 786-8418, (804) 786-2376/TTY , 
email regina.cobb@doli.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA SMALL BUSINESS FINANCING 
AUTHORITY 

November 15, 2006 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Department of Business Assistance, 707 East Main Street, 3rd 
Floor Board Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to review applications for loans submitted to the 
authority for approval and general business of the board. 
The meeting time is subject to change depending upon the 
board's agenda. 

Contact:  Scott E. Parsons, Executive Director, Virginia 
Small Business Financing Authority, P.O. Box 446, 
Richmond, VA 23218-0446, telephone (804) 371-8256, FAX 
(804) 225-3384, toll-free (866) 248-8814, email 
scott.parsons@dba.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

† January 12, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to repeal regulations entitled: 

22 VAC 40-200, Foster - Care Guiding Principles 

22 VAC 40-210, Foster Care- Assessing the Client's 
Service Needs 

22 VAC 40-240, Nonagency Placement for Adoption - 
Consent 

22 VAC 40-250, Agency Placement Adoptions - AREVA 

22 VAC 40-260, Agency Placement Adoptions - Subsidy 
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22 VAC 40-280, Nonagency Placements for Adoption - 
Adoptive Home Study 

22 VAC 40-800, Family Based Social Services  

and adopt regulations entitled 8 VAC 22 VAC 40-201, 
Permanency Services - Prevention, Foster Care, 
Adoption and Independent Living. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal seven existing regulations and 
replace them with one new comprehensive regulation. The 
new regulation will incorporate all aspects of permanency - 
Foster Care Prevention, Foster Care, Independent Living, 
Agency Placement Adoptions - AREVA, Agency 
Placement Adoptions - Subsidy, and Nonagency Adoption 
Placement. It will also mandate new procedures integral to 
Virginia's compliance with federal regulations and in 
keeping with the federal Child and Family Services 
program outcome goals. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact: Lynette Isbell, Acting Director, Division of Family 
Services, Department of Social Services, 7 N. 8th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7082, FAX (804) 
726-7895 or email lynette.idbell@dss.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Governor's Commission on Community and 
National Service 

† November 18, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Embassy Suites Hotel, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  Susan Patton, Executive Assistant, Department of 
Social Services, 7 N. 8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7065, FAX (804) 726-7024, toll-free 
(800) 638-3839, (804) 828-1120/TTY , email 
susan.c.patton@dss.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS 
AND WETLAND PROFESSIONALS 

† January 30, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpretive services should contact the 
department at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Professional Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals, 3600 
W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-
8514, FAX (804) 367-0795, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Governor's Advisory Council on Revenue Estimates 

November 20, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Taxation, 1111 East Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

A closed meeting of the Governor's Advisory Council on 
Revenue Estimates. 

Contact:  Carolyn Johnson, Office Manager, Department of 
Taxation, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4371, FAX (804) 371-4379, email 
carolyn.johnson@tax.virginia.gov. 

TREASURY BOARD 

November 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
101 North 14th Street, 3rd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  J. Braxton Powell, Treasurer, Department of the 
Treasury, 101 N. 14th St., 3rd Floor, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (225) 225-2142, FAX (225) 225-3187, email 
braxton.powell@trs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS SERVICES 

Board of Veterans Services 

January 8, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
American Legion Department of Virginia, 1708 
Commonwealth Avenue, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Rhonda Earman, Special Assistant to the 
Commissioner, Department of Veterans Services, 900 E. 
Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0286, 
email rhonda.earman@dvs.virginia.gov. 
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BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

November 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
Classroom Level, Classroom A, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to adopt a NOIRA for public participation 
guidelines regulatory review, and conduct formal hearings 
and other board business as needed 

Contact:  Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad 
St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 
662-9915, FAX (804) 662-7098, (804) 662-7197/TTY , 
email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

November 16, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

Informal hearings (disciplinary hearings). Public comment 
will not be received. 

Contact:  Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad 
St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 
662-9915, FAX (804) 662-7098, (804) 662-7197/TTY , 
email elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA MILITARY INSTITUTE 

† November 30, 2006 - 4 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 1, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Military Institute, Meeting Rooms, Lexington, 
Virginia.  

Committee meetings of the whole and standing 
committees: Academic Affairs; Audit; Finance and 
Planning; Athletics; External Relations; Cadet/Military 
Affairs; Nominating and Governance; Executive. 

Contact: Colonel Michael M. Strickler, Superintendent's 
Office, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, VA 24450, 
telephone (540) 464-7206. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 
December 11, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox Road, 
Glen Allen, Virginia. 

January 9, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management 
Board intends to amend regulations entitled 9 VAC 20-130, 
Solid Waste Planning and Recycling Regulations. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to revise the calculation 
of the mandatory recycling rate for localities and region 

revise the procedures for formation and dissolution of 
planning regions, clearly specify qualifications for 
variances, revise the requirements for plan approval, and 
eliminate duplicative language on the waste information 
and assessment program.  

The board is seeking comments from the general public 
about whether to retain a provision for converting volumes 
to weight in tons as a method for expressing amounts in the 
recycling rate formula (proposed 9 VAC 20-130-125 B 2).  
This provision has been used in the past by small 
businesses that do not maintain weight scales at the solid 
waste management facility.  Also, the board is seeking 
comments from the general public about whether to retain a 
provision allowing estimation of tonnage of recycling rate 
amounts on the basis of survey data on a case-by-case basis 
(existing 9 VAC 20-130-120 C 1 c). 

In addition to any other comments, the board is seeking 
comments on the costs and benefits of the proposal and on 
any impacts of the regulation on farm and forest land 
preservation.  Also, the board is seeking information on 
impacts on small businesses as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of 
the Code of Virginia.  Information may include (i) 
projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative 
costs, (ii) probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses, and (iii) description of less intrusive or 
costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
regulation. 

Anyone wishing to submit written comments for the public 
comment file may do so at the public hearing or by mail, 
email or fax to Allen R. Brockman, P.O. Box 10009, 
Richmond, Virginia 23240-0009, telephone (804) 698-
4468, FAX (804) 698-4327 and 
arbrockman@deq.virginia.gov; comments must include the 
name and address of the commenter.  In order to be 
considered comments must be received by 5 p.m. on the 
date established as the close of the comment period. Both 
oral and written comments may be submitted at the public 
hearing. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1411 of the Code of Virginia  

Contact: Allen Brockman, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 
23240, telephone (804) 698-4468, FAX (804) 698-4327, or 
email arbrockman@deq.virginia.gov.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

† November 29, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional 
Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, Virginia.  

A meeting of a workgroup assisting in the development of 
implementation guidance for non-point source nutrient 
reductions, which are intended to offset new and expanded 
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point source discharges of total nitrogen and total 
phosphorus in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed. 

Contact:  Kyle I. Winter, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4182, FAX (804) 698-4032, email 
kiwinter@deq.virginia.gov. 

December 1, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional 
Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, Virginia.  

A meeting of the advisory committee to be established to 
assist in the development of amendments to the water 
quality standards. The notice of intent appears in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations on September 18, 2006. 

Contact:  Elleanore M. Daub, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone 
(804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 698-4116, email 
emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

December 5, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the advisory committee assisting in the 
development of a proposed regulation for water 
reclamation and reuse. 

Contact:  Valerie Rourke, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4158, FAX (804) 698-4116, email 
varourke@deq.virginia.gov. 

† December 14, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the board. 

Contact:  Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 
of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4346, 
email cmberndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS 

December 6, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Board Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpretive services should contact the 
department at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board for 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators, 3600 W. 
Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8595, 
FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM AND MARY 

† November 16, 2006 - 9:15 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richard Bland College, 11301 Johnson Road, Petersburg, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Richard Bland College Committee of the 
Board of Visitors to receive reports from the 
administration, faculty and students. There will be no 
opportunity for public comment. 

Contact:  Brian W. Whitson, Director of News Services, The 
College of William and Mary, 312 Jamestown Rd., 
Williamsburg, VA 23185, telephone (757) 221-7876, FAX 
(727) 221-1021, email bwwhit@wm.edu. 

† November 16, 2006 - 2:15 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Blow Hall Board Room, 262 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The Board of Visitors will meet in committee from 2:15 to 
5:30 p.m. to receive reports from the administration, faculty 
and students of William and Mary. The meetings are open 
to the public, but there will be no opportunity for public 
comment. 

Contact:  Brian W. Whitson, Director of News Services, The 
College of William and Mary, 312 Jamestown Road, 
Williamsburg, VA 23185, telephone (757) 221-7876, FAX 
(757) 221-1021, email bwwhit@wm.edu. 

† November 17, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Blow Hall Board Room, 262 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary 
will meet in committee from 8 to 11:30 a.m. to receive 
reports from the administration of William and Mary. The 
full board will meet from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. to receive 
reports from the committees of the Board, the 
administrations of Richard Bland College and the College 
of William and Mary, and to act on those resolutions 
presented by the administrations of both institutions. The 
meetings are open to the public, but there will be no 
opportunity for public comment. 

Contact:  Brian W. Whitson, Director of News Services, The 
College of William and Mary, 312 Jamestown Road, 
Williamsburg, VA 23185, telephone (757) 221-7876, FAX 
(757) 221-1021, email bwwhit@wm.edu. 
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COUNCIL ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN 

† November 13, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Social Services, 7 North 8th Street, 6th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  Jane Brown, Department of Social Services, 7 N. 
8th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7912, 
email jane.brown@dss.virginia.gov. 

INDEPENDENT 

VIRGINIA OFFICE FOR PROTECTION AND 
ADVOCACY 

† November 16, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
NAMI National Office, Arlington, Virginia.  (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the PAIMI Advisory Council of the Virginia 
Office for Protection and Advocacy. Public comment is 
welcomed by the council and will be received beginning 
shortly after 10 a.m. Public comment will also be accepted 
by telephone. If you wish to provide public comment via 
telephone, you must call Tracy Manley, Administrative 
Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) or via email at 
tracy.manley@vopa.virginia.gov no later than November 2, 
2006. Ms. Manley will take your name and phone number 
and you will be telephoned during the public comment 
period. For further information, please contact Ms. Manley. 
If interpreter services or other accommodations are 
required, please contact Ms. Manley, no later than 
November 2, 2006. 

Contact:  Tracy Manley, Administrative Assistant, Virginia 
Office for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email tracy.manley@vopa.virginia.gov. 

December 11, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
VOPA Office, 1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Finance and Resource Development 
Committee. Public comment is welcomed by the Finance 
and Resource Development Committee and will be 
received beginning at 11 a.m. Public comment will also be 
accepted by telephone. If you wish to provide public 
comment via telephone, you must call Lisa Shehi, 
Administrative Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) 
or via email at lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov no later than 
Monday, November 27, 2006. Ms. Shehi will take your 
name and phone number and you will be telephoned during 
the public comment period. If interpreter services or other 

accommodations are required, please contact Ms. Shehi no 
later than Monday, November 27, 2006.  

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Executive Assistant, Virginia Office 
for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 662-
7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 

December 13, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy, Byrd Building, 
1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting of the Disabilities Advisory Council. 
Public comment is welcomed by the council and will be 
received beginning at 10 a.m. Public comment will also be 
accepted by telephone. If you wish to provide public 
comment via telephone, call Tracy Manley, Administrative 
Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) or via email at 
tracy.manley@vopa.virginia.gov no later than November 
29, 2006. Ms. Manley will take your name and phone 
number and you will be telephoned during the public 
comment period.  If interpreter services or other 
accommodations are required, please contact Ms. Manley 
no later than November 29, 2006. 

Contact:  Tracy Manley, Administrative Assistant, Virginia 
Office for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email tracy.manley@vopa.virginia.gov. 

January 30, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
VOPA Office, 1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, 
Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Governing Board. Public comment is 
welcomed by the board and will be received beginning at 9 
a.m. on January 30, 2007. Public comment will also be 
accepted by telephone. If you wish to provide public 
comment via telephone, you must call Lisa Shehi, 
Administrative Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) 
or via email at lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov no later than 
January 16, 2007. Ms. Shehi will take your name and 
phone number and you will be telephoned during the public 
comment period. For further information, please contact 
Ms. Shehi. If interpreter services or other accommodations 
are required, please contact Ms. Shehi no later than January 
16, 2007.  

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Executive Assistant, Virginia Office 
for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 
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PAIMI Advisory Council 

November 16, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Charlottesville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

Public comment is welcome and will be received at the 
beginning of the meeting. If interpreter services or other 
accommodations are required, please contact Ms. Shehi no 
later than November 2, 2006. 

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Administrative Assistant, Virginia 
Office for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7213, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA RETIREMENT SYSTEM 

December 12, 2006 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System, 1200 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Optional Retirement Plan for 
Higher Education Committee. No public comment will be 
received at the meeting. 

Contact:  Patty Atkins-Smith, Legislative Liaison and Policy 
Analyst, Virginia Retirement System, 1200 E. Main St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 344-3123, FAX (804) 
786-1541, toll-free (888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , 
email psmith@varetire.org. 

December 13, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System, 1200 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Benefits and Actuarial Committee. No 
public comment will be received at the meeting. 

Contact:  LaShaunda King, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1200 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 344-3124, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lking@varetire.org. 

December 14, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System, 1111 East Main Street, 3rd Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Investment Advisory Committee. 
No public comment will be received at the meeting. 

Contact:  Linda Ritchey, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1111 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 697-6673, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lritchey@varetire.org. 

December 14, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System, 1111 East Main Street, 3rd Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees. No public 
comment will be received at the meeting. 

Contact:  LaShaunda King, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1200 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 344-3124, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lking@varetire.org. 

LEGISLATIVE 

JOINT COMMISSION ON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

† December 6, 2006 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate 
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agenda, please contact Elizabeth Palen, Division of 
Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. Individuals 
requiring interpreter services or other accommodations 
should telephone Senate Committee Operations at (804) 
698-7450, (804) 698-7419/TTY, or write to Senate 
Committee Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 
23218, at least seven days prior to the meeting. 

Contact: Rich Fiorella, Senate Committee Operations, 
General Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 698-7410. 

HOUSE APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE 

November 13, 2006 - TBA - Open Meeting 
November 14, 2006 - TBA - Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 9th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. 

Contact: Barbara L. Teague, House Committee Operations, 
910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
1540. 

JOINT LEGISLATIVE AUDIT AND REVIEW 
COMMISSION 

† November 13, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, Senate Room A, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

Drinking Water Systems Underground Transmission Lines 
General Assembly audit results. 
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Contact:  Patricia Bishop, Principal Legislative Analyst, 
Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission, General 
Assembly Bldg., Suite 1100, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-1258, FAX (804) 371-0101, email 
tbishop@leg.state.va.us. 

† November 20, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, Senate Room A, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

JLARC staff briefing on the Review of the Revenue 
Forecasting Process in Virginia. 

Contact:  Patricia Bishop, Principal Legislative Analyst, 
Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission, General 
Assembly Bldg., Suite 1100, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-1258, FAX (804) 371-0101, email 
tbishop@leg.state.va.us. 

VIRGINIA FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ADVISORY 
COUNCIL 

December 15, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Street, House Room 
C, Richmond, Virginia.   

The final meeting of the Freedom of Information Advisory 
Council in 2006. The meeting will include the annual 
legislative preview. 

Contact:  Maria J.K. Everett, Executive Director, Virginia 
Freedom of Information Advisory Council, General 
Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3056, FAX (804) 371-8705, 
toll-free (866) 448-4100, email foiacouncil@leg.state.va.us. 

OPEN SPACE AND FARMLAND PRESERVATION 

† November 28, 2006 - 1 p.m. - Open Meeting 
Graves Mountain Lodge, Syria, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agency please contact Mark Vucci, Division of Legislative 
Services at (804) 786-3591. 

Contact: Barbara L. Teague, House Committee Operations, 
910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
1540. 

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING THE 
COMMONWEALTH'S PROGRAM FOR PRISONER 

REENTRY TO SOCIETY 
November 14, 2006 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate 
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agenda, please contact Ellen Weston, Division of 

Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. Individuals 
requiring interpreter services or other accommodations 
should telephone Senate Committee Operations at (804) 
698-7450, (804) 698-7419/TTY, or write to Senate 
Committee Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 
23218, at least seven days prior to the meeting. 

Contact: Rich Fiorella, Senate Committee Operations, 
General Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 698-7410. 

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING MEDICAL, 
ETHICAL AND SCIENTIFIC ISSUES RELATING TO 

STEM CELL RESEARCH 

† November 13, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† November 30, 2006 - 10 a.m. - Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agency please contact Jessica Eades or Nikki Seeds, 
Division of Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. 

Contact: Pam Burnham, House Committee Operations, 910 
Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-1540. 

JOINT COMMISSION ON TECHNOLOGY AND 
SCIENCE 

† November 16, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Speaker's 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Nanotechnology Advisory Committee. 

Contact: Patrick Cushing, Staff Attorney, Joint Commission 
on Technology and Science, General Assembly Bldg., 910 
Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3591. 

† November 28, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Speaker's 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of JCOTS Electronic Medical Records Advisory 
Committee. (Teleconference Site: 510 Cumberland Street, 
Suite 308, Bristol, VA 24201. In case of technical 
difficulties during the meeting, contact Lisa Wallmeyer at 
804-786-3591.) 

Contact:  Lisa Wallmeyer, Executive Director, Joint 
Commission on Technology and Science, General Assembly 
Bldg., 910 Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3591. 
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† November 29, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Patrick Henry Building, House Room 1, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A meeting of JCOTS Electronic Balloting Advisory 
Committee. 

Contact:  Lisa Wallmeyer, Executive Director, Joint 
Commission on Technology and Science, 910 Capitol St., 
General Assembly Bldg., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3591. 

November 30, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. Teleconferenced site: 510 Cumberland 
Street, Suite 308, Bristol, Virginia. In case of technical 
difficulties during the meeting, contact Lisa Wallmeyer at 
(804) 786-3591. 

Contact:  Lisa Wallmeyer, Executive Director, Joint 
Commission on Technology and Science, General Assembly 
Bldg., 910 Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3591. 

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING TELEWORK 
OPPORTUNITIES FOR STATE AND PRIVATE 

SECTOR EMPLOYEES  

November 15, 2006 - 1 p.m. - Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agency please contact Lisa Wallmeyer, Division of 
Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. 

Contact: Lori L. Maynard, House Committee Operations, 
910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
1540. 

VIRGINIA UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION 
COMMISSION 

November 14, 2006 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate 
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agenda, please contact Frank Munyan, Division of 
Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591.  

Contact: Hobie Lehman, Senate Committee Operations, 
General Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 698-7410. 

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST 

OPEN MEETINGS 
November 13 

† Air Pollution Control Board, State  
Appropriations Committee, House 
† Audit and Review Commission, Joint Legislative 
† Business Assistance, Department of 

- Small Business Advisory Board 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Forestry, Board of 
Higher Education for Virginia, State Council of 
Library Board 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Board 
Nursing, Board of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, Board for 
† Stem Cell Research, Joint Subcommittee Studying 
Medical, Ethical and Scientific Issues Relating to 
† Women, Council on the Status of 

November 14 
Appropriations Committee, House 
Community Colleges, State Board for 
† Competition Council, Commonwealth 
Contractors, Board for 
Corrections, Board of 
Environmental Quality, Department of 
† Library of Virginia 

- Virginia Circuit Court Records Preservation Grant 
Review Board 

Local Government, Commission on 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
Nursing, Board of 
Prisoner Reentry to Society, Joint Subcommittee the 

Commonwealth's Program for 
Research and Technology Advisory Commission, Virginia 
Unemployment Compensation Commission, Virginia 

November 15 
Community Colleges, State Board for 
Compensation Board 
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

- Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 
Corrections, Board of 
Education, Secretary of 
† Environmental Quality, Department of 
Hearing Aid Specialists, Board for 
Information Technologies Agency, Virginia 
Medicine, Board of 
† Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Department of 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
Nursing, Board of 
Outdoors Foundation, Virginia 
Small Business Financing Authority, Virginia 
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Telework Opportunities for State and Private Sector 
Employees, Joint Subcommittee Studying 
Treasury Board 
Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

November 16 
Community Colleges, State Board for 
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Design-Build/Construction Management Review Board 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, Board of 
Health, Department of 
Housing and Community Development, Board of 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
Nursing, Board of 
Outdoors Foundation, Virginia 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 

- PAIMI Advisory Council 
† Technology and Science, Joint Commission on 
Veterinary Medicine, Board of 
† William and Mary, The College of 

November 17 
Barbers and Cosmetology, Board for 
Child Fatality Review Team, State 
Dentistry, Board of 
Health, Department of 
Housing and Community Development, Department of 

- State Building Code Technical Review Board 
† William and Mary, The College of 

November 18 
† Social Services, Department of 

November 20 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
† Audit and Review Commission, Joint Legislative 
† Education, Board of 
Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation 
Old Dominion University 
† Rehabilitative Services, Department of 
Taxation, Department of 

- Governor's Advisory Council on Revenue Estimates 
November 21 

† Accountancy, Board of 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation 

November 27 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 

November 28 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Contractors, Board for 
Marine Resources Commission 
† Open Space and Farmland Preservation 
† Technology and Science, Joint Commission on 

November 29 
† Commonwealth Preparedness, Office of 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Education, Board of 

† Housing Development Authority, Virginia 
Medicine, Board of 
† Technology and Science, Joint Commission on 
† Water Control Board, State 

November 30 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
† Environmental Quality, Department of 
Nursing, Board of 
† Pharmacy, Board of 
† Stem Cell Research, Joint Subcommittee Studying 
Medical, Ethical and Scientific Issues Relating to 
Technology and Science, Joint Commission on 
† Virginia Military Institute 

December 1 
Art and Architectural Review Board 
Dentistry, Board of 
Nursing, Board of 
† Virginia Military Institute 
Water Control Board, State 

December 4 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
Branch Pilots, Board for 
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Nursing, Board of 
Real Estate Board 

December 5 
Branch Pilots, Board for 
Charitable Gaming Board 
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
† Contractors, Board for 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
Nursing, Board of 
Real Estate Board 
Water Control Board, State 

December 6 
† Administrative Rules, Joint Commission on 
† Air Pollution Control Board, State 
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
† Education, Secretary of 
George Mason University 
Information Technologies Agency, Virginia 
Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 

Services, Department of 
Nursing and Medicine, Joint Boards of 
Safety and Health Codes Board 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators, Board for 

December 7 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Board of 
Arts, Virginia Commission for the 
Dentistry, Board of 
Nursing, Board of 
† People with Disabilities, Virginia Board for 
Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board 
Public Guardian and Conservator Advisory Board 
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December 8 
Dentistry, Board of 
Health, Department of 
Medicine, Board of 
Old Dominion University 
Opticians, Board for 
† People with Disabilities, Virginia Board for 

December 11 
Branch Pilots, Board for 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 
† Mines, Mineral and Energy, Department of 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 

December 12 
Medical Assistance Services, Board of 
Nursing, Board of 
Retirement System, Virginia 

December 13 
† Fire Services, Virginia 
Milk Commission, State 
† Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
Nursing, Board of 
Pharmacy, Board of 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 
† Real Estate Appraiser Board 
Retirement System, Virginia 

December 14 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
† Fire Services Board, Virginia 
Health, Department of 
Human Resources, Virginia Council on 
Labor and Industry, Department of 

- Virginia Apprenticeship Council 
Retirement System, Virginia 
† Water Control Board, State 

December 15 
Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, Virginia Board for 
Dentistry, Board of 
† Fire Services Board, Virginia 
Freedom of Information Advisory Council, Virginia 
Future, Council on Virginia's 
Health, Department of 

December 18 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 

December 19 
Contractors, Board for 
Olmstead Community Integration Implementation Team 
Marine Resources Commission 

December 20 
† Compensation Board 
Information Technologies Agency, Virginia 

December 21 
Design-Build/Construction Management Review Board 

January 2, 2007 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 

January 3 
† Geology, Board for 

January 8 
Department of Veterans Services 

- Board of Veterans Services 
January 10 

Education, Board of 
January 17 

Community Colleges, State Board for 
January 18 

† Auctioneers Board 
Community Colleges, State Board for 

January 19 
Library Board, State 
† Medicine, Board of 

- Advisory Board on Midwifery 
January 22 

† Education, Board of 
January 25 

† Public Guardian and Conservator Advisory Board 
January 26 

† Medicine, Board of 
Rehabilitative Services, Department of 

January 30 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for  
† Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals, Board for 

January 31 
† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 
† George Mason University 

February 1 
† Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, Board for 
† Branch Pilots, Board for 

February 2 
† Branch Pilots, Board for 

February 6 
† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 
† Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 

February 7 
† Medicine, Board of 

- Advisory Board on Radiologic Technology 
February 8 

† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 
† Medicine, Board of 

- Advisory Board on Physician Assistants 
February 13 

† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 
Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 
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February 22 
† Medicine, Board of 

PUBLIC HEARINGS 
November 14 

Nursing, Board of 
November 29 

Education, Board of 
December 11 

Barbers and Cosmetology, Board for 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, Department of 
Waste Management Board, Virginia 

December 14 
† Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 

Services, Department of 
March 8 

† Criminal Justice Services Board 
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